DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 06/16/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17, and 19-20 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claims 6, 12, 14-15, and 18 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blottiau (US 10427511).
Claim 1
(Blottiau discloses) A sealing profile strand (1a; embodiment shown in figure 2a) for mounting to a frame profile (2) of a window frame (figure 1a) for a sliding window (V) which is slidable along a third direction (Z; figure 1a), the sealing profile strand extending along a first direction (X) and comprising:
a support segment (3’ and 5’) for mounting the sealing profile strand to the frame profile, the support segment including a relatively hard material (the harder support parts discussed in lines 34-35 in col. 7); and
a sealing segment (9a’, 9b, and 9c) which is mainly formed of a relatively soft material (see flexing of softer lips 9a’, 9b, and 9c), which is attached to the support segment, and which includes at least an inner sealing portion (9a’) configured to engage an inner surface (Vi) of the sliding window, and an edge sealing portion (9b) configured to seal an upper edge of the sliding window in its closed state (Annotated figure 2a below),
wherein the support segment comprises a vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a below) which is configured to be arranged on an outside of the frame profile in a second direction (Y) which is perpendicular to the first direction and to the third direction (Annotated figure 2a below),
wherein the support segment comprises an upper support section and a lower support section (both shown in Annotated figure 2a below) which are configured to be arranged on opposite sides of the frame profile in the third direction (Annotated figure 2a below),
wherein the upper support section is connected to an upper end of the vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a below),
wherein the lower support section is connected to a lower end of the vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a below),
wherein the support segment comprises a vertical protrusion (Annotated figure 2a below) which is connected to the lower end of the vertical support section and extends downwardly with respect to the vertical support section in the third direction such that the vertical protrusion has a lower free end (in applicant’s invention, the vertical protrusion’s free end is covered by the edge sealing portion, as such this limitation was interpreted similarly), and
wherein the edge sealing portion comprises a window edge closure lip (9b) which extends underneath the lower free end of the vertical protrusion of the support segment to an inside in the second direction (figure 2a) and extends at least across the entire upper edge of the sliding window in its closed state (figure 2a shows the window edge closure lip to pass through the window, however one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand that the lip would bend as it contacts the sliding window; furthermore, the window edge closure lip would extend across the entire upper edge that is shown in the Annotated figure 2a below), and which is configured to be engaged by the upper edge of the sliding window (Annotated figure 2a below).
Annotated figure 2a
Claim 2
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 1, wherein the lower support section is configured to be arranged on a lower side of a transversal portion (Annotated figure 2a above) of the frame profile in the third direction.
Claim 3
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 2, wherein the lower support section comprises a locking section (Annotated figure 2a above) which is configured to be engaged by a locking tongue of the frame profile (intended use; Annotated figure 2a above).
Claim 4
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 3, wherein a groove (Annotated figure 2a (II) below) is formed between the vertical protrusion and the locking section of the support segment.
Annotated figure 2a (II)
Claim 5
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 4, wherein the window edge closure lip extends across at least a part of the groove in the second direction (Annotated figure 2a (II) above).
Claim 7
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 1, wherein the sealing segment includes an upper sealing portion (Annotated figure 2a (II) above) which is configured to engage an upper part of the frame profile (intended use; figure 2a).
Claim 8
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 7, wherein the upper sealing portion and the window edge closure lip are directly connected to each other (Annotated figure 2a (II) above).
Claim 9
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 8, wherein a lining portion (Annotated figure 2a (II) above) of the sealing segment is arranged on an outside of the vertical support section.
Claim 13
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 1, wherein the inner sealing portion is connected to the lower support section (Annotated figure 2a above).
Claim 17
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 1, wherein the sealing segment and the support segment are integrated by co-extrusion (this limitation was interpreted as product-by-process limitations; see MPEP 2113 (I)).
Claim 19
(Blottiau discloses) A sealing profile strand (1a; embodiment shown in figure 2a) for mounting to a frame profile (2) of a window frame (figure 1a) for a sliding window (V) which is slidable along a third direction (Z; figure 1a), the sealing profile strand extending along a first direction (X) and comprising:
a support segment (3’ and 5’) for mounting the sealing profile strand to the frame profile, the support segment including a relatively hard material (the harder support parts discussed in lines 34-35 in col. 7), wherein the support segment is mainly made of at least one of a rubber elastomer material or a thermoplastic elastomer material (lines 27-33 of col. 3); and
a sealing segment (9a’, 9b, and 9c) which is mainly formed of a relatively soft material (see flexing of softer lips 9a’, 9b, and 9c), is attached to the support segment, and which includes at least an inner sealing portion (9a’) configured to engage an inner surface (Vi) of the sliding window, and an edge sealing portion (9b) configured to seal an upper edge of the sliding window in its closed state (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the sealing segment is mainly made of at least one of a rubber elastomer material or a thermoplastic elastomer material (lines 27-33 of col. 3),
wherein the support segment comprises a vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a above) which is configured to be arranged on an outside of the frame profile in a second direction (Y) which is perpendicular to the first direction and to the third direction (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the support segment comprises an upper support section and a lower support section (both shown in Annotated figure 2a above) which are configured to be arranged on opposite sides of the frame profile in the third direction (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the upper support section is connected to an upper end of the vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the lower support section is connected to a lower end of the vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the support segment comprises a vertical protrusion (Annotated figure 2a above) which is connected to the lower end of the vertical support section and extends downwardly with respect to the vertical support section in the third direction such that the vertical protrusion has a lower free end (in applicant’s invention, the vertical protrusion’s free end is covered by the edge sealing portion, as such this limitation was interpreted similarly), and
wherein the edge sealing portion comprises a window edge closure lip (9b) which extends underneath the lower free end of the vertical protrusion of the support segment to an inside in the second direction (figure 2a) and which is configured to extend across the entire upper edge of the sliding window in its closed state (figure 2a shows the window edge closure lip to pass through the window, however one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand that the lip would bend as it contacts the sliding window; furthermore, the window edge closure lip would extend across the entire upper edge that is shown in the Annotated figure 2a above), and to be engaged by the upper edge of the sliding window (Annotated figure 2a above).
