DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: pg. 5 does not include a brief description of Fig. 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ayral (WO2012/166542).
Regarding independent claim 16, Ayral discloses a method for transporting a foldable blade assembly comprising a blade (40), having a main body portion (50) and a foldable wing (!50) for transport, a structural member (16), a first angle cylinder (32) extending between the structural member and the blade, and a second angle cylinder (31) extending between the structural member (16) and the blade (40; See Fig. 3 for the above components), the method comprising:
pivotally moving the foldable wing (150) of the blade relative to the main body (50) portion of the blade to move the blade from an extended configuration to a collapsed configuration (See Fig. 11 which corresponds to the extended configuration, See Fig. 13 which corresponds to the collapsed configuration); and
extending the first angle cylinder (32) from a neutral position to an extended position (See Fig. 11 where the first cylinder is in the neutral position, See Fig. 13 where the first cylinder is in the extended position) and retracting the second angle cylinder (31) from the neutral position to a retracted position (See Fig. 11 where the second cylinder is in the neutral position, See Fig. 13 where the second cylinder is in the retracted position) to move the blade (40) from an unfolded configuration to a folded configuration (See pgs. 14-15, lns. 6-8 for disclosure of the operation of the cylinders to have the blade go from an unfolded position as seen in Fig. 11 to a folded position as seen in Fig. 13 for transportation)
wherein when the blade is in the folded configuration a lateral distance between a left end of the blade and a right end of the blade is not greater than 12 feet (See pg. 1, lns. 17-21 where it discloses the maximum width is 3 meters which is approximately 9.84 feet).
Regarding claim 17, Ayral discloses the method of claim 16, and further discloses locking the foldable wing (150) of the blade relative to the main body portion (50) of the blade to retain the blade in the collapsed configuration. (See pg. 14, lns. 20-24 where it discloses “The blade 40 may be secured in its folded position by a retaining strut (not shown) arranged for one end to attach to the arm retaining flange 168 on the upper arm 160 and the other end to extend through the elongate aperture 77 in the top secondary channel member and locate between the two retaining flanges 78.”)
Regarding claim 18, Ayral discloses the method of claim 16, and further discloses retracting the first angle cylinder from the extended position to the neutral position (See Fig. 13 where the first cylinder is extended, See Fig. 11 where the first cylinder is retracted) and extending the second angle cylinder from the retracted position to the neutral position to move the blade from the folded configuration to the unfolded configuration (See Fig. 13 where the second cylinder is retracted, See Fig. 11 where the second cylinder is exteded); and pivotally moving the foldable wing of the blade relative to the main body portion of the blade to move the blade from the collapsed configuration to the extended configuration (Fig. 13 corresponds to the collapsed configuration, and Fig. 11 corresponds to the extended configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Ayral discloses the method of claim 18, and further discloses locking the foldable wing of the blade relative to the main body portion of the blade to retain the blade in the extended configuration (See pg. 14, lns. 9-13 where it discloses the retaining pins 79 maintain the foldable wing in the extended configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayral (WO2012/166542) in view of McCanse (Pat. No.: 4,061,194).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ayral discloses a foldable blade assembly comprising:
a structural member (16) configured to attach to a work vehicle (10),
a blade (40) pivotally mounted to the structural member by a central pivot (pivot defined by pivot pin 28 as seen in Figs. 11-13);
a first angle cylinder (31) extending between the blade (40) and the structural member (16); and
a second angle cylinder (32) laterally spaced (as seen in Fig. 3) apart from the first angle cylinder (31) and extending between the blade (40) and the structural member (16);
wherein the first angle cylinder (31) and the second angle cylinder (32) are movable between a neutral position (position depicted in Fig. 11), an extended position, and a retracted position to pivot the blade relative to the structural member (See pgs. 13-14, lns. 29-3 where it discloses the operator may control the cylinders 31,32 “to retract or extend thereby manipulation the position of the blade 40”, the extension/retraction of the cylinders corresponds to the claimed extended/retracted positioned) between an unfolded configuration and a folded configuration (See Fig. 11 for the unfolded configuration, See Fig. 13 for the folded configuration).
Ayral fails to disclose wherein the first angle cylinder has a first length in the neutral position and the second angle cylinder has a second length in the neutral position, the second length and the first length being unequal.
