DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed 12/6/2024 in which Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 10-14, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0362704 to Edge et al (“Edge”).
As to Claim 7, Edge teaches a network apparatus for performing a communication with a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (a wireless communication network may benefit from improved support for coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s) of the satellite(s) which may enable more efficient use of network resources and better communication service to UEs. To support coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s), the coverage information can be provided to a UE to enable the UE to know when there will be coverage at a particular location for one or more RATs for Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTNs) and possibly Terrestrial Networks (TNs), see ¶ 0030), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (user equipment (UE) capable of indicating a generalized unavailability period to a wireless network, according to this disclosure, may comprise one or more transceivers, one or more memories, one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers and the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to send a reporting capability via the one or more transceivers to a network entity of the wireless network, see ¶ 0007),
cause the network apparatus to: identify a plurality of satellites corresponding to a specific geographic area (an assignment of satellite cells, e.g., cell 1 and cell 2 in a communication system 600, produced by one or more SVs 102, 202, 302 over an area 605, see ¶ 0093); identify a first satellite to be deactivated among the plurality of satellites, based on prediction information related to a specific time (When coverage data is provided as ephemeris/orbital data, the UE has to perform its own coverage prediction. For example, if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time [prediction information related to a specific time]. To determine this, the UE would use the ephemeris (and any radio cell) data and calculate whether there is satellite visibility (for L and T) and possibly radio cell coverage (if known) for L and T. The answer may be a binary yes/no (e.g., maybe with a threshold probability between yes and no). With a coverage map, the UE 115 may only need to look up the answer, which can be a very simple operation. Because the coverage map provider may have much more information than that available to a UE, in only a few orbital parameters (e.g., the provider may know exactly how many satellites and radio cells will be supported for L and T), the coverage map lookup yes/no answer may be much more reliable than providing ephemeris data to the UE, see ¶ 0102; The server may determine, pre-configure, and signal satellite coverage data showing times of satellite cell (NTN) coverage and lack of coverage (e.g., times of no NTN coverage) at different locations and/or at different times [identify first satellite to be deactivated], see ¶ 0104); and transmit, to the first satellite through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite (The one or more processors further may be configured to, responsive to receiving the unavailability period report, send at least one message via the one or more transceivers to the UE, wherein the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic Tracking Area Update (TAU) timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period, see ¶ 0008).
As to Claim 10, Edge depending from Claim 7, Edge teaches wherein the message includes information on a timer for deactivation, wherein the timer starts from a time when the message is received, and wherein, in a case that the timer expires, a state of the satellite changes from an inactive state to an active state (At block 1606, the functionality comprises, responsive to receiving the unavailability period report, sending at least one message to the UE, where the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic TAU timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period. This functionality may correspond, at least in part, to stage 4 in FIG. 14, described above. A means or structure for sending at least one message to the UE, where the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic TAU timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period, see ¶ 0544).
As to Claim 11, Edge depending from Claim 7, Edge teaches wherein the message includes information on a cause of deactivation, wherein the cause indicates one of a plurality of causes, and wherein the plurality of causes includes at least one of deactivation due to orbital movement, resource optimization, user inactivity, service area type, low traffic in the cell, or low traffic in the service area (if UE 115 instead enters a dormant state during a no coverage state for the serving PLMN, in which UE 115 deactivates all satellite and TN cell searching, and if a satellite cell for another PLMN or a TN cell is, or later becomes, available to UE 115 during the no coverage state, see ¶ 0204).
As to Claim 12, Edge depending from Claim 7, Edge teaches wherein the network apparatus is a network entity that operates as an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a central unit (CU) (It may be beneficial for entities in a communication system (e.g. a UE 115 and/or AMF 122 in communication systems 100, 200, or 300) to know when satellite coverage will and will not be available at a particular location (e.g. a current location of a UE 115), see ¶ 0098).
As to Claim 13, Edge depending from Claim 7, Edge teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network apparatus to: transmit, to the first satellite through the at least one transceiver, another control signal indicating an activation of the first satellite (After the UE becomes available and if the AMF 122 did not indicate at stage 4 that the UE 115 should not send a Registration update after the unavailability period has ended (e.g. the AMF 122 indicated that the UE 115 is required to send a NAS Registration update Request after the unavailability period has ended), the UE 115 may trigger a Registration update to resume regular service, see ¶ 0531; The AMF 122 may respond by returning a NAS Registration Accept [control signal indicating an activation of the first satellite] to UE 115 [first satellite]. In the Registration Accept, the AMF 122 may include a new periodic registration timer not applicable to an unavailability period (e.g., a “normal” periodic registration timer), see ¶ 0532. Figure 14 illustrates the AMF sending a signal to the UE through the NG-RAN [transceiver]).
