DETAILED ACTION
This non-final rejection is responsive to the claims filed 06 December 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 19 and 20 refer to the “The first electronic device according to claim 18”. However, claim 18 defines a second electronic device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-14, 16-18, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2018/0357313 A1) hereinafter known as Kumar.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kumar teaches:
displaying, by the first electronic device, a first user interface, wherein the first user interface comprises a first application component of the first electronic device; (Kumar: Figs. 9-10C and ¶[0115]-¶[0116]; Kumar teaches user interfaces of a mobile device.)
establishing, by the first electronic device, a first connection to a second electronic device; (Kumar: ¶[0120] and ¶[0123] and ¶[0051]; Kumar teaches causing the network media system to be configured such that an action taken on the at least one media item identified in the playlist on the mobile device via the mobile device causes a corresponding action to be taken by the zone on the at least one corresponding media item in the playback queue, thereby establishing the connected state between the mobile device and the zone.)
…
…
…
An embodiment of Kumar does not explicitly teach but another embodiment teaches:
receiving, by the first electronic device based on the first connection, a first message sent by the second electronic device, wherein the first message comprises first data, and the first data is generated by the second electronic device by running a second application component; and (Kumar: Fig. 9 and ¶[0125] and ¶[0129]; Kumar teaches a connected state wherein the mobile device and the zone play media content in synchrony or involve the mobile device displaying information for media content being played by the zone
generating, by the first electronic device, first content based on the first data, and displaying the first content in the first application component, wherein (Kumar: ¶[0129]-¶[0130]; Kumar teaches the zone playing Track 1 and the mobile device displaying the playback state. The playlist and the playback queue may be provided on the interface of the mobile device to provide the user information on media content being played by the mobile device and the zone while in the connected state.)
the first connection is a connection between the first application component and the second application component. (Kumar: Fig. 9 (912) and 10D and ¶[0123] and ¶[0129]; Kumar teaches the network media system to be configured such that an action taken on the at least one media item identified in the playlist on the mobile device causes a corresponding action to be taken by the zone.)
Kumar is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as it is directed to synchronizing applications across devices. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine establishing a connection between two devices to further receiving messages from one device to another and displaying the content accordingly. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings because the combination would allow synchronizing devices, as suggested by Kumar: ¶[0179].
Regarding claim 2, Kumar further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Kumar further teaches:
wherein after establishing, by the first electronic device, the first connection to the second electronic device, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first electronic device, a first identifier in the first application component, wherein the first identifier indicates a status of the first connection, wherein (Kumar: Fig. 11 and ¶[0133]; Kumar teaches determining that a mobile device is in a connected state. Further, Figs. 12 and 24B and ¶[0136] and ¶[0224 ]teach a user interface with a connected state indicator 1020.)
a display mode of the first identifier when the first connection is in a connected state is different from a display mode of the first identifier when the first connection is in a disconnected state. (Kumar: ¶[0137]-¶[0138]; Kumar teaches determining if the device is in a disconnected state and displaying a second status representation indicating that the mobile device is not in the connected state. The status representation may be displayed may be a dimmed version of the connected state indicator.)
Regarding claim 3, Kumar further teaches the method according to claim 2.
Kumar further teaches:
wherein after displaying, by the first electronic device, the first identifier in the first application component, the method further comprises: detecting, by the first electronic device, a first operation performed by a user on the first identifier; (Kumar: Fig. 24B and ¶[0224]-¶[0225]; Kumar teaches displaying the connected status indicator 1020. The user can select the indicator.)
displaying, by the first electronic device, a first window in response to the first operation, wherein the first window comprises a first option; (Kumar: Fig. 24C and ¶[0225]; Kumar further teaches displaying zone representations of zones in the network media system.)
detecting, by the first electronic device, a second operation performed by the user on the first option; and (Kumar: ¶[0226]-¶[0227]; Kumar teaches the user selecting the “Master Bedroom” zone.)
deleting, by the first electronic device, the first connection in response to the second operation. (Kumar: ¶[0227]; Kumar teaches the user selecting the replace icon. The foregoing is interpreted as a deleting the first connection.)
Regarding claim 4, Kumar further teaches the method according to claim 3.
Kumar further teaches:
wherein when the first connection is in the disconnected state, the first window further comprises a second option, and before detecting, by the first electronic device, the second operation performed by the user on the first option, the method further comprises: detecting, by the first electronic device, a third operation performed by the user on the second option; and (Kumar: Fig. 18A and ¶[0175]-¶[0176]; Kumar teaches displaying icon 1010, indicating the disconnected state. Further, the user may select the icon to display the window of Fig. 18B, which shows icon 1060, indicating that the mobile device was previously connected to the Master Bedroom. ¶[0178] teaches the user selecting “Master Bedroom”, which the mobile device was previously connected to.)
re-establishing, by the first electronic device, the first connection to the second electronic device in response to the third operation. (Kumar: Fig. 18C and ¶[0178]-¶[0179]; Kumar teaches reconnecting.)