McCanse discloses a blade assembly comprising a first angle cylinder (30) and a second angle cylinder (42) that are movable between a neutral position and an extended/retracted position (See Fig. 3 for the neutral position, See Fig. 8 for retracted position of cylinders 30 and 42, See Fig. 9 for extended positions of cylinders 30 and 42). More specifically, McCanse teaches wherein the first angle cylinder (30) has a first length in the neutral position and the second angle cylinder (42) has a second length in the neutral position, the second length and the first length being unequal (See Fig. 3 where the first length of first cylinder 30 is shorter than the second length of the second cylinder 42 when in the depicted neutral position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second cylinder of Ayral, to be the first and second cylinder of McCanse, so that the blade “can cut narrow, flat bottom trenches” (See col. 3, lns. 34-46), which increases the overall functionality of the blade assembly.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 1. Ayral fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. However, in view of the modification made with respect to claim 1, McCanse further discloses wherein the first angle cylinder (30) is laterally spaced apart from a lateral centerline of the central pivot (68) by a first distance, the second angle cylinder (42) is laterally spaced apart from the lateral centerline of the central pivot (68) by a second distance, and the first distance and the second distance are unequal (See Fig. 3 where the first/second distances of the first/second cylinders are unequal).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 1. Ayral, of the combination, also discloses wherein when the blade is in the folded configuration, a lateral distance between a left end of the blade and a right end of the blade is less than 12 feet (See pg. 1, lns. 17-21 where it discloses the maximum width is 3 meters which is approximately 9.84 feet).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 1. Ayral, of the combination, also discloses wherein the blade (40) comprises a main body (50) portion and a foldable wing (150) disposed to one lateral side of the main body portion (50) and pivotally connected to the main body portion (50), such that the foldable wing can be pivotally moved relative to the main body portion between an extended position and a collapsed configuration (See pg. 6, lns. 1-4 where it discloses “the blade 40 may be generally rectangular and may comprise a major portion 50 and a minor portion 150 which may be pivotally interconnected to allow the blade 40 to be arranged in an unfolded position (Fig. 2) or a folded positioned (Fig. 3).”)
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 1. McCanse, of the combination, also discloses wherein a difference between the first length and the second length is at least 2.5% (See Fig. 3 where the difference is at least 5%).
Claims 5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayral in view of McCanse and further in view of Linder et al. (Pub. No.: 2014/0083725; hereinafter Linder).
Regarding claim 5, the above combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 4. Like the combination, Linder discloses a foldable blade assembly (12) comprising a main body portion (14) and a foldable wing (20) pivotally connected to the main body portion (14) and configured to move rotationally relative to the main body portion between an extended position (24 as depicted in Fig. 3) and a collapsed position (26 as depicted in Fig. 6).
Unlike the combination, Linder teaches wherein: the main body portion (14) of the blade comprises a first transfer plate positioned along an end of the main body portion that is adjacent to the foldable wing when the blade is in the extended position (See Fig. 4 where the top plate of 76 corresponds to the claimed first transfer plate); the foldable wing (20) comprises a second transfer plate (84 generally) positioned along an end of the foldable wing (20) that is adjacent to the main body portion when the blade is in the extended position (24, as seen in Fig. 6); and wherein the first transfer plate and the second transfer plate are configured to be releasably engaged to retain the blade in the extended position (See para. [0025] where it discloses “first blade portion 20 can be secured in working or extended position 24 upon mutual alignment of aligned openings 82 of the upper plate pair 76 and apertures 88 of upper pivot arm 84 followed by insertion of a shaft 42 of a first pin 28 therethrough”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blade of the combination to be the blade of Linder. Such a modification merely constitutes the substitution of a known work implement (blade) for a specific blade to produce the predictable result of earth working operations associated with each blade (See MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding claim 7, the above combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 5. Linder, of the combination, also discloses wherein the first transfer plate comprises a first aperture (82) and the second transfer plate comprises a second aperture (88), and wherein, when the blade is in the extended position, the first aperture and the second aperture are aligned to receive a bolt (28) extending through the first aperture and the second aperture, such that the bolt retains the blade in the extended position (See para. [0025] where it discloses “first blade portion 20 can be secured in working or extended position 24 upon mutual alignment of aligned openings 82 of the upper plate pair 76 and apertures 88 of upper pivot arm 84 followed by insertion of a shaft 42 of a first pin 28 therethrough”).
Regarding claim 9, the above combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 4. Like the combination, Linder discloses a foldable blade assembly (12) comprising a main body portion (14) and a foldable wing (20) pivotally connected to the main body portion (14) and configured to move rotationally relative to the main body portion between an extended position (24 as depicted in Fig. 3) and a collapsed position (26 as depicted in Fig. 6).
