DETAILED ACTION
The following is a FINAL office action upon examination of the application number 18/971177.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0086024 (Naanaa).
As per claim 1, Naanaa teaches: a computer system comprising: a processor; a storage device connected to the processor; and a network interface connected to the processor, ([0202] In some embodiments, the system 100 includes non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising computer program instructions tangibly stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the instructions are executable by at least one processor to perform each of the steps described [0218] … computing device 800 may include a storage device 828, an installation device 816, a network interface 818)
wherein the computer system is connected to a plurality of large-scale language models (LLMs) in each of which a LLM that executes a task using a computer resource is operated, ([0195] … AI agents, use a Large Language Model (LLM) [0027] … the system 100 includes a plurality of user agents 102a-n, a core node 104, a first pre-trained large language model (LLM) 110, a second pre-trained LLM 112, and a plurality of worker agents 106a-n. [0037] The worker agents 106a-n may be AI agents specialized to interface with specific online products or services, serving as dedicated proxies for their respective external platforms. The worker agents 106a-n may be AI agents specialized to solve particular tasks and/or to perform operations on particular types of data. [0039])
the computer system holds LLM management information for managing the LLM, data that is constituted of items indicating identification information of the LLM and characteristics of the LLM is stored in the LLM management information, and ([0042] … The core node 104 may execute functionality for populating, maintaining, and/or dynamically updating an agent directory that classifies and organizes agents based at least on agent capabilities and specializations. [0058] … The core node 104 may access a dynamically updated directory of worker agents 106 to identify the plurality of candidate worker agents. The directory may classify agents, by way of example, based on agent capabilities, specializations, and other meta-attributes, for instance, based on the online services or products agents cater to and/or interface with. The core node 104 may update the directory to account for new agent enrollments, agent retirements, or capability changes, which may ensure that the discovery process remains current, relevant, and comprehensive).
in at least one of the plurality of LLMs, LLM executes a language processing task where a prompt that is a text describing an instruction content is received by the LLM and a text which forms a response is outputted by the LLM, and ([0125] … receiving a user request (also referred to herein as a query, such as a prompt) from a user (602). For purposes of the following discussion, assume that the user request is received from the user associated with user agent 102a, although the user request may be received from any user. The user request may take any of the forms disclosed herein. [0140] … the current user agent receives the following user query: “Place my usual order for coffee”. [0147] … agent delivers this aggregated response back to the current user. This delivery may occur through the user interface generated by the user agent, ensuring that the user receives a cohesive and complete answer to their original request).
the processor is configured: to receive a task execution request; ([0125] … receiving a user request (also referred to herein as a query, such as a prompt) from a user (602). For purposes of the following discussion, assume that the user request is received from the user associated with user agent 102a, although the user request may be received from any user. The user request may take any of the forms disclosed herein. [0140] … the current user agent receives the following user query: “Place my usual order for coffee”.)
to generate, for each of the plurality of LLMs, task execution information relating to a plurality of tasks to be executed until a desired result is obtained; ([0097] …The method 400 includes identifying a plurality of tasks to be performed to process the user request (404). [0064] … execution time, resource usage, success rate, and other relevant performance metrics…[0065] …The matching algorithm may incorporate factors such as task suitability, past performance, availability, agent load, and capability specificity to assign AI agents to sub-tasks. Task suitability may be adjusted by a specificity score, which favors agents with narrower, more focused capabilities over those with broader, less specialized ones. [0106] The core node 104 may compute, for each worker agent W in the plurality of worker agents, a value of a success rate metric for the worker agent W)
to identify candidate LLMs based on the LLM management information and the task execution information; to select the LLM to which the task is assigned from the candidate LLMs, ([Abstract] …Based at least on the user request, the plurality of availability statuses, and the plurality of clusters, the core node identifies a subset of the plurality of worker agents that are both available to process the user request and that are suitable for processing the user request. [0065] For each of the plurality of sub-tasks, the user agent identifies a subset of the plurality of candidate worker agents to perform the sub-task, based on the ranking (212-a). A matching algorithm may be employed to assign the best available worker agent to each sub-task. The matching algorithm may incorporate factors such as task suitability, past performance, availability, agent load, and capability specificity to assign AI agents to sub-tasks. Task suitability may be adjusted by a specificity score, which favors agents with narrower, more focused capabilities over those with broader, less specialized ones. The final score for each agent may be calculated using a weighted formula that balances these factors, ensuring that specialized agents are prioritized for tasks closely aligned with their expertise. The algorithm is designed to adapt over time, refining its weighting based on feedback from task outcomes. A final score may be the sum of multiplying each of suitability, performance, availability, load, and specificity by a corresponding weight. [0066] For each of the plurality of sub-tasks, the user agent identifies, from the subset of the plurality of candidate worker agents, based on at least one criterion, a best worker agent to perform the sub-task (212-b)).
