DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 12/6/2024.
Claims 1-17 are pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/EP2022/065700 filed on 6/9/2022.
Preliminary Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of preliminary amendments made to Claims and abstract filed on 12/18/2024.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/6/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim 4 limitation “The device according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the configuration information: receiving an instantiation…” does not have proper grammatical form.
The claim 14 limitation “…to further cause the network function entity: process user-generated…” does not have proper grammatical form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, and 15-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20220377515 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim disclose(s):
A device, comprising:
one or more processors: and [(See Kim ¶127-132; Fig. 7)]
at least one non-transitory computer readable memory connected to the one or more processors and including computer program code for managing a core network of a cellular network, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to cause the device to at least: [(See Kim ¶9-11; ¶127-132; Fig. 1 and 7)]
obtain configuration information of an application service, wherein the application service comprises an in-network computing service; and [(See Kim ¶2; ¶31-46; Fig. 1)
[0002] The disclosure relates to a method and apparatus for providing an edge computing service in a wireless communication system.
[0031] FIG. 1 illustrates an application layer network structure and interfaces supporting edge computing, according to an embodiment.
[0032] Referring to FIG. 1, a terminal, for example, a UE 101 may include at least one application client (AC) 102 and an edge enabler client (EEC) 103. The AC 102 may be an application-level client for providing an edge computing service to a user, when an edge computing service is provided.
[0036] Edge data networks may be implemented by network slicing, and all edge data networks may be configured to be the same type. The configuration of one edge data network 105 will be taken for example. The edge data network 105 may include an edge hosting platform, and include an edge enabler server (EES) 107, an edge application server (or edge application) (EAS) 106, and an orchestrator for the edge hosting platform. There may be at least one EES 107 and at least one EAS 106. The EES 107 may include an edge enabler client manager, an edge enabler platform, and an edge enabler application programming interface (API) server.
[0037] Network functions may be defined as follows, some of which are illustrated in FIG. 1.
[0038] 3GPP core network 104: It may include a 3GPP RAN and a core network.
[0039] At least one edge data network 105: A 5GC data network or an EPC packet data network. This may be a data network including functions for providing edge computing services, such as an edge hosting platform and an EES.
[0042] Edge configuration server (ECS) 108: A server that provides configuration information about the edge data network 105 to the UE 101, which may be an initial access server from which the UE 101 may receive configuration information to receive a mobile edge computing (MEC) service.
[0046] EEC 103: A software module of the UE 101, which may be a software agent with functions for providing edge computing services. The EEC 103 may perform an authentication function for accessing the edge computing server of a UE, a function of obtaining access information about the edge data network 105 and the EES 107 in conjunction with the ECS 108, and a function of routing traffic of the at least one AC 102 in the UE to the at least one EAS 106 based on information about the at least one EAS 106.
]
provide the configuration information to a network function entity of the core network, wherein the configuration information is associated with enabling the network function entity to instantiate one or more instances for performing the in-network computing service. [(See Kim ¶2-16; ¶31-46; ¶54-60; ¶66-71; Fig. 1-2)
[0002] The disclosure relates to a method and apparatus for providing an edge computing service in a wireless communication system.
[0010] Network slicing is a technique of creating multiple logical networks by virtualizing one physical network. In network slicing, each network slice instance (NSI) may have a different characteristic. Accordingly, as each NSI has a network function (NF) suitable for its characteristic, various service requirements may be satisfied. Various 5G services may be efficiently supported by allocating an NSI suitable for the characteristics of a service requested by each terminal.
[0031] FIG. 1 illustrates an application layer network structure and interfaces supporting edge computing, according to an embodiment.
[0032] Referring to FIG. 1, a terminal, for example, a UE 101 may include at least one application client (AC) 102 and an edge enabler client (EEC) 103. The AC 102 may be an application-level client for providing an edge computing service to a user, when an edge computing service is provided.
