DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 2/27/2026 in which Claims 1-11, 14-18, 21-24 are pending, Claims 12-13, 19-20 are cancelled and Claims 21-24 are new.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, with respect to Claims 1 and 4, that neither Matsumara nor Jang teach or remotely suggest information indicating whether transform precoding of downlink transmission is activated and fails to disclose supporting DFT-S-OFDM in a satellite (NTN) downlink. Examiner disagrees and points to Matsumara’s teaching that in the radio communication system 1, an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based wireless access scheme may be used. For example, in at least one of the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL), Cyclic Prefix OFDM (CP-OFDM), Discrete Fourier Transform Spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM)…and so on may be used (see ¶ 0161); In the radio communication system 1, a downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), which is used by each user terminal 20 on a shared basis, a broadcast channel (Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH)), a downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) and so on, may be used as downlink channels (see ¶ 0163); Lower layer control information may be communicated on the PDCCH. For example, the lower layer control information may include downlink control information (DCI) including scheduling information of at least one of the PDSCH and the PUSCH (see ¶ 0166); Note that the transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication indicating disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel (see ¶ 0192); The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit downlink control information (DCI). The control section 110 may assume that a waveform to be used for a physical downlink shared channel (PUSCH) is determined based on at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a frequency domain resource assignment field, a precoding information and number of layers field, and an antenna port field of the DCI (see ¶ 0196); The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit a configuration indicating that disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel (PUSCH) is dynamically switched by at least one of downlink control information (DCI) and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (see ¶ 0197).
Applicant further argues, with respect to Claims 1 and 4, that Jang does not disclose applying DFT-S-OFDM to the downlink and Matsumura provides no suggestion to extend DFT-S-OFDM to the satellite downlink. Examiner contends that Jang was not relied upon for this feature. Examiner disagrees and points to Matsumara’s teaching that in the radio communication system 1, an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based wireless access scheme may be used. For example, in at least one of the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL), Cyclic Prefix OFDM (CP-OFDM), Discrete Fourier Transform Spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM)…and so on may be used (see ¶ 0161); In the radio communication system 1, a downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), which is used by each user terminal 20 on a shared basis, a broadcast channel (Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH)), a downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) and so on, may be used as downlink channels (see ¶ 0163); Lower layer control information may be communicated on the PDCCH. For example, the lower layer control information may include downlink control information (DCI) including scheduling information of at least one of the PDSCH and the PUSCH (see ¶ 0166); Note that the transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication indicating disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel (see ¶ 0192); The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit downlink control information (DCI). The control section 110 may assume that a waveform to be used for a physical downlink shared channel (PUSCH) is determined based on at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a frequency domain resource assignment field, a precoding information and number of layers field, and an antenna port field of the DCI (see ¶ 0196); The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit a configuration indicating that disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel (PUSCH) is dynamically switched by at least one of downlink control information (DCI) and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (see ¶ 0197).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Matsumara’s teaching that in the radio communication system 1, an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM)-based wireless access scheme may be used. For example, in at least one of the downlink (DL) and the uplink (UL), Cyclic Prefix OFDM (CP-OFDM), Discrete Fourier Transform Spread OFDM (DFT-s-OFDM)…and so on may be used (see ¶ 0161); In the radio communication system 1, a downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), which is used by each user terminal 20 on a shared basis, a broadcast channel (Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH)), a downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)) and so on, may be used as downlink channels (see ¶ 0163); Lower layer control information may be communicated on the PDCCH. For example, the lower layer control information may include downlink control information (DCI) including scheduling information of at least one of the PDSCH and the PUSCH (see ¶ 0166); Note that the transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication indicating disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel (see ¶ 0192); The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit downlink control information (DCI). The control section 110 may assume that a waveform to be used for a physical downlink shared channel (PUSCH) is determined based on at least one of a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, a frequency domain resource assignment field, a precoding information and number of layers field, and an antenna port field of the DCI (see ¶ 0196); The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit a configuration indicating that disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel (PUSCH) is dynamically switched by at least one of downlink control information (DCI) and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) (see ¶ 0197).