to calculate a number of times of task execution until a desired result is obtained with respect to the candidate LLMs; ([0106] … a value of a success rate metric for the worker agent W, based on tasks performed by the user agent W…. maintain a log of user feedback and success rates for completed tasks; success rate for a task indicates a number of times needed until success (desired result))
to calculate evaluation indexes of the candidate LLMs based on the number of times of task execution; ([0106] … a value of a success rate metric for the worker agent W, based on tasks performed by the user agent W…. maintain a log of user feedback and success rates for completed tasks [0107] … determined scores for one or more metrics to generate a composite score for each worker agent 106).
to select the LLM to which the task is assigned from the candidate LLMs based on the evaluation indexes; and to instruct the selected LLM to execute the assigned task ([0107] … determined scores for one or more metrics to generate a composite score for each worker agent 106. [0065] … . The final score for each agent may be calculated using a weighted formula that balances these factors, ensuring that specialized agents are prioritized for tasks closely aligned with their expertise [0067] … generate a standardized request message in accordance with the protocols of the distributed message queuing system to assign the sub-task to the identified best worker agent 106. [0052] … The user agent 102 may communicate directly with the identified best worker agent 106 and receive a response to the sub-task from the worker agent 106 (which itself may have communicated with another service to have the sub-task processed and the response generated). The user agent 102 may return each response to the corresponding user or, in the event of receiving a plurality of responses associated with a single user request, the user agent 102 may aggregate the responses and return the aggregated response to the user corresponding to the user request).
As per claim 2, Naanaa teaches: the items indicating the characteristics of the LLM include at least a cost associated with execution of the task, and ([0195] … AI agents, use a Large Language Model (LLM) [0103] The core node 104 may compute, for each worker agent W in the plurality of worker agents, a value of an operational cost metric for the worker agent W, based on processing of other user requests by the worker agent W. The core node 104 may record an operational cost of each worker agent 106 on a per-million-token basis. The core node 104 may therefore rank worker agents not solely on performance but also on the cost-effectiveness of operations, providing a balanced rank considering high-performing and cost-efficient agents favorably [0188] Techniques disclosed herein for performing agent-specific ranking (such as those shown in FIG. 4 and described in connection therewith) address the technical problem of ranking worker agents (such as worker agents that employ machine learning models to process user requests) for a specific request by considering qualitative performance metrics. Ranking techniques disclosed herein may use a multi-factor ranking approach, considering metrics such as throughput, context window, cost per million tokens, declared capabilities, uptime and age in network, and user feedback).
As per claim 3, Naanaa teaches: the task execution request includes a condition relating to a characteristic of the LLM to be used, and the processor identifies the candidate LLM that satisfies the condition included in the task execution request by referencing the LLM management information and the task execution information ([0046] … The core node 104 may optionally include or be in communication with a pre-trained LLM 112 for processing incoming natural language requests, including conversion of incoming requests into one or more executable action items [0061] … receives, from the user agent 102, the user request and/or the embedding of the user request. The core node 104 may, optionally, modify a ranking of one or more candidate worker agents based upon analyzing one or more attributes of the user request [0090] … The worker agent 106 may provide a detailed capability description outlining the types of tasks it can handle [0104] The core node 104 may compute, for each worker agent W in the plurality of worker agents, a value of a declared capabilities metric for the worker agent W, based on declared capabilities of the worker agent W and tasks required to be performed to process the user request. The core node 104 may annotate worker agent profiles with their declared capabilities (e.g., general knowledge, specialized domains such as legal advice, medical information, etc.) and implement a matching algorithm that gives preference to agents whose declared capabilities align closely with the specific needs voiced in a user's query).
As per claim 4, Naanaa teaches: in a case where the processor receives an execution request of a new task after the LLM is selected, the processor is configured to assign the task to the selected LLM ([0182] … incorporate feedback on worker agent performance and personalize task assignment. For example, the system 100 may record which worker agents have interacted with any particular user/user agent and the specific tasks or queries those worker agents have handled. This tracking allows for a comprehensive history of user-worker agent interactions. The system 100 may store user feedback on the performance of worker agents, with particular emphasis on highlighting those worker agents that receive positive reviews. This integration enables the system 100 to maintain a record of user satisfaction with specific worker agents. [0183] …For each user, the system 100 may create a profile that encapsulates their preferences, frequently asked queries, and highly rated worker agents. This profiling enables the system 100 to maintain a personalized record of user interactions and preferences, facilitating more tailored responses in future interactions. [0184] The system 100 may utilize the feedback scores to dynamically assign worker agents to future tasks. This allocation may be based on the worker agents' demonstrated proficiency, as indicated by their feedback scores.).
As per claim 5, Naanaa teaches: the computer system is configured to hold execution log information that stores an execution log of the task executed by the LLM; in the execution log information, the execution logs of a plurality of tasks that are executed until a desired result is obtained are managed in an associated manner with each other, and the processor generates the task execution information for the respective LLMs by referencing the execution log information ([0060] … The ranking mechanism may evaluate one or more factors to rank the candidate worker agents 106, including, but not limited to, historical performance data of a candidate worker agent 106, feedback or ratings (if available) from previous interactions, specificity and relevance of the capabilities of a candidate worker agent 106 that relate to the current user request or sub-task, latency or response time statistics from past engagements, and a load and/or current activity level of the candidate worker agent 106. [0106] … maintain a log of user feedback and success rates for completed tasks. The core node 104 may utilize natural language processing techniques (including, by way of example, sentiment analysis) to analyze user feedback, quantifying satisfaction and success rates. [0183] The system 100 may assign scores to worker agents based on the cumulative feedback received from users. These scores serve as indicators of the worker agents' performance and their suitability for future tasks. [0185] The system 100 may continuously update the user profiles based on new interactions).