[0036] Edge data networks may be implemented by network slicing, and all edge data networks may be configured to be the same type. The configuration of one edge data network 105 will be taken for example. The edge data network 105 may include an edge hosting platform, and include an edge enabler server (EES) 107, an edge application server (or edge application) (EAS) 106, and an orchestrator for the edge hosting platform. There may be at least one EES 107 and at least one EAS 106. The EES 107 may include an edge enabler client manager, an edge enabler platform, and an edge enabler application programming interface (API) server.
[0037] Network functions may be defined as follows, some of which are illustrated in FIG. 1.
[0038] 3GPP core network 104: It may include a 3GPP RAN and a core network.
[0039] At least one edge data network 105: A 5GC data network or an EPC packet data network. This may be a data network including functions for providing edge computing services, such as an edge hosting platform and an EES.
[0042] Edge configuration server (ECS) 108: A server that provides configuration information about the edge data network 105 to the UE 101, which may be an initial access server from which the UE 101 may receive configuration information to receive a mobile edge computing (MEC) service.
[0046] EEC 103: A software module of the UE 101, which may be a software agent with functions for providing edge computing services. The EEC 103 may perform an authentication function for accessing the edge computing server of a UE, a function of obtaining access information about the edge data network 105 and the EES 107 in conjunction with the ECS 108, and a function of routing traffic of the at least one AC 102 in the UE to the at least one EAS 106 based on information about the at least one EAS 106.
[0066] EAS scaling schedule information: Indicates a may number of EAS instants (e.g., a maximum/minimum auto scaling group size) and the number of EAS instants driven over time.
[0067] EAS instantiation state information: Indicates information about the current instantiation-related state of the EAS and may be included in an EAS profile. For example, the EAS instantiation state information may include at least one of the following pieces of state information. [0068] On-board state: A state shortly before the EAS is driven to provide a service, in which no EAS instance is generated. In the on-board state, there is no EAS instance yet, and address information about the EAS may be provided as a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) type. [0069] Enabled for instantiation state (or enabled for auto scaling out state): A state in which the EAS is currently ready to be instantiated, in which when the EAS transmits an instantiation request to the EAS management system, an EAS instance may be (additionally) generated. When there is no EAS instance in the enabled for instantiation state, address information about the EAS may be provided as an FQDN type. When at least one generated EAS instance exists in the enabled for instantiation state and additional EAS instantiation is possible, address information about the EAS may be provided as an IP address. [0070] Instantiated for service state: A state in which an EAS instance has been generated. In the instantiated for service state, EAS endpoint information may be provided as an IP address.
[0071] EAS management system information: Includes information about the EAS management system required for the EES to perform an EAS instantiation trigger operation. For example, the EAS management system information may include information (e.g., address information such as a uniform resource identifier (URI)) about an API that should be called to transmit a request for corresponding EAS instantiation. The API refers to an interface provided by the EAS management system (e.g., the orchestrator, edge platform manager, or EAS lifecycle manager). Even through the EAS does not separately provide information about the API, the information may be configured locally in the EES, or the EES may obtain the information from a common API framework core function..