As to Claim 14, Edge teaches an apparatus of a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (a wireless communication network may benefit from improved support for coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s) of the satellite(s) which may enable more efficient use of network resources and better communication service to UEs. To support coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s), the coverage information can be provided to a UE to enable the UE to know when there will be coverage at a particular location for one or more RATs for Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTNs) and possibly Terrestrial Networks (TNs), see ¶ 0030), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (user equipment (UE) capable of indicating a generalized unavailability period to a wireless network, according to this disclosure, may comprise one or more transceivers, one or more memories, one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers and the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to send a reporting capability via the one or more transceivers to a network entity of the wireless network, see ¶ 0007),
cause the satellite to: receive, from a network apparatus through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the satellite (The one or more processors further may be configured to, responsive to receiving the unavailability period report, send at least one message via the one or more transceivers to the UE, wherein the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic Tracking Area Update (TAU) timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period, see ¶ 0008); and in response to the message, deactivate at least one of components of the satellite, and wherein the deactivation of the satellite is associated with a specific area and a specific time (responsive to receiving the unavailability period report, sending at least one message to the UE, where the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic TAU timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period, see ¶ 0544; receiving a Registration update or Tracking Area update from the UE, indicative of one of the following events: ending of the unavailability period, or modification or cancellation of the unavailability period before the unavailability period has started, see ¶ 0545; the unavailability period report may include additional information regarding the unavailability period. This may include, for example, at least one of: the one or more of the plurality of events causing the unavailability period, a start time of the unavailability period, a duration of the unavailability period, an end time of the unavailability period, or some combination of these. The plurality of different events may include at least one of a satellite coverage unavailability, see ¶ 0546; When coverage data is provided as ephemeris/orbital data, the UE has to perform its own coverage prediction. For example, if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time [prediction information related to a specific time]. To determine this, the UE would use the ephemeris (and any radio cell) data and calculate whether there is satellite visibility (for L and T) and possibly radio cell coverage (if known) for L and T. The answer may be a binary yes/no (e.g., maybe with a threshold probability between yes and no). With a coverage map, the UE 115 may only need to look up the answer, which can be a very simple operation. Because the coverage map provider may have much more information than that available to a UE, in only a few orbital parameters (e.g., the provider may know exactly how many satellites and radio cells will be supported for L and T), the coverage map lookup yes/no answer may be much more reliable than providing ephemeris data to the UE, see ¶ 0102; The server may determine, pre-configure, and signal satellite coverage data showing times of satellite cell (NTN) coverage and lack of coverage (e.g., times of no NTN coverage) at different locations and/or at different times [identify first satellite to be deactivated], see ¶ 0104).
As to Claim 17, Edge depending from Claim 14, Edge teaches wherein the message includes information on a timer for deactivation, wherein the timer starts from a time when the message is received, and wherein, in a case that the timer expires, a state of the satellite changes from an inactive state to an active state (At block 1606, the functionality comprises, responsive to receiving the unavailability period report, sending at least one message to the UE, where the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic TAU timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period. This functionality may correspond, at least in part, to stage 4 in FIG. 14, described above. A means or structure for sending at least one message to the UE, where the at least one message indicates a periodic registration timer or periodic TAU timer with a value equal to or greater than a duration of the unavailability period, see ¶ 0544).
As to Claim 18, Edge depending from Claim 14, Edge teaches wherein the message includes information on a cause of deactivation, wherein the cause indicates one of a plurality of causes, and wherein the plurality of causes includes at least one of deactivation due to orbital movement, resource optimization, user inactivity, service area type, low traffic in the cell, or low traffic in the service area (if UE 115 instead enters a dormant state during a no coverage state for the serving PLMN, in which UE 115 deactivates all satellite and TN cell searching, and if a satellite cell for another PLMN or a TN cell is, or later becomes, available to UE 115 during the no coverage state, see ¶ 0204).
As to Claim 19, Edge depending from Claim 14, Edge teaches wherein the network apparatus is a network entity that operates as an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a central unit (CU) (It may be beneficial for entities in a communication system (e.g. a UE 115 and/or AMF 122 in communication systems 100, 200, or 300) to know when satellite coverage will and will not be available at a particular location (e.g. a current location of a UE 115), see ¶ 0098).