As per claim 6, Naanaa teaches: in the plurality of tasks that are executed until the desired result is obtained, the execution log of the task that is executed last contains a user evaluation with respect to the LLM to which the task is assigned, the processor is configured to correct the evaluation index based on the user evaluation ([0044] … The core node 104 may execute functionality for ranking the one or more worker agents 106a-n based upon criterion such as performance, user feedback, and latency statistics, which may ensure that the best-suited agent(s) executes on a particular request [0184] The system 100 may utilize the feedback scores to dynamically assign worker agents to future tasks. This allocation may be based on the worker agents' demonstrated proficiency, as indicated by their feedback scores. By doing so, the system 100 aims to match users with the most suitable worker agents for their specific needs. [0185] The system 100 may continuously update the user profiles based on new interactions. This ongoing refinement of the agent assignment process allows the system 100 to adapt to changing user preferences and worker agent performance over time, ensuring that task assignments remain optimized. By implementing these features, the system 100 may create a more efficient and personalized user experience. In particular, it may leverage historical interaction data and user feedback to improve the matching of worker agents to tasks, potentially leading to higher user satisfaction and more effective task completion. [0188] … Ranking techniques disclosed herein may use a multi-factor ranking approach, considering metrics such as throughput, context window, cost per million tokens, declared capabilities, uptime and age in network, and user feedback. Ranking techniques disclosed herein may also … generate a composite score for each agent and a real-time updating mechanism to recalibrate rankings as new data comes in).
As per claim 8, Naanaa teaches: the task execution request includes, as the condition, at least one of a size of data in the task, presence or non-presence of use of external data in the LLM, a type of the external data, and processing performance of the LLM ([0044] …ranking the one or more worker agents 106a-n based upon criterion such as performance [0052] … ranking of a subset of worker agents 106 based upon attributes of the user request [0060] … The ranking mechanism may evaluate one or more factors to rank the candidate worker agents 106, including, but not limited to, historical performance data of a candidate worker agent 106, feedback or ratings (if available) from previous interactions).
As per claim 9, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 1, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 10 this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 2, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 11 this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 3, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 12 this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 5, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 13 this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 6, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 15 this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 8, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0086024 (Naanaa); in view of US 2005/0177549 (Hornick).
As per claim 7, Naanaa teaches: to decide an order of processing performance of the respective LLMs with respect to the task that is requested to be executed by referencing the LLM management information, ([0044] The core node 104 may optionally execute a ranking engine for ranking one or more worker agents 106 in the system 100. The core node 104 may execute functionality for ranking one or more worker agents 106a-n. The core node 104 may execute functionality for ranking the one or more worker agents 106a-n based upon criterion such as performance, user feedback, and latency statistics, which may ensure that the best-suited agent(s) executes on a particular request, thereby improving service quality. [0060] The method 200 includes ranking, by the core node, the plurality of candidate worker agents (206). The core node 104 may execute a ranking mechanism to rank the plurality of candidate worker agents 106. The ranking mechanism may evaluate one or more factors to rank the candidate worker agents 106, including, but not limited to, historical performance data of a candidate worker agent 106, feedback or ratings (if available) from previous interactions, specificity and relevance of the capabilities of a candidate worker agent 106 that relate to the current user request or sub-task, latency or response time statistics from past engagements, and a load and/or current activity level of the candidate worker agent 106).
Although not explicitly taught by Naanaa, Hornick teaches: to calculate the number of times of task execution by executing an arithmetic operation using the order ([0066] …To do this, the local data mining agent computes estimates of times to complete the data mining processing task based on the amount of processing that must be performed to complete the data mining processing task, the speed of the other computer systems, and estimates of CPU utilization of the other computer systems. [0067] … The other data mining agents would then compute estimates of times to complete the data mining processing task based on the amount of processing that must be performed to complete the data mining processing task, the speed of the other computer systems, and estimates of CPU utilization of the other computer systems. The responses to the queries would include these completion time estimates [0068] …The local data mining agent then compares the estimated completion time for the local computer system with the estimated completion times for the other computer systems to determine whether another computer system could complete the data mining processing task faster than the local computer system).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Naanaa with the aforementioned teachings of Hornick with the motivation of identifying an agent that can complete a task faster (Hornick [0068]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Hornick to the system of Naanaa would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the estimation of a task completion time.
As per claim 14 this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 7, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection under 35 USC 102, Applicant argues that the art of record does not disclose the claimed features.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection has been updated to address the claim amendments. See updated Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250148290 (Vasseur) – discloses the selection of a LLM based on a set of metrics.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN TORRICO-LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625