DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro (US20230180338)(hereafter Fujishiro).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Fujishiro discloses a wireless communication apparatus comprising:
a communicator configured to perform a first type data communication which transmits and receives first type data with a counter wireless communication apparatus in a first mode (see, abstract, the first preference information is information indicating that the user equipment in an RRC inactive state desires to perform transmission of data by using a message of a random access procedure and/or transmission of the data by using a preconfigured radio resource, see para [0096], SDT transmission is first type data communication, RRC inactive state is first mode); and
processor circuitry configured to control to perform the first type data communication by controlling to transmit, to the counter wireless communication apparatus in the first mode, a second paging for performing the first type data communication via a plurality of specific cells in an area which is formed by a plurality of cells, the area being transmitted a first paging, the second paging being different from a first paging (see, para, [0120] The UE 100 in the RRC inactive state can perform cell selection and cell reselection, in a manner the same as and/or similar to that in the RRC idle state. For example, the UE 100 can also select a cell of a different gNB from the gNB 200 to which the UE 100 has transmitted the SDT preference information and then transmit data to such a different gNB. In this case, when the different gNB does not include the SDT preference information of the UE 100, the UE 100 transmits the SDT preference information to the different gNB again, [0129] In Step S220, the UE 100 and the source gNB 200-1 perform measurement control and measurement report. In Step S221, the source gNB 200-1 determines to perform handover. In Step S222, the source gNB 200-1 transmits a handover request (HO Request) message to a target gNB 200-2 (S222). In this case, the source gNB 200-1 includes the SDT preference information received from the UE 100 as well as the UE context of the UE 100 in the handover request message and then transmits the handover request message to the target gNB 200-2. Then, in Steps S223 and S224, a series of handover processing operations are performed. The "RRC inactive state", "SDT transmission", the "RRC connection resume request message", and the "measurement report" interpreted as, the "first mode", the "first-type data communication", the "second control signal", and the "first control signal", respectively).
Regarding claim 2, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus, the first mode is a state where the counter wireless communication apparatus is configured to receive the first-type data with predetermined timing, and the first-type data is data smaller than a predetermined size ([0077] In the present embodiment, EDT and PUR may be collectively referred to as Small Data Transmission (SDT). Data transmitted using SDT is data having a predetermined size or smaller (or small data or a small piece of data), and has a size that can be transmitted in data transmitted using EDT or PUR).
Regarding claim 3, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first mode is an RRC-INACTIVE state (see, para [0120], RRC in-active state).
Regarding claim 4, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communicator is further configured to receive, from the counter wireless communication apparatus, a control signal after transmitting the second paging ([0129] In Step S220, the UE 100 and the source gNB 200-1 perform measurement control and measurement report. In Step S221, the source gNB 200-1 determines to perform handover. In Step S222, the source gNB 200-1 transmits a handover request (HO Request) message to a target gNB 200-2 (S222). In this case, the source gNB 200-1 includes the SDT preference information received from the UE 100 as well as the UE context of the UE 100 in the handover request message and then transmits the handover request message to the target gNB 200-2. Then, in Steps S223 and S224, a series of handover processing operations are performed).
Regarding claim 5, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the control signal is a RRC Resume Request (see, para [0125], In Step S202, the RRC connection resume request message to a gNB 200-1 different from the gNB 200-2 to which the UE 100 has transmitted the SDT preference information).
Regarding claim 6, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the RRC Resume Request includes Resume Cause indicating that first type data communication is to be performed in a RNA (RAN Notification Area) which includes the plurality of specific cells (see, para [0125] The UE 100 in the RRC inactive state in Step S201 transmits, in Step S202, the RRC connection resume request message to a gNB 200-1 different from the gNB 200-2 to which the UE 100 has transmitted the SDT preference information. The message includes an Inactive-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) supplied from the last serving gNB 200-2 to the UE 100).
Regarding claim 7, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first paging is transmitted via the plurality of specific cells and a cell which is not included the plurality of specific cells ([0067] in MT-EDT, downlink data transmission is performed. When the UE 100 receives a paging message including a command of MT-EDT from an evolved NodeB (eNB) (LTE base station), the UE 100 executes the random access procedure. Then, the UE 100 can receive the downlink data by using Msg4 of the random access procedure.)
Regarding claim 8, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first paging is RAN paging message (see, para [0036], cell update).