Applicant further argues, with respect to Claims 7 and 14, Edge does not disclose the feature “identify a first satellite to be deactivated among the plurality of satellites, based on prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite included in the plurality of satellites is located during a specific time based on orbital movement”. Examiner disagrees and points to Edge’s teaching that due to orbital motion of satellites, a UE may traverse coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s) of the satellite(s), which may impact various operations of the UE, such as cell search, mobile originating services, mobile terminating services power-saving modes, and the like (see ¶ 0030); when coverage data is provided as ephemeris/orbital data, the UE has to perform its own coverage prediction. For example, if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time. To determine this, the UE would use the ephemeris (and any radio cell) data and calculate whether there is satellite visibility (for L and T) and possibly radio cell coverage (if known) for L and T [based on prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite included in the plurality of satellites is located during a specific time based on orbital movement] (see ¶ 0102); The server may determine, pre-configure, and signal satellite coverage data showing times of satellite cell (NTN) coverage and lack of coverage (e.g., times of no NTN coverage) at different locations and/or at different times [identify first satellite to be deactivated] (see ¶ 0104).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-14, filed 5/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7-11, 14-18, 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wu et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0334432 to Matsumara et al (“Matsumara”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0405814 to Jang et al (“Jang”).
As to Claim 1, Matsumara teaches an apparatus, cause the apparatus to: transmit, to a terminal through the at least one transceiver, a message including information indicating whether transform precoding of downlink transmission is activated (a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196);
generate downlink signals based on the information (a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel…a control section that switches, based on the indication, a waveform to be used [generate downlink signals based on the information], see Abstract; The control section 210 may control generation of signals, mapping, and so on. The control section 210 may control transmission/reception, measurement and so on using the transmitting/receiving section 220, and the transmitting/receiving antennas 230. The control section 210 generates data, control information, a sequence and so on to transmit as a signal, and may forward the generated items to the transmitting/receiving section 220, see ¶ 0201); and
transmit, to the terminal through the at least one transceiver, the downlink signals (The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196; a control section that switches, based on the indication, a waveform to be used [generate downlink signals based on the information], see Abstract; The control section 210 may control generation of signals, mapping, and so on. The control section 210 may control transmission/reception, measurement and so on using the transmitting/receiving section 220, and the transmitting/receiving antennas 230. The control section 210 generates data, control information, a sequence and so on to transmit as a signal, and may forward the generated items to the transmitting/receiving section 220, see ¶ 0201), and wherein, in a case that the information indicates that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are generated through a discrete fourier transform-spreading (DFT-S) orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme, and wherein, in a case that the information does not indicate that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are generated through a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM scheme (Switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM is performed by a transform precoder “transformPrecoder” of an uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-Config) with Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. CP-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is disabled, and DFT-s-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is enabled. The waveform switching requires RRC reconfiguration, see ¶ 0043).
Matsumara does not explicitly disclose a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor.
Jang teaches a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (NTN system, see ¶ 0162), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (In a downlink, a transmitter may be part of a base station and a receiver may be part of a terminal, see ¶ 0034; the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 may control the transceiver (106/206) to transmit and receive channels/signals/data/information, etc., and may also control the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 to store transmitted or received channels/signals/data/information, etc. in the memory (104/204), see ¶ 0254; A first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and may additionally include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. A processor 102 may control a memory 104 and/or a transceiver 106… a processor 102 may transmit a wireless signal including first information/signal through a transceiver 106 after generating first information/signal by processing information in a memory 104. In addition, a processor 102 may receive a wireless signal including second information/signal through a transceiver 106 and then store information obtained by signal processing of second information/signal in a memory 104, see ¶ 0277).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong with Jang to teach a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable (see ¶ 0004).
As to Claim 2, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 1, Matsumara teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive, from the terminal, capability information indicating that the terminal supports the transform precoding of downlink transmission (UE capability information indicating whether to support at least one of respective processes in the present disclosure. At least one of the above-mentioned embodiments may be employed in only a UE that has reported a specific UE capability or that supports the specific UE capability, see ¶ 0142; The specific UE capability may indicate at least one of the following: (1) Whether to support dynamic waveform switching (enabling/disabling of transform precoder) (2) Whether DCI/MAC CE can switch waveform (transform precoder) (3) DCI format supported by UE, see ¶ 0143-0146; The information may correspond to UE capability information transmitted by the UE. One piece of the information (for example, an RRC parameter) may be configured for all DCI formats, or may be configured for each DCI format, see ¶ 0148).
