Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/971,587 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than the claims of the reference application, thus granting a patent for the instant application would unduly extend the timewise monopoly afforded to the reference application in th event of allowance of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/971,573 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than the claims of the reference application, thus granting a patent for the instant application would unduly extend the timewise monopoly afforded to the reference application in th event of allowance of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3-8 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/971,5612 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than the claims of the reference application, thus granting a patent for the instant application would unduly extend the timewise monopoly afforded to the reference application in th event of allowance of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 10 recite the limitations “determining the size or respective partitioning unit; and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation. The examiner notes, in the applicant’s remarks filed 2/26/2026, the applicant cites [0559] and [0565] of the applicant’s specification as disclosing said limitations, however, the examiner respectfully disagrees. [0559] teaches faces of an image when projected onto a shape such as a cube may be of different sizes. This teaching however does not recite a step of determining the size of the face(s) for performing padding on prediction units (PU) which constitute the face(s). Further, [0565] teaches different resizing processes may be performed on each respective face of the projected image. This teaching also does not recite a step of determining the size of a prediction unit (or a face of an image) for performing padding on the prediction unit (or face).
Claims 3-7 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (He) (US 2019/0215532) in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang) (US 2017/0150186).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method of decoding an image with a decoding apparatus, comprising:
receiving a bitstream in which the image is encoded ([0109], an encoded bitstream 202 is received and decoded);
performing prediction for a current block included in the image to generate a prediction block ([0015], intra prediction is performed, [0109], a prediction image is generated);
reconstructing the current block based on the prediction block ([0109], a reconstructed image is generated by adding at adder 226 the prediction block and a residual);
obtaining a reconstructed current image based on the reconstructed current block (FIG. 7, [0109], a reconstructed image is generated by adding at adder 226 the prediction block and a residual to create a reference frame using the current block and stored in reference picture store 264 (i.e. the current block is used to generate a reference frame)); and
performing a data processing on the reconstructed current image ([0109], the reconstructed current image also becomes a reference picture which is stored at reference picture store 264) based on data processing information included in the bitstream ([0144], the padded region size is signaled), wherein the data processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed current image ([0112], padding of the reference image (i.e. the current frame after it is reconstructed and it becomes a reference frame) is performed using padding information).
He is silent about data processing information included in a SEI message; and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image; determining a size of respective identified partitioning unit; and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses data processing information included in a SEI message ([0170], filter information is signaled in a SEI, [0266] padding information is signaled in a syntax structure); and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image ([0266], [0322], boundary pixels are identified and padded based on the prediction unit (PU) size); determining a size of respective identified partitioning unit ([0266], [0322], boundary pixels are identified and padded based on the prediction unit (PU) size); and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0266], [0322], boundary pixels are identified and padded based on the prediction unit (PU) size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 3, He discloses wherein the data processing comprises resizing the reconstructed current image ([0109], [0112], padding of the reference image (the current image becomes a reference image after it is reconstructed) is performed using padding information).
Regarding claim 8, Drugeon discloses a method of encoding an image with an encoding apparatus, comprising:
performing prediction for a current block included in the image to generate a prediction block ([0015], intra prediction is performed, [0109], a prediction image is generated);
encoding the current block based on the prediction block into a bitstream ([0108], entropy prediction is performed); and
encoding data processing information into the bitstream ([0144], the padded region size is signaled),
wherein the data processing information is used for performing a data processing on a reconstructed current image, the reconstructed current image being an image obtained by decoding the bitstream ([0112], padding of the reference image is performed using padding information; FIG. 7, [0109], a reconstructed image is generated by adding at adder 226 the prediction block and a residual to create a reference frame using the current block and stored in reference picture store 264 (i.e. the current block is used to generate a reference frame)), and
wherein the data processing comprises padding at least one region to the reconstructed current image ([0112], padding of the reference image (i.e. the current frame after it is reconstructed and it becomes a reference frame) is performed using padding information).
He is silent about data processing information included in a SEI message; and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image; determining a size of respective identified partitioning unit; and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses data processing information included in a SEI message ([0170], filter information is signaled in a SEI, [0266] padding information is signaled in a syntax structure); and wherein performing the padding comprises: identifying a plurality of partitioning units which constitute the reconstructed current image ([0266], [0322], boundary pixels are identified and padded based on the prediction unit (PU) size); determining a size of respective identified partitioning unit ([0266], [0322], boundary pixels are identified and padded based on the prediction unit (PU) size); and performing the padding for the respective identified partitioning unit ([0266], [0322], boundary pixels are identified and padded based on the prediction unit (PU) size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of He for more efficient encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of claim 10 are rejected in analysis of claim 8 (see claim 8 above). He further discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream which is generated by a method of encoding an image ([0109], an encoded bitstream 202 is received and decoded), and transmitting the bitstream ([0109], an encoded bitstream 202 is received and decoded).
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (He) (US 2019/0215532) in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang) (US 2017/0150186), and further in view of Seo (US 2017/0201751).
Regarding claim 4-7, He discloses the method of claim 3 (see claim 3 above). He further discloses wherein the resizing is either increasing or decreasing the width or height of the reconstructed current image ([0112], padding of the reference image (i.e. the current frame after it is reconstructed and it becomes a reference frame) is performed using padding information, increasing the size of the image).
He in view of Zhang is silent about wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable; and wherein, based on the flag indicating enable, the data processing information comprises resizing information for the resizing; and wherein the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed current image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height.
Seo from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing is performed based on a flag indicating whether to enable the resizing indicating enable ([0135], The parameter ref_lod_enable_flag may indicate whether a scaled LOD image of the corresponding picture is generated; Fig. 16, [0088], the size of a reference image is changed by performing upscaling, [0182], changing the level of detail (LOD) of an image means changing the size of the image); and wherein, based on the flag indicating enable, the data processing information comprises resizing information for the resizing ([0135], The parameter ref_lod_enable_flag may indicate whether a scaled LOD image of the corresponding picture is generated; Fig. 16, [0088], the size of a reference image is changed by performing upscaling); and wherein the resizing information comprises a scaling factor which represents a ratio between a size of the reconstructed current image and a size of a resized image obtained by the resizing, the size being a width or a height ([0088], [0089], [0099], scale factor S equals the ratio of the modified image to an unmodified image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Seo into the teachings of He in view of Zhang for improving encoding and decoding efficiency.
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488