DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Td of Lee is only for the center region and not the upper and lower regions. The examiner disagrees with applicant. Lee discloses dielectric layers 111 are used in both the central region and the upper and lower regions and further teaches the thickness, Td, can be 0.6 microns or less ([0046-0047]). As 111 is used for all regions the thickness will be identical. Furthermore, fig. 2 clearly shows the thickness of the dielectric layers in the central region (120A) has a thickness of Td and the dielectric layers in the upper and lower regions (120B) have a thickness of Td. Thus, Lee discloses independent claims 1 & 15 as amended. Applicant further argues Kim fails to disclose a ratio of the thickness of the central region and the upper and lower regions and thus fails to disclose the claims as currently presented. The examiner disagrees. Kim discloses the dielectric layers (which would be all dielectric layers) have a thickness of 2 times the thickness of the internal electrodes. Finally, new grounds of rejection have been made based on the amendments. All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-8, 10-11, 15, 17-18, & 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2015/0136462).
In regards to claim 1, Lee ‘462 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 2; [0034]) including a capacitance formation portion including a dielectric layer (111 – fig. 2; [0034]) and first and second internal electrodes (121-122 – fig. 2; [0034]) disposed alternately in a first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween, and cover portions (fig. 2) disposed in an upper portion and a lower portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction; and
external electrodes (131-132 – fig. 2; [0036]) disposed on the body,
wherein the capacitance formation portion includes outer regions (120B – fig. 2; [0063]) adjacent to the cover portion and a central region (120A – fig. 2; [0063]) other than the outer region, and
wherein an average thickness of the first internal electrode included in the outer regions is greater than an average thickness of the first internal electrode included in the central region, and an average thickness of the second internal electrode included in the outer regions is greater than an average thickness of the second internal electrode included in the central region (table 1 – sample 1-2 & [0063]),
wherein, when an average thickness of the dielectric layer included in the central region is defined as tda and an average thickness of the dielectric layer included in the outer regions is defined as tdb, 0.9 ≤ tdb/tda ≤ 1.1 is satisfied (fig. 2; [0071])
In regards to claim 4, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the cover portion includes an upper cover portion (uppermost dielectric layer – fig. 2) disposed in an upper portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction and a lower cover portion (lowermost dielectric layer – fig. 2) disposed in a lower portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction,
wherein the outer regions includes an upper outer region (seen in fig. 2) adjacent to the upper cover portion and a lower outer region (seen in fig. 2) adjacent to the lower cover portion, and
wherein the upper outer region includes one or more of each of the first and second internal electrodes, and the lower outer region includes one or more of each of the first and second internal electrodes (seen in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 7, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein, when a sum of a number of first and second internal electrodes included in the central region is defined as Na (fig. 2 – 6 shown), and a sum of a number of first and second internal electrodes included in the outer regions is defined as Nb, Nb/Na is 0.04 or more (fig. 2 – 12 shown; thus Nb/Na=12/6=2).
In regards to claim 8, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein, when a sum of a number of first and second internal electrodes included in the central region is defined as Na and a sum of a number of first and second internal electrodes included in the outer regions is defined as Nb, Nb/Na is 0.04 or more and 25 or less (fig. 2 – Nb/Na=12/6=2).
In regards to claim 10, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the cover portion includes the dielectric layer and does not include the first and second internal electrodes (fig. 2).
In regards to claim 11, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the cover portion includes the dielectric layer (fig. 2).
In regards to claim 12, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the cover portion includes an upper cover portion (fig. 2) disposed in an upper portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction and a lower cover portion (fig. 2) disposed in a lower portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, and the outer regions includes an upper outer region (fig. 2) adjacent to the upper cover portion and a lower outer region (fig. 2) adjacent to the lower cover portion, and
wherein, when an average thickness of the upper outer region in the first direction is defined as tb1 and an average thickness of the lower outer region in the first direction is defined as tb2, 0.9 ≤ tb1/tb2 ≤ 1.1 is satisfied (fig. 2; the upper and lower regions each include 6 electrodes with thickness of b and 6 dielectric layers with thickness Td and thus the thickness the overall thicknesses of each region will be equal (i.e. tb1/tb2=1)).
In regards to claim 13, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein, when an average thickness in the first direction of the outer regions is defined as tb and an average thickness in the first direction of the central region is defined as ta, tb/ta is 0.03 or more fig. 2; table 1 – sample 1 – thickness of central region is 5Td+6a and thickness of outer region is 12Td+12b and a=0.95b therefore thickness of the central portion is 5Td+5.7b and it is noted that the value of (12Td+12b)(5Td+5.7b) will be greater than 0.03).