]
Regarding Claim 2, Kim disclose(s):
The device according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises one or more of:
a quantity of the one or more instances required for performing the in-network computing service; (See Kim ¶63-71; Fig. 1-2)
or identification information of the application service. (See Kim ¶63-71; Fig. 1-2)
Regarding Claim 3, Kim disclose(s):
The device according to claim 2, wherein the configuration information further comprises topology information of two or more instances for the in-network computing service. [(See Kim ¶63-71; Fig. 1-2) Kim discloses min/max no. of instances]
Regarding Claim 4, Kim disclose(s):
The device according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the configuration information:
receiving an instantiation request from an application service provider; and [(See Kim ¶50-59; Fig. 1-2; Step 205)]
retrieving the configuration information based on the instantiation request. [(See Kim ¶60-73; Fig. 1-2; Step 210)]
Regarding Claim 6, Kim disclose(s):
The device according to claim 1, wherein the cellular network comprises a 3rd generation partnership project network. [(See Kim ¶34-38; Fig. 1 Item 104)]
Regarding Claim 11, Kim disclose(s):
A network function entity, comprising:
one or more processors; and [(See Kim ¶127-132; Fig. 7)]
at least one non-transitory computer readable memory connected to the one or more processors and including computer program code for managing a core network of a cellular network, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to cause the network function entity to at least: [(See Kim ¶9-11; ¶127-132; Fig. 1 and 7)]
receive, from a management device managing a core network of a cellular network with which the network function entity is associated, configuration information of an application service, wherein the application service comprises an in-network computing service; and [(See Kim ¶2; ¶31-46; Fig. 1)]
instantiate one or more instances associated with performing the in- network computing service based on the configuration information. [(See Kim ¶2-16; ¶31-46; ¶54-60; ¶66-71; Fig. 1-2)]
Regarding Claim 15, Kim disclose(s):
The network function entity according to claim 11, wherein the cellular network comprises a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network. [(See Kim ¶34-38; Fig. 1 Item 104)]
Regarding Claim 16, Kim disclose(s):
The network function entity according to claim 11 wherein the network function entity comprises a user plane function. [(Kim ¶34)]
Regarding Claim 17, Kim disclose(s):
A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer executable instructions for execution by a processor, wherein the instructions comprise: [(See Kim ¶9-11; ¶127-132; Fig. 1 and 7)]
instructions for:
obtaining, by a management device, configuration information of an application service, wherein the application service comprises an in-network computing service; and[(See Kim ¶2; ¶31-46; Fig. 1)]
providing, by the management device, the configuration information to a network function entity of a core network, wherein the configuration information is associated with enabling the network function entity to instantiate one or more instances for performing the in-network computing service; or [(See Kim ¶2-16; ¶31-46; ¶54-71; Fig. 1-2)]
instructions for:
receiving, by a network function entity from a management device of the core network, configuration information of an application service, wherein the application service comprises an in-network computing service; and [(See Kim ¶2; ¶31-46; Fig. 1)]
instantiating, by the network function entity, one or more instances associated with performing the in-network computing service based on the configuration information. [(See Kim ¶2-16; ¶31-46; ¶54-71; Fig. 1-2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and further in view of Bor Yaliniz et al. (US 20190223055 A1; hereinafter Bor).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim disclose(s):
The device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors [(See Kim ¶9-11; ¶127-132; Fig. 1 and 7)], to further cause the device to allocate, [(See Kim ¶10)]
Kim fails to explicitly disclose:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the device to allocate, before the one or more instances are instantiated, resources to the network function entity based on the configuration information.
However Bor, analogous art also teaching edge computing service and virtualization, does disclose:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the device to allocate, before the one or more instances are instantiated, resources to the network function entity based on the configuration information. [(See Bor ¶6-7; ¶31; ¶77; ¶85-91; ¶106-107; ¶151-152; Fig. 5-6, 9, and 12)
[0091] It should be understood that within the storage and computer resources illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6, NFs can be instantiated using any of a number of known techniques, including network function virtualization (NFV), to create Virtual Network Functions (VNFs). While conventional telecommunications networks, including so-called Third Generation and Fourth Generation (3G/4G) networks, can be implemented using virtualized functions in their CNs, next generation networks, including so-called Fifth Generation (5G) networks, are expected to use NFV and other related technologies as fundamental building blocks in the design of a new CN and RAN. By using NFV, and technologies such as Software-Defined Networking (SDN), functions in a CN can be instantiated at a location in the network that is determined based on the needs of the network. It should be understood that if a network slice is created, the allocation of resources at different data centers allows for the instantiation of a function at or near a particular geographic location, even within the slice where resources have been abstracted. This allows virtualized functions to be “close” in a physical sense to the location at which they are used. This may be useful, and may combined with a sense of topological closeness to select a logical location at which to instantiate a function so that it is geographically or topologically close to a selected physical or network location.
