DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al. (US Pat. 11,312,637) in view of Kinniard (US Pat. 5,891,237) and Cahill et al. (US 2021/0347701).
Considering Claims 1 and 2: In et al. teaches a ceramic thermal spray coating (3:57-4:3) comprising a ceramic granule powder selected from the group consisting of Y2O3, YOF, YF3, Y4Al2O9, Y3Al5O12, and YAlO3 (4:4-17).
In et al. does not teach add the claimed organic compound. However, Kinniard teaches adding an ammonium salt (Example 1) of an acid that can be stearic acid (a C18 mono carboxylic acid) (5:5-29) to an metal oxide powder (3:33-47) in an amount of 0.5 to 2 weight percent of the metal oxide powder (5:30-50). In et al. and Kinniard are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of special technical feature, namely forming free flowing metal oxide powders. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the ammonium stearate to the coating material of In et al., as in Kinniard, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kinniard suggests, to produce free flowing powders (7:14-27) that is durable in handling and shipment (3:33-47).
In et al. is silent towards the angle of repose of the particles. However, Cahill et al. teaches a ceramic microparticle powder having an angle of repose of less than 40, preferably less than 25 degrees (¶0079). The angle of repose results from the particles having a substantially spherical shape and uniform size (Abstract). In et al. and Cahill et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely forming free flowing ceramic powders. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have formed a powder with the claimed angle of repose, by forming spherical free flowing particles using the technique of Kinniard, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Cahill et al. suggests, to form a free flowing particle that are excellent for real life applications (¶0079).
Considering Claims 3 and 4: In et al. teaches the granule powder as having aggregates of 5 to 50 microns preprepared from raw materials having a size of 50 to 900 nm (4:46-60).
Considering Claim 6: Kinniard teaches the same compound as the instant claims, namely ammonium stearate. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over In et al. (US Pat. 11,312,637) in view of Kinniard (US Pat. 5,891,237) and Cahill et al. (US 2021/0347701) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Padmanabhan et al. (Materials Chemistry and Physics, 106, 2007, 416-421).
Considering Claim 5: In et al., Kinniard, and Cahill et al. collectively teach the coating material of claim 1.
In et al. does not teach the claimed particle size distribution. However, Padmanabhan et al. teaches that a narrow particle size distribution is desirable for plasma spray operations (Section 3.1). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the particle size distribution to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the particle size distribution through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, to maximize the coating efficiency of the coating process (Section 3.1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,312,637 in view of Kinniard (US Pat. 5891,237) and Cahill et al. (US 2021/0347701).
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Claim 1 of Patent ‘637 teaches a ceramic thermal spray coating comprising a ceramic granule powder selected from the group consisting of Y2O3, YOF, YF3, Y4Al2O9, Y3Al5O12, and YAlO3. Claim 1 of Patent ‘637 teaches the granule powder as having aggregates of 5 to 50 microns preprepared from raw materials having a size of 50 to 900 nm.
Patent ‘637 does not teach add the claimed organic compound. However, Kinniard teaches adding an ammonium salt (Example 1) of an acid that can be stearic acid (a C18 mono carboxylic acid) (5:5-29) to an metal oxide powder (3:33-47) in an amount of 0.5 to 2 weight percent of the metal oxide powder (5:30-50). Patent ‘637 and Kinniard are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of special technical feature, namely forming free flowing metal oxide powders. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the ammonium stearate to the coating material of Patent ‘637, as in Kinniard, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kinniard suggests, to produce free flowing powders (7:14-27) that is durable in handling and shipment (3:33-47).
Patent ‘637 is silent towards the angle of repose of the particles. However, Cahill et al. teaches a ceramic microparticle powder having an angle of repose of less than 40, preferably less than 25 degrees (¶0079). The angle of repose results from the particles having a substantially spherical shape and uniform size (Abstract). Patent ‘637 and Cahill et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely forming free flowing ceramic powders. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have formed a powder with the claimed angle of repose, by forming spherical free flowing particles using the technique of Kinniard, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Cahill et al. suggests, to form a free flowing particle that are excellent for real life applications (¶0079).
Considering Claim 6: Kinniard teaches the same compound as the instant claims, namely ammonium stearate. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,312,637 in view of Persky et al. (US Pat. 8,470,458) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Padmanabhan et al. (Materials Chemistry and Physics, 106, 2007, 416-421).
Considering Claim 5: Claim 1 of Patent ‘637, Kinniard, and Cahill et al. collectively teach the coating material of claim 1.
Claim 1 of Patent ‘637 does not teach the claimed particle size distribution. However, Padmanabhan et al. teaches that a narrow particle size distribution is desirable for plasma spray operations (Section 3.1). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the particle size distribution to be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the particle size distribution through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, to maximize the coating efficiency of the coating process (Section 3.1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767