DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2023-210589 filed on 02/13/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 12/06/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 12/06/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-16 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “a printing system comprising: a printer that prints an arbitrary printed product on a printing medium; and a colorimeter that measures a color of the printed product, wherein the printer includes: a printing part, and a printing controller that causes the printing part to print, based on information on the printed product, the printed product and a measurement patch to be used for measurement of stabilization of a color material of the printed product on the printing medium, and the colorimeter includes: a colorimetry part, and a colorimetry controller that causes the colorimetry part to measure a color of the measurement patch, and determines, based on an amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, whether the color material of the printed product has been stabilized”.
The claim limitation of “a printer that prints an arbitrary printed product on a printing medium; and a colorimeter that measures a color of the printed product, wherein the printer includes: a printing part, and a printing controller that causes the printing part to print, based on information on the printed product, the printed product and a measurement patch to be used for measurement of stabilization of a color material of the printed product on the printing medium, and the colorimeter includes: a colorimetry part, and a colorimetry controller that causes the colorimetry part to measure a color of the measurement patch, and determines, based on an amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, whether the color material of the printed product has been stabilized”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “by a printing controller” & “by a colorimeter controller” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a printing controller” language, “printing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually printing the printed product and a measurement patch will be used for measurement of stabilization of a color material of the printed product. Similarly, the limitations of “by a colorimeter controller” language, “measuring” to measure a color of the measurement patch, and determines, based on an amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, whether the color material of the printed product has been stabilized as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “by a printing controller” & “by a colorimeter controller” languages, “printing & measuring” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that printing system printed a printed product and measurement patch will be used to measure measurement patch in order to determine color stabilization. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim doesn’t recite any additional element – using a printing controller & a colorimeter controller to perform printing & measuring steps. The colorimeter controller in last steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic control unit performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the claimed steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claimed steps of using a printing controller & a colorimeter controller to perform printing & measuring steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
The other independent claims 12-16 of the instant application obviously claim the same subject matter as found in independent claim 1 and therefore would be rejected based on the same rationale applied to reject the independent claim 1.
The dependent claims 2-11 of the instant application obviously claim the same subject matter as found in independent claim 1 and therefore would be rejected based on the same rationale applied to reject the independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokohashi, US Pub 2021/0306527.
As to claim 1 [independent], Yokohashi teaches a printing system comprising:
a printer [fig. 1, element 10; 0023] that prints an arbitrary printed product on a printing medium [figs. 6-7; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed an evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including single & multi-color patch image 71-72 including patch images each having the maximum density of each CMYK color, that is, each having the coverage of 100%, and a multi-color patch image 72 including patch images in which least two colors of CMYK colors are combined together]; and
a colorimeter [fig. 1, element 50; 0025] that measures a color of the printed product [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value storage unit 33 and the colorimetric value of each input patch image, and determines whether the average color difference serving as the average value of the color differences obtained by calculation exceeds the preset first threshold value], wherein
the printer includes [fig. 1, element 10; 0023]:
a printing part [fig. 1, element 10; 0023], and
a printing controller that causes the printing part to print, based on information on the printed product [figs. 6-7; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed the evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including single & multi-color patch image 71-72], the printed product and a measurement patch to be used for measurement of stabilization of a color material of the printed product on the printing medium [figs. 6-8; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed the evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including a single & multi-color patch images 71-72, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on display 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)], and
the colorimeter includes [fig. 1, element 50; 0025]:
a colorimetry part [fig. 1, element 50; 0025], and
a colorimetry controller [fig. 1, element 50; 0025] that causes the colorimetry part to measure a color of the measurement patch [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33], and determines, based on an amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, whether the color material of the printed product has been stabilized [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)].
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Yokohashi teaches wherein the printing controller causes the printing part to print the measurement patch on the printing medium with a same adhesion amount as a maximum amount of color material adhesion within the printed product [figs. 6-7; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed an evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including single & multi-color patch image 71-72 including patch images each having the maximum density of each CMYK color, that is, each having the coverage of 100%].
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Yokohashi teaches wherein upon determining that the color material of the printed product has been stabilized, the colorimetry controller causes the colorimetry part to start colorimetry on the printed product [fig. 9, steps 203, 205-207; 0081-0090 the measured value of each density of the single-color patch 71 is smaller than the value obtained by multiplying the reference value by 0.9 indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71, then the colorimeter 10 calculates the color difference between the target value and the colorimetric value of the patch image with the coverage of 200% or larger among the patch images of the multi-color patch image 72].
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Yokohashi teaches wherein the colorimetry controller causes the colorimetry part to periodically perform colorimetry on the measurement patch [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 can periodically calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33],
the colorimetry controller determines whether or not the amount of change in the color of the measurement patch is within a predetermined threshold value [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)], and
the colorimetry controller determines whether the color material of the printed product has been stabilized [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)].
