The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/971,737 for a SELF ADJUSTING IV STAND, filed on 12/6/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10-14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (U.S. Pat. 5,188,323) in view of Metzler et al. (U.S. Pat. 5,112,019).
Regarding claim 1, David teaches an intravenous stand assembly, comprising: a base; a stand coupled to the base, the stand comprising an internal channel (right channel, Figs. 4, 5) and a plurality of retainer channels (left channel, Figs. 4, 5); a pulley/belt assembly disposed within the internal channel of the stand, the pulley/belt assembly comprising a plurality of pulleys (41, 60; Fig. 3) and belts (at 63, 64; Fig. 3), wherein each of the plurality of belts is coupled to a separate one of the plurality of pulleys (Fig. 3); a plurality of retainers (14), each of the plurality of retainers disposed in one of the plurality of retainer channels and coupled to one of the plurality of belts; and an operating lever (35, 36) coupled to each of the plurality of belts, wherein for each of the plurality of belts, the operating lever is configured to move the belt relative to the coupled pulley to cause a corresponding retainer of the plurality of retainers to move along a corresponding retainer channel of the plurality of retainer channels (col. 5, lines 53-66), wherein each of the retainers of the plurality of retainers is separately moveable; but does not teach a drive coupled to each of the plurality of belts, wherein for each of the plurality of belts, the drive is configured to move the belt relative to the coupled pulley to cause a corresponding retainer of the plurality of retainers to move along a corresponding retainer channel of the plurality of retainer channels. Metzler, however, teaches a stand assembly having an automatic drive (72, 74, 76, 80) coupled to a belt (266), wherein for the belt, the drive is configured to move the belt relative to a coupled pulley (258, 260, 262) to cause a corresponding retainer (14) to move along a corresponding retainer channel (42) in order to electronically control the height of an IV container (16) to thereby control the infusion pressure in an IV tube. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct a drive coupled to each of the plurality of belts, wherein for each of the plurality of belts, the drive is configured to move the belt relative to the coupled pulley to cause a corresponding retainer of the plurality of retainers to move along a corresponding retainer channel of the plurality of retainer channels, in order to permit the quick and automatic adjustment of the plurality of retainers to facilitate adjusting the height of the retainers to the desired level, in view of Metzler.
[AltContent: textbox (Retainer channels)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (channels)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Internal channel)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (stand)]
[AltContent: textbox (wheels)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (base)]
Regarding claim 2, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein Metzler teaches an energy source (255, located in the bottom portion of the invention shown in Fig. 14) coupled to the drive, the energy source disposed within the base.
Regarding claim 3, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein David teaches a plurality of wheels (33) coupled to the base.
Regarding claim 4, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein David teaches a plurality of supports (31) coupled to the base; and a plurality of wheels coupled to the plurality of supports.
Regarding claim 7, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein David teaches that each retainer channel extends between an end of the stand adjacent to the base to an opposing end of the stand.
Regarding claim 8, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein David teaches that each retainer channel extends along a portion of a length of the stand, the portion having a length less than between an end of the stand adjacent to the base to an opposing end of the stand.
Regarding claim 10, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 1, wherein David teaches that the stand comprises a round shaped support (each wheel (33) can be regarded as a support that is round).
Regarding claim 11, David teaches an intravenous stand assembly, comprising: a base (25); a stand coupled to the base, the stand comprising an internal channel and a retainer channel (see figure above); a pulley/belt assembly disposed within the internal channel of the stand, the pulley/belt assembly comprising a pulley (41, 60) and belt (at 63, 64), a retainer (14) coupled to the belt, the retainer movably disposed within the retainer channel; an operating lever (35, 36) coupled to the belt, the operating lever configured to move the belt relative to the pulley to cause the retainer to move along the retainer channel, wherein the stand comprises a round shaped support (29) and the retainer channel is disposed within an outer perimeter of the round shaped support; but does not teach a drive coupled to the belt, the drive configured to move the belt relative to the pulley to cause the retainer to move along the retainer channel. Metzler, however, teaches a stand assembly having an automatic drive (72, 74, 76, 80) coupled to a belt (266), wherein for the belt, the drive configured to move the belt relative to the pulley to cause the retainer to move along the retainer channel in order to electronically control the height of an IV container (16) to thereby control the infusion pressure in an IV tube. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct a drive coupled to the belt, the drive configured to move the belt relative to the pulley to cause the retainer to move along the retainer channel in order to permit the quick and automatic adjustment of the retainer to facilitate adjusting the retainer to the desired height, in view of Metzler.
Regarding claim 12, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 11, wherein Metzler teaches an energy source (255, located in the bottom portion of the invention shown in Fig. 14) coupled to the drive, the energy source disposed within the base.
Regarding claim 13, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 11, wherein David teaches a plurality of wheels (33) coupled to the base.
Regarding claim 14, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 11, wherein David teaches a plurality of supports (31) coupled to the base; and a plurality of wheels coupled to the plurality of supports.
Regarding claim 17, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 11, wherein David teaches that each retainer channel extends between an end of the stand adjacent to the base to an opposing end of the stand.
Regarding claim 18, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claim 11, wherein David teaches that each retainer channel extends along a portion of a length of the stand, the portion having a length less than between an end of the stand adjacent to the base to an opposing end of the stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (U.S. Pat. 5,188,323) in view of Metzler et al. (U.S. Pat. 5,112,019) in further view of Zin (U.S. Pat. 2016/0228639).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 15 and 16, David and Metzler teach the assembly of claims 1 and 11, but does not specifically teach a weight measurement assembly coupled to a first retainer of the plurality of retainers or the retainer, the weight measurement assembly configured to measure weight of a fluid within a fluid container hanging from the first retainer or retainer, the weight measurement assembly comprises a level sensor coupled to the retainer, the level sensor configured to measure an amount of flex of the retainer. Zin, however, teaches the use of a weight measurement assembly coupled to a retainer (hook, Fig. 3), the weight measurement assembly (110) configured to measure weight of a fluid within a fluid container hanging from the retainer, wherein the weight measurement assembly comprises a level sensor (liquid sensor or optical sensor) coupled to the retainer, the level sensor configured to measure various data including weight of the liquid container (Ringer bag) in order to measure the remainder of the liquid (Ringer). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct a weight measurement assembly coupled to a first retainer or retