DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record on file.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on December 06th, 2014 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, Lines 1-2, “claim 9, wherein wherein the controller” should be read as “claim 9, wherein the controller” to follow proper claim language and avoid grammar issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Claims 1 and 8 , recite(s) limitation(s) that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a communication interface configured to communicate…” [Line 2].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “an input interface configured to receive input…” [Line 3].
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a controller…configured to…” [Lines 5-6].
Claim 8; recites the limitation, “a communication interface configured to communicate…” [Line 2].
Claim 8; recites the limitation, “an input interface configured to receive input…” [Line 3].
Claim 8; recites the limitation, “a controller…configured to…” [Lines 5-6].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1 and 8;
(i) “a communication interface” the instant specification, filed on December 06th, 2024, has no written support for the recited communication interface of a structure, material and/or act for the recited communication interface to perform the recited function, the closest disclosure can be found in Par. [0018] which discloses the communication interface performs wireless or wired communication in accordance with a communication protocol, though still is not sufficient of a structure, material and/or act for such communication interface to perform the corresponding recited function, thus have no sufficient structure or material/act.
(ii) “an input interface” has sufficient support from the instant specification, filed on December 06th, 2024, of a structure, material and/or act to perform the recited function, the disclosure can be found in Par. [0014] of the input interface can be an input device, such as touch panel, a touch pad, a keyboard, a mouse, or pointing device thus have sufficient structure or material/act wherein is an input device of such examples as mentioned.
(iii) “a controller” has sufficient support from the instant specification, filed on December 06th, 2024, of a structure, material and/or act to perform the recited function, the disclosure can be found in Par. [0011] of the controller to include a circuit such as CPU, an MPU, or an FPGA thus have sufficient structure or material/act of a processing circuit of examples as mentioned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8’s limitations:
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a communication interface configured to communicate…” [Line 2].
Claim 8; recites the limitation, “a communication interface configured to communicate…” [Line 2].
Claims 1 and 8 respectively invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of the ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure performed(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1 and 8 along with their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function in the recited limitation.
Claim 1; recites the limitation, “a communication interface configured to communicate…” [Line 2].
Claim 8; recites the limitation, “a communication interface configured to communicate…” [Line 2].
The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more nor an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The claimed invention simply perform a series of color conversion on image to obtain compressed image data. See analysis below for more details.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-7,
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a device, which falls within one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Please see MPEP §2106.04.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 1 recites, in part:
“compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio;
generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data;
the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio”.
The limitations as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind which falls within the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Please see MPEP §2106.04. The limitations of:
“compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio” are processes that fall within mathematical concept, operation such as compressing data based on a ratio (explicitly basing on a mathematical concept), converting data resulting from compressing of such data according to a mathematical relationship conditioning that the ratio is lower than a certain condition.
Notes: under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), mental process (thinking) “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011): "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all." (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 [1972]). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("mental processes and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675).
The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. See, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674; Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer, generic circuit or device, or the likes. See " Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘with the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’).
Because both product/device and process claims may recite a "mental process", the phrase "mental processes" should be understood as referring to the type of abstract idea, and not to the statutory category of the claim. The courts have identified numerous product claims as reciting mental process-type abstract ideas, for instance the product claims to computer systems and computer-readable media in Versata Dev. Group. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 115 USPQ2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. particular, the claim recites the following additional element(s) –
An electronic device comprising: a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation;
a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server via the communication interface, first color conversion data resulting from;
cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; and
receive second color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the first image and the second image are displayed.
The additional elements electronic device, a communication interface, an input interface, a display, a controller, a server - recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a processor performing executing instructions stored, a memory storing instruction program, a computer to have computer components executing the instructions of the invention, a non-transitory computer readable medium performing storing instructions, generic devices [interface, screen, camera, sensor, etc.] performing well-known generic functions, etc.) such as an electronic device performing function of such as a generic computer, a communication interface to perform a function of communication, an input interface to perform a function of taking input, a display to perform a function of displaying, a controller to perform a function of controlling, executing instructions such as a function of a processor.
The additional elements include steps of insignificant extra-solution/post-solution activities of data gathering, data generating, data transmitting, etc. [acquiring data/information, transmitting data/info., outputting data/information, displaying data/info., converting data/info., generating data/info., etc.] such as, receiving an input of a user operation, display an image, receive…first color conversion data resulting, display images based on image data, receive data/information for operation.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(d).III.C.
Step 2B Analysis: there are no additional elements, such as for these additional elements as indicated above, that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Please see MPEP §2106.05. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.05
For all of the foregoing reasons, claim 1 does not comply with the requirements of 35 USC 101.
Accordingly, the dependent claims 2-7 do not provide elements that overcome the deficiencies of the independent claim 1.
Moreover, claim 2 recites, in part,
“a storage, wherein the first image data is stored in advance in the storage”
Include additional elements of a generic storage performing generic function of storing data/information, and insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering of data storing.
