The amendment filed 7/10/2026 has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation(s) is/are: “product support means… to support cut product” in claim 16, and meets the three-prong test, and is interpreted as the islands of Applicant’s paragraph 0080 of the Specification that supports the recited function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 2,814,381 (Stevick hereinafter).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses: A container for cut product comprising: a peripheral sidewall (25, 26) and a floor panel (remainder of base 12) integrally formed from polymer material (“acetate” column 2, lines 34-39), said floor panel extending inward from the peripheral sidewall to define a container interior, the floor panel including at least one island (see Fig. 2 below), the least one island including a product support surface elevated relative to a base surface of the container (see Figs. 1 and 2 below) and at least partially surrounded by at least one reservoir (16), said product support surface distributed across the floor panel to support cut product placed in the container interior above the at least one reservoir (column 3, lines 60-62) and in contact with the peripheral sidewall (when food is initially placed in the volume, could contact sidewall based upon food type/size, etc. prior to lid application), said product support surface being interrupted or discontinuous in a direction parallel to the base surface of the container (e.g. by channel 19 between annotated islands in Fig. 1 below), wherein the container interior defines a product volume above the product support surface of the at least one island surrounded by the peripheral sidewall (see Fig. 2 below) and the at least one reservoir (16) defines a fluid volume for liquid released from the cut product, said fluid volume within the container interior and below the product support surface (see Fig. 2 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Connecting Product Support Surface)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Reservoir Depth)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Lateral Distance)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Product Support Surface Portions)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Islands/ Product Support Surface)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (Base Surface)]
Stevick discloses wherein the fluid volume is significantly smaller than the product volume gleaned from Figs. 1 and 2 above, but fails to disclose specifically wherein said fluid volume being between 3% and 15% of said product volume.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have formed the fluid volume a specific percentage of the product volume, depending upon the expected fluid retention required by the reservoir for accommodating different types of food, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 0090, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 2, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein said floor panel includes a radially inward projecting shoulder defining a peripheral product support surface (15) extending inwardly from a lower end of the peripheral side wall (see Figs. 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 3, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the peripheral product support surface extends continuously around the lower end of the peripheral side wall (See Figs. 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 4, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the peripheral product support surface is sloped toward the at least one reservoir to guide liquid released from the cut product into the at least one reservoir (16) (See figs. 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 5, with reference to Figs. 1 below, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the peripheral product support surface is interrupted around the lower end of the side wall (this alternative embodiment of the peripheral support surface is interpreted below, and shown between the dotted lines as a rectangular ring).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
In re claim 6, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the at least one island comprises a plurality of islands, each island at least partially surrounded by the at least one reservoir (see Figs. 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 7, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the product support surface of one or more of the plurality of islands is connected to the peripheral product support surface [i.e. by the material of the reservoir, since the container is of one piece (“integrally” as required by claim 1), all of the surfaces are connected absent any specific delineation of the boundaries of the elements] by a connecting product support surface elevated relative to the base surface (see Figs. 1 and 2 above, connecting product support surface is elevated relative to base in Fig. 2 above).
In re claim 8, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the product support surface has a height above the base surface of the container and includes product support surface portions spaced from each other a lateral distance by the at least one reservoir, the height of the product support surface corresponding to a depth of the at least one reservoir (see Figs. 1 and 2 above).
Stevick discloses wherein the depth of the reservoir is slightly smaller than the lateral distance as can be gleaned from Figs. 1 and 2 above, but fails to disclose specifically the depth of the reservoir being no greater than 75% of the lateral distance between product support surface portions.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to formed the reservoir depth and lateral distance a specific ratio range, depending upon the expected fluid retention required by the reservoir for accommodating different types of food, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0083 and 0093, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 9, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention except wherein the product support surface and the peripheral product support surface have a combined surface area between approximately 27% and approximately 47% of an area of the floor panel.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to formed the combined surface area to a specific range of ratios, depending upon the expected fluid retention required by the reservoir for accommodating different types of food (i.e. larger reservoirs for foods with a high liquid content and are expected to drip more fluid), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0099 and 0102, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
In re claim 10, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein cut product rests directly on the product support surface (column 3, lines 60-66) and the floor panel consists essentially of a single thickness of polymer material (see Fig. 2, and column 3, lines 60-62).
In re claim 11, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the at least one island includes a channel (19) interrupting the product support surface, said channel defined above a bottom of the at least one reservoir and providing a flow path for fluid flow between regions of the at least one reservoir (see Figs. 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 12, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the at least one reservoir is interrupted by the at least one island into a plurality of reservoirs (16), said channels (19) connecting the plurality of reservoirs into a single connected volume (See Figs. 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 16, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses: A container for cut product comprising: a sidewall and a floor panel integrally formed from polymer material, said floor panel extending inward from the sidewall to define a container interior (as in re claim 1 above), the floor panel including product support means (islands, see Figs. 1 and 2 above) elevated relative to a base surface of the container and at least partially surrounded by at least one reservoir, said product support means distributed across the floor panel to support cut product placed in the container interior above the at least one reservoir and in contact with the sidewall (as in re claim 1 above, see Figs. 1 and 2), said product support means being interrupted or discontinuous in a direction parallel to the base surface of the container, wherein the container interior defines a product volume above the product support means surrounded by the sidewall and the at least one reservoir defines a fluid volume within the container interior and below the product support means, said fluid volume being between 3% and 15% of said product volume (as in re claim 1 above).
In re claim 17, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein said product support means includes a radially inward projecting shoulder defining a peripheral product support surface extending inwardly from a lower end of the sidewall (as in re claim 2 above, as best understood in light of the antecedent basis issues noted above).
