DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/971,487 filed on December 6, 2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note that any of the focal lengths that are calculated from the data provided in tables in the prior art, were calculated using a paraxial matrix calculator that encodes the Full Lens Maker’s Equation.
Priority
As required by the M.P.E.P. 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on December 26, 2023 (Japan JP 2023-219296).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on December 6, 2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated March 6, 2025 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner notes that the phrase “composed of” which appears in claims 1 and 7 is being interpreted as equivalent to “comprising” and thus open-ended, rather than “consisting” which would be closed to additional elements. As noted in MPEP §211.03(IV) the transitional phrase “composed of” has been interpreted in the same manner as either "consisting of" or "consisting essentially of," depending on the facts of the particular case. See AFG Industries, Inc. v. Cardinal IG Company, 239 F.3d 1239, 1245, 57 USPQ2d 1776, 1780-81 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (based on specification and other evidence, "composed of" interpreted in same manner as "consisting essentially of"); In re Bertsch, 132 F.2d 1014, 1019-20, 56 USPQ 379, 384 (CCPA 1942) ("Composed of" interpreted in same manner as "consisting of"; however, the court further remarked that "the words ‘composed of’ may under certain circumstances be given, in patent law, a broader meaning than ‘consisting of.’"). In the current instance, the specification does not explicitly define how “composed of” should be interpreted in the present case, and thus it is being given a broader meaning than ‘consisting of’ so as to not improperly narrow the claims. If the applicant wishes to narrow the claim to only the recited elements, the applicant is free to amend these portions to use the unambiguous language of “consisting of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the first b group G1b has, on the most object side, a positive lens or a lens component including a positive lens on the most image side within the first group G1” is indefinite because it is unclear what options are being claimed as alternatives. At least the following possibilities are both consistent with the language and with the embodiments within the specification:
(1) (a) within G1b a positive lens is on the object-most side thereof or (b) within G1b a lens component including a positive lens is on the image-most side thereof;
(2) (a) within G1b a positive lens is on the object-most side thereof or (b) within G1b a lens component that is both on the object-most side thereof and on the image-most side thereof includes a positive lens;
(3) within G1b a positive lens or a lens including a positive lens is both on the object-most side of G1b and the image-most side of G1; or
(4) (a) within G1b there is a positive lens or a lens including a positive lens on the object-most side or (b) within G1b there is a positive lens or a lens including a positive lens on the image-most side of G1.
These are very different constraints on the lens configuration, thus rendering the scope of the claim indefinite. If the examiner has correctly guessed the intended meaning, the following amendment is suggested: “the first b group G1b consists of a positive lens or a lens component including a positive lens and G1b is on the most image side within the first group G1.” However, this may be narrower than the applicant intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1 and inherit and do not mitigate the above indefiniteness issue from claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “the first b group G1b is composed of a negative lens and a positive lens, or a positive lens and a negative lens” is indefinite because claim 7 does not actually recite “in order from the object side to the image side” or “consisting of”, thus it is unclear how these two options differ from one another. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muratani et al. WO 2022/085208 A1 (hereafter Muratani, where reference will be made to US 2023/0143770 as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Muratani (third example Fig. 5) teaches “An imaging optical system (paragraph [0150]: “an optical system of a third example”) comprising, in order from an object side to an image side (from left to right in Fig. 5):
a first group G1 (first lens group G1) with positive power overall (paragraph [0151]: “first lens group G1 having positive refractive power”);
a second group G2 (second lens group G2) composed of a lens that moves along an optical axis during focusing (paragraph [0156]: “The optical system of the present example focuses by moving the second lens group G2 along the optical axis”); and
a third group G3 (third lens group G3) with power (paragraph [0151]: “third lens group G3 having negative refractive power”), wherein
the first group G1 is composed, in order from the object side to the image side, of a first a group G1a (let G1a be lenses L1, L2 and L3), a plurality of lenses (let the plurality of lenses be L4 and L5 or L4, L5 and L6), and a first b group G1b (let G1b be lenses L6, L7 and L8 or just L7 and L8),