Claim 20
(Blottiau discloses) A sealing arrangement (embodiment shown in figure 2a) for a sliding window (V) which is slidable along a third direction (Z), the sealing arrangement including a frame profile (2) of a window frame (figure 1a) and a sealing profile strand (1a),
the sealing profile strand being mounted to the frame profile of the window frame and extending along a first direction (X), wherein the sealing profile strand comprises:
a support segment (3’ and 5’) mounting the sealing profile strand to the frame profile, the support segment including a relatively hard material (the harder support parts discussed in lines 34-35 in col. 7), and
a sealing segment (9a’, 9b, and 9c) which is mainly formed of a relatively soft material (see flexing of softer lips 9a’, 9b, and 9c), is attached to the support segment, and which includes at least an inner sealing portion (9a’) configured to engage an inner surface (Vi) of the sliding window, and includes an edge sealing portion (9b) configured to seal an upper edge of the sliding window in its closed state (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the support segment comprises a vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a above) which is arranged on an outside of the frame profile in a second direction (Y) which is perpendicular to the first direction and to the third direction (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the support segment comprises an upper support section and a lower support section (both shown in Annotated figure 2a above) which are configured to be arranged on opposite sides of the frame profile in the third direction (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the upper support section is connected to an upper end of the vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the lower support section is connected to a lower end of the vertical support section (Annotated figure 2a above),
wherein the support segment comprises a vertical protrusion (Annotated figure 2a above) which is connected to the lower end of the vertical support section and extends downwardly with respect to the vertical support section in the third direction such that the vertical protrusion has a lower free end (in applicant’s invention, the vertical protrusion’s free end is covered by the edge sealing portion, as such this limitation was interpreted similarly), and
wherein the edge sealing portion comprises a window edge closure lip (9b) which extends underneath the lower free end of the vertical protrusion of the support segment to an inside in the second direction (figure 2a) and extends across the entire upper edge of the sliding window in its closed state (figure 2a shows the window edge closure lip to pass through the window, however one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand that the lip would bend as it contacts the sliding window; furthermore, the window edge closure lip would extend across the entire upper edge that is shown in the Annotated figure 2a above), and which is configured to be engaged by the upper edge of the sliding window (Annotated figure 2a above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blottiau, as applied to claims 1-5, 7-9, 13, 17, and 19-20 above, in view of Murree et al (US 20130305612) (hereinafter “Murree”).
Claims 10 and 11
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 1.
Blottiau fails to disclose:
(i) wherein a lining segment is attached to an outside of the vertical support section in the second direction. (claim 10).
(ii) wherein the lining segment comprises a lug which is introduced into a receptacle of the support segment. (claim 11).
(However, Murree discloses) A sealing profile strand (16; Murree figures 4a-4b),
(i) wherein a lining segment (66) is attached to an outside of a vertical support section (36) in a second direction (left-right direction) (claim 10);
(ii) wherein the lining segment comprises a lug (78) which is introduced into a receptacle (68) of a support segment (26; Murree figures 4a-4b) (claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide sealing profile strand of Blottiau with the lining segment of Murree for improving the aesthetic appearance and to provide a protecting shield to the sealing profile strand.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blottiau, as applied to claims 1-5, 7-9, 13, 17, and 19-20 above.
Claim 16
(Blottiau discloses) The sealing profile strand of claim 1.
Blottiau fails to disclose wherein the support segment includes a reinforcement portion.
(However, an embodiment of Blottiau teaches) wherein a support segment (3 and 5; Blottiau figure 2) includes a reinforcement portion (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the sealing profile strand of Blottiau with the reinforcement portion of the alternative embodiment of Blottiau for the predictable result of reinforcing the clamping feature of the sealing profile strand.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment directed to the 112(b) rejection has been considered and the rejection was withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Otsuka et al. (US 20150089878 A1) (hereinafter “Otsuka”) was cited as relevant prior art as it seems to read into the amended claim 1 and it has a window edge closure lip which can extend along an upper edge of a sliding window. This was not used in the rejection as the prior art used above disclosed features more relevant to applicant’s invention.
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634