DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/971,269, filed on 6 December, 2024, were presented for examination. In a preliminary amendment also filed 6 December, 2024, new claims 12-20 were added. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6 December, 2024, and 30 April, 2025, were filed before the mailing date of this Office Action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the electric connector is labeled with reference numeral 101 in figs. 1 and 6, while in the specification (page 9) the electrical connector is referred to as reference numeral 102.
Alternatively, the specification could be amended to change “102” to “101” in page 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sala (US 2017/0023081 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sala teaches a housing assembly [housing 5] for an electric drive device [brake gear motor 1 comprising motor 2 reducer 4] (see abstract), wherein the housing assembly comprises:
a housing [5], comprising
a first housing portion [second chamber 28], the first housing portion [28] at least partially accommodating an electric motor [2] of the electric drive device [1/2/4] (see abstract and ¶ 0099);
a second housing portion [third chamber 29] located at one end (upper-right end in fig. 6 – although not shown in fig. 6, the Examiner has embedded a snippet from fig. 7 in the fig. 6 excerpt above to show where 29 is on the back of 5) of the first housing portion [28], the second housing portion [29] accommodating a speed reducer [4] of the electric drive device [1/2/4] {see the abstract which recites “a third chamber (29) houses the input side (9) of the reducer (4)…”};
an electric motor cover [first cover 40], assembled to another end of the first housing portion [28], comprising a cover portion (labeled by the Examiner in the fig. 25 excerpt attached below) and a cavity portion [first cover compartment 46], the cavity portion [46] and the first housing portion [28] together forming an electric motor cavity for accommodating the electric motor [2] (see ¶ 0119 which recites “second chamber 28 is closed by a first cover 40 substantially cup-shaped, selected from a set of cup-shaped covers, that forms a first cover compartment 46 of a predefined size and suitable for housing a portion of a specific size of the electric motor 2…”).
With respect to claim 2/1, Sala teaches the assembly of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a dimension of the cavity portion is determined according to the power of the electric motor [2] accommodated in the electric drive device [1/2/4] (see ¶ 0119 which recites “second chamber 28 is closed by a first cover 40 substantially cup-shaped, selected from a set of cup-shaped covers, that forms a first cover compartment 46 of a predefined size and suitable for housing a portion of a specific size of the electric motor 2, in order to adapt said brake gear motor group 1 to different applications, by changing only said first cover 40 in said of first covers, and keeping the housing 5 unchanged to obtain gear motor assemblies of different powers”).
With respect to claim 12/2/1, Sala teaches the assembly of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first housing portion [28] and the second housing portion [29] are integrally formed (they are separated by a shared plate 53 – see ¶ 0090 which recites, describing 53, “said housing 5 is divided by said support plate into three chambers 6, 28, 29…” – also, the cross-hatch portion shown in fig. 25 indicates that the whole assembly 5 is unitary).
With respect to claim 3/1, Sala teaches the assembly of claim 1, and further teaches (still referring to the joint annotated excerpt of figs. 24, 25, and 13 above) wherein the first housing portion [28] and the second housing portion [29] are integrally formed (they are separated by a shared plate 53 – see ¶ 0090 which recites, describing 53, “said housing 5 is divided by said support plate into three chambers 6, 28, 29…” – also, the cross-hatch portion shown in fig. 25 indicates that the whole assembly 5 is unitary).
With respect to claim 15/2/1, Sala teaches the assembly of claim 2, and further teaches an electric drive device [brake gear motor 1/2/4] comprising the housing assembly [5] according to claim 2.
With respect to claim 16/3/1, Sala teaches the assembly of claim 3, and further teaches an electric drive device [brake gear motor 1/2/4] comprising the housing assembly [5] according to claim 2.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (WO 2020187314 A1, provided herein with machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, Liu teaches a housing assembly for an electric drive device (see title), wherein the housing assembly comprises:
a housing [combined cylindrical housing 213, front end cover 211, rear end cover 212, and controller 30], comprising
a first housing portion [213], the first housing portion [213] at least partially accommodating an electric motor [20 including rotor 23 and stator 22] of the electric drive device (see abstract);
a second housing portion [211] located at one end (the ends have been labeled in the joint annotated excerpt of figs. 1 and 2 attached below) of the first housing portion [213], the second housing portion accommodating a speed reducer [reduction box or speed regulating box 10] of the electric drive device (see ¶ 0027 of the provided translation);
an electric motor cover [212], assembled to another end of the first housing portion [213], comprising a cover portion and a cavity portion (labeled by the Examiner in the fig. 3 excerpt attached below), the cavity portion and the first housing portion [213] together forming an electric motor cavity (also labeled in fig. 3) for accommodating the electric motor.