Unlike the combination, Linder teaches wherein: the main body portion (14) of the blade comprises a C-shaped recess (104), and the foldable wing of the blade comprises a laterally extending projection (94) that engages with and is received by the recess (104) when the blade is in the extended position (24, See para. [0023] where it discloses the recess 104 is configured and sizes to receive projection 94, Fig. 3 depicts the projection 94 in the recess 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blade of the combination to be the blade of Linder. Such a modification merely constitutes the substitution of a known work implement (blade) for a specific blade to produce the predictable result of earth working operations associated with each blade (See MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding claim 10, the above combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 9. Linder, of the combination, also discloses wherein the recess (104) comprises a back surface (34) that overlaps and abuts a rear projection surface (38) of the laterally extending projection (94; See Fig. 4 for depiction of the above elements).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayral in view of McCanse and further in view of Linder and Watson (Pub. No.: 2007/0089327).
Regarding claim 6, the above combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 5, but fails to disclose one or more shims disposed between the first transfer plate and the second transfer plate. Watson discloses a similar blade with winged portions (See title and Fig. 1). More specifically, Watson discloses one or more shims (140, 142) disposed between connection plates (See Figs. 2B and 2C, and corresponding disclosure on para. [0029]-[0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blade assembly of the combination, to include the one or more shims of Watson, in order to provide for “a secure bolted connection” (See para. [0029]-[0030]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayral in view of McCanse and further in view of Watson (Pub. No.: 2007/0089327).
Regarding claim 8, the above combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 4, but fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. Watson discloses a similar blade with a main portion (84) and winged portions (86, See Fig. 3 for the above elements). More specifically, Watson discloses wherein the main body portion (84) of the blade comprises a first stopper bracket (128) and the foldable wing (86) of the blade comprises a second stopper bracket (130), and wherein the foldable blade assembly further comprises a stopper rod (132) configured to selectively engage the first stopper bracket and the second stopper bracket to retain the blade in the collapsed configuration (See para. [0028]-[0030] where it discloses the element 132 retains the wing 86 in the collapsed configuration depending on which aligned openings of the stopper brackets it is inserted into, note Fig. 2C generally corresponds to the claimed collapsed configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blade of the combination to be the blade of Watson. Such a modification merely constitutes the substitution of a known work implement (blade) for a specific blade to produce the predictable result of earth working operations associated with each blade (See MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Claims 1 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayral (WO2012/166542) in view of Buchanan (Pat. No.: 4,821,810).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ayral discloses a foldable blade assembly comprising:
a structural member (16) configured to attach to a work vehicle (10),
a blade (40) pivotally mounted to the structural member by a central pivot;
a first angle cylinder (31) extending between the blade (40) and the structural member (16); and
a second angle cylinder (32) laterally spaced (as seen in Fig. 3) apart from the first angle cylinder (31) and extending between the blade (40) and the structural member (16);
wherein the first angle cylinder (31) and the second angle cylinder (32) are movable between a neutral position (position depicted in Fig. 11), an extended position, and a retracted position to pivot the blade relative to the structural member (See pgs. 13-14, lns. 29-3 where it discloses the operator may control the cylinders 31,32 “to retract or extend thereby manipulation the position of the blade 40”, the extension/retraction of the cylinders corresponds to the claimed extended/retracted positioned) between an unfolded configuration and a folded configuration (See Fig. 2 for the unfolded configuration, and See Fig. 3 for the folded configuration).
Ayral fails to disclose wherein the first angle cylinder has a first length in the neutral position and the second angle cylinder has a second length in the neutral position, the second length and the first length being unequal.
Buchanan discloses a blade assembly comprising a structural member (16) a first angle cylinder (242) and a second angle cylinder (248) that are movable between a neutral position and an extended/retracted position (See Fig. 1 for the neutral position, note that the extended and retracted positions correspond to when the respective cylinder is extended or retracted, also See in Fig. 1 where the phantom lines show the extended position of the first cylinder and the retracted position of the second cylinder; further See Fig. 8 for corresponding embodiment of the first and second cylinders). More specifically, Buchanan teaches wherein the first angle cylinder has a first length in the neutral position and the second angle cylinder has a second length in the neutral position, the second length and the first length being unequal (See Fig. 1 where the first length of first cylinder is shorter than the second length of the second cylinder when in the depicted neutral position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second cylinder of Ayral, to be the first and second cylinder of Buchanan, so that the blade can be used for purposed of trenching, ditch digging, and the like” (See col. 2, lns. 26-29), which increases the overall functionality of the blade assembly.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 1. Ayral fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. However, in view of the modification made with respect to claim 1, Buchanan further discloses wherein:
when the first angle cylinder is in the extended position and the second angle cylinder is in the retracted position, the blade extends at a first angle relative to a transverse axis perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the structural member (See Fig. 1 where depicted in phantom lines is the extension of the first cylinder and retraction of the second cylinder to create a pivot through about 40 degrees, See col. 10, lns. 30-42 for disclosure of the 40-degree pivot, i.e., the first angle),
when the second angle cylinder is in the extended position and the first angle cylinder is in the retracted position, the blade extends at a second angle relative to a transverse axis perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the structural member (See col. 10, lns. 30-44 for disclosure of the 120-degree pivot, i.e., the second angle), and
wherein a maximum achievable value for the first angle and a maximum achievable value for the second angle are unequal (See above where the first angle is through 40 degrees and the second angle is through 120 degrees).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 12. Ayral fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. However, in view of the modification made with respect to claim 12, Buchanan also discloses wherein the maximum achievable value for the first angle is at least 30° (See claim 12 above where the first angle is disclosed at a maximum 40 degrees).