the first a group G1a has, in order from the most object side, at least two positive lenses (paragraph [0152]: “a positive meniscus lens L1… a positive meniscus lens L2”) and a meniscus-shaped negative lens with a convex surface thereof facing the object side on the most image side (paragraph [0152]: “a negative meniscus lens L3 convex on the object side and having a multilayered and glued diffractive optical element GD”),
the first b group G1b has, on the most object side, a positive lens or a lens component including a positive lens on the most image side within the first group G1 (this is met in at least the following ways,(i) if L6 is denoted as belonging to G1b it is on the most object side and is positive; (ii) the lens component L7/L8 includes a positive lens L8 and is on the most image side (iii) lens component L7/L8 includes a positive lens L8 is also on the most object side if L6 is taken to be part of the plurality of lenses and not in G1b),
an air distance D_A11 (example 3 surface 8 d=41.847), which is the longest within the first group G1 (d of surface 8 is the longest air gap amongst the air gaps within surfaces 1-15), is provided between the first a group G1a and the first b group G1b (surface 8 is between G1a that ends at surface 8 and G1b that starts at either surface 12 or 14 depending if L6 is considered to be part of G1b or not), and
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(1) 0.05 < D_A11 / D_G1 < 0.44, (given the values that follow D_A11/D_G1=41.847/112.429=0.372 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_A11 represents the longest air distance within the first group G1 (example 3 surface 8 d=41.847), and
D_G1 represents a distance on the optical axis from an object-side lens surface of a lens arranged on the most object side to an image-side lens surface of a lens arranged on the most image side within the first group G1 (in example 3 D_G1 is the sum of the d values of surfaces 1-15, thus D_G1=112.429).”
Regarding claim 2, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(2) 0.10 < (D_A11 + D_A12) / D_G1 < 0.70, (the expression (D_A11 + D_A12) / D_G1 = (41.487+14.506)/112.429=0.501 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_A11 represents the longest air distance within the first group G1 (example 3 surface 8 d=41.847), and
D_A12 represents the second-longest air distance between the first a group G1a and the first b group G1b (the second longest air distance in G1 is at surface 13 D_A12=14.506. This is “between the first a group G1a and the first b group G1b” because G1b of claim 1 can be denoted as just lenses L7 and L8, in which case the air gap of surface 13 is between G1a and G1b in that G1b doesn’t start until surface 14.).”
Regarding claim 3, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(3) 0.05 < D_G1a / D_G1 < 0.45, (given the values that follow D_G1a/D_G1 = 30.874/112.429 = 0.275 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_G1a represents a length along the optical axis of the first a group G1a (example 3 the sum of the d values of surfaces 1-7, D_G1a=30.874), and
D_G1 represents the distance along the optical axis from the object-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most object side to the image-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most image side within the first group G1 (in example 3 D_G1 is the sum of the d values of surfaces 1-15, thus D_G1=112.429).”
Regarding claim 4, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(4) 0.15 < D_A1all / D_G1 < 0.75 (given the values that follow D_A1all / D_G1 = 63.244/112.429 = 0.563 which is in the claimed range),
where
D_A1all represents a sum of all air distances within the first group G1 (in example 3 D_A1all is the sum of the d values of surfaces 2, 4, 8, 11 and 13, thus D_A1all=63.244), and
D_G1 represents the distance along the optical axis from the object-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most object side to the image-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most image side within the first group G1 (in example 3 D_G1 is the sum of the d values of surfaces 1-15, thus D_G1=112.429).
Regarding claim 5, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(5) atan (H_Img / f) < 7.00°, (given the values that follow atan (H_Img/f) = atan(21.6/581.97) = 2.126° which is in the claimed range)
where
H_Img represents the maximum image height (example 3 Image Height 21.6), and
f represents a focal length of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (example 3 f=581.97).”
Regarding claim 6, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(6) 0.10 < LT / f < 1.00, (given the values that follow LT/f = 269.235/581.97 = 0.463 which is in the claimed range)
where
LT represents a distance along the optical axis from a surface on the most object side to an image surface when the imaging optical system is focusing on infinity (paragraph [0007] “TL is the total optical length of the optical system” example 3 TL= 269.235), and
f represents a focal length of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (example 3 f = 581.97).”