Moreover, claim 3 recites, in part,
“wherein the controller is configured to receive the first image data from the server via the communication interface, to store the received first image data in the storage”
Include additional elements of a generic storage performing generic function of storing data/information, and insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering of data storing, a generic controller to perform function of receiving data, in communication with the server.
Moreover, claim 4 recites, in part,
“wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display a plurality of candidate images each of which is a candidate of the first image data;
in response to input of the user operation selecting one of the plurality of candidate images via the input interface, set candidate image data indicating a selected candidate image, as the first image data; and
generate the second image data by applying the first color conversion data to the first image data.”
A generic controller component performs generic functions such as causing a display to display data/information being insignificant extra-solution activity, generating data being insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering/generating.
The step of in response to input of a user operation, selecting…set candidate image data, under BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) to be mental process abstract idea wherein the human mind can observe some mere data/information here being image data/information and make certain evaluation to select and set according to some observable condition.
Applying the first color conversion data to the first image data is a step of mathematical operation abstract idea.
Moreover, claim 5 recites, in part,
“wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, from the server via the communication interface, text data for presenting information on the first color conversion data to a user; and
cause the display to display a text indicated by the text data, simultaneously with the first image and the second image.”
generic controller additional element performing function of controlling, executing instructions.
Additional elements of insignificant extra- and post-solution activities of data gathering of receiving data/information and causing data/information.
A generic display perform generic function of displaying data/information.
Moreover, claim 6 recites, in part,
“wherein the controller is further configured to:
cause the display to display information indicating a plurality of the original color conversion data receivable from the server; and
in response to receive the user operation selecting one of the plurality of original color conversion data via the input interface, receive the first color conversion data corresponding to selected original color conversion data, from the server via the communication interface.”
Generic controller performing generic function of controlling, executing instructions.
Insignificant extra- and post-solution activities of additional elements such as causing a display, which is a generic display performing generic function of displaying data/information, receiving color conversion data from a server via a communication interface being a generic component of server and a communication interface.
The step of in response to input of a user operation, selecting…, under BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) to be mental process abstract idea wherein the human mind can observe some mere data/information here being image data/information and make certain evaluation to select according to some observable condition.
Moreover, claim 7 recites, in part,
“wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive input of the user operation of designating a density of the first color conversion data via the input interface; and
generate the second image data by applying the first color conversion data to the first image data in accordance with the density.”
Generic component of a controller performing generic function of controlling, executing instructions.
Insignificant extra-solution activities of additional elements of data gathering, receiving data and generating data according to certain conditioning, is still a step of data gathering that is not 101 eligible.
Accordingly, the dependent claims 1-7 are not patent eligible under 101.
Regarding Independent Claim 8,
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 8 is directed to a device, which falls within one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Please see MPEP §2106.04.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 8 recites, in part:
“applying first color conversion data to the first image data; generate second color conversion data that converts color information of the first image data into color information of the second image data; generate fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to third image data;”
The limitations as drafted, are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind which falls within the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Please see MPEP §2106.04. The limitations of:
“applying first color conversion data to the first image data; generate second color conversion data that converts color information of the first image data into color information of the second image data; generate fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to third image data;” are steps of mathematical operations of data/information/value conversion, generation according to mathematical concepts, relationship.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. particular, the claim recites the following additional element(s) –
“An electronic device comprising:
a communication interface configured to communicate with a server;
an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation;
a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the server via the communication interface, first image data, and second image data resulting;
cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data; and receive the first color conversion data from the server via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.”
The additional elements a communication interface, an input interface, a display, a controller, a server - recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a processor performing executing instructions stored, a memory storing instruction program, a computer to have computer components executing the instructions of the invention, a non-transitory computer readable medium performing storing instructions, generic devices [interface, screen, camera, sensor, etc.] performing well-known generic functions, etc.) such as, a controller to control/execute instructions, a communication interface to perform a communication, a display to perform displaying data/information, a server to perform generic instructions.
The additional elements include steps of insignificant extra-solution/post-solution activities of data gathering, data generating, data transmitting, etc. [acquiring data/information, transmitting data/info., outputting data/information, displaying data/info., converting data/info., generating data/info., etc.].
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(d).III.C.
Step 2B Analysis: there are no additional elements, such as for these additional elements as indicated above, that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Please see MPEP §2106.05. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.05
For all of the foregoing reasons, claim 8 does not comply with the requirements of 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoko Mawatari et. al. (“US 2008/0186328 A1” hereinafter as “Mawatari”) in view of Bin Xiao et. al. (“US 2024/0153157 A1” hereinafter as “Xiao”).