Regarding claim 9, Fujishiro further discloses the wireless communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the area is an area which is configured to control to communication during the first mode ([0120] The UE 100 in the RRC inactive state can perform cell selection and cell reselection, in a manner the same as and/or similar to that in the RRC idle state. For example, the UE 100 can also select a cell of a different gNB from the gNB 200 to which the UE 100 has transmitted the SDT preference information and then transmit data to such a different gNB).
Regarding claim 11, Fujishiro further discloses the second wireless communication apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the communicator is further configured to transmit, to the counter wireless communication apparatus, a control signal after receiving the second paging (([0129] In Step S220, the UE 100 and the source gNB 200-1 perform measurement control and measurement report. In Step S221, the source gNB 200-1 determines to perform handover. In Step S222, the source gNB 200-1 transmits a handover request (HO Request) message to a target gNB 200-2 (S222). In this case, the source gNB 200-1 includes the SDT preference information received from the UE 100 as well as the UE context of the UE 100 in the handover request message and then transmits the handover request message to the target gNB 200-2. Then, in Steps S223 and S224, a series of handover processing operations are performed).
Regarding claim 12, Fujishiro further discloses the second wireless communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the control signal is a RRC Resume Request (see, para [0073], RRC connection resume request message).
Regarding claim 13, The second wireless communication apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the RRC Resume Request includes Resume Cause indicating that first type data communication is to be performed in a RNA (RAN Notification Area) which includes the plurality of specific cells (see, para [0125] The UE 100 in the RRC inactive state in Step S201 transmits, in Step S202, the RRC connection resume request message to a gNB 200-1 different from the gNB 200-2 to which the UE 100 has transmitted the SDT preference information. The message includes an Inactive-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) supplied from the last serving gNB 200-2 to the UE 100).
Regarding claim 14, Fujishiro discloses a wireless communication system comprising:
a first wireless communication (see, Fig. 6, the communication between the gNB 200 and UE, 100, see, abstract, the first preference information is information indicating that the user equipment in an RRC inactive state desires to perform transmission of data by using a message of a random access procedure and/or transmission of the data by using a preconfigured radio resource, see para [0096], SDT transmission is first type data communication, RRC inactive state is first mode); and
a second wireless communication configured to: perform a first type data communication which transmits and receives first type data with the first wireless communication apparatus in a first mode(see, (see, Fig. 6, the communication between the gNB 200 and UE,abstract, the first preference information is information indicating that the user equipment in an RRC inactive state desires to perform transmission of data by using a message of a random access procedure and/or transmission of the data by using a preconfigured radio resource, see para [0096], SDT transmission is first type data communication, RRC inactive state is first mode), and
control to perform the first type data communication by controlling to transmit, to the counter wireless communication apparatus in the first mode, a second paging for performing the first type data communication via a plurality of specific cells in an area which is formed by a plurality of cells, the area being transmitted a first paging, the second paging being different from a first paging ((see, para, [0120] The UE 100 in the RRC inactive state can perform cell selection and cell reselection, in a manner the same as and/or similar to that in the RRC idle state. For example, the UE 100 can also select a cell of a different gNB from the gNB 200 to which the UE 100 has transmitted the SDT preference information and then transmit data to such a different gNB. In this case, when the different gNB does not include the SDT preference information of the UE 100, the UE 100 transmits the SDT preference information to the different gNB again, [0129] In Step S220, the UE 100 and the source gNB 200-1 perform measurement control and measurement report. In Step S221, the source gNB 200-1 determines to perform handover. In Step S222, the source gNB 200-1 transmits a handover request (HO Request) message to a target gNB 200-2 (S222). In this case, the source gNB 200-1 includes the SDT preference information received from the UE 100 as well as the UE context of the UE 100 in the handover request message and then transmits the handover request message to the target gNB 200-2. Then, in Steps S223 and S224, a series of handover processing operations are performed, the "RRC inactive state", the "SDT transmission", the "RRC connection resume request message", and the "measurement report" interpreted as the "first mode", the "first-type data communication", the "second control signal", and the "first control signal", respectively).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2019/0289570) discloses method and apparatus for inactive mode operation in wireless communication system.
Koc et al. (US 9930647) discloses enhanced node B and method for RRC connected establishment for small data transfers.
Wu et al. (US 2022/0312376) discloses relay UE assisted RAN notification area update procedure.
Xu et al. (US 2022/0124866) discloses data communication while in RRC inactive state.
He et al. (US 2021/0127397) discloses power efficient data transfer of small data in radio resource control connected lite mode.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631