With respect to claim 2/1, Liu teaches the assembly of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a dimension of the cavity portion is determined according to the power of the electric motor [20/22/23] accommodated in the electric drive device (¶ 0010 of the translation recites, inter alia, “in matching different levels of electric vehicles, both the known integrated electric power drive assembly and the integrated electric power drive assembly of the present invention adjust the product model in order to modify the overall size and output power…” – the reference shows the cavity capable of holding a shaft and associated bearing of the motor – thus Liu’s authors have determined the dimension thereof in part according to the power of the motor – for instance, if the motor power to be increased ten-fold, all of the dimensions of the cavity portion would be increased as a consequence, as these parts’ dimensions reflect the weight, size, and torque load that they will handle).
With respect to claim 13/2/1, Liu teaches the assembly of claim 2, wherein the housing further comprises a third housing portion [the housing of controller 30] arranged adjacent to the first housing portion [213], the third housing portion accommodating power electronics [controller 30] of the electric drive device (the reference describes the entire controller module “controller 30” but the Examiner takes Official Notice that this type of controller comprises power electronics inside a housing portion – power electronics / controllers are never exposed to the elements, and are always housed by a physical structure – thus, the reference shows the third housing portion, while the named controller or power electronics are inside it).
With respect to claim 4/1, Liu teaches the assembly of claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises a third housing portion [the housing of controller 30] arranged adjacent to the first housing portion [213] (still referring to the joint annotated excerpt of figs. 1 and 2 above), the third housing portion accommodating power electronics [controller 30] of the electric drive device (the reference describes the entire controller module “controller 30” but the Examiner takes Official Notice that this type of controller comprises power electronics inside a housing portion – power electronics / controllers are never exposed to the elements, and are always housed by a physical structure – thus, the reference shows the third housing portion, while the named controller or power electronics are inside it).
With respect to claim 10/1, Liu teaches an electric drive device (see title), comprising the housing assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
With respect to claim 11/10/1, Liu teaches a vehicle (see title, abstract), comprising the electric device according to claim 10 (see abstract).
With respect to claim 17/4/1, Liu teaches an electric drive device (see title), comprising the housing assembly according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (CN 111379845 A – provided in an IDS but the Examiner is citing it again herein and providing another translation that will be used for the rejection below).
With respect to claim 1, Hu teaches a housing assembly [integrated housing 2] for an electric drive device [driving and braking device including rotor 4, stator 5, and reducer 1], wherein the housing assembly comprises:
a housing [2], comprising
a first housing portion [first mounting cavity and its container] (see the fig. 1 excerpt below, wherein the Examiner has labeled the housing portions), the first housing portion at least partially accommodating an electric motor [combined rotor 4 and stator 5] of the electric drive device (see ¶ 0047 of the provided translation, which recites “the integrated housing 2 has a first mounting cavity and a second mounting cavity. The motor assembly is arranged in the first mounting cavity…”);
a second housing portion [second mounting cavity and its container] located at one end (left-hand end in fig. 1) of the first housing portion, the second housing portion accommodating a speed reducer [1] of the electric drive device [4/5/1] (see ¶ 0047 which recites “the speed reducer 1 is arranged in the second mounting cavity…”);
an electric motor cover [rear end cap 3], assembled to another end [right-hand end in fig. 1] of the first housing portion, comprising a cover portion (portions labeled by the Examiner above) and a cavity portion (mainly where the shaft is located), the cavity portion and the first housing portion together forming an electric motor cavity [first mounting cavity] for accommodating the electric motor [4/5] (see ¶ 0050-0051).
With respect to claim 2/1, Hu teaches the assembly of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a dimension of the cavity portion is determined according to the power of the electric motor [4/5] accommodated in the electric drive device [4/5/1] (the reference shows the cavity capable of holding a shaft and associated bearing of the motor – thus Hu’s authors have determined the dimension thereof in part according to the power of the motor – for instance, if the motor power to be increased ten-fold, all of the dimensions of the cavity portion would be increased as a consequence, as these parts’ dimensions reflect the weight, size, and torque load that they will handle).
With respect to claim 12/2/1, Hu teaches the assembly of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first housing portion and the second housing portion are integrally formed (see ¶ 0047 which recites “the integrated housing 2 has a first mounting cavity and a second mounting cavity”).
With respect to claim 14/2/1, Hu teaches the assembly of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the housing assembly [2] is provided with a cooling circuit [oil inlet duct 2.1 and oil return channel 2.5, as well as rear solenoid oil spraying channel 3.1, rear bearing oil duct. 3.3, and rear coil oil injection passage 3.1] (see ¶ 0056).
With respect to claim 3/2/1, Hu teaches the assembly of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the first housing portion and the second housing portion are integrally formed (see ¶ 0047 which recites “the integrated housing 2 has a first mounting cavity and a second mounting cavity”).
