Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a non-aqueous solvent system comprising a C4-12 alditol in an amount of about 3 to about 20 wt.%, a polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of from about 100 to about 1500 Daltons in an amount of about 3 to about 35 wt.%, propylene glycol in an amount of about 0.5 to about 10 wt.%”, and the claim also recites “wherein the amount of C4-12 alditol is greater than or equal to the amount of polyethylene glycol, propylene glycol, or combined weight of polyethylene glycol and propylene glycol” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Given the upper limit of a C4-12 alditol of 20wt%, it would be impossible to utilize the claimed upper ranges of polyethylene glycol, propylene glycol, or combined weight of polyethylene glycol and propylene glycol of 35wt%, 10wt%, and a combined weight of 45wt% respectively.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 16 recites the broad recitation “a non-aqueous solvent system comprising sorbitol in an amount of about 3 to about 20 wt.%, a polyethylene glycol having a number average molecular weight of from about 200 to about 800 Daltons in an amount of about 3 to about 35 wt.%, propylene glycol in an amount of about 0.5 to about 10 wt.%, and glycerol in an amount of about 0 to about 20 wt.%”, and the claim also recites “wherein the amount of sorbitol is greater than or equal to the amount of polyethylene glycol, propylene glycol, or combined weight of polyethylene glycol and propylene glycol” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Given the upper limit of sorbitol of 20wt%, it would be impossible to utilize the claimed upper ranges of polyethylene glycol, propylene glycol, or combined weight of polyethylene glycol and propylene glycol of 35wt%, 10wt%, and a combined weight of 45wt% respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coletta (US 20220186144 A1), and further in view of Hwang (KR 102028590 B1).
With regard to claims 1-11 and 14-19, Coletta discloses a unit dose pouch comprising a water soluble film and a liquid detergent encapsulated in the unit dose pouch (see Abstract). Coletta further discloses the single dose pack is sized to provide a desired quantity of wash composition for one load of laundry or one batch of dishes in a dishwasher (see [0148]). Coletta further discloses the water soluble pouch may be formed from a water soluble polymer selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) (see [0139]) and further discloses polyvinyl alcohol resins as preferred (see [0141]). Coletta further teaches the composition may comprise an additional anionic surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, a cationic surfactant, an ampholytic surfactant, a zwitterionic surfactant, and/or mixtures thereof (see [0081]), at least 10wt% of alcohol ethoxy sulfate (see [0080]), the alkoxylation number “n” of the AES surfactant as 1-20 (see [0079]), and 15-40wt% of nonionic surfactants (see [0094]). Coletta further discloses alcohol alkoxylated nonionic surfactants as suitable nonionic surfactants (see [0089]). Coletta further discloses water at no more than 30wt% (see [0124]). Coletta further teaches 1-20wt% of polyethylene glycol at 300-500 Daltons (see [0105]-[0108]). Coletta further discloses 10-30wt% of propylene glycol and glycerin and a ratio of glycerin to propylene glycol of from 2:1 to 1:2 (See [0123]).
While Coletta fails to disclose a specific concentration of propylene glycol and glycerin individually, the ratio of glycerin to propylene glycol of from 2:1 to 1:2 and the total concentration of 10-30wt% would result in the disclosed concentrations through routine experimentation. For example, 10wt% of propylene glycol and 5wt% of glycerin would result in a total of 15wt% and would further satisfy the amounts disclosed in the instant claims. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F,2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) MPEP 2144.05.
However, Coletta fails to disclose a C4-12 alditol in an amount of about 3 to about 20 wt.%.
Hwang discloses a dishwashing detergent, an analogous art (see [0001]). Hwang further discloses sorbitol and propylene glycol are used to improve the storage stability of enzymes in detergents using enzymes as cleaning materials (see [0029]). Hwang further discloses sorbitol has a moisture absorption rate slower than other additives, so it does not significantly affect the absorption and dissipation of water relative to the product, thereby maintaining the freshness and flexibility of the product and preventing drying, cracking, and weight loss, thereby improving quality and storage (see [0030]). Hwang further discloses 10.5wt% of sorbitol (see [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the sorbitol of Hwang in the composition of Coletta. Coletta discloses a composition comprising propylene glycol. Coletta further discloses the composition may comprise enzymes (see [0144], Table 1-Table 3, and Table 5). Hwang discloses compositions comprising sorbitol and propylene glycol are used to improve the storage stability of enzymes in detergents using enzymes as cleaning materials. Hwang further discloses sorbitol has a moisture absorption rate slower than other additives, so it does not significantly affect the absorption and dissipation of water relative to the product, thereby maintaining the freshness and flexibility of the product and preventing drying, cracking, and weight loss, thereby improving quality and storage. A person of ordinary skill in the art would expect to create a dishwashing detergent composition for improving the storage stability of enzymes in detergents using enzymes as cleaning materials, as taught by Hwang.
With regard to claim 12, Coletta discloses the composition may comprise a chelator at 0-5wt% (see [0126]).
With regard to claim 13, Coletta discloses, in some embodiments, the liquid composition does not contain a colorant (see [0129]) and further discloses the liquid compositions of the invention may optionally include one or more perfumes or fragrances (see [0136]). “Optionally” indicates that the perfumes and fragrances are not necessary and may be excluded from the composition.
Conclusion
/B.S.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/LORNA M DOUYON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761