In re claim 18, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the product support means comprises at least one island including a product support surface elevated above the base surface of the container, the product support surface of the at least one island cooperating with the peripheral product support surface to support cut product above the at least one reservoir (See Fig. 1, as in re claims 1 and 2 above).
In re claim 19, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the peripheral product support surface is sloped toward the at least one reservoir to guide liquid released from the cut product into the at least one reservoir (as in re claim 4 above, as best understood in light of the antecedent basis issues noted above).
In re claim 20, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including wherein the peripheral product support surface is interrupted around the lower end of the side wall (as in re claim 5 above).
In re claim 21, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Stevick discloses A method of extending shelf-life of stored cut product, said method comprising: providing a container having a sidewall and a floor panel integrally formed with the sidewall to define a container interior, said floor panel including a base surface configured to support the container in a horizontal position; configuring the floor panel to include an interrupted or discontinuous product support surface, said product support surface elevated relative to the base surface of the container, said floor panel defining at least one reservoir inward of the sidewall and below the product support surface (as in re claim 1 above); storing cut product in the container with the cut product supported by the product support surface (column 3, lines 60-66) and in contact with the sidewall (as in re claim 1 above); wherein liquid released from the cut product during storage descends into the at least one reservoir and the cut product is supported above the liquid during storage (column 2, lines 55-60).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevick as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub No. 2018/0273232 (Wallace hereinafter).
In re claims 13 and 14, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Stevick discloses the claimed invention except wherein the container is thermoformed from a sheet of thermoplastic material, or wherein the container is injection molded from thermoplastic material.
However, Wallace discloses a container having a drain reservoir and a product support surface, wherein the container is thermoformed of a thermoplastic sheet (paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have formed the container of Stevick of a known material and by a known process, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0014, 0078, and 0080 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Further, In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. the thermoplastic container, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. injection molding. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevick as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub no. 2003/0077363 (Cadiente et al. hereinafter).
In re claim 15, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Stevick discloses the claimed invention including a lid (14) connected to an upper end of the sidewall, said sidewall upper end including a rim (26) configured to mate with a complementary lip (28) on the lid (14) to close the container interior, the lid defining a vent (31/34/35) allowing gas exchange between the container interior and the ambient environment (column 3, lines 32-47).
Stevick fails to disclose wherein the lid is hingedly connected to the sidewall, and said rim and said lip cooperatively defining a vent allowing gas exchange between the container interior and the ambient environment.
However, with reference to Figs. 1 and 2, Cadiente et al. teaches a food holding container (1) which includes a lid (11) having ventilation holes (22) and being hingedly connected to an upper end of a sidewall of body (10), said sidewall upper end including a rim configured to mate with a complementary lip on the lid (16/17) to close a container interior, said rim and said lip cooperatively defining a vent (5a, 5b) allowing gas exchange between the container interior and the ambient environment (paragraph 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the lid of the container of Stevick to have been hingedly connected as taught by Cadiente et al. for the purposes of facilitating opening of the container while preventing loss or misplacement of the lid by maintaining a connection between the lid and container even when the container is open.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have located one of the sets of ventilation holes (31) at the lid/container junction on the device of Stevick as taught by Cadiente et al., since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 0085-86 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Response to Amendment
The Declarations under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7/10/2026 are insufficient to overcome the rejection of the pending claims based upon the prior art of record as set forth in the last Office action because: The Declarations merely attribute advantages of a raised product support surface being above a liquid collecting reservoir, and do not pertain to the current or prior rejections based upon prior art which meets the claimed structure and provides the claimed benefits (i.e. directing expelled fluids from moist food away from the food and collecting the fluid in a reservoir below the food).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the Remarks as best understood that the sidewall of the container of Stevick should be the side of the lid and not the container. However, the sidewall of the container of Stevick referenced by the Examiner is what is being considered as the sidewall of the container as it meets the claimed requirements of the sidewall of the container being integrally formed with the floor panel and surrounds internal structures.
Applicant argues on pages 7 and 8 of the Remarks that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would not have been motivated to modify Stevick to arrive at the claimed ratios. However, Stevick is specifically concerned with directing drained fluid from a stored product away from the product and storing the fluid in reservoirs below support surfaces in order to better preserve the food, and presents a ratio of support surface area to reservoir area, and when presented with a more or less moist product, it would have been obvious to allot more or less of the limited surface area of the storage region to store more or less fluid as desired, and it would have been well within the purview of a designer to have adjusted the sizes of the features to accommodate the desired amount of drained liquid.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Remarks that Stevick does not disclose a connecting product support surface elevated relative to the base surface as in amended claim 7. However, as in re claim 7 above, the surfaces are “integral” as required by claim 1, and therefore connect at elevated regions around the base surface as claimed.
Applicant argues on page 9-14 of the Remarks that the provided Declarations prove that the claimed structure is beneficial. While Examiner does not contend that the claimed structure is not useful, the claimed invention is shown to have been unpatentable in view of the prior art of record [Repeated from above: The Declarations under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 7/10/2026 are insufficient to overcome the rejection of the pending claims based upon the prior art of record as set forth in the last Office action because: The Declarations merely attribute advantages of a raised product support surface being above a liquid collecting reservoir in a general sense, and do not pertain to the current or prior rejections based upon prior art which meets the claimed structure and provides the claimed benefits (i.e. directing expelled fluids from moist food away from the food and collecting the fluid in a reservoir below the food), or pertain to the obviousness presented above of modifying a variable such as the size of the reservoir relative to the support surface to accommodate more or less expelled fluid from a stored food product].
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733