(best understood based on the 112f interpretation above) Regarding claim 1, Mawatari explicitly teaches an electronic device comprising (Par. [0004] discloses an image display device for this invention): a display configured to display an image (Par. [0045] discloses “the display panel includes a liquid crystal and etc., and displays images of characters and videos to be displayed”); and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data (Par. [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited first color conversion data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit) resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio (Par. [0052] discloses “the processing of color-converting the input data of three primary colors…the color conversion device creates the 3DLUT used when the color conversion is performed”, Par. [0054] discloses “the color compressing unit performs processing of color-compressing data processed in the RGB->XYZ->L*a*b…the ratio calculating unit calculate a lightness ratio…determines a compression ratio used for the above described color compression based on the calculated ratios” indicating a color conversion takes in an input to create the 3DLUT data [analogous to the first color conversion data as claimed] based on compressing an original color data based on the calculated compression ratio [a predetermined first compression ratio as claimed]); generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data (Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data); cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data (Par. [0042] discloses “a display unit that displays the image data image-processed in the image processing unit”, Par. [0020] discloses “image processing device that color-converts colors of input image data into colors used in a display unit for displaying images” indicating that the display unit display images processed by the image processing device/unit including the image data conversion processing, hence, can be understood to display all the processed images including the first image and the second image as claimed); and receive second color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server (“or” indicates a selection, only one option is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “the original color conversion data” which is disclosed in Par. [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited first color conversion data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit, the input here being the original color conversion data), the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio (Par. [0078] discloses “at step S202, the ratio calculating unit calculates…compression ratios for color compression”, moreover, Par. [0079] discloses “at step 203, the color compressing unit performs conversion with different coefficients with respect to each color components…the compression ratios may be different between the middle part and the outermost surface…if the high saturation inside is desired though some overlapping occurs, multiplication of a value higher than the ratios calculated at step 202” therefore, in this instance, the higher ratio can be understood to be analogous the first compression ratio, and the lower ratio can be understood to be analogous to the recited second compression ration as claimed, and the lower ratio applied compression can be understood to be analogous to the second compression, and the higher ratio applied compression is analogous to the recited first compression).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation, receive, from the server via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the first image and the second image are displayed.
Xiao explicitly teaches a communication interface configured to communicate with a server (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1); an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation (Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao), receive, from the server via the communication interface (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao, indicating the mobile device performs communication function and also interface function hence, has a communication interface to receive data/information for the processing of the invention); based on the user operation received via the input interface after the first image and the second image are displayed (Par. [0009] discloses “a first image selected by the user and a second image corresponding to the first image” and Par. [0010] discloses “a corresponding lookup table may be automatically generated based on the first image and the second image for use by the user” indicating the user can select and use the first image and the second image being displayed on the mobile device interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; and receive second color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server, the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio, with the teachings of Xiao of having a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation, receive, from the server via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the first image and the second image are displayed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; and receive second color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server, the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio, wherein the communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation, receive, from the server via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the first image and the second image are displayed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
Regarding claim 2, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, Mawatari explicitly teaches further comprising a storage, wherein the first image data is stored in advance in the storage (Par. [0049] discloses “input image data…using 1DLUT stored in the input-side 1DLUT storing unit” which indicates the image data being stored in advance in the storing unit).
Regarding claim 3, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein Mawatari explicitly teaches the controller is configured to receive the first image data from the server (Par. [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited first color conversion data, ar. [0049] discloses “input image data…using 1DLUT stored in the input-side 1DLUT storing unit” which includes the first image data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit) to store the received first image data in the storage (Par. [0049] discloses “input image data…using 1DLUT stored in the input-side 1DLUT storing unit” hence, to store the first image data into the storage).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach receive via the communication interface.
Xiao explicitly teaches receive, from the server via the communication interface (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao, indicating the mobile device performs communication function and also interface function hence, has a communication interface to receive data/information for the processing of the invention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; and receive second color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server, the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio, with the teachings of Xiao of receiving, from the server via the communication interface.
Wherein having Mawatari’s an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; and receive second color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server, the second color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio, wherein the receiving is from the server via the communication interface.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
Regarding claim 4, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein Mawatari explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to: generate the second image data by applying the first color conversion data to the first image data (Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach cause the display to display a plurality of candidate images each of which is a candidate of the first image data; in response to input of the user operation selecting one of the plurality of candidate images via the input interface, set candidate image data indicating a selected candidate image, as the first image data.
Xiao explicitly teaches cause the display to display a plurality of candidate images each of which is a candidate of the first image data (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicates a plurality of images displayed on the display of the mobile phone, which are analogous to the recited plurality of candidate images, such as illustrated in FIG. 9, the displayed images is to be selected by the user for subsequent color adjustment processing, hence, it is analogous to the recited “each of which is a candidate of the first image data”); in response to input of the user operation selecting one of the plurality of candidate images via the input interface (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicating in response to the user selecting an image through the control of the mobile phone through its interface), set candidate image data indicating a selected candidate image, as the first image data (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicating in response to the user selecting an image through the control of the mobile phone through its interface, then the system obtains that selected image as image for subsequent color-adjustment, hence, is analogous to the recited first image data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, with the teachings of Xiao of causing the display to display a plurality of candidate images each of which is a candidate of the first image data; in response to input of the user operation selecting one of the plurality of candidate images via the input interface, set candidate image data indicating a selected candidate image, as the first image data.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; cause the display to display a plurality of candidate images each of which is a candidate of the first image data; in response to input of the user operation selecting one of the plurality of candidate images via the input interface, set candidate image data indicating a selected candidate image, as the first image data.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
Regarding claim 5, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to: receive, from the server via the communication interface, text data for presenting information on the first color conversion data to a user; and cause the display to display a text indicated by the text data, simultaneously with the first image and the second image.
