DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 1:
at lines 2-3, it is unclear when the “the integrated signal strength is determined” takes place. That is, it is unclear whether it takes place before the “obtaining an integrated signal strength” or once/after it was obtained.
For claim 15:
This claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
At line 1, the claim seems to be an apparatus claim. However, at line 4, the claim is directed to a method claim. Hence, it is unclear whether it is an apparatus or method claim.
For claim 19:
This claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
It is unclear whether this claim is an independent or dependent claim.
For claim 20:
This claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
At line 1, the claim seems to be an apparatus claim. However, at line 3, the claim is directed to a method claim. Hence, it is unclear whether it is an apparatus or method claim.
At line 6, it is unclear whether “a sending device” should refer to previous recitation.
At line 7, it is unclear whether “a receiving device” should refer to previous recitation.
For claims 2-14, 16-18:
These claims are also rejected as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 13-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0309336) in view of Suzuki et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0100062).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a positioning method (Fig. 2), comprising:
obtaining an integrated signal strength and a first-path signal strength (different types of signal strength are received[Paragraph 19]), wherein the integrated signal strength is determined according to strengths of a plurality of signals sent by a sending device (wherein a first type of signal strength is sent by sending device [Paragraphs 19, 45-46]), and the first-path signal strength is a strength of the first signal received by a receiving device (wherein a second type corresponds to signal strength received by receiving device [Paragraphs 19, 45-46. 53, 57, 66]);
obtaining an initial distance value between the sending device and the receiving device (initial distance between stations (sending/receiving devices) is obtained [Paragraphs 19, 34, 52-53]), and an initial position information of the sending device (initial position for the fixed station is determined [Paragraph 36, 42, 48, 91]);
determining a correction distance value according to the integrated signal strength and the first-path signal strength (correction distance is determined based on the types of signal strengths [Paragraphs 72, 95-96, 116, 130])[
.
However, Tanaka does not explicitly mention: correcting the initial distance value by using the correction distance value, to obtain a target distance value; and
correcting the initial position information according to the target distance value, to obtain a target position information.
Suzuki teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
correcting the initial distance value by using the correction distance value (for the disclosed system (Fig. 5), initial distance is corrected using correction distance value [Paragraphs 22, 37-40]), to obtain a target distance value ([Paragraphs 34, 40, 46]); and correcting the initial position information according to the target distance value, to obtain a target position information (initial position info is then corrected based on distance value to obtain target position info [Paragraphs 37, 40, 47-50, 54-56]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Tanaka) by correcting distance (as taught by Suzuki) for the purpose of reducing error distance calculations (Suzuki – Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka further teaches the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining an initial distance value between the sending device and the receiving device comprises:
obtaining a first difference value between the integrated signal strength and the first-path signal strength ([Paragraphs 12, 82]); and
determining the initial distance value between the sending device and the receiving device according to the first difference value ([Paragraphs 12, 82, 84]).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka further teaches the positioning method according to claim 2, further comprising:
when the first difference value is greater than or equal to the first threshold value, determining that a signal corresponding to the integrated signal strength and a signal corresponding to the first-path signal strength are both invalid signals ([Paragraphs 83-84, 102]).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka further teaches the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein the correcting the initial distance value by using the correction distance value, to obtain a target distance value comprises:
obtaining a fourth difference value between the initial distance value and the correction distance value ([Paragraphs 12, 82]); and
determining the fourth difference value as the target distance value ([Paragraphs 12, 82, 84]).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka further teaches the positioning method according to claim 1, wherein the sending device comprises a first ultra wide band (UWB) device (100), and the receiving device comprises a second UWB device (300).
Regarding claims 15-16, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-2.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected as applied to claim 1.
Claims 8, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0309336) in view of Suzuki et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0100062) and further in view of Matsue et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0094386).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tanaka and Suzuki teaches all the limitations recited in claim 1.
However, the combination of Tanaka and Suzuki does not explicitly mention: wherein the correcting the initial position information according to the target distance value, to obtain a target position information comprises: determining a current state of the sending device, wherein the current state is obtained by using a gyroscope sensor, the gyroscope sensor is installed in the sending device, and the current state comprises a static state and a motion state; and when the current state is the motion state, correcting the initial position information according to the target distance value, to obtain the target position information.
Matsue teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
wherein the correcting the initial position information according to the target distance value, to obtain a target position information comprises: determining a current state of the sending device, wherein the current state is obtained by using a gyroscope sensor, the gyroscope sensor is installed in the sending device, and the current state comprises a static state and a motion state; and when the current state is the motion state, correcting the initial position information according to the target distance value, to obtain the target position information ([Paragraphs 25-26, 30-33, 52, 65-68, 73-80, 89-90]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Tanaka) by correcting distance (as taught by Suzuki) for the purpose of reducing error distance calculations (Suzuki – Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 12, Matsue further teaches the positioning method according to claim 8, further comprising:
when the current state is the static state ([Paragraphs 65]), determining not to correct the initial position information ([Paragraphs 24, 26, 33]); and continuously obtaining the initial position information at a plurality of moments, obtaining an average value of a plurality of initial position information ([Paragraph 114]), and determining the average value as the target position information ([Paragraphs 24, 26, 33]).
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected as applied to claim 8.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
October 28, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633