]
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Bor in order to allocate resources before instantiating an instance in order to reserve the resources, as per Bor (¶151), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim disclose(s):
The network function entity according to claim 11, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the network function entity to [(See Kim ¶2-16; ¶31-49; ¶54-63; ¶66-71; ¶133; Fig. 1-2)]
Kim fails to explicitly disclose:
The network function entity according to claim 11, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the network function entity to process user plane traffic by using the one or more instances.
However Bor, analogous art also teaching edge computing service and virtualization, does disclose:
The network function entity according to claim 11, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the network function entity to process user plane traffic by using the one or more instances. [(Bor ¶77; ¶114; Fig. 3 and 9-10; Table 2-3 and 8)]
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Bor to process user plane traffic in order to support user traffic, as per Bor (¶77; ¶114; Table 2), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 13, Kim and Bor disclose(s):
The network function entity according to claim 12, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the network function entity to:
send the processed user plane traffic to an application server for further processing. [(Bor ¶77; ¶114; Fig. 3 and 9-10; Table 2-3 and 8)]
Regarding Claim 14, Kim and Bor disclose(s):
The network function entity according to claim 12, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer readable memory and the computer program code are configured, with the one or more processors, to further cause the network function entity:
process user-generated data to obtain a final result; and [(See Kim ¶29-46; ¶41-44; Bor ¶77; ¶114; Fig. 3 and 9-10; Table 2-3 and 8)]
send the final result to a user entity. [(See Kim ¶29-46; ¶41-44; Bor ¶77; ¶114; Fig. 3 and 9-10; Table 2-3 and 8)]
Claims 7-10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and further in view of Gong et al. (US 20170034318 A1; hereinafter Gong).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim disclose(s):
The device according to claim 6, wherein the device comprises a network functions virtualization management and network orchestration (NFV-MANO) entity, [(See Kim ¶12 and ¶44; ¶53; Fig. 2-3 Item 203 and 303]
Kim fails to explicitly disclose:
The device according to claim 6, wherein the device comprises a network functions virtualization management and network orchestration (NFV-MANO) entity, and the configuration information comprises a network service descriptor (NSD).
However Gong, analogous art also teaching edge computing service and virtualization, does disclose:
The device according to claim 6, wherein the device comprises a network functions virtualization management and network orchestration (NFV-MANO) entity, and the configuration information comprises a network service descriptor (NSD).
[(See Gong ¶3-6; ¶119-121; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2)
[0119] FIG. 6 shows a schematic diagram of deployment of a redundancy solution preference module in an NFVO. When the redundancy solution preference module is deployed in the NFVO, an NFVI transmits infrastructure information to the NFVO by using a VIM, as indicated by a path numbered 1 in FIG. 6, that is, the VIM reports relevant information of each managed NFVI to the NFVO, or the NFVO may subscribe to relevant information of an NFVI from the VIM; the VIM transmits infrastructure manager information to the NFVO, as indicated by a path numbered 2 in FIG. 6; a VNF transmits application object information (including information such as a redundancy capability, a redundancy constraint, and health status of an application object) to the NFVO by using a VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 3a in FIG. 6, or the VNFM may directly transmit stored application object information to the NFVO, as indicated by a path numbered 3b in FIG. 6; an OSS/BSS transmits a redundancy solution configuration request (including redundancy constraint information of a user) to the NFVO, as indicated by a path numbered 4a in FIG. 6, or an EMS transmits a redundancy solution configuration request to the NFVO by using the VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 4b in FIG. 6, or the VNFM transmits a redundancy solution configuration request to the NFVO, as indicated by a path numbered 4c in FIG. 6, or the NFVO may also directly receive a redundancy solution configuration request triggered by a user by using management software of the NFVO; specifically, a manner of transmitting a redundancy solution configuration request may be adding redundancy solution configuration request information in a virtual network function descriptor (VNFD) file or a network service descriptor (NSD) file, and in addition, the foregoing redundancy solution configuration request may also be transmitted by using an interface command.
[0120] Specifically, information or an element related to configuration of a redundancy solution may be defined in the VNFD or the NSD, where the information or the element is used to identify that a redundancy solution needs to be configured for a specified application object, or NS, or DC, and description content related to the information or the element is used to describe redundancy configuration information (including redundancy capability information, and/or redundancy constraint information, and/or the like) of a specified VNF, or NS, or DC.