Regarding claim 7, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the first b group G1b is composed of a negative lens and a positive lens (paragraph [0152]: “negative meniscus lens L7… and a positive meniscus lens L8… in order from the object side.”), or a positive lens and a negative lens (paragraph [0152]: “a positive meniscus lens L6… and… a negative meniscus lens L7… in order from the object side.”).”
Regarding claim 8, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(7) -60.00 < Φ_G2G3 / Φ < -3.00, (given the values that follow Φ_G2G3 / Φ= -0.02767/0.001718 = -16.105 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_G2G3 represents a combined power of the second group G2 and the third group G3 when the imaging optical system is focusing on infinity (the combined focal length of G2 and G3 can be calculated from the data of surfaces 18-38 in example 3 using a matrix calculator to be about -36.135 therefor the combined power of G2 and G3 is 1/(-36.135)=-0.02767), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 3 f=581.97, thus Φ=0.001718).”
Regarding claim 10, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(9) -35.00 < Φ_G3 / Φ < -1.00, (given the values that follow Φ_G3 / Φ = -0.0128/0.001718 = -7.458 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_G3 represents power of the third group G3 (the power of the third group is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 3 f3=-78.037, thus Φ_G3=-0.0128), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 3 f=581.97, thus Φ=0.001718).”
Regarding claim 11, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the third group G3 has an image blur correction unit IU (L12, L13 and L14 see paragraph [0157]: “the negative cemented lens composed of the positive lens L12 and the negative lens L13 and the negative lens L14, which are lenses included in the third lens group G3, are configured as a vibration reduction lens group”), and a rear unit RU provided on an image side of the image blur correction unit IU (lenses L15 to L21, which are on the image side of L14),
the image blur correction unit IU and the rear unit RU have different power signs (the focal length of lenses L12-14 and of lenses L15 to L21 can be calculated from the data of surfaces 23-27 and 28-38 respectively using a matrix calculator to be about -33.43 and 55.13 which are of different signs, and thus the powers are of different signs.),
the image blur correction unit IU has at least one positive lens and at least one negative lens (paragraph [0157]: “the negative cemented lens composed of the positive lens L12 and the negative lens L13 and the negative lens L14, which are lenses included in the third lens group G3, are configured as a vibration reduction lens group”, thus the blur correction unit has one positive lens and two negative lenses), and
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(10) 3.00 < |Φ_OS / Φ| < 35.00, (given the values that follow |Φ_OS / Φ|=|(-0.0299/0.00172)| = 17.41 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_OS represents power of the image blur correction unit (The power of the blur correction unit is the inverse of its focal length. The focal length of lenses L12-14 can be calculated from the data of surfaces 23-27 using a matrix calculator to be about -33.43. thus Φ_OS = -0.0299), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 3 f=581.97, thus Φ=0.001718).”
Regarding claim 12, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(11) -20.00 < Φ_G2 / Φ < -0.13 (given the values that follow Φ_G2 / Φ = -0.008215/0.00172 = -4.781 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_G2 represents power of the second group G2 (the power of the second group is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 3 f2=-121.724, thus Φ_G2=-0.008215), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 3 f=581.97, thus Φ=0.001718).”
Claims 1-8, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujikura et al. US 20150146036 A1 (hereafter Fujikura).