As to Claim 20, Edge depending from Claim 14, Edge teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network apparatus to: transmit, to the first satellite through the at least one transceiver, another control signal indicating an activation of the first satellite (After the UE becomes available and if the AMF 122 did not indicate at stage 4 that the UE 115 should not send a Registration update after the unavailability period has ended (e.g. the AMF 122 indicated that the UE 115 is required to send a NAS Registration update Request after the unavailability period has ended), the UE 115 may trigger a Registration update to resume regular service, see ¶ 0531; The AMF 122 may respond by returning a NAS Registration Accept [control signal indicating an activation of the first satellite] to UE 115 [first satellite]. In the Registration Accept, the AMF 122 may include a new periodic registration timer not applicable to an unavailability period (e.g., a “normal” periodic registration timer), see ¶ 0532. Figure 14 illustrates the AMF sending a signal to the UE through the NG-RAN [transceiver]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0334432 to Matsumara et al (“Matsumara”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0405814 to Jang et al (“Jang”).
As to Claim 1, Matsumara teaches an apparatus, cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a terminal through the at least one transceiver, a message including information indicating whether transform precoding of downlink transmission is activated (a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196);
generate downlink signals based on the information (a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel…a control section that switches, based on the indication, a waveform to be used [generate downlink signals based on the information], see Abstract; The control section 210 may control generation of signals, mapping, and so on. The control section 210 may control transmission/reception, measurement and so on using the transmitting/receiving section 220, and the transmitting/receiving antennas 230. The control section 210 generates data, control information, a sequence and so on to transmit as a signal, and may forward the generated items to the transmitting/receiving section 220, see ¶ 0201); and
transmit, to the terminal through the at least one transceiver, the downlink signals (The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196; a control section that switches, based on the indication, a waveform to be used [generate downlink signals based on the information], see Abstract; The control section 210 may control generation of signals, mapping, and so on. The control section 210 may control transmission/reception, measurement and so on using the transmitting/receiving section 220, and the transmitting/receiving antennas 230. The control section 210 generates data, control information, a sequence and so on to transmit as a signal, and may forward the generated items to the transmitting/receiving section 220, see ¶ 0201), and wherein, in a case that the information indicates that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are generated through a discrete fourier transform-spreading (DFT-S) orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme, and wherein, in a case that the information does not indicate that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are generated through a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM scheme (Switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM is performed by a transform precoder “transformPrecoder” of an uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-Config) with Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. CP-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is disabled, and DFT-s-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is enabled. The waveform switching requires RRC reconfiguration, see ¶ 0043).
Matsumara does not explicitly disclose a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor.
Jang teaches a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (NTN system, see ¶ 0162), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (In a downlink, a transmitter may be part of a base station and a receiver may be part of a terminal, see ¶ 0034; the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 may control the transceiver (106/206) to transmit and receive channels/signals/data/information, etc., and may also control the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 to store transmitted or received channels/signals/data/information, etc. in the memory (104/204), see ¶ 0254; A first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and may additionally include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. A processor 102 may control a memory 104 and/or a transceiver 106… a processor 102 may transmit a wireless signal including first information/signal through a transceiver 106 after generating first information/signal by processing information in a memory 104. In addition, a processor 102 may receive a wireless signal including second information/signal through a transceiver 106 and then store information obtained by signal processing of second information/signal in a memory 104, see ¶ 0277).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong with Jang to teach a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable (see ¶ 0004).
As to Claim 2, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 1, Matsumara teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive, from the terminal, capability information indicating that the terminal supports the transform precoding of downlink transmission (UE capability information indicating whether to support at least one of respective processes in the present disclosure. At least one of the above-mentioned embodiments may be employed in only a UE that has reported a specific UE capability or that supports the specific UE capability, see ¶ 0142; The specific UE capability may indicate at least one of the following: (1) Whether to support dynamic waveform switching (enabling/disabling of transform precoder) (2) Whether DCI/MAC CE can switch waveform (transform precoder) (3) DCI format supported by UE, see ¶ 0143-0146; The information may correspond to UE capability information transmitted by the UE. One piece of the information (for example, an RRC parameter) may be configured for all DCI formats, or may be configured for each DCI format, see ¶ 0148).