As to Claim 3, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 1, Matsumara teaches first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table information, and second MCS table information, wherein the first MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is activated, and wherein the second MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is not activated (FIG. 4 is a diagram to show a first example of an MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. FIG. 5 is a diagram to show a second example of the MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. MCS index corresponds to an MCS field of the DCI. Based on such a table as that shown in FIG. 4 or 5, the UE may use DFT-s-OFDM for the PUSCH when an MCS index, a modulation order, a target code rate, and spectral efficiency are each less/greater than a certain value (X), otherwise (being the certain value or more/less), the UE may use CP-OFDM, see ¶ 0093; different MCS tables are used for CP-OFDM and DFT-s-OFDM, see ¶ 0096).
Jang teaches wherein the message includes physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information related to a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (the DCI-based BWP switch may be indicated by DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH, the UE should be able to smoothly receive or transmit the PDSCH or PUSCH, which is scheduled by the DCI, see ¶ 0069; in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI, see ¶ 0081; NTN system, see ¶ 0162),
Matsumara and Jang do not expressly disclose wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated.
However, Matsumara teaches a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI) (see ¶ 0196). Jang teaches in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumara and Jang to teach wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for scheduling information about downlink data to be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
As to Claim 4, Matsumara teaches a terminal, cause the terminal to: receive, from the satellite through the at least one transceiver, a message including information indicating whether transform precoding of downlink transmission is activated (a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196);and
receive, from the satellite through the at least one transceiver, downlink signals based on the information (The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmit downlink control information (DCI), see ¶ 0196; a control section that switches, based on the indication, a waveform to be used [generate downlink signals based on the information], see Abstract; The control section 210 may control generation of signals, mapping, and so on. The control section 210 may control transmission/reception, measurement and so on using the transmitting/receiving section 220, and the transmitting/receiving antennas 230. The control section 210 generates data, control information, a sequence and so on to transmit as a signal, and may forward the generated items to the transmitting/receiving section 220, see ¶ 0201), and wherein, in a case that the information indicates that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are received through a discrete fourier transform-spreading (DFT-S) orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme, and wherein, in a case that the information does not indicate that the transform precoding is activated, the downlink signals are received through a cyclic prefix (CP)-OFDM scheme (Switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM is performed by a transform precoder “transformPrecoder” of an uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) configuration (PUSCH-Config) with Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. CP-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is disabled, and DFT-s-OFDM is applied when the transform precoder is enabled. The waveform switching requires RRC reconfiguration, see ¶ 0043).
Matsumara does not explicitly disclose a terminal for communicating with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor.
Jang teaches a terminal for communicating with a satellite in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (NTN system, see ¶ 0162), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (In a downlink, a transmitter may be part of a base station and a receiver may be part of a terminal, see ¶ 0034; the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 may control the transceiver (106/206) to transmit and receive channels/signals/data/information, etc., and may also control the processor (102/202) of FIG. 11 to store transmitted or received channels/signals/data/information, etc. in the memory (104/204), see ¶ 0254; A first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and may additionally include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. A processor 102 may control a memory 104 and/or a transceiver 106… a processor 102 may transmit a wireless signal including first information/signal through a transceiver 106 after generating first information/signal by processing information in a memory 104. In addition, a processor 102 may receive a wireless signal including second information/signal through a transceiver 106 and then store information obtained by signal processing of second information/signal in a memory 104, see ¶ 0277).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xiong with Jang to teach a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access, comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide coverage in an area in which communication with terrestrial networks is unavailable (see ¶ 0004).
As to Claim 5, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 4, Matsumara teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the terminal to: transmit, to the satellite, capability information indicating that the terminal supports the transform precoding of downlink transmission (UE capability information indicating whether to support at least one of respective processes in the present disclosure. At least one of the above-mentioned embodiments may be employed in only a UE that has reported a specific UE capability or that supports the specific UE capability, see ¶ 0142; The specific UE capability may indicate at least one of the following: (1) Whether to support dynamic waveform switching (enabling/disabling of transform precoder) (2) Whether DCI/MAC CE can switch waveform (transform precoder) (3) DCI format supported by UE, see ¶ 0143-0146; The information may correspond to UE capability information transmitted by the UE. One piece of the information (for example, an RRC parameter) may be configured for all DCI formats, or may be configured for each DCI format, see ¶ 0148).