With respect to claim 7/1, Hu teaches the assembly of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the housing assembly [2] is provided with a cooling circuit [combined oil inlet duct 2.1 and oil return channel 2.5, as well as rear solenoid oil spraying channel 3.1, rear bearing oil duct. 3.3, rotor oil spraying ports, and rear coil oil injection passage 3.1] (see ¶ 0056).
With respect to claim 8/7/1, Hu teaches the assembly of claim 7, and further teaches wherein the cooling circuit [2.1/2.5/3.1/3.3/3.1/3.1.1] comprises an oil spray device [rotor oil spraying ports 3.1.1] (see ¶ 0062) arranged on the cover portion [3].
With respect to claim 20/7/1, Hu teaches an electric drive device (motor assembly, see abstract), comprising the housing assembly [2] according to claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sawahata (WO 2021044809 A1).
With respect to claim 5/4/1, Liu teaches the assembly of claim 4, and further teaches an electrical connector [42] (see fig. 7 and ¶ 0035 of the translation), but omits wherein the electric connector for the electric motor of the electric drive device extends from the second housing portion into the first housing portion.
Sawahata discloses an electric drive comprising a first housing portion [frame 16] accommodating an electric motor [1], a second housing [gearbox 21] at one end of the first housing portion, the second portion [21] accommodating a speed reducer [gear 22 – see fig. 4 and its description in the translation], and a third housing portion [inverter housing 2] accommodating power electronics. Sawahata also appears to show an electric motor cover in figs. 1-6 but it is not discussed. Sawahata further discloses an electric connector [combined intermediate conductor 15 and inverter output terminal 14] for the electric motor of the electric drive device.
Sawahata teaches wherein the electrical connector [15/14] extends from the second housing portion [21] into the first housing portion [16] (through hole 27 – see ¶ 0014 which recites “the immersion section 20 communicates with a connection hole 27 provided in the frame 16. The intermediate conductor 15 is provided so as to connect the motor input terminal 13 and the inverter output terminal 14, and passes through a connection hole provided in the frame 16 and is disposed inside the immersion section 20…”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the assembly of Liu, while incorporating the electric connector extending from the second housing portion into the first housing portion, as taught by Sawahata, in order to immerse it in the oil-based medium (of the gearbox), such that Joule heat generated when the motor is driven heats the oil-based medium such that the viscosity of the oil-based medium is reduced, whereby the reduced-viscosity oil-based medium can lubricate the gear faster (Sawahata ¶ 0015).
With respect to claim 6/5/4/1, Liu in view of Sawahata teaches the assembly of claim 5, Sawahata further teaches wherein the electrical connection [15/14] extends from the second housing [21] into the third housing portion [2] (14 is the inverter output terminal – to be that it has to contact the inverter and to extend as far as the inverter it has to pass into the inverter housing labeled “2” – again, like Liu, Sawahata describes the entire inverter + inverter housing as “inverter 2” but the Examiner takes Official Notice that this type of controller comprises power electronics inside a housing portion – power electronics / controllers are never exposed to the elements, and are always housed by a physical structure – thus, the reference shows the third housing portion, while the named inverter or power electronics are inside it).
With respect to claim 18/5/4/1, Liu in view of Sawahata teaches the housing assembly of claim 5, Liu teaches an electric drive device (see title) comprising the housing assembly (see rejection of claim 5 above).
With respect to claim 19/6/5/4/1, Liu in view of Sawahata teaches the housing assembly of claim 6, Liu teaches an electric drive device (see title) comprising the housing assembly (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Sawahata, further in view of Akaishi (US 2022/0352790 A1).
With respect to claim 9/4/1, Liu in view of Sawahata teaches the assembly of claim 4, but neither reference teaches wherein the first housing portion, the second housing portion, and the third housing portion are integrally formed by casting.
Akaishi teaches a housing assembly [6D] comprising a first housing portion [motor housing 60] accommodating an electric motor (see ¶ 0042), a second housing portion [gear housing 62] located at one end of the first housing portion, the second housing portion accommodating a speed reducer [gears 41/42/43] of the electric drive device, and an electric motor cover [6a] (see ¶ 0038, the leader-line in fig. 2 is clearly pointing to the wrong element) assembled to another end of the first housing portion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the housing assembly of Liu in view of Sawahata, while integrally casting it, as taught by Akaishi, in order to enhance the rigidity and suppress vibrations (Akaishi ¶ 0043).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0006350 A1 shows a similar device that is also die cast (¶ 0036 and 0181) and has a cover [20] at the end of a first housing portion that houses the motor.
CN 112448542 A teaches many of the limitations of the claims.
/Daniel K Schlak/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834