Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second strap assembly being part of a watch strap as set forth in claim 1 and also including a strap loop and slot as set forth in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 10 is objected to because the limitation “the second locking portion” at the end of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. This limitation is first recited in claim 2, not claim 1 from which claim 10 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 recites the second strap body 20 having a strap loop 27 having a slot 271. This strap loop feature is found in Applicant’s third embodiment as shown in Figures 14-17. Claim 1 is clearly directed to Applicant’s first embodiment shown in Figures 1-8. Claim 9 ultimately depends from claim 1 and effectively recites a combination of embodiment features not actually supported by the originally filed disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild (US 6,401,307 B1) in view of Durand et al. (CH 710089 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wild discloses a watch strap (see Title), comprising a first strap body (that which includes one of the end links 1) and a second strap body (that which includes the other of the end links 1), the first strap body and the second strap body each having two ends (inherently); the other end of the first strap body being connected to a coupling mechanism (left 15 / left 17 / 19), the coupling mechanism including a coupling member (19) and a spring bar assembly (21); the coupling member having two ends, one end of the coupling member being connected to the other end of the first strap body (via left 17 and left 15), two sides (18) of the coupling member having mounting recesses (35); the spring bar assembly being retractably disposed the mounting recesses (see Figures 1 and 7), the spring bar assembly including a knob (39), a sleeve (36), and a first resilient device (37) between the knob and the sleeve for moving the knob backward or forward; the other end of the second strap body being connected to a button mechanism (right 15) configured for controlling extension and retraction of the spring bar assembly; the button mechanism including a connecting member (15) and a locking button (51); the connecting member having two ends, one end of the connecting member being connected to the other end of the second strap body (via right 1); the connecting member having a first placement position (area between 34) for mounting the coupling mechanism (19) and a second placement position (47/48) for mounting the locking button, the first placement position communicating with the second placement position (see Figure 7); the locking button including a pressing member (51), a sleeving member (49) fitted on the pressing member, and a second resilient device (50) between the pressing member and the sleeving member for moving the pressing member backward or forward (see Figure 7); the locking button being disposed in the second placement position, the pressing member having a button end (51) extending out of the connecting member (see Figure 1); wherein the other end of the first strap body is detachably connected to the other end of the second strap body through cooperation of the coupling mechanism and the connecting member, so that the locking button and the spring bar assembly are selectively moved closer to each other to be locked or moved away from each other to be unlocked (see Figures).
While Wild does disclose a watch strap where the strap body portions would inherently be coupled to the body of a watch, Wild does not show the watch body or the strap ends and thus fails to disclose one end of the first strap body and/or the second strap body being detachably connected to a first end of a strap connector; a second end of the strap connector being connected to a watch dial as claimed.
Durand teaches that it was already known in the art for a watch strap body ends (11) to be detachably connected to a first end of a strap connector (9) where the second end of the strap connecter is connected to a watch dial (see “watch box interface piece 9” in [0053]), the detachable connection allowing a user to adjust the size of the watch strap (see “adjustable intermediate links 11 may be used to provide easier adjustment of the length of the bracelet” in [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have detachably connected a first end of either of the watch strap bodies of Wild to a first end of a strap connector in turn connected to a watch dial, the motivation being to allow a user to adjust the length of the watch strap, as taught by Durand.
Regarding claim 2, Wild as modified above would include the watch strap of claim 1, wherein the first strap body and the second strap body each include a plurality of strap links, as taught by Durand (see 11 in Durand), adjacent ones of the strap links are detachably connected to each other, and the first end of the strap connector is detachably connected to one end of the strap links, as taught by Durand (see “an adjustable interface piece 9 or adjustable intermediate links 11 may be used to provide easier adjustment of the length of the bracelet” in [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Wild as modified above would include the watch strap of claim 1, wherein Wild (see Figure 7) shows the sleeve (36) has a first chamber (hollow space) therein, the knob (39) includes a pressed portion (21) and a first hanging portion (38), the knob is movably disposed in the first chamber, the pressed portion extends out of the sleeve; one end of the first resilient device (37) is against a bottom end surface of the first chamber (39 on the other side of the chamber effectively forms a bottom end surface of the first chamber as broadly claimed), and another end of the first resilient device is connected to the first hanging portion.