As to Claim 6, Matsumara and Jang depending on Claim 4, Matsumara teaches first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table information, and second MCS table information, wherein the first MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is activated, and wherein the second MCS table information indicates a MCS table used in case that the transform precoding is not activated (FIG. 4 is a diagram to show a first example of an MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. FIG. 5 is a diagram to show a second example of the MCS table in 3GPP Rel. 16. MCS index corresponds to an MCS field of the DCI. Based on such a table as that shown in FIG. 4 or 5, the UE may use DFT-s-OFDM for the PUSCH when an MCS index, a modulation order, a target code rate, and spectral efficiency are each less/greater than a certain value (X), otherwise (being the certain value or more/less), the UE may use CP-OFDM, see ¶ 0093; different MCS tables are used for CP-OFDM and DFT-s-OFDM, see ¶ 0096).
Jang teaches wherein the message includes physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information related to a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (the DCI-based BWP switch may be indicated by DCI for scheduling PDSCH or PUSCH, the UE should be able to smoothly receive or transmit the PDSCH or PUSCH, which is scheduled by the DCI, see ¶ 0069; in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI, see ¶ 0081; NTN system, see ¶ 0162),
Matsumara and Jang do not expressly disclose wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated.
However, Matsumara teaches a receiving section [terminal] that receives, by using at least one of downlink control information (DCI) [message] and a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), an indication disabling or enabling of a transform precoder for a physical downlink shared channel, see Abstract; The transmitting/receiving section 120 [transceiver] may transmitdownlink control information (DCI) (see ¶ 0196). Jang teaches in the 5G system, scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) may be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsumara and Jang to teach wherein the PDSCH configuration information includes information indicating whether the transform precoding for a PDSCH is activated. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for scheduling information about downlink data to be transmitted from the base station to the UE through the DCI (see ¶ 0081).
10. Claim(s) 7-8, 10-11, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0362704 to Edge et al (“Edge”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2026/0067190 to Wu et al (“Wu”).
As to Claim 7, Edge teaches a network apparatus for performing a communication with a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (a wireless communication network may benefit from improved support for coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s) of the satellite(s) which may enable more efficient use of network resources and better communication service to UEs. To support coverage area(s) and non-coverage area(s), the coverage information can be provided to a UE to enable the UE to know when there will be coverage at a particular location for one or more RATs for Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTNs) and possibly Terrestrial Networks (TNs), see ¶ 0030), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (user equipment (UE) capable of indicating a generalized unavailability period to a wireless network, according to this disclosure, may comprise one or more transceivers, one or more memories, one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more transceivers and the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to send a reporting capability via the one or more transceivers to a network entity of the wireless network, see ¶ 0007),
cause the network apparatus to: identify a plurality of satellites associated with a specific geographic area (an assignment of satellite cells, e.g., cell 1 and cell 2 in a communication system 600, produced by one or more SVs 102, 202, 302 over an area 605, see ¶ 0093);
Edge does not expressly disclose identify a first satellite to be deactivated among the plurality of satellites, based on prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite included in the plurality of satellites is located during a specific time based on orbital movement; and transmit, to the first satellite through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite.
Wu teaches identify a first satellite to be deactivated among the plurality of satellites, based on prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite included in the plurality of satellites is located during a specific time based on orbital movement (In the scenario, the UE 102 is served by the LEO satellite 304 from t1 to t2 and served by another LEO satellite 306 from t3 to t4. In the period between t2 to t3, the UE 102 is not served by any satellite or any terrestrial base station and therefore is out of coverage…To reduce power consumption at the UE in particular NTN scenarios such as the one depicted in FIG. 5, the UE may not be required to perform the cell search and can deactivate the Access Stratum (AS) functions during the period when the UE is not within the area of coverage of a satellite [identify a first satellite to be deactivated]. In some implementations, the UE has knowledge of when the UE will be outside the area of coverage [prediction information for indicating an area], and when the UE will be within an area of coverage again, in order to activate its cell search or AS functions again right before the UE falls into the coverage of another NTN cell. For example, the ephemeris information broadcasted in the system information provides the constellation and trajectory/movement information of the serving and the neighboring satellites, which helps UE to predict/estimate when it will be within and when it will be outside the NTN coverage [prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite is located during a specific time based on orbital movement]. In addition to the ephemeris information, the UE may use other information to estimate/predict coverage of an NTN cell more precisely, see ¶ 0058); and transmit, to the first satellite through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite (While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). In some implementations, the base station 104 transitions the UE 102 to an inactive state (e.g., the RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state with a UE AS context stored) [message for indicating deactivation of the satellite] to suspend the radio connection [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite]. In some implementations, while the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the UE 102 determines or detects data inactivity and transmits 606 to the DU 174, UE assistance information (e.g., a UEAssistanceInformation message) indicating that the UE 102 prefers or requests to transition to the inactive state, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 1A).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Edge with Wu to teach identify a first satellite to be deactivated among the plurality of satellites, based on prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite included in the plurality of satellites is located during a specific time based on orbital movement; and transmit, to the first satellite through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumption at the UE in particular NTN scenarios (see ¶ 0058).