Regarding claim 6, Kumar further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Kumar further teaches:
wherein after displaying, by the first electronic device, the first content in the first application component, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first electronic device based on the first connection, a second message sent by the second electronic device, wherein the second message comprises second data, the second data is generated by the second electronic device by running the second application component after the second electronic device generates the first data, and the second data is different from the first data; and (Kumar: ¶[0125] and ¶[0129]; Kumar teaches tracking media content playback by the mobile device and the zone. ¶[0080] further taches that when audio is being accessed or being played, a picture (album art) or any other data associated with the audio may be transmitted.)
generating, by the first electronic device, second content based on the second data, and displaying the second content in the first application component. (Kumar: ¶[0130]; Kumar teaches displaying a side-by-side comparison of the playlist and the playback queue.)
Regarding claim 7, Kumar further teaches the method according to claim 1.
Kumar further teaches:
wherein before establishing, by the first electronic device, the first connection to the second electronic device, the method further comprises: detecting, by the first electronic device, a fourth operation performed by a user; (Kumar: Figs. 10A-10C and ¶[0115]-¶[0117]; Kumar teaches the user input of a selectin the play-to icon 1010.)
displaying, by the first electronic device, a second window in response to the fourth operation, wherein the second window comprises one or more options, and the one or more options comprises an option corresponding to device information of the second electronic device; (Kumar: ¶[0118]; Kumar teaches selecting the play-to icon 1010 and displaying one or more zone representations (Fig. 10C).)
detecting, by the first electronic device, a fifth operation performed by the user on the option corresponding to the device information of the second electronic device; and (Kumar: ¶[0120]; Kumar teaches selecting the “Master Bedroom” zone.)
sending, by the first electronic device, a first request to the second electronic device in response to the fifth operation, wherein the first request requests the second electronic device to establish the first connection to the first electronic device. (Kumar: ¶[0121]-¶[0123]; Kumar teaches populating the playback queue associated with “Master Bedroom” zone with media items corresponding to the media items identified in the playlist on the mobile device in response to the “Master Bedroom” zone being selected. Also, the mobile device may send one or more URIs directly to one or more playback devices in the zone.)
Regarding claims 11-14, 16, and 17, these claims recite a first electronic device and a second electronic device that perform the method of claims 1-4, 6, and 7; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies. ¶[0012] of Kumar further teaches a processor and a non-transitory medium.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 18, and 20, these claims recite a method, applied to a second electronic device, and the second electronic device wherein the functionality of the claims is recited in the citations for the method of claims 1, 6, and 7; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Kim (US 2020/0057596 A1) hereinafter known as Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Kumar further teaches the method according to claim 2.
Kumar does not explicitly teach but Kim teaches:
wherein device information of the second electronic device is displayed on the first identifier. (Kim: Fig. 2 and ¶[0068]-¶[0069]; Kim teaches a device connecting to an external device and displaying object 206, which includes an image of the external electronic device.)
Kumar and Kim are in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the references are directed user interface for connected devices. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the connected state indicator as taught in Kumar with the indicator indicating the external electronic device as taught in Kim. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kumar to include teachings of Kim, because the combination would allow the indicator itself to indicate the connection to the other device, as suggested by Kim: ¶[0069].
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites a first electronic device that performs the method of claim 5; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar in view of Shin (US 2018/0267768 A1) hereinafter known as Shin
Regarding claim 9, Kumar teaches the method according to claim 8.
Kumar does explicitly teach but Shin teaches:
wherein the first request comprises device information of the first electronic device and information about the first application component, and before establishing, by the second electronic device, the first connection to the first electronic device, and the method further comprises: (Shin: ¶[0080]; Shin teaches the external device (first device) provides device 1000 (second device) with identification values of the two devices.)
performing, by the second electronic device, verification based on the device information of the first electronic device and the information about the first application component; and (Shin: Fig. 5 and ¶[0081]; Shin teaches device 1000 may authenticate the external device based on the authentication information received from the external device to the device.)
establishing, by the second electronic device, the first connection to the first electronic device when the verification succeeds. (Shin: ¶[0081]; Shin teaches that once authentication succeeds, the device may provide the external device with the list of widgets.)
Shin in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the references are directed to displaying content of an app from one device to another. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the connected state between two devices as taught in Kumar with authentication as taught in Shin. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kumar to include teachings of Shin, because the combination would allow authentication of a device prior to providing data, as suggested by Shin: ¶[0081].
Regarding claim 19, this claim recites an electronic device that performs the method of claim 9; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Missig US 2016/0283063 A1.
Conclusion
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118