DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (‘907) in view of Lee (‘550).
For claim 1, Nakano (2020/02546907) discloses a vehicle structure, comprising:
a floor panel (60, FIG.7) that configures a floor surface of a vehicle cabin;
a cross member (62, FIG.7) that is provided on the floor panel and that extends in a vehicle width direction;
a seat rail that includes
a lower rail (24, FIG.2), which is provided on the cross member, and
an upper rail (22, FG.2), which is supported so as to be slidable in a vehicle front-rear direction with respect to the lower rail, and that supports a vehicle seat; and
an extension rail (26, FIG.7) that is disposed at a vehicle width direction outer side of the seat rail, and that extends further toward a vehicle front side than the seat rail, the lower rail being engaged with the extension rail so as to be moveable in the vehicle front-rear direction.
Nakano lack only that the floor panel (60) is disposed above a battery.
Lee (2021/0387550) teaches the use of an electric vehicle having a floor panel (FIG.4), the floor panel disposed above a battery of the vehicle (FIG.4).
Lee further teaches a vehicle structure with a vehicle width direction end portion comprises a rocker (FIG.4) that extends in the vehicle front-rear direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the vehicle structure of Nakano with a battery as taught by Lee in order to allow the vehicle to be an electric or hybrid type vehicle for better gas mileage and lower environmental impact; and with a rocker in the width direction as taught by Lee in order to strengthen the vehicle structure especially against side impact.
For claim 2, Nakano, as modified, implicitly provides the extension rail is fixed indirectly to the rocker.
For claim 4, Lee further teaches the use of carpet (18) over the floor and cross member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have provided, over the cross member and extension rail of Nakano, a carpet as taught by Lee in order to improve the aesthetics of the vehicle structure.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (‘907), as modified above, and further in view of Nonaka et al. (2003/0127880).
The seat rail of Nakano, as modified, is shown as a driver seat and the particulars of the vehicle structure including an instrument panel and the relationship to the seat is not shown.
Nonaka et al. teach a vehicle structure having a seat and seat rails (30) where the seat is a passenger seat (at a passenger seat side) and the rails (30) are provided below an instrument panel (instrument panel body 6) (as seen in FIG.9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with reasonable success to have provided the seat rail and extension rail of Nakano, as modified, for use with a passenger seat as taught by Nonaka et al. and further to have provided the extension rail of Nakano, as modified, extending below an instrument, also taught by Nonaka et al. in order to allow for ease of entry for rear passengers.
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the specific lock mechanism released when the seat is not in use (claim 3), in combination with the other elements recited, which is not found in the prior art of record.
Nakano, as modified above, provides the lower rail fixed to the cross member via a lock mechanism (claim 3) as seen at 43 in FIG.3 and additionally discusses the locked state of the lock mechanism but is silent on the locked state released when the vehicle seat is not in use. In Nakano, the lock mechanism is locked during a relaxed condition and released when a collision occurs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B