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses the blade assembly of claim 1. Ayral fails to disclose the instantly claimed limitations. However, in view of the modification made with respect to claim 1, Buchanan also discloses wherein: the first angle cylinder (242) comprises a first end connected directly to the blade (See Fig. 8 where rod 238 would to the blade) and a second end connected directly to the structural member (See Fig. 8 where the second end is connected via 230 to structural member 16); and the second angle cylinder (248) comprises a first end connected directly to the blade (See Fig. 8 where rod 244 would to the blade) and a second end connected directly to the structural member (See Fig. 8 where the second end is connected via 234 to structural member 16).
Regarding claim 15, Aryal discloses a work vehicle (10) comprising the foldable blade assembly of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 in view of Buchanan above).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayral (WO2012/166542) in view of Linder et al. (Pub. No.: 2014/0083725; hereinafter Linder).
Regarding independent claim 20, Ayral discloses a foldable blade assembly comprising:
a structural member (16) having a first end portion and a second end portion and configured to mount the blade assembly to a work vehicle (10) at the first end portion,
a blade (40) pivotally mounted to the second end portion of the structural member (16) by a central pivot (pivot defined by pivot pin 28 as seen in Figs. 11-13), the blade comprising:
a main body portion (50);
a foldable wing (150) pivotally connected to the main body portion (50) and configured to move rotationally relative to the main body portion between a retracted configuration and a deployed configuration (See pg. 6, lns. 1-4 where it discloses “The blade 40 may be generally rectangular and may comprise a major portion 50 and a minor portion 150 which may be pivotally interconnected to allow the blade 40 to be arranged in an unfolded position (Fig 2) or a folded position (Fig 3).”)
a first angle cylinder (31) extending between the structural member (16) and the blade (40);
a second angle cylinder (32) extending between the structural member (16) and the blade (40);
wherein the first angle cylinder and the second angle cylinder are movable between an extended position and a retracted position (See pgs. 13-14, lns. 29-3 where it discloses the operator may control the cylinders 31,32 “to retract or extend thereby manipulation the position of the blade 40”, the extension/retraction of the cylinders corresponds to the claimed extended/retracted positioned) to pivot the blade relative to the structural member between an unfolded configuration and a folded configuration (See Fig. 2/11 for the unfolded configuration, See Fig. 3/13 for the folded configuration).
Ayral fails to disclose the main body portion including a recess defined by a top surface, a bottom surface, and a back surface, and the foldable wing comprising a projection that is received by the recess in the main body portion when the foldable wing is in the deployed configuration;
Linder discloses a foldable blade assembly (12) comprising a main body portion (14) including a recess (104) defined by a top surface, a bottom surface, and a back surface (See top, bottom, and back surfaces of recess 104 in Fig. 7); a foldable wing (20) pivotally connected to the main body portion (14) and configured to move rotationally relative to the main body portion between a retracted configuration (24 as depicted in Fig. 1) and a deployed configuration (26 as depicted in Fig. 6). More specifically, Linder teaches the foldable wing comprising a projection (94) that is received by the recess (104) in the main body portion when the foldable wing is in the deployed configuration (26; See para. [0023] where it discloses where it discloses the recess 104 is configured and sizes to receive projection 94; Fig. 3 depicts the projection 94 in the recess 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the blade of Ayral to be the blade of Linder. Such a modification merely constitutes the substitution of a known work implement (blade) for a specific blade to produce the predictable result of earth working operations associated with each blade (See MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are directed towards foldable blades: Daniels (Pat. No.: 5,860,230); Verseef (Pub. No.: 2003/0221338), and Nammensma (Pub. No.: 2015/0040441). Additional relevant references cited but not discussed here can be found in the attached 892.
/A.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671