As to Claim 8, Edge and Wu depending on Claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated (While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). In some implementations, the base station 104 transitions the UE 102 to an inactive state (e.g., the RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state with a UE AS context stored) [message for indicating deactivation of the satellite] to suspend the radio connection [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite]. In some implementations, while the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the UE 102 determines or detects data inactivity and transmits 606 to the DU 174 [information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated], UE assistance information (e.g., a UEAssistanceInformation message) indicating that the UE 102 prefers or requests to transition to the inactive state…the DU 174 can perform data inactivity monitoring for the UE 102. The CU-CP 172A can transmit a CU-to-DU message (e.g., a UE Context Setup Request message or a UE Context Modification Request message) to the DU 174 to request or command the DU 174 to perform the data inactivity monitoring. In cases where the DU 174 detects or determines that the UE 102 is in data inactivity during the monitoring, the DU 174 can transmit 610 an inactivity notification (e.g., (UE Inactivity Notification message) to the CU-CP 172A, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 1A).
As to Claim 10, Edge and Wu depending from Claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the message includes information on a timer for deactivation, wherein the timer starts from a time when the message is received, and wherein, in a case that the timer expires, a state of the satellite changes from an inactive state to an active state (While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). In some implementations, the base station 104 transitions the UE 102 to an inactive state (e.g., the RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state with a UE AS context stored) [message for indicating deactivation of the satellite] to suspend the radio connection [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite], see ¶ 0064; the UE AS context configuration parameters may be included in the DU configuration. The CU-CP 172A also stores the UE AS context for the UE 102 operating in the inactive state. In some implementations, the RRC release message includes a periodic RAN notification area (RNA) timer value, see ¶ 0067).
As to Claim 11, Edge and Wu depending from Claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the message includes information on a cause of deactivation, wherein the cause indicates one of a plurality of causes, and wherein the plurality of causes includes at least one of deactivation due to orbital movement, resource optimization, user inactivity, service area type, low traffic in the cell, or low traffic in the service area (In the scenario, the UE 102 is served by the LEO satellite 304 from t1 to t2 and served by another LEO satellite 306 from t3 to t4. In the period between t2 to t3, the UE 102 is not served by any satellite or any terrestrial base station and therefore is out of coverage…To reduce power consumption at the UE in particular NTN scenarios such as the one depicted in FIG. 5, the UE may not be required to perform the cell search and can deactivate the Access Stratum (AS) functions during the period when the UE is not within the area of coverage of a satellite. In some implementations, the UE has knowledge of when the UE will be outside the area of coverage…the ephemeris information broadcasted in the system information provides the constellation and trajectory/movement information of the serving and the neighboring satellites, which helps UE to predict/estimate when it will be within and when it will be outside the NTN coverage [deactivation due to orbital movement]. In addition to the ephemeris information, the UE may use other information to estimate/predict coverage of an NTN cell more precisely, see ¶ 0058; While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104), see ¶ 0064).
As to Claim 21, Edge and Wu depending from Claim 7, Edge teaches wherein the prediction information includes information on a load of each satellite included in the plurality of satellites in the specific time (the unavailability period report may include additional information regarding the unavailability period. This may include, for example, at least one of: the one or more of the plurality of events causing the unavailability period, a start time of the unavailability period, a duration of the unavailability period, an end time of the unavailability period, or some combination of these. The plurality of different events may include at least one of a satellite coverage unavailability, see ¶ 0546; When coverage data is provided as ephemeris/orbital data, the UE has to perform its own coverage prediction. For example, if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time [prediction information related to a specific time], see ¶ 0102), and wherein the load indicates the number of terminals connected to a cell provided by a corresponding satellite ( if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time. To determine this, the UE would use the ephemeris (and any radio cell) data and calculate whether there is satellite visibility (for L and T) and possibly radio cell coverage (if known) for L and T. The answer may be a binary yes/no (e.g., maybe with a threshold probability between yes and no). With a coverage map, the UE 115 may only need to look up the answer, which can be a very simple operation. Because the coverage map provider may have much more information than that available to a UE, in only a few orbital parameters (e.g., the provider may know exactly how many satellites and radio cells [number of terminals] will be supported for L and T), see ¶ 0102).
As to Claim 22, Edge and Wu depending from Claim 21, Edge teaches wherein the specific time indicates a season, a month, a day, a year, or a specific time zone of the day (Once the SPS receiver has measured the signal propagation delays for each satellite, the range to each satellite can be determined and precise navigation information including 3-dimensional position, velocity and time of day of the SPS receiver can then be determined using the measured ranges and the known locations of the satellites, see ¶ 0048).
As to Claim 23, Edge and Wu depending from Claim 14, Edge teaches wherein the prediction information includes information on a load of each satellite included in the plurality of satellites in the specific time (the unavailability period report may include additional information regarding the unavailability period. This may include, for example, at least one of: the one or more of the plurality of events causing the unavailability period, a start time of the unavailability period, a duration of the unavailability period, an end time of the unavailability period, or some combination of these. The plurality of different events may include at least one of a satellite coverage unavailability, see ¶ 0546; When coverage data is provided as ephemeris/orbital data, the UE has to perform its own coverage prediction. For example, if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time [prediction information related to a specific time], see ¶ 0102), and wherein the load indicates the number of terminals connected to a cell provided by a corresponding satellite (if the UE is at location L at time T, the UE needs to determine whether there will be coverage at this location and time. To determine this, the UE would use the ephemeris (and any radio cell) data and calculate whether there is satellite visibility (for L and T) and possibly radio cell coverage (if known) for L and T. The answer may be a binary yes/no (e.g., maybe with a threshold probability between yes and no). With a coverage map, the UE 115 may only need to look up the answer, which can be a very simple operation. Because the coverage map provider may have much more information than that available to a UE, in only a few orbital parameters (e.g., the provider may know exactly how many satellites and radio cells [number of terminals] will be supported for L and T), see ¶ 0102).
As to Claim 24, Edge and Wu depending from Claim 23, Edge teaches wherein the specific time indicates a season, a month, a day, a year, or a specific time zone of the day (Once the SPS receiver has measured the signal propagation delays for each satellite, the range to each satellite can be determined and precise navigation information including 3-dimensional position, velocity and time of day of the SPS receiver can then be determined using the measured ranges and the known locations of the satellites, see ¶ 0048).
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2026/0067190 to Wu et al (“Wu”).
As to Claim 14, Wu teaches an apparatus of a satellite for providing a non-terrestrial network (NTN) access (In an NTN, an RF transceiver is mounted on a satellite, an unmanned aircraft system (UAS), also called drone, balloon, plane, or another suitable apparatus. For simplicity, the discussion below refers to all such apparatus as satellites. In addition to satellites, an NTN can include the sat-gateways that connect the Non-Terrestrial Network to a public data network, feeder links between sat-gateways and satellites, service links between satellites and UEs, and inter-satellite links (ISL) when satellites form constellations, see ¶ 0005), comprising: memory storing instructions; at least one processor; and at least one transceiver, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (The UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 150 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units. The processing hardware 150 in an example implementation includes a processor 152 to process data that the UE 102 will transmit in the uplink direction, or process data received by UE 102 in the downlink direction. The processing hardware 150 can also include a transceiver 156 configured to transmit data in the downlink direction and to receive data in the uplink direction, see ¶ 0038), and
wherein the deactivation of the satellite is based on an area where each satellite included in a plurality of satellites is located during a specific time based on orbital movement, and wherein the plurality of satellites is associated with a specific geographic area (In the scenario, the UE 102 is served by the LEO satellite 304 from t1 to t2 and served by another LEO satellite 306 from t3 to t4. In the period between t2 to t3, the UE 102 is not served by any satellite or any terrestrial base station and therefore is out of coverage [deactivation of satellite based on an area located during a specific time]…To reduce power consumption at the UE in particular NTN scenarios such as the one depicted in FIG. 5, the UE may not be required to perform the cell search and can deactivate the Access Stratum (AS) functions during the period when the UE is not within the area of coverage of a satellite [identify a first satellite to be deactivated]. In some implementations, the UE has knowledge of when the UE will be outside the area of coverage [prediction information for indicating an area], and when the UE will be within an area of coverage again, in order to activate its cell search or AS functions again right before the UE falls into the coverage of another NTN cell. For example, the ephemeris information broadcasted in the system information provides the constellation and trajectory/movement information of the serving and the neighboring satellites, which helps UE to predict/estimate when it will be within and when it will be outside the NTN coverage [prediction information for indicating an area where each satellite is located during a specific time based on orbital movement]. In addition to the ephemeris information, the UE may use other information to estimate/predict coverage of an NTN cell more precisely, see ¶ 0058; FIG. 3B illustrates the case where two different satellites (304 and 306) are connected to the same base station 104 via the same NTN gateway 302, and these two satellites (304 and 306) are covering the Earth surface using two different Physical Cell IDs (PCIs), see ¶ 0049).
Wu does not expressly disclose cause the satellite to: receive, from a network apparatus through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the satellite and in response to the message, deactivate at least one of components of the satellite.
However, Wu teaches while the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). In some implementations, the base station 104 transitions the UE 102 to an inactive state (e.g., the RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state with a UE AS context stored) [message for indicating deactivation of the satellite] to suspend the radio connection [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite]. In some implementations, while the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the UE 102 determines or detects data inactivity and transmits 606 to the DU 174 [component of the satellite], UE assistance information (e.g., a UEAssistanceInformation message) indicating that the UE 102 prefers or requests to transition to the inactive state…the DU 174 can perform data inactivity monitoring for the UE 102. The CU-CP 172A can transmit a CU-to-DU message (e.g., a UE Context Setup Request message or a UE Context Modification Request message) to the DU 174 to request or command the DU 174 to perform the data inactivity monitoring. In cases where the DU 174 detects or determines that the UE 102 is in data inactivity during the monitoring, the DU 174 can transmit 610 an inactivity notification (e.g., (UE Inactivity Notification message) to the CU-CP 172A (see ¶ 0064; Fig. 1A). Examiner construes that the DU, a component of the base station, commands the satellite to deactivate when the message from the UE detects data inactivity.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu to teach cause the satellite to: receive, from a network apparatus through the at least one transceiver, a message for indicating deactivation of the satellite and in response to the message, deactivate at least one of components of the satellite. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce power consumption at the UE in particular NTN scenarios (see ¶ 0058).
As to Claim 15, Wu depending on Claim 14, Wu teaches wherein the message includes at least one of information on a cell to be deactivated, information on a data radio bearer (DRB) to be deactivated, information on a signaling radio bearer (SRB) to be deactivated, information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated, or information on a frequency band to be deactivated (While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). In some implementations, the base station 104 transitions the UE 102 to an inactive state (e.g., the RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state with a UE AS context stored) [message for indicating deactivation of the satellite] to suspend the radio connection [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite]. In some implementations, while the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the UE 102 determines or detects data inactivity and transmits 606 to the DU 174 [information on a distributed unit (DU) to be deactivated], UE assistance information (e.g., a UEAssistanceInformation message) indicating that the UE 102 prefers or requests to transition to the inactive state…the DU 174 can perform data inactivity monitoring for the UE 102. The CU-CP 172A can transmit a CU-to-DU message (e.g., a UE Context Setup Request message or a UE Context Modification Request message) to the DU 174 to request or command the DU 174 to perform the data inactivity monitoring. In cases where the DU 174 detects or determines that the UE 102 is in data inactivity during the monitoring, the DU 174 can transmit 610 an inactivity notification (e.g., (UE Inactivity Notification message) to the CU-CP 172A, see ¶ 0064; Fig. 1A).
As to Claim 17, Wu depending from Claim 14, Wu teaches wherein the message includes information on a timer for deactivation, wherein the timer starts from a time when the message is received, and wherein, in a case that the timer expires, a state of the satellite changes from an inactive state to an active state (While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). In some implementations, the base station 104 transitions the UE 102 to an inactive state (e.g., the RRC_INACTIVE state, or RRC_IDLE state with a UE AS context stored) [message for indicating deactivation of the satellite] to suspend the radio connection [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver a message for indicating deactivation of the first satellite], see ¶ 0064; the UE AS context configuration parameters may be included in the DU configuration. The CU-CP 172A also stores the UE AS context for the UE 102 operating in the inactive state. In some implementations, the RRC release message includes a periodic RAN notification area (RNA) timer value, see ¶ 0067).