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Yokohashi teaches wherein the printing controller causes the printing part to print the measurement patch on the printing medium with a same adhesion amount as a maximum amount of color material adhesion among a plurality of specific colorimetry points set for the printed product [figs. 6-7; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed an evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including single & multi-color patch image 71-72 including patch images each having the maximum density of each CMYK color, that is, each having the coverage of 100%].
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Yokohashi teaches wherein the colorimetry controller temporarily stops colorimetry on the measurement patch upon determining that the color material of the printed product is not stabilized based on the change amount of the color of the measurement patch [figs. 6-7, 11; 0028-0029, 0070-0079 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 exceeded the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display 34 that there is a problem with the color accuracy indicating there is no stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 11)].
As to claim 12 [independent], Yokohashi teaches a printer comprising [fig. 1, element 10; 0023]:
a printing part [fig. 1, element 10; 0023]; and
a printing controller [fig. 1, element 10; 0023], wherein
in case of causing the printing part to print, on a printing medium, the printed product and a measurement patch to be used for measurement of stabilization of a color material of a printed product, based on information on the printed product [figs. 6-8; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed the evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including a single & multi-color patch images 71-72, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on display 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)], the printing controller causes the measurement patch to be printed on the printing medium with a same adhesion amount as a maximum amount of color material adhesion within the printed product [figs. 6-7; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed an evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including single & multi-color patch image 71-72 including patch images each having the maximum density of each CMYK color, that is, each having the coverage of 100%].
As to claim 13 [independent], Yokohashi teaches a colorimetry controller comprising [fig. 1, element 50; 0025]:
a colorimetry part [fig. 1, element 50; 0025]; and
a colorimetry controller [fig. 1, element 50; 0025]: wherein
the colorimetry controller causes the colorimetry part to perform colorimetry on a measurement patch printed on a printing medium and an arbitrary printed product [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)], and
the colorimetry controller determines, based on an amount of change in a color of the measurement patch, whether a color material of the printed product has been stabilized [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)].
As to claim 14 [independent], Yokohashi teaches a color material stabilization determination method comprising:
a printing process [figs. 6-8; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed the evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including a single & multi-color patch images 71-72], and
a determination process [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33], wherein
the printing process is a process of printing the printed product and a measurement patch used [figs. 6-8; 0023-0024, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the printer 10 is printed the evaluation chart (e.g., figs. 6-7) including a single & multi-color patch images 71-72] for measuring stabilization of a color material of a printed product on a printing medium based on information on the printed product by a printer that prints an arbitrary printed product on the printing medium [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)], and
the determination process is a process of measuring a color of the measurement patch by a colorimeter that measures a color of the printed product, and determining, based on an amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, whether the color material of the printed product has been stabilized [figs. 6-7; 0028-0029, 0070-0077 Yokohashi teaches that the colorimeter 50 calculates the color difference between the target value of each patch image stored in the color accuracy target value memory 33, and the colorimeter 50 calculates the average color difference of outputted patch based on patches 71 & 72 does not exceed the first threshold value, the color accuracy determination unit 32 displays on the display unit 34 that there is no problem with the color accuracy indicating stabilization of a color material of the printed patch 71-72 and as an example of a screen displayed on the display 34 in this manner (e.g., Fig. 8)].
As to claim 15 [independent], However, the independent claim 15 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 12 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 15 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 12.
As to claim 16 [independent], However, the independent claim 16 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 13 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 16 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-6, 8, 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 (abstract idea), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claim 5 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “a display device that displays information; wherein the printing controller or the colorimetry controller causes the display device to display a threshold setting screen for setting a predetermined threshold value for determining the stabilization of the color material of the printed product”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 6 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein in case of using a UV curable color material as the color material, the colorimetry controller determines whether or not an amount of change in an yellow component of the color material in a measurement coordinate space of the color of the measurement patch is within the predetermined threshold value, and the colorimetry controller determines whether or not the color material of the printed product is stabilized”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 8 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the colorimetry controller causes the colorimetry part to perform colorimetry on the measurement patch at a start of colorimetry and at a completion of colorimetry on the printed product, the colorimetry controller determines, based on the amount of change in the color of the measurement patch between the start of the colorimetry and the completion of the colorimetry, whether or not a color change has occurred during the colorimetry on the measurement patch, and upon determining that the color change has occurred, the colorimetry controller discards a colorimetry result of the measurement patch”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 10 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “A display device that displays information, wherein the colorimetry controller causes the colorimetry part to periodically measure the color of the measurement patch, and periodically acquires the amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, and in response to the colorimetry controller determining that the color material of the printed product is not stabilized based on the amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, the printing controller or the colorimetry controller causes the display device to display a warning message indicating that the color is not stabilized”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 11 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “A display device that displays information, wherein the colorimetry controller causes the colorimetry part to periodically perform colorimetry on the measurement patch, and records the amount of change in the color of the measurement patch, and the colorimetry controller calculates an estimated time until the stabilization of the color material is completed from a recorded change rate of the color of the measurement patch, and displays the estimated time on the display device”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682