Xiao explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to: receive, from the server via the communication interface, text data (Par. [0073] discloses “intelligent cognition of the electronic device, for example, screen protector state recognition, image inpainting, image recognition, facial recognition, speech recognition, and text comprehension” indicating the mobile device can perform text comprehension, such as, showing text in FIG. 8 to the user, indicating the system of the phone also receive texts to display to the user) for presenting information on the first color conversion data to a user (FIG. 8 and FIG. 9 show text information along with displaying of the images being the first color conversion data, since the image data are LUT data for subsequent color adjustment process); and cause the display to display a text indicated by the text data, simultaneously with the first image and the second image (FIG. 9 illustrates text information being displayed simultaneously with the images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image, with the teachings of Xiao of receiving, from the server via the communication interface, text data for presenting information on the first color conversion data to a user; and cause the display to display a text indicated by the text data, simultaneously with the first image and the second image.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image, with receiving, from the server via the communication interface, text data for presenting information on the first color conversion data to a user; and cause the display to display a text indicated by the text data, simultaneously with the first image and the second image.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
Regarding claim 6, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display information indicating a plurality of the original color conversion data receivable from the server; and in response to receive the user operation selecting one of the plurality of original color conversion data via the input interface, receive the first color conversion data corresponding to selected original color conversion data, from the server via the communication interface.
Xiao explicitly teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display information indicating a plurality of the original color conversion data receivable from the server (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicates a plurality of images displayed on the display of the mobile phone, such as illustrated in FIG. 9, the displayed images is to be selected by the user for subsequent color adjustment processing, hence these displayed images, in this instance, would be analogous to original color before adjustment, in other words, original color conversion data, since Par. [0003] discloses “An Look Up Table (LUT) is a lookup table, also referred to as a color lookup table” indicating the LUT data being color data); and in response to receive the user operation selecting one of the plurality of original color conversion data via the input interface (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicating in response to the user selecting an image through the control of the mobile phone through its interface, analogous to selecting one of the original color conversion data), receive the first color conversion data corresponding to selected original color conversion data, from the server via the communication interface (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicating in response to the user selecting an image through the control of the mobile phone through its interface, then the system obtains that selected image as image for subsequent color-adjustment, hence, is analogous to the recited first color conversion data being received corresponding to the selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, with the teachings of Xiao of wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display information indicating a plurality of the original color conversion data receivable from the server; and in response to receive the user operation selecting one of the plurality of original color conversion data via the input interface, receive the first color conversion data corresponding to selected original color conversion data, from the server via the communication interface.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is further configured to: cause the display to display information indicating a plurality of the original color conversion data receivable from the server; and in response to receive the user operation selecting one of the plurality of original color conversion data via the input interface, receive the first color conversion data corresponding to selected original color conversion data, from the server via the communication interface.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
(best understood based on the 112f interpretation above) Regarding claim 8, Mawatari explicitly teaches an electronic device comprising (Par. [0004] discloses an image display device for this invention): a display configured to display an image (Par. [0045] discloses “the display panel includes a liquid crystal and etc., and displays images of characters and videos to be displayed”); and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first image data (Par. [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited first image data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit), and second image data resulting from applying first color conversion data to the first image data (Par. [0052] discloses “the processing of color-converting the input data of three primary colors…the color conversion device creates the 3DLUT used when the color conversion is performed”, Par. [0054] discloses “the color compressing unit performs processing of color-compressing data processed in the RGB->XYZ->L*a*b…the ratio calculating unit calculate a lightness ratio…determines a compression ratio used for the above described color compression based on the calculated ratios” indicating a color conversion takes in an input to create the 3DLUT data [analogous to the first color conversion data as claimed] based on compressing an original color data based on the calculated compression ratio [a predetermined first compression ratio as claimed]; Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data); generate second color conversion data that converts color information of the first image data into color information of the second image data (Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data); cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data (Par. [0042] discloses “a display unit that displays the image data image-processed in the image processing unit”, Par. [0020] discloses “image processing device that color-converts colors of input image data into colors used in a display unit for displaying images” indicating that the display unit display images processed by the image processing device/unit including the image data conversion processing, hence, can be understood to display all the processed images including the first image and the second image as claimed); generate fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to third image data (Par. [0013] discloses “in the color conversion device…perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ratio as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ratio as a coefficient” indicating the color compression/conversion include different properties of the image including lightness and saturation, any of which can be understood to be the fourth image after such compression by applying the second color conversion data to a third image data [image before lightness compression or saturation compression]); and receive the first color conversion data from the server (Par. [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited first color conversion data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit, the input here being the original color conversion data).