As to Claim 18, Wu depending from Claim 14, Wu teaches wherein the message includes information on a cause of deactivation, wherein the cause indicates one of a plurality of causes, and wherein the plurality of causes includes at least one of deactivation due to orbital movement, resource optimization, user inactivity, service area type, low traffic in the cell, or low traffic in the service area (In the scenario, the UE 102 is served by the LEO satellite 304 from t1 to t2 and served by another LEO satellite 306 from t3 to t4. In the period between t2 to t3, the UE 102 is not served by any satellite or any terrestrial base station and therefore is out of coverage…To reduce power consumption at the UE in particular NTN scenarios such as the one depicted in FIG. 5, the UE may not be required to perform the cell search and can deactivate the Access Stratum (AS) functions during the period when the UE is not within the area of coverage of a satellite. In some implementations, the UE has knowledge of when the UE will be outside the area of coverage…the ephemeris information broadcasted in the system information provides the constellation and trajectory/movement information of the serving and the neighboring satellites, which helps UE to predict/estimate when it will be within and when it will be outside the NTN coverage [deactivation due to orbital movement]. In addition to the ephemeris information, the UE may use other information to estimate/predict coverage of an NTN cell more precisely, see ¶ 0058; While the UE 102 communicates with the base station 104, the CU-CP 172A can determine 614 to transition the UE 102 to suspend a radio connection between the UE 102 the base station 104 [transmit to the first satellite through at least one transceiver], based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104), see ¶ 0064).
12. Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0362704 to Edge et al (“Edge”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2026/0067190 to Wu et al (“Wu”) in further view of Chinese Patent Publication 115885580 to Li et al (“Li”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 9, Edge and Wu depending on Claim 7, Edge and Wu do not expressly disclose wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. Li teaches wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body (The terminal device will register a group of tracking area with the AMF entity. Generally, a tracking area will include a plurality of cells, when the AMF entity needs to page the terminal device, then sending a paging message to all the cell base stations in the group of tracking areas. Currently, each 5 G cell only broadcasts one tracking area code (TAC). When the idle/inactive state of the terminal device occurs cell reselection, if the new cell broadcast of the TAC does not belong to a group of tracking area registered by the terminal device [message includes information of service area to be deactivated and type of service area], the terminal device to the AMF entity initiates a location registration process, updating the tracking area list, see page 7, 3rd para), wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert (The 5 G NR system defines the NTN system deployment scenario including the satellite NTN generally provides communication services to a terrestrial user in satellite of communication. Compared with the ground cellular network communication, the satellite communication has many unique advantages. Firstly, satellite communication is not limited by the user region, for example, the general land communication cannot cover the ocean, high mountain, desert [types of service area] and so on cannot be set communication device or because of small population but not communication coverage area, see page 6, 7th para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Edge and Wu with Li to teach wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to update the tracking area list (see page 7, 3rd para).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2026/0067190 to Wu et al (“Wu”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication 115885580 to Li et al (“Li”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 16, Wu depending on Claim 14, Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. Li teaches wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body (The terminal device will register a group of tracking area with the AMF entity. Generally, a tracking area will include a plurality of cells, when the AMF entity needs to page the terminal device, then sending a paging message to all the cell base stations in the group of tracking areas. Currently, each 5 G cell only broadcasts one tracking area code (TAC). When the idle/inactive state of the terminal device occurs cell reselection, if the new cell broadcast of the TAC does not belong to a group of tracking area registered by the terminal device [message includes information of service area to be deactivated and type of service area], the terminal device to the AMF entity initiates a location registration process, updating the tracking area list, see page 7, 3rd para), wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert (The 5 G NR system defines the NTN system deployment scenario including the satellite NTN generally provides communication services to a terrestrial user in satellite of communication. Compared with the ground cellular network communication, the satellite communication has many unique advantages. Firstly, satellite communication is not limited by the user region, for example, the general land communication cannot cover the ocean, high mountain, desert [types of service area] and so on cannot be set communication device or because of small population but not communication coverage area, see page 6, 7th para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu with Li to teach wherein the message includes information on a service area to be deactivated and information on a type of the service area, wherein the service area to be deactivated includes at least one of an area specified by a tracking area identity (TAI), an area specified by a TAI list, an area specified by a tracking area code (TAC), or a space area indicating one of space of a celestial body, wherein the type indicates one of a plurality of types of the service area, and wherein the plurality of types include at least one of a sea, a continent, an island, or a desert. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to update the tracking area list (see page 7, 3rd para).
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622