Regarding claim 1, Fujikura (example Fig. 1) teaches “An imaging optical system (paragraph [0058]: “image forming lens system according to an example 1”) comprising, in order from an object side to an image side (e.g. paragraph [0241]: “in order from an object side to an image side”):
a first group G1 (first lens unit G1, lenses L1 to L7) with positive power overall (paragraph [0242]: “G1 having a positive refractive power”);
a second group G2 (second lens unit G2, lenses L8 and L9) composed of a lens that moves along an optical axis during focusing (paragraph [0245]: “The second lens unit G2 is a focusing lens unit, and moves toward the image side along an optical axis at the time of focusing”); and
a third group G3 (rear lens unit GR, lenses L10 to L17) with power (paragraph [0241]: “rear lens unit GR having a positive refractive power”), wherein
the first group G1 is composed, in order from the object side to the image side, of a first a group G1a (L1, L2 and L3, paragraph [0244]: “a 1-1th sub lens unit includes the biconvex positive lens L1, the positive meniscus lens L2, and the negative meniscus lens L3.”), a plurality of lenses (let the plurality of lenses be lenses L4 and L5), and a first b group G1b (let G1b be lenses L6 and L7),
the first a group G1a has, in order from the most object side, at least two positive lenses (paragraph [0244]: “a 1-1th sub lens unit includes the biconvex positive lens L1, the positive meniscus lens L2”) and a meniscus-shaped negative lens (paragraph [0244]: “a 1-1th sub lens unit includes… the negative meniscus lens L3.”) with a convex surface thereof facing the object side on the most image side (see Fig. 1 and positive r value of surface 4 in paragraph [0283]),
the first b group G1b has, on the most object side, a positive lens or a lens component including a positive lens on the most image side within the first group G1 (G1b of lenses L6 and L7 is a cemented lens component including biconvex positive lens L6. Lens component L6/L7 is both on the object most side of G1b and on the image most side of G1.),
an air distance D_A11 (d of surface 5 D_A11=26.62), which is the longest within the first group G1 (d of surface 5 is the longest air distance amongst surfaces 1 to 10), is provided between the first a group G1a and the first b group G1b (the air distance of surface 5 is between L3 of G1a and L6 of G1b), and
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(1) 0.05 < D_A11 / D_G1 < 0.44, (given the values that follow D_A11/D_G1= 26.62/73.35=0.363 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_A11 represents the longest air distance within the first group G1 (d of surface 5 D_A11=26.62), and
D_G1 represents a distance on the optical axis from an object-side lens surface of a lens arranged on the most object side to an image-side lens surface of a lens arranged on the most image side within the first group G1 (the sum of the d values of surfaces 1 to 10, D_G1=73.35).”
Regarding claim 2, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(2) 0.10 < (D_A11 + D_A12) / D_G1 < 0.70, (the expression (D_A11 + D_A12) / D_G1 = (26.62+3.83)/73.35=0.415 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_A11 represents the longest air distance within the first group G1 (example 1 surface 5 d=26.62), and
D_A12 represents the second-longest air distance between the first a group G1a and the first b group G1b (the second longest air distance in G1 is at surface 8 with d=3.83. This is “between the first a group G1a and the first b group G1b” because G1b of claim 1 is lenses L6 and L7, in which case the air gap of surface 8 is between G1a and G1b in that G1b doesn’t start until surface 9.).”
Regarding claim 3, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(3) 0.05 < D_G1a / D_G1 < 0.45, (given the values that follow D_G1a/D_G1 = 20.7/73.35 = 0.282 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_G1a represents a length along the optical axis of the first a group G1a (example 1 the sum of the d values of surfaces 1-4, D_G1a=20.7), and
D_G1 represents the distance along the optical axis from the object-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most object side to the image-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most image side within the first group G1 (the sum of the d values of surfaces 1 to 10, D_G1=73.35).”
Regarding claim 4, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(4) 0.15 < D_A1all / D_G1 < 0.75 (given the values that follow D_A1all / D_G1 = 31.45/73.35=0.429 which is in the claimed range),
where
D_A1all represents a sum of all air distances within the first group G1 (in example 1 D_A1all is the sum of the d values of surfaces 2, 5 and 8 thus D_A1all=31.45), and
D_G1 represents the distance along the optical axis from the object-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most object side to the image-side lens surface of the lens arranged on the most image side within the first group G1 (the sum of the d values of surfaces 1 to 10, D_G1=73.35).”
Regarding claim 5, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(5) atan (H_Img / f) < 7.00°, (given the values that follow atan (H_Img/f) = atan(11.15/294.33) = 2.169° which is in the claimed range)
where
H_Img represents the maximum image height (example 1 IH 11.15), and
f represents a focal length of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (example 1 f=294.33).”
Regarding claim 6, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(6) 0.10 < LT / f < 1.00, (given the values that follow LT/f = 225.16/294.33 which is in the claimed range)
where
LT represents a distance along the optical axis from a surface on the most object side to an image surface when the imaging optical system is focusing on infinity (paragraph [0281] “Lens total length is a distance from a lens surface nearest to the object of the image forming lens system up to a lens surface nearest to the image of the image forming lens system. FB (back focus) is a value which is a distance from the last lens surface up to a paraxial image plane expressed upon air conversion.” example 1 Lens total length 213.64, FB 45.04 LT=LTT+FB=225.16), and
f represents a focal length of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (example 1 f = 294.33).”