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation; receive via the communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data; and receive via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Xiao explicitly teaches a communication interface configured to communicate with a server (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1); an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation (Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao); receive via the communication interface (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao, indicating the mobile device performs communication function and also interface function hence, has a communication interface to receive data/information for the processing of the invention); cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicates a plurality of images displayed on the display of the mobile phone, which are analogous to the recited plurality images including first, second, third and fourth images, such as illustrated in FIG. 9, the displayed images is to be selected by the user for subsequent color adjustment processing); and receive via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed (Par. [0009] discloses “a first image selected by the user and a second image corresponding to the first image” and Par. [0010] discloses “a corresponding lookup table may be automatically generated based on the first image and the second image for use by the user” indicating the user can select and use the images being displayed on the mobile device interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first image data, and second image data resulting from applying first color conversion data to the first image data; generate second color conversion data that converts color information of the first image data into color information of the second image data; cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; generate fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to third image data; and receive the first color conversion data from the server, with the teachings of Xiao of having a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation; receive via the communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data; and receive via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first image data, and second image data resulting from applying first color conversion data to the first image data; generate second color conversion data that converts color information of the first image data into color information of the second image data; cause the display to display a first image indicated by the first image data and a second image indicated by the second image data; generate fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to third image data; and receive the first color conversion data from the server, wherein a communication interface configured to communicate with a server; an input interface configured to receive input of a user operation; receive via the communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data; and receive via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoko Mawatari et. al. (“US 2008/0186328 A1” hereinafter as “Mawatari”) in view of Bin Xiao et. al. (“US 2024/0153157 A1” hereinafter as “Xiao”) and Seishin Yoshida et. al. (“US 2005/0174586 A1” hereinafter as “Yoshida”).
Regarding claim 7, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein Mawatari explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to: and generate the second image data by applying the first color conversion data to the first image data (Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach the input of the user operation of designating a density of the first color conversion data; applying the first color conversion data to the first image data n accordance with the density.
Xiao explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to: receive input of the user operation of designating the first color conversion data via the input interface (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicates a plurality of images displayed on the display of the mobile phone, such as illustrated in FIG. 9, the displayed images is to be selected by the user for subsequent color adjustment processing, hence these displayed images, in this instance, would be analogous to original color before adjustment, in other words, original color conversion data, since Par. [0003] discloses “An Look Up Table (LUT) is a lookup table, also referred to as a color lookup table” indicating the LUT data being color data, indicating in response to the user selecting an image through the control of the mobile phone through its interface, analogous to selecting one of the original color conversion data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, with the teachings of Xiao of wherein the controller is further configured to: receive input of the user operation of designating the first color conversion data via the input interface.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive input of the user operation of designating the first color conversion data via the input interface.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
However, Mawatari in view of Xiao does not explicitly teach the input designating a density of the first color conversion data; applying the first color conversion data to the first image data n accordance with the density.
In the same field of color conversion using LUT data (Title and Abstract, Yoshida), Yoshida explicitly teaches the input designating a density of the first color conversion data (Par. [0148] discloses “there is provided an LUT selection box as one of input boxes at the bottom left of the property screen. The user can modify the display contents of the LUT selection box” indicating the LUT conversion data being user input data; Par. [0157] discloses “color conversion…method of creating the LUT is an example”; Par. [0202] discloses “there is provided an LUT that specifies colors with…reference points…there is provided still another LUT that has a high density of reference points at the particular area” indicating the LUT data having designated density information); applying the first color conversion data to the first image data in accordance with the density (Par. [0202] discloses “there is provided still another LUT that has a high density of reference points in the particular areas…the option selection area comprises: an LUT option selection check box to specify whether or not to create a color conversion table” indicating the color conversion data is in accordance with the density of the LUT data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari in view of Xiao of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive input of the user operation of designating the first color conversion data via the input interface, with the teachings of Yoshida of having the input designating a density of the first color conversion data; applying the first color conversion data to the first image data
Wherein having Mawatari in view of Xiao’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive input of the user operation of designating the first color conversion data via the input interface, the input designating a density of the first color conversion data; applying the first color conversion data to the first image data
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to increase color matching capability and suppress necessary storage capacity at the same time performing color conversion at high precision considering using of density information. Since both Mawatari and Xiao and Yoshida share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Yoshida’s system to increase color matching capability and suppress necessary storage capacity at the same time performing color conversion at high precision considering using of density information, see Yoshida’s Par. [0007].
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoko Mawatari et. al. (“US 2008/0186328 A1” hereinafter as “Mawatari”) in view of Bin Xiao et. al. (“US 2024/0153157 A1” hereinafter as “Xiao”) and Takeshi Minami et. al. (“US 2018/0191923 A1” hereinafter as “Minami”).