[0121] For example, as shown in the following Table 1 and Table 2, a redundancy configuration indicator (Disaster Recovery Configuration Indicator, DRCI) may be defined in an VNFD, and description content of the DRCI is used to describe redundancy configuration information of a corresponding VNF, where the redundancy configuration information includes redundancy capability information, redundancy constraint information, and the like. A base number of the DRCI is used to indicate the number of pieces of the redundancy configuration information, and as shown in Table 1, the base number is 0-N, which indicates that redundancy configuration information may not be carried, or multiple pieces of redundancy configuration information may be carried; as shown in Table 2, the base number is 1, which indicates that one piece of redundancy configuration information is carried.
[0122] FIG. 7 shows a schematic diagram of deployment of a redundancy solution preference module in a VNFM. When the redundancy solution preference module is deployed in the VNFM, an NFVI transmits infrastructure information to the VNFM by using a VIM, as indicated by a path numbered 5 in FIG. 7, that is, the VIM transmits relevant information of each managed NFVI to the VNFM, or the VNFM may subscribe to relevant information of an NFVI from the VIM; the VIM transmits infrastructure manager information to the VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 6 in FIG. 7; a VNF transmits application object information to the VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 7 in FIG. 7; an EMS transmits a redundancy solution configuration request to the VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 8a in FIG. 7, or an OSS/BSS transmits a received redundancy solution configuration request to an NFVO, and the NFVO forwards the redundancy solution configuration request to the VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 8b in FIG. 7, or the NFVO transmits a received redundancy solution configuration request to the VNFM, as indicated by a path numbered 8c in FIG. 7; or the VNFM may also directly receive a redundancy solution configuration request triggered by a user by using management software of the VNFM. Specifically, a manner of transmitting a redundancy solution configuration request may be adding redundancy solution configuration request information in a virtual network function descriptor (VNFD) file or a network service descriptor (NSD) file, and the foregoing redundancy solution configuration request may also be transmitted by using an interface command.
]
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Gong in order to include a network service descriptor to increase reliability of the system, as per Gong (¶3-6 and ¶119-121), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim and Gong disclose(s):
The device according to claim 7, wherein the NFV- MANO entity comprises a network functions virtualization (NFV) orchestrator (NFVO), and a catalog entity, wherein the NFVO is configured to: [See Kim ¶10-11; ¶41-44 and Gong ¶3-6; ¶119-121; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2]
receive the NSD from an operations support system (OSS) or business support system (BSS); and [(See Gong ¶3-6; ¶119-121; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2)]
send the NSD to the catalog entity. [(See Gong discloses a redundancy capability information base ¶121-128)]
Regarding Claim 9, Kim and Gong disclose(s):
The device according to claim 8, wherein the catalog entity is configured to:
receive the NSD from the NFVO; and [(Gong ¶3-6; ¶119-128; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2)]
store the NSD in association with a catalog identity (ID). [(Gong ¶107-109)]
Regarding Claim 10, Kim and Gong disclose(s):
The device according to claim 9, wherein the NFV- MANO entity further comprises a virtual network functions manager (VNFM) configured to: [See Kim ¶10-11; ¶41-44 and Gong ¶3-6; ¶107-109; ¶119-128; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2]
receive a deployment request from the NFVO, wherein the deployment request comprises the catalog ID; [Gong ¶3-6; ¶107-109; ¶115-128; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2]
obtain the NSD from the catalog entity based on the catalog ID; and [Gong ¶3-6; ¶107-109; ¶115-128; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2]
configure the one or more instances at the network function entity based on the NSD. [(See Kim ¶2-16; ¶31-46; ¶54-60; ¶66-71; Fig. 1-2 and Gong ¶3-6; ¶107-109; ¶115-128; Fig. 6-7; Table 1-2)]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. (US 20170012823 A1): ¶3-6; ¶28-31; ¶131-143; Fig.3-5
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468