Regarding claim 7, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the first b group G1b is composed of a negative lens and a positive lens (paragraph [0243]: “a biconvex positive lens L6, and a biconcave negative lens L7.”), or a positive lens and a negative lens (paragraph [0243]: “a biconvex positive lens L6, and a biconcave negative lens L7.”).”
Regarding claim 8, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(7) -60.00 < Φ_G2G3 / Φ < -3.00, (given the values that follow Φ_G2G3 / Φ= -0.0107/0.003398 = -3.148 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_G2G3 represents a combined power of the second group G2 and the third group G3 when the imaging optical system is focusing on infinity (the combined focal length of G2 and GR can be calculated from the data of surfaces 12-28 in example 1 using a matrix calculator to be about -93.492 therefor the combined power of G2 and G3 is 1/(-93/492)=-0.0107), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 1 f=294.33, thus Φ=0.003397547).”
Regarding claim 11, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein
the third group G3 has an image blur correction unit IU (G4 which is in GR and is for blur correction e.g. paragraph [0247]: “The fourth lens unit G4 is an image-motion correcting lens unit,” see also paragraph [0124]), and a rear unit RU provided on an image side of the image blur correction unit IU (fifth lens unit G5 which is on the image side of G5 within GR),
the image blur correction unit IU and the rear unit RU have different power signs (paragraph [0242]: “a fourth lens unit G4 having a negative refractive power, and a fifth lens unit G5 having a positive refractive power.”),
the image blur correction unit IU has at least one positive lens and at least one negative lens (paragraph [0247]: “The fourth lens unit G4 includes a biconvex positive lens L12, a biconcave negative lens L13, and a biconcave negative lens L14.”, thus the blur correction unit has one positive lens and two negative lenses), and
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(10) 3.00 < |Φ_OS / Φ| < 35.00, (given the values that follow |Φ_OS / Φ| = |(-0.038998/0.003398)| = 11.478 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_OS represents power of the image blur correction unit (The power of the blur correction unit is the inverse of its focal length. The focal length of G4 can be calculated from the data of surfaces 19-23 using a matrix calculator to be about -25.6421. thus Φ_OS = -0.038998), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 1 f=294.33, thus Φ=0.003397547).”
Regarding claim 12, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(11) -20.00 < Φ_G2 / Φ < -0.13 (given the values that follow Φ_G2 / Φ = -0.01028/0.003398 = -3.026 which is in the claimed range)
where
Φ_G2 represents power of the second group G2 (the power of the second group is the inverse of the focal length, which can be calculated from the data of surfaces 12-14 in example 1 using a matrix calculator to be about -97.281, thus Φ_G2=-0.01028), and
Φ represents power of the imaging optical system when focusing on infinity (the power of the system is the inverse of the focal length, where in example 1 f=294.33, thus Φ=0.003397547).”
Regarding claim 14, Fujikura teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein object-side surfaces and image-side surfaces of all lenses are formed from a spherical surface or a flat surface (no asphericity is disclosed for any of the lens surfaces, nor are any aspherical coefficients listed, thus the object-side and image-side surfaces of all of the lenses are spherical at least in the sense that any asphericity thereof is either unintentional, negligible or within manufacturing tolerances).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratani et al. WO 2022/085208 A1 (hereafter Muratani, where reference will be made to US 2023/0143770 as the English language equivalent) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto JP 2013161076 A (hereafter Yamamoto where reference will be made to the attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 9, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein…
where D_EXP represents a distance along the optical axis from an exit pupil to an image surface when the imaging optical system is focusing on infinity (paragraph [0096]: “The optical system of the present embodiment can prevent an exit pupil from being too near the image plane”), and
H_Img represents the maximum image height (example 3 image height 21.600).”
However, Muratani fails to teach “the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(8) 1.00 < D_EXP / H_Img < 11.00.”
Yamamoto teaches a similar lens system (example 1) having three lens groups (G1, G2 and G3), where the first lens group G1 has a positive refractive power and includes a lens group G1a with three positive lenses and one negative meniscus lens and a lens group G1b having a positive lens, the second group G2 moves for focusing, and a large air gap within G1 is between G1a and G1b.