Regarding claim 9, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Mawatari explicitly teaches receive third color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio from the server (Par. [0013] discloses “color compressing unit can perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ration as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ration as a coefficient” any of these processes can be understood to be the third color conversion data by compressing such lightness or saturation by a ratio [compression ratio]; Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1); generate fifth image data by applying the third color conversion data to the third image data (Par. [0013] discloses “color compressing unit can perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ration as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ration as a coefficient” any of these processes can be understood to be the third color conversion data by compressing such lightness or saturation by a ratio [compression ratio], therefore, the corresponding compressed image is analogous to the generated fifth image data, and any of these lightness or saturation data is analogous to the third image data as claimed being compressed); and receive fourth color conversion data or the original color conversion data from the server (“or” indicates a selection, only one option is the instant scope of the claim, the examiner selects “original color conversion data” to be mapped, which is disclosed in [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited original color conversion data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit), the fourth color conversion data resulting from compressing the original color conversion data at a second compression ratio lower than the first compression ratio (Par. [0013] discloses “color compressing unit can perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ration as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ration as a coefficient”; Par. [0078] discloses “at step S202, the ratio calculating unit calculates…compression ratios for color compression”, moreover, Par. [0079] discloses “at step 203, the color compressing unit performs conversion with different coefficients with respect to each color components…the compression ratios may be different between the middle part and the outermost surface…if the high saturation inside is desired though some overlapping occurs, multiplication of a value higher than the ratios calculated at step 202” therefore, in this instance, the higher ratio can be understood to be analogous the first compression ratio, and the lower ratio can be understood to be analogous to the recited second compression ration as claimed, and the lower ratio applied compression can be understood to be analogous to the second compression, and the higher ratio applied compression is analogous to the recited first compression; moreover, Par. [0078] discloses “regarding colors other than RGBCMY, the compression ratios of RGBCMY are calculated by linear interpolation with respect to each color components. Further, when the color is in the halfway to the point not to be compressed, linear interpolation is performed with the compression ratio 1” indicating another compression on the image data using another ration for this unique condition, hence is analogous to the recited fourth color conversion as claimed using a ratio of 1, in this case this ration ca be understood to be the second compression ratio and any other ratios that are calculated [ratios are lower than one of a ratio] would be the second compression ration being smaller than 1).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed; and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Xiao explicitly teaches receive, via a communication interface (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao, indicating the mobile device performs communication function and also interface function hence, has a communication interface to receive data/information for the processing of the invention); cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicates a plurality of images displayed on the display of the mobile phone, which are analogous to the recited plurality of images such as first, second, third and fourth and fifth images”); receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” wherein the user select after the images are displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, with the teachings of Xiao of receiving, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
However, Mawatari in view of Xiao does not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed; and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed.
In the same field of image processing using communication interface for transmitting data (Abstract, Minami), Minami explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed (Par. [0005] discloses “before transmission and reception of a job, the hardware processor transmit data on a communication path of the job for measuring a communication speed to obtain information representing a communication…received by the communication interface”, Par. [0006] discloses “the hardware processor transmit data on a communication path…received by the communication interface” indicating a communication speed is determined based on the communication between a hardware processor [the server since it belongs to a cloud server discloses in Par. 0061] and a communication interface before performing a job of transmitting data for the job; moreover, Par. [0061] discloses “when gateway determines that the communication speed is lower than a predetermined threshold value, gateway resets and makes long a timeout time in a device accessed by the cloud server which is set for receiving the job” therefore, when the communication speed is lower than a predetermined speed than postpone the transmitting of data, in other words, when the communication speeds is above a certain threshold, then transmit the data for the job); and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed (Par. [0061] discloses “when gateway determines that the communication speed is lower than a predetermined threshold value, gateway resets and makes long a timeout time in a device accessed by the cloud server which is set for receiving the job” therefore, when the communication speed is lower than a predetermined speed than postpone the transmitting of data, in other words, when the communication speeds is above a certain threshold, then transmit the data for the job such as the job of Mawatari in view of Xiao).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari in view of Xiao of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed, with the teachings of Minami of having the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed; and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed, the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed; and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and enable efficient communication of a communication system. Since both Mawatari and Minami share the same endeavor of image processing using communication interface for transmitting data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Minami’s system enable efficient communication of a communication system, see Minami’s Par. [0004].
Regarding claim 10, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Mawatari explicitly teaches receive the first image data and the second image data from the server (Par. [0013] discloses “color compressing unit can perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ration as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ration as a coefficient” any of these processes can be understood to be the third color conversion data by compressing such lightness or saturation by a ratio [compression ratio]; Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; moreover, Par. [0049] discloses “the input-side 1DLUT…on input image data R1, G and B1” indicating a plurality of image data including first and second image data); generate the second color conversion data (Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data); generate the fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to the third image data (Par. [0013] discloses “in the color conversion device…perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ratio as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ratio as a coefficient” indicating the color compression/conversion include different properties of the image including lightness and saturation, any of which can be understood to be the fourth image after such compression by applying the second color conversion data to a third image data [image before lightness compression or saturation compression]); receive the first color conversion data from the server (Par. [0051] discloses “1DLUT stored in the output-side 1DLUT storing unit hereinafter, referred to as “out0side 1DLUT” to perform y-conversion on the image data” wherein the 1DLUT is analogous to the recited first color conversion data, and the output-side 1DLUT storing unit is analogous to the recited communication server which, as illustrated in FIG. 1, being the server that provides information to the color converting unit, the input here being the original color conversion data).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed, and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is lower than the threshold speed, cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data; via the communication interface, based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Xiao explicitly teaches cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” indicates a plurality of images displayed on the display of the mobile phone, which are analogous to the recited plurality of images such as first, second, third and fourth and fifth images”); receive via the communication interface (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao, indicating the mobile device performs communication function and also interface function hence, has a communication interface to receive data/information for the processing of the invention), based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” wherein the user select after the images are displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, with the teachings of Xiao of receiving, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
However, Mawatari in view of Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed, and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is lower than the threshold speed.