As to Claim 3, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 1, Matsumara teaches first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table information, and second MCS table information, wherein the first MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is activated, and wherein the second MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is not activated (FIG. 4 is a diagram to show a first example of an MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. FIG. 5 is a diagram to show a second example of the MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. MCS index corresponds to an MCS field of the DCI. Based on such a table as that shown in FIG. 4 or 5, the UE may use DFT-s-OFDM for the PUSCH when an MCS index, a modulation order, a target code rate, and spectral efficiency are each less/greater than a certain value (X), otherwise (being the certain value or more/less), the UE may use CP-OFDM, see ¶ 0093; different MCS tables are used for CP-OFDM and DFT-s-OFDM, see ¶ 0096).
Jang teaches wherein the message includes physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information related to a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (the DCI-based BWP switch may be indicated by DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH, the UE should be able to smoothly receive or transmit the PDSCH or PUSCH, which is scheduled by the DCI, see ¶ 0069; in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI, see ¶ 0081; NTN system, see ¶ 0162),
Matsumara and Jang do not expressly disclose wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated.
However, Matsumara teaches a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI) (see ¶ 0196). Jang teaches in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumara and Jang to teach wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for scheduling information about downlink data to be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
As to Claim 4, Matsumara teaches a terminal, cause the terminal to: receive, from the satellite through the at least one transceiver, a message including information indicating whether transform precoding of downlink transmission is activated (a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196);and
receive, from the satellite through the at least one transceiver, downlink signals based on the information (The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196; a control section that switches, based on the indication, a waveform to be used [generate downlink signals based on the information], see Abstract; The control section 210 may control generation of signals, mapping, and so on. The control section 210 may control transmission/reception, measurement and so on using the transmitting/receiving section 220, and the transmitting/receiving antennas 230. The control section 210 generates data, control information, a sequence and so on to transmit as a signal, and may forward the generated items to the transmitting/receiving section 220, see ¶ 0201), and wherein, in a case that the information indicates that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are received through a discrete fourier transform-spreading (DFT-S) orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme, and wherein, in a case that the information does not indicate that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are received through a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM scheme (Switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM is performed by a transform precoder “transformPrecoder” of an uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-Config) with Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. CP-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is disabled, and DFT-s-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is enabled. The waveform switching requires RRC reconfiguration, see ¶ 0043).
Matsumara does not explicitly disclose a terminal for communicating with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor.
Jang teaches a terminal for communicating with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (NTN system, see ¶ 0162), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (In a downlink, a transmitter may be part of a base station and a receiver may be part of a terminal, see ¶ 0034; the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 may control the transceiver (106/206) to transmit and receive channels/signals/data/information, etc., and may also control the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 to store transmitted or received channels/signals/data/information, etc. in the memory (104/204), see ¶ 0254; A first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and may additionally include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. A processor 102 may control a memory 104 and/or a transceiver 106… a processor 102 may transmit a wireless signal including first information/signal through a transceiver 106 after generating first information/signal by processing information in a memory 104. In addition, a processor 102 may receive a wireless signal including second information/signal through a transceiver 106 and then store information obtained by signal processing of second information/signal in a memory 104, see ¶ 0277).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong with Jang to teach a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable (see ¶ 0004).
As to Claim 5, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 4, Matsumara teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal to: transmit, to the satellite, capability information indicating that the terminal supports the transform precoding of downlink transmission (UE capability information indicating whether to support at least one of respective processes in the present disclosure. At least one of the above-mentioned embodiments may be employed in only a UE that has reported a specific UE capability or that supports the specific UE capability, see ¶ 0142; The specific UE capability may indicate at least one of the following: (1) Whether to support dynamic waveform switching (enabling/disabling of transform precoder) (2) Whether DCI/MAC CE can switch waveform (transform precoder) (3) DCI format supported by UE, see ¶ 0143-0146; The information may correspond to UE capability information transmitted by the UE. One piece of the information (for example, an RRC parameter) may be configured for all DCI formats, or may be configured for each DCI format, see ¶ 0148).
As to Claim 6, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 4, Matsumara teaches first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table information, and second MCS table information, wherein the first MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is activated, and wherein the second MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is not activated (FIG. 4 is a diagram to show a first example of an MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. FIG. 5 is a diagram to show a second example of the MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. MCS index corresponds to an MCS field of the DCI. Based on such a table as that shown in FIG. 4 or 5, the UE may use DFT-s-OFDM for the PUSCH when an MCS index, a modulation order, a target code rate, and spectral efficiency are each less/greater than a certain value (X), otherwise (being the certain value or more/less), the UE may use CP-OFDM, see ¶ 0093; different MCS tables are used for CP-OFDM and DFT-s-OFDM, see ¶ 0096).