Yamamoto further teaches (claim 9) wherein
the imaging optical system satisfies a following conditional expression:
(8) 1.00 < D_EXP / H_Img < 11.00, (given the values that follow D_EXP / H_Img = 65.337/10.80=6.0497 which is in the claimed range)
where
D_EXP represents a distance along the optical axis from an exit pupil to an image surface when the imaging optical system is focusing on infinity (EXP, where EXP/Bf=-3.81, Bf/f=0.23 and f=74.56, thus EXP=65.337), and
H_Img represents the maximum image height (Y = 10.80).”
Yamamoto further teaches (paragraphs [0027]-[0029]): “Furthermore, the inner-focusing telephoto lens of the present invention is characterized by satisfying the following conditional equation (1).
(1) -25.0 < EXP/Bf < -2.45 EXP: Exit pupil position from the image plane when shooting at infinity when the direction from the image plane to the object is negative Bf: Air-equivalent optical path length from the image plane side of the lens closest to the image plane of the third lens group G3 when shooting at infinity…
Conditional equation (1) specifies an appropriate ratio between the position of the exit pupil and the back focus as a desirable condition for suppressing changes in image magnification when the focusing lens is moved a small amount along the optical axis.”
Thus Muratani discloses the claimed invention except for 1.00 < D_EXP / H_Img < 11.00. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the exit pupil distance such that the lens system met the claimed expression, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In the current instance, D_EXP is an art recognized results effective variable in that an appropriate ratio between the position of the exit pupil and the back focus is a desirable condition for suppressing changes in image magnification when the focusing lens is moved a small amount along the optical axis as taught by Yamamoto (paragraphs [0027]-[0029]. Thus one would have been motivated to optimize D_EXP because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Muratani also teaches controlling the exit pupil position (see e.g. paragraph [0096]) and the exit pupil position relative to the image height in Yamamoto is in the middle of the claimed range leaving sizable room for variations thereon.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muratani et al. WO 2022/085208 A1 (hereafter Muratani, where reference will be made to US 2023/0143770 as the English language equivalent) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miwa et al. US 2021/055530 A1 (hereafter Miwa).
Regarding claim 13, Muratani teaches “The imaging optical system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging optical system has an aperture diaphragm S (aperture stop S at surface 17 in example 3) and a negative lens (example 3 the lens of surfaces 35-36 is negative meniscus) that satisfies following conditional expressions (see below) on the image side of the aperture diaphragm S (the lens with surfaces 35-36 is on the image side of stop S):
(12) 10.00 < ν_d < 30.00 (vd of surface 35 is 20.88); …
where
ν_d represents an Abbe number for a d-line (paragraph [0130]: “νd the Abbe numbers for d-line”) of the negative lens arranged on the image side of the aperture diaphragm S (vd of surface 35 is 20.88).”
However, Muratani fails to teach “and(13) 0.020 < P_gF + 0.0018 * ν_d – 0.6483 < 0.080…
P_gF represents a partial dispersion ratio for a g-line and an F-line of the negative lens arranged on the image side of the aperture diaphragm S, and
the partial dispersion ratio P_gF = (ng - nF) / (nF - nC) is specified,
where
ng represents a refractive index for the g-line (wavelength λ = 435.84 nm),
nF represents a refractive index for the F-line (wavelength λ = 486.13 nm), and
nC represents a refractive index for a C-line (wavelength λ = 656.27 nm).”
Miwa teaches a similar three-group lens system (Fig. 3, second embodiment G1, G2 and G3), where the first group is positive (see Fig. 3), the first group has a first group G1a having two positive lenses and a negative lens (L11, L12 and L13), a plurality of lenses (L14 and GD) and a second group G1b (lenses L15 and L16), the second group G2 moves for focusing and there is a large air gap between G1a and G1b.