In the same field of image processing using communication interface for transmitting data (Abstract, Minami), Minami explicitly teaches wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed (Par. [0005] discloses “before transmission and reception of a job, the hardware processor transmit data on a communication path of the job for measuring a communication speed to obtain information representing a communication…received by the communication interface”, Par. [0006] discloses “the hardware processor transmit data on a communication path…received by the communication interface” indicating a communication speed is determined based on the communication between a hardware processor [the server since it belongs to a cloud server discloses in Par. 0061] and a communication interface before performing a job of transmitting data for the job; moreover, Par. [0061] discloses “when gateway determines that the communication speed is lower than a predetermined threshold value, gateway resets and makes long a timeout time in a device accessed by the cloud server which is set for receiving the job” therefore, when the communication speed is lower than a predetermined speed than postpone the transmitting of data, in other words, when the communication speeds is above a certain threshold, then transmit the data for the job); and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is lower than the threshold speed (Par. [0061] discloses “when gateway determines that the communication speed is lower than a predetermined threshold value, gateway resets and makes long a timeout time in a device accessed by the cloud server which is set for receiving the job” therefore, when the communication speed is lower than a predetermined speed than postpone the transmitting of data, in other words, when the communication speeds is above a certain threshold, then transmit the data for the job such as the job of Mawatari in view of Xiao).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari in view of Xiao of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed, with the teachings of Minami of having the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed; and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed, the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold speed; and wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is equal to or higher than the threshold speed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and enable efficient communication of a communication system. Since both Mawatari and Minami share the same endeavor of image processing using communication interface for transmitting data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Minami’s system enable efficient communication of a communication system, see Minami’s Par. [0004].
Regarding claim 11, Mawatari in view of Xiao explicitly teaches the electronic device according to claim 8, wherein Mawatari explicitly teaches generate the second color conversion data (Par. [0055] discloses “the region determining unit determines a conversion matrix by referring to the conversion matrix storage memory. The 3->4 color converting unit performs processing of color conversion from three colors to four colors based on the conversion matrix determined” the converted image data here is analogous to the recited second image data generated by applying the color conversion on the first image data); generate the fourth image data by applying the second color conversion data to the third image data (Par. [0013] discloses “in the color conversion device…perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ratio as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ratio as a coefficient” indicating the color compression/conversion include different properties of the image including lightness and saturation, any of which can be understood to be the fourth image after such compression by applying the second color conversion data to a third image data [image before lightness compression or saturation compression]); receive the first color conversion data from the server (Par. [0013] discloses “color compressing unit can perform the color compression by multiplying the data representing lightness by the lightness ration as a coefficient and multiplying the data representing saturation by the saturation ration as a coefficient” any of these processes can be understood to be the third color conversion data by compressing such lightness or saturation by a ratio [compression ratio]; Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; moreover, Par. [0049] discloses “the input-side 1DLUT…on input image data R1, G and B1” indicating a plurality of image data including first color conversion data).
However, Mawatari does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is lower than the threshold speed, receive via the communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fourth image data; and receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Xiao explicitly teaches receive via the communication interface (Par. [0069] discloses “the mobile communication module may provide a solution applied to the electronic device”, moreover, Par. [0159] discloses “the shown and discussed mutual couplings or direct couplings or communication connections may be implemented through some interfaces” indicating the communication module is being used to communicate with the processor being a mobile device that can communicate with the processor and the server such as illustrated in FIG. 1; Par. [0007] discloses “a first interface is displayed, and a first file selected by a user is determined on the first interface…a target lookup table selected by the user from the lookup table is determined on the second interface, and color adjustment is performed on the first file by using the target lookup table; and a color-adjusted first file is displayed” indicating a user interface is being used to receive input from a user for the color adjustment process [analogous to Mawatari’s color conversion process from the corresponding LUT data], now the LUT data is selected by a user through an interface as taught in Xiao, indicating the mobile device performs communication function and also interface function hence, has a communication interface to receive data/information for the processing of the invention), receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed (Par. [0138] discloses “the mobile phone may display a control in a toolbar of the album…the control may be used for prompting the user to perform color adjustment on a selected image by using an LUT. The user may select a plurality of images…when the mobile phone detects an operation performed by the user on the control, the mobile phone may obtain the image and the image selected by the user, and use both the image and image as the first file for subsequent color adjustment” wherein the user select after the images are displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, with the teachings of Xiao of receiving, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and to have a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT. Since both Mawatari and Xiao share the same endeavor of systems that perform Color Adjustment using LUT data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Xiao’s system has a system that can reduce difficulty of generating an LUT and improve efficiency of generating an LUT, see Xiao’s Par. [0006].