Jang teaches wherein the message includes physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information related to a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (the DCI-based BWP switch may be indicated by DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH, the UE should be able to smoothly receive or transmit the PDSCH or PUSCH, which is scheduled by the DCI, see ¶ 0069; in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI, see ¶ 0081; NTN system, see ¶ 0162),
Matsumara and Jang do not expressly disclose wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated.
However, Matsumara teaches a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmitdownlink control information (DCI) (see ¶ 0196). Jang teaches in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumara and Jang to teach wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for scheduling information about downlink data to be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
Claim(s) 8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0362704 to Edge et al (“Edge”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0053817 to Hayashi et al (“Hayashi”).
As to Claim 8, Edge depending on Claim 7, Edge does not expressly disclose wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated. Hayashi teaches wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated (the gNB-DU 2 may determine the activation/deactivation of a BWP(s). Further, the gNB-DU 2 may notify the gNB-CU 1 of information about the BWP(s) after the change. The information about the BWP(s) after the change may be, for example, information indicating whether each BWP is activated or deactivated, or information indicating a difference between the BWP(s) before the change and the BWP(s) after the change [information on a frequency band to be deactivated], see ¶ 0061).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Edge with Hayashi to teach wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the network can activate/deactivate a BWP depending, for example, on a data rate, or on numerology required by a service, and can thereby dynamically switch the active BWP for the UE (see ¶ 0021).
As to Claim 15, Edge depending on Claim 14, Edge does not expressly disclose wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated. Hayashi teaches wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated (the gNB-DU 2 may determine the activation/deactivation of a BWP(s). Further, the gNB-DU 2 may notify the gNB-CU 1 of information about the BWP(s) after the change. The information about the BWP(s) after the change may be, for example, information indicating whether each BWP is activated or deactivated, or information indicating a difference between the BWP(s) before the change and the BWP(s) after the change [information on a frequency band to be deactivated], see ¶ 0061).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Edge with Hayashi to teach wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the network can activate/deactivate a BWP depending, for example, on a data rate, or on numerology required by a service, and can thereby dynamically switch the active BWP for the UE (see ¶ 0021).
Claim(s) 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0362704 to Edge et al (“Edge”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 115885580 to Li et al (“Li”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 9, Edge depending on Claim 7, Edge does not expressly disclose wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. Li teaches wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body (The terminal device will register a group of tracking area with the AMF entity. Generally, a tracking area will include a plurality of cells, when the AMF entity needs to page the terminal device, then sending a paging message to all the cell base stations in the group of tracking areas. Currently, each 5 G cell only broadcasts one tracking area code (TAC). When the idle/inactive state of the terminal device occurs cell reselection, if the new cell broadcast of the TAC does not belong to a group of tracking area registered by the terminal device [message includes information of service area to be deactivated and type of service area], the terminal device to the AMF entity initiates a location registration process, updating the tracking area list, see page 7, 3rd para), wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert (The 5 G NR system defines the NTN system deployment scenario including the satellite NTN generally provides communication services to a terrestrial user in satellite of communication. Compared with the ground cellular network communication, the satellite communication has many unique advantages. Firstly, satellite communication is not limited by the user region, for example, the general land communication cannot cover the ocean, high mountain, desert [types of service area] and so on cannot be set communication device or because of small population but not communication coverage area, see page 6, 7th para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Edge with Li to teach wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to update the tracking area list (see page 7, 3rd para).
As to Claim 16, Edge depending on Claim 14, Edge does not expressly disclose wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. Li teaches wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body (The terminal device will register a group of tracking area with the AMF entity. Generally, a tracking area will include a plurality of cells, when the AMF entity needs to page the terminal device, then sending a paging message to all the cell base stations in the group of tracking areas. Currently, each 5 G cell only broadcasts one tracking area code (TAC). When the idle/inactive state of the terminal device occurs cell reselection, if the new cell broadcast of the TAC does not belong to a group of tracking area registered by the terminal device [message includes information of service area to be deactivated and type of service area], the terminal device to the AMF entity initiates a location registration process, updating the tracking area list, see page 7, 3rd para), wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert (The 5 G NR system defines the NTN system deployment scenario including the satellite NTN generally provides communication services to a terrestrial user in satellite of communication. Compared with the ground cellular network communication, the satellite communication has many unique advantages. Firstly, satellite communication is not limited by the user region, for example, the general land communication cannot cover the ocean, high mountain, desert [types of service area] and so on cannot be set communication device or because of small population but not communication coverage area, see page 6, 7th para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Edge with Li to teach wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to update the tracking area list (see page 7, 3rd para).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622