DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-10, 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11058556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11653935. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0233131).
Song et al. discloses a surgical instrument for creating an implant-receiving void, comprising: an elongated shaft (24) having a distal end and a proximal end; a handle (20) disposed at the proximal end of the elongated shaft; an abrading head (Figure 4) disposed at the distal end of the elongated shaft, the abrading head comprising: a pair of abrading surfaces disposed in opposing relation to one another (Figure 4, upper and lower surfaces), each abrading surface having teeth, barbs, blades, ridges, slots, or broaches (Figure 4) configured to abrade sacrum and ilium bones within the sacroiliac joint (considered capable of performing); a pair of lateral sides (Figure 4) disposed in opposing relation to one another, wherein the lateral sides connect the pair of abrading surfaces, collectively enclosing an interior void (Figure 13), and wherein terminal edges of the abrading surfaces and the lateral sides collectively form a contiguous cutting edge having an oblong perimeter (oblong meaning, “deviating from a square, circular, or spherical form by elongation in one dimension”) and configured to cut a cortical layer of the sacrum and ilium bones within the sacroiliac joint; and a pair of openings (32) disposed in each of the lateral sides providing ingress into and egress from the interior void, thereby enabling dislodged bone tissue to exit the interior void via the pair of openings (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 2, the surgical instrument further comprising a protrusion (26) disposed on the elongated shaft configured to operatively engage a complementary groove, recess, channel, or indent of a working channel providing access to the sacroiliac joint (considered capable).
Regarding claim 3, the surgical instrument further comprising a groove, recess, channel, or indent (18) disposed on the elongated shaft configured to operatively engage a complementary protrusion disposed on a working channel providing access to the sacroiliac joint (Considered capable).
Regarding claim 5, the proximal end of the shaft extends beyond the handle, thereby providing an impaction surface configured to be struck by a mallet. For claim 5, it can be considered that the handle is the are between element 26 and 20, where 20 is the shaft that extends beyond the handle capable of being impacted by a mallet.
Regarding claim 6, the surgical instrument further comprising a stop (26) configured to abut against a working channel, thereby preventing over penetration of the abrading head into the sacroiliac joint.
Regarding claim 12, the shaft is cylindrical (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, the abrading surfaces are wider than the shaft (Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0233131).
Regarding claim 4, Song et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the oblong perimeter having rounded corners. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art to construct the oblong perimeter of Song et al. with rounded corners, since applicant has not disclosed that such solve any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a shape for an abrading instrument. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966).
Regading claims 9 and 10, Song et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the pair of openings having an oblong shape with rounded sides. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art to construct the pair of openings of Song et al. having an oblong shape with rounded sides, since applicant has not disclosed that such solve any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a shape for collecting bone debris. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966).
Regarding claim 11, Song et al. discloses the claimed invention except at least some of the teeth or the barbs of the abrading surfaces have a square pyramidal shape in the embodiment shown in Figures 12 and 13. Figure 6 however shows a square pyramidal shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art to construct the teeth or barbs of Song et al. with at least some of the teeth or the barbs of the abrading surfaces have a square pyramidal shape, since applicant has not disclosed that such solve any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a shape for abrading bone as shown in figures 5-13. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966).
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frey et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5019082) in view of McCue (U.S. Patent No. 5788701).
Frey et al. discloses discloses a surgical instrument for creating an implant-receiving void, comprising: an elongated shaft (6) having a distal end (7) and a proximal end (upper end of shaft, of Figure 1); a handle (it can be construed that the upper end can be gripped as a handle)) disposed at the proximal end of the elongated shaft; an abrading head (1) disposed at the distal end of the elongated shaft, the abrading head comprising: a pair of abrading surfaces disposed in opposing relation to one another (Figure 2, upper and lower surfaces), each abrading surface having teeth, barbs, blades, ridges, slots, or broaches (Figure 2) configured to abrade sacrum and ilium bones within the sacroiliac joint (considered capable of performing); a pair of lateral sides (Figure 2) disposed in opposing relation to one another, wherein the lateral sides connect the pair of abrading surfaces, collectively enclosing an interior void (Figure 2), and wherein terminal edges of the abrading surfaces and the lateral sides collectively form a contiguous cutting edge having an oblong perimeter (oblong meaning, “deviating from a square, circular, or spherical form by elongation in one dimension”) and configured to cut a cortical layer of the sacrum and ilium bones within the sacroiliac joint; and a pair of openings (10) disposed in each of the lateral sides providing ingress into and egress from the interior void (figure 2, 3), thereby enabling dislodged bone tissue to exit the interior void via the pair of openings. Frey et al. provides all the claimed structure, thus the language regarding use is considered as be capable of being performed by Frey et al.
Regarding claim 7, Frey et al. fails to disclose the handle is operatively connected to the shaft such that when the handle is moved relative to the shaft the handle causes a force to be exerted onto the abrading head to dislodge the abrading head from the sacroiliac joint. McCue teaches a surgical instrument (31) for creating an implant-receiving void that is coupled to a shaft (14). Shaft 14 has a handle (12) operatively connected to the shaft, such that when the handle is moved relative to the shaft, the handle causes a force to be exerted on the tool (31) to dislodge it from a void (Column 4, lines 25-30). The use of such a universal handle reduces amount of tools required and thus saves time and money (Column 2, Lines 8-11). Furthermore, regarding claim 8, it can be construed that the handle is able to rotate around the shaft.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to construct the device of Frey et al. with the universal handle of McCue thus providing the claimed invention so that less tools would be required for method of Frey et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose a method of creating an implant receiving void in the sacroiliac joint where the instrument has an abrading head inserted into the sacroiliac joint, the abrading head comprising all the features as claimed.
Conclusion
/ANDREW YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775