In regards to claim 15, Lee ‘462 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a top cover portion and a bottom cover portion disposed above and below a capacitance forming portion in a stacking direction (seen in fig. 2), the capacitance forming portion comprising:
an uppermost pair of internal electrodes (121-122 – fig. 2; [0034]) with a dielectric layer (111 – fig. 2; [0034]) disposed therein, disposed adjacent the top cover portion,
a lowermost pair of internal electrodes (121-122 – fig. 2; [0034]) with a dielectric layer (111 – fig. 2; [0034]) disposed therein, disposed adjacent the bottom cover portion, and
central pairs of internal electrodes (121-122 – fig. 2; [0034]) disposed between the uppermost and lowermost pairs,
wherein an average thickness of the central pairs of internal electrodes is smaller than an average thickness of the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs of internal electrodes (table 1 – sample 1-2 & [0063]),
wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layers disposed between the central pairs of internal electrodes is substantially the same as an average thickness of the dielectric layers disposed between the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs of internal electrodes (fig. 2; [0071]).
In regards to claim 17, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 15, wherein the average thickness of central pairs of internal electrodes is substantially the same among the central pairs (fig. 2; [0062]).
In regards to claim 18, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 15, wherein the average thickness of the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs of internal electrodes is substantially the same among the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs (fig. 2; [0062]).
In regards to claim 20, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the external electrodes comprise a first external electrode (131) and a second external electrode (132), and
wherein the first internal electrode is connected to the first external electrode, and the second internal electrode is connected to the second external electrode (fig. 2; [0080]).
In regards to claim 21, Lee ‘462 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 15, further comprising external electrodes disposed on a body and including a first external electrode (131 – fig. 2; [0036]) and a second external electrode (131 – fig. 2; [0036]),
wherein the internal electrodes of the uppermost pair, the lowermost pair, and the central pairs are alternately connected to the first external electrode and the second external electrode (fig. 2; [0080]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)2 as being anticipated by Nishibayashi et al. (US 2025/0372312).
In regards to claim 15, Nishibayashi ‘312 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a top cover portion (12 – fig. 3; [0028]) and a bottom cover portion (12 – fig. 3; [0028]) disposed above and below a capacitance forming portion in a stacking direction (seen in fig. 2), the capacitance forming portion comprising:
an uppermost pair of internal electrodes (topmost 20 & 50 – fig. 2; [0026-0027]) with a dielectric layer (14 – fig. 2-3; [0023]) disposed therein, disposed adjacent the top cover portion,
a lowermost pair of internal electrodes (20A & 50A – fig. 2; [0032-0033]) with a dielectric layer (14 – fig. 2-3; [0023]) disposed therein, disposed adjacent the bottom cover portion, and
central pairs of internal electrodes (middle 20s & 50s – fig. 2; [0026-0027]) disposed between the uppermost and lowermost pairs,
wherein an average thickness of the central pairs of internal electrodes is smaller than an average thickness of the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs of internal electrodes (fig. 2; [0044-0045] – less than lowermost pair),
wherein an average thickness of the dielectric layers disposed between the central pairs of internal electrodes is substantially the same as an average thickness of the dielectric layers disposed between the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs of internal electrodes (fig. 2; [0022-0023] & [0059-0061] – noting the thickness of the dielectric layers are substantially the same).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0118748).
In regards to claim 1, Kim ‘748 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 3; [0016]) including a capacitance formation portion (La & Lb portions – fig. 3) including a dielectric layer and first and second internal electrodes (121-122 & 125-126 – fig. 3; [0057]) disposed alternately in a first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween, and cover portions (Lc – fig. 3) disposed in an upper portion and a lower portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction; and
external electrodes (131-132 – fig. 3; [0016]) disposed on the body,
wherein the capacitance formation portion includes outer regions (Lb – fig. 3) adjacent to the cover portion and a central region (La – fig. 3) other than the outer region, and
wherein an average thickness of the first internal electrode included in the outer regions is greater than an average thickness of the first internal electrode included in the central region, and an average thickness of the second internal electrode included in the outer regions is greater than an average thickness of the second internal electrode included in the central region (fig. 3; table 1 & [0058]),
wherein, when an average thickness of the dielectric layer included in the central region is defined as tda and an average thickness of the dielectric layer included in the outer regions is defined as tdb, 0.9 ≤ tdb/tda ≤ 1.1 is satisfied (fig. 3; [0020], [0022], & [0042] – dielectric layers used to form stack have substantially the same thickness of 2 times the thickness of the electrodes 121 & 122).