However, Mawatari in view of Xiao does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is lower than the threshold speed.
In the same field of image processing using communication interface for transmitting data (Abstract, Minami), Minami explicitly teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: when the communication speed is lower than the threshold speed (Par. [0005] discloses “before transmission and reception of a job, the hardware processor transmit data on a communication path of the job for measuring a communication speed to obtain information representing a communication…received by the communication interface”, Par. [0006] discloses “the hardware processor transmit data on a communication path…received by the communication interface” indicating a communication speed is determined based on the communication between a hardware processor [the server since it belongs to a cloud server discloses in Par. 0061] and a communication interface before performing a job of transmitting data for the job; moreover, Par. [0061] discloses “when gateway determines that the communication speed is lower than a predetermined threshold value, gateway resets and makes long a timeout time in a device accessed by the cloud server which is set for receiving the job” therefore, when the communication speed is lower than a predetermined speed, reset the timeout of the processing, and make the timeout longer before transmitting the data for performing the job).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teaches of Mawatari in view of Xiao of having an electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data, receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed, with the teachings of Minami of having the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is lower than a predetermined threshold speed..
Wherein having Mawatari’s electronic device comprising: a display configured to display an image; and a controller, wherein the controller is configured to: receive, from the server, first color conversion data resulting from compressing original color conversion data at a predetermined first compression ratio; generate second image data by applying the first color conversion data to first image data; receive, via a communication interface; cause the display to display an image indicated by the third image data and an image indicated by the fifth image data; receive based on the user operation received via the input interface after the images are displayed, the controller is further configured to determine whether a communication speed between the communication interface and the server is lower than a predetermined threshold speed.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to provide an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, and enable efficient communication of a communication system. Since both Mawatari and Minami share the same endeavor of image processing using communication interface for transmitting data. Wherein Mawatari’s system provides an image processing system capable of appropriate color reproduction by performing appropriate color compression when colors are color-converted into colors of a display unit enable efficient color displaying, see Mawatari’s Par. [0007] and Minami’s system enable efficient communication of a communication system, see Minami’s Par. [0004].
Pertinent Prior Art(s)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kuwata, Naoki et. al., “US 20020027603 A1”, discloses an apparatus, method, signal and computer program product are configured to provide an output image adjustment for image files. A CPU of a color printer performs gamma correction and a matrix operation M on RGB color space image data derived from a matrix S operation. The CPU performs gamma conversion on image data using established gamma values. Matrix operation M converts the RGB color space to the XYZ color space. When executing matrix operation M, the CPU refers to a color space tag, contained in an image file produced at an image generating device, so as to preserve the color space used during synthesis of the image data, and performs the matrix operation using a matrix (M) corresponding to color space written in the file.
Glickman, Jeff, “US 20050128499 A1”, discloses a method of processing image data is disclosed, wherein the method includes receiving a set of image data values in a device-dependent first color space, comparing the values in the first color space to a look-up table having entries correlating the values in the first color space to integer values in a device-independent second color space, locating in the look-up table the values in the second color space corresponding to the values in the first color space, and converting the values in the first color space to the values in the second color space.
Woods, Richard et. al., US 2008/0057942 A1, discloses a system for remotely controlling a wireless communication mobile phone device senses its space coordinates. GPS and other data is transmitted between mobile phones to alert and/or update a user to the fact that their phone has reached a significant threshold locations, and/or has reached a significant threshold speed of within a given accuracy. A SMS message, and/or voice message, and/or a phone call, and/or a special ring, and/or a special display and/or reset signal, and/or update signal, and/or hang-up signals are cross transmit and received to alert and/or update information of the mobile phone users. This is done for improving security and save lives, controlling classified communications, improving privacy, improving machinery performance, measuring distances and speed between mobile phones, alerting and/or updating personnel of hazardous locations and hazardous speeds, for forcing hang-up of phones at times of hazardous communications, providing space coordinates of missing persons and persons in danger, controlling air shows and car racing, and controlling military, fire and police men movement.
Hotta, Kohj et. al., “US 2010/0026720 A1”, discloses a mobile phone of this invention includes: a position determination section for determining a position of a display section, which display section is rotatable on an axis perpendicular to a display screen of the display section so as to be fixed at respective one of at least two positions; and a view angle control section for changing the view angle of the display section in a predetermined view angle control direction which corresponds to the position determined by the position determination section . Hence, a liquid crystal display device is attained which appropriately maintains a view angle in accordance with a usage state of a display section.
Conclusion
/PHUONG HAU CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673