Regarding claim 5, Wild as modified above would include the watch strap of claim 1, wherein Wild (see Figure 7) clearly shows the sleeving member (49) has an accommodating chamber therein, the accommodating chamber runs through the sleeving member and has an annular positioning surface therein; the pressing member (51) includes a button portion, a second hanging portion and a pressing portion that are connected in sequence, the pressing member is movably disposed in the accommodating chamber, the button portion and the pressing portion extend out of the sleeving member, the second resilient device (50) is sleeved on the second hanging portion, one end of the second resilient device is against the annular positioning surface, and another end of the second resilient device is against one end face of the button portion.
Regarding claim 6, Wild as modified above would include the watch strap of claim 1, wherein Wild discloses the other end of the coupling member is connected to a forked plate (16,17), the forked plate includes a first plate (17) and a second plate (16), the first plate and the second plate each have a first end and a second end, the first end of the first plate is connected to the other end of the coupling member (19), the second end of the first plate is connected to the first end of the second plate, and the second end of the second plate is connected to the other end of the connecting member (15).
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild (US 6,401,307 B1) in view of Durand et al. (CH 710089 A1) as applied above, further in view of Tong (CN 218790925 U) and Schlichtig et al. (US 11,517,082 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Wild as modified above would include the watch strap of claim 2, but so far fails to include wherein the strap links each include a base, a second docking assembly on the base, and a second control button for controlling movement of the second docking assembly; the second docking assembly includes a second engaging member, a second slide block, and a fitting member connected between the second engaging member and the second slide block, the second engaging member slides along with the second slide block; the second control button extends out of the base and can be pressed backward and automatically returns forward when not pressed; the first end of the strap connector has a mating groove corresponding to the second engaging member, the second docking assembly extends in the mating groove so that the second engaging member is engaged in the mating groove; the second end of the strap connector has an extension portion and a docking portion corresponding to a docking groove of the watch dial; the docking portion is located beside the extension portion; and a second locking portion protrudes from the extension portion and corresponds to a first locking portion of the watch dial. The links and strap connector of Durand (see 11 and 9, respectively, of Durand), which have been included in the modified Wild watch strap, are shown by Durand to include a link received within a mating groove of the strap connector, but lack the other presently claimed details.
Regarding the links, Tong teaches that it was already known in the art for links to each include a base (2/3), a second docking assembly (4) on the base, and a second control button (6) for controlling movement of the second docking assembly; the second docking assembly includes a second engaging member (4), a second slide block (5), and a fitting member (9) connected between the second engaging member and the second slide block, the second engaging member slides along with the second slide block; the second control button extends out of the base and can be pressed backward and automatically returns forward when not pressed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have utilized links like those of Tong in the modified Wild watch strap as mere design choice or simple selection between known watch strap link designs in order to achieved predictable results.
Regarding the strap connector, Schlichtig teaches that it was already known in the art for the second end of the strap connector to have an extension portion and a docking portion (14) corresponding to a docking groove of the watch dial (see Figures); the docking portion is located beside the extension portion; and a second locking portion (16) protrudes from the extension portion and corresponds to a first locking portion of the watch dial (see Figures). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have utilized a strap connector like that of Schlichtig in the modified Wild watch strap as mere design choice or simple selection between known strap connector designs in order to achieved predictable results.
9. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wild (US 6,401,307 B1) in view of Durand et al. (CH 710089 A1) as applied above, further in view of Schlichtig et al. (US 11,517,082 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Wild as modified above would include a watch, comprising a watch dial and a watch strap, the watch strap being detachably connected to the watch dial, the watch strap being the watch strap of claim 1. While modified Wild as set forth above would include a strap connector, as taught by Durand, Durand fails to disclose an exterior of one end of the watch dial being recessed inwardly to form a mounting groove, a docking groove being disposed beside the mounting groove, a docking portion of the strap connector being connected to the docking groove; an end face of one side of the mounting groove having a first locking portion extending toward the mounting groove, the strap connector partially extending in the mounting groove, the docking portion being engaged with the docking groove, the first locking portion and the second locking portion being locked to each other.
Schlichtig teaches that it was already known for an exterior of one end of the watch dial being recessed inwardly to form a mounting groove (26), a docking groove (22) being disposed beside the mounting groove, a docking portion (16/38) of the strap connector being connected to the docking groove; an end face of one side of the mounting groove having a first locking portion (32) extending toward the mounting groove, the strap connector partially extending in the mounting groove, the docking portion being engaged with the docking groove, the first locking portion (32) and the second locking portion (38) being locked to each other (see Figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 6/8/26