Miwa further teaches (claim 13) wherein
the imaging optical system has an aperture diaphragm S (aperture stop S) and a negative lens (L311 paragraph [0077]: “at least three negative lens elements (e.g., a biconcave negative lens L37, a negative meniscus lens L38 and a negative meniscus lens L311)”) that satisfies following conditional expressions (see below) on the image side of the aperture diaphragm S (L311 is the lens closest to the image side, which is on the image side of S in Fig. 3):
(12) 10.00 < ν_d < 30.00; (Table 5 example 2 vd of surface 33 is 22.74) and
(13) 0.020 < P_gF + 0.0018 * ν_d – 0.6483 < 0.080, (given the values that follow the expression P_gF + 0.0018 * ν_d – 0.6483 = 0.6288 +(0.0018*22.74)-0.6483=0.21432 which is in the claimed range)
where
ν_d represents an Abbe number for a d-line of the negative lens arranged on the image side of the aperture diaphragm S (Table 5 example 2 vd of surface 33 is 22.74),
P_gF represents a partial dispersion ratio for a g-line and an F-line of the negative lens arranged on the image side of the aperture diaphragm S (Table 5 example 2 θgF of surface 33 is 0.6288), and
the partial dispersion ratio P_gF = (ng - nF) / (nF - nC) is specified (paragraph [0063]: “θgF=(ng−nF)/(nF−nC)”),
where
ng represents a refractive index for the g-line (wavelength λ = 435.84 nm) (paragraph [0063]: “refractive indices corresponding to a g-line, d-line, F-line and C-line are assumed to be ng, nd, nF and nC,”),
nF represents a refractive index for the F-line (wavelength λ = 486.13 nm), (paragraph [0063]: “refractive indices corresponding to a g-line, d-line, F-line and C-line are assumed to be ng, nd, nF and nC,”) and
nC represents a refractive index for a C-line (wavelength λ = 656.27 nm) (paragraph [0063]: “refractive indices corresponding to a g-line, d-line, F-line and C-line are assumed to be ng, nd, nF and nC,”).”
Miwa further teaches (paragraphs [0077]-[0081]): “at least three negative lens elements (e.g., a biconcave negative lens L37, a negative meniscus lens L38 and a negative meniscus lens L311 in FIG. 1) disposed on the image side of the vibration-isolating group Gvr. It is thereby possible to reduce fluctuations in curvature of field and lateral chromatic aberration when image shake is corrected while successfully correcting axial chromatic aberration and spherical aberration. The lens element refers to each lens constituting a single lens or cemented lens.
[0078] Here, in the optical system OL according to the second embodiment, at least two of the three negative lens elements disposed on the image side of the vibration-isolating group Gvr are preferably specific negative lens elements that satisfy a conditional expression (2-1) shown below.
0.654<θgF3n+0.00168×νd3n (2-1)
where,
[0079] θgF3n: partial dispersion ratio of medium of specific negative lens element
[0080] νd3n: Abbe number of medium of specific negative lens element on d-line where, the medium is glass, resin or the like, and glass is preferable. The same will apply hereinafter.
[0081] The conditional expression (2-1) defines a partial dispersion ratio and a dispersion of the medium used for the specific negative lens element. It is thereby possible to successfully correct axial and lateral chromatic aberrations while reducing the size of the optical system OL. Falling below a lower limit value of the conditional expression (2-1) causes correction of lateral chromatic aberration to become insufficient, which is therefore not preferable. The lower limit value of the conditional expression (2-1) is preferably set to 0.660 or more preferably to 0.664 to ensure the effects of the conditional expression (2-1).
Thus Miwa teaches having vd and θgF of a negative lens on the image side of the blur correction unit be optimized in order to reduce fluctuations in curvature of field and lateral chromatic aberration when image shake is corrected while successfully correcting axial chromatic aberration and spherical aberration. Such optimizes values include vd = 22.74 and θgF = 0.6288 that satisfy the conditional expressions of claim 13.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the material of the negative lens of Muratani that is on the image side of both the aperture stop as claimed and on the image side of the blur correction group and which already has a low Abbe number, such that 10.00 < ν_d < 30.00 and 0.020 < P_gF + 0.0018 * ν_d – 0.6483 < 0.080 as taught by Miwa, for the purpose of reducing fluctuations in curvature of field and lateral chromatic aberration when image shake is corrected while successfully correcting axial chromatic aberration and spherical aberration as taught by Miwa (paragraphs [0077]-[0081]).
Conclusion
/CARA E RAKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872