In regards to claim 12, Kim ‘748 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the cover portion includes an upper cover portion (region of Lc – fig. 3) disposed in an upper portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction and a lower cover portion (region of Lc – fig. 3) disposed in a lower portion of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, and the outer regions includes an upper outer region (region of Lb – fig. 3) adjacent to the upper cover portion and a lower outer region (region of Lb – fig. 3) adjacent to the lower cover portion, and
wherein, when an average thickness of the upper outer region in the first direction is defined as tb1 and an average thickness of the lower outer region in the first direction is defined as tb2, 0.9 ≤ tb1/tb2 ≤ 1.1 is satisfied (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6, & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘748.
In regards to claim 2,
Kim ‘748 discloses wherein, when an average thickness of a first internal electrode included in the central region is defined as tea, and an average thickness of the first internal electrode included in the outer regions is defined as teb, 1.2 ≤ teb/tea is satisfied ([0058]). Kim ‘748 fails to explicitly discloses 1.6 ≤ teb/tea ≤ 2.0 is satisfied.
However, Kim ‘748 discloses that teb/tea is a result effective variable, particularly for ensuring strong strength from external impacts such as warpage while also preventing delamination ([0055-0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Kim ‘748 such that 1.6 ≤ teb/tea ≤ 2.0 is satisfied to obtain a capacitor with good protection from warpage and delamination, as taught by Kim ‘748. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 3,
Kim ‘748 further discloses wherein tea is 300nm or more 937.5nm or less, and a teb is 480nm or more 1500nm ([0038] – tea is 400 nm or less therefore teb is 800 nm or less).
In regards to claim 5,
Kim ‘748 discloses wherein, wherein, when an average thickness of the second internal electrode included in the central region is defined as tea’ and an average thickness of the second internal electrode included in the outer region is defined as teb’, 1.2 ≤ teb’/tea’ is satisfied ([0058]). Kim ‘748 fails to explicitly discloses 1.6 ≤ teb’/tea’ ≤ 2.0 is satisfied.
However, Kim ‘748 discloses that teb’/tea’ is a result effective variable, particularly for ensuring strong strength from external impacts such as warpage while also preventing delamination ([0055-0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Kim ‘748 such that 1.6 ≤ teb/tea ≤ 2.0 is satisfied to obtain a capacitor with good protection from warpage and delamination, as taught by Kim ‘748. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 6,
Kim ‘748 discloses wherein tea and tea’ satisfy 0.9 ≤ tea/tea’ ≤ 1.1, and teb and teb’ satisfy 0.9 ≤ teb/teb’ ≤ 1.1 (fig. 3; [0057]).
In regards to claim 9,
Kim ‘748 discloses wherein, when an average thickness of a first internal electrode included in the central region is defined as tea, and an average thickness of the first internal electrode included in the outer regions is defined as teb, 1.2 ≤ teb/tea is satisfied ([0058]),
wherein, when a sum of numbers of the first and second internal electrodes included in the central region is defined as Na and a sum of numbers of the first and second internal electrodes included in the outer regions is defined as Nb, Nb/Na is 0.04 or more and 2.59 or less (fig. 3; Nb=4, Na=4; thus Nb/Na=1). Kim ‘748 fails to explicitly discloses 1.8 ≤ teb/tea ≤ 2.0 is satisfied.
However, Kim ‘748 discloses that teb/tea is a result effective variable, particularly for ensuring strong strength from external impacts such as warpage while also preventing delamination ([0055-0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Kim ‘748 such that 1.8 ≤ teb/tea ≤ 2.0 is satisfied to obtain a capacitor with good protection from warpage and delamination, as taught by Kim ‘748. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishibayashi ‘312.
In regards to claim 16,
Nishibayashi ‘312 discloses wherein the average thickness of the uppermost and/or lowermost pairs of internal electrodes is 1.5 times or more of that of the central pairs of internal electrodes ([0044-0045]). Nishibayashi ‘312 fails to explicitly discloses 1.6 times to 2.0 times.
However, Nishibayashi ‘312 discloses that ratio of the internal electrode thicknesses is a result effective variable, particularly for ensuring low ESL while ensuring large capacitance ([0044-0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Nishibayashi ‘312 such that the ratio is 1.6-2.0 to obtain a capacitor with low ESL and large capacitance, as taught by Nishibayashi ‘312. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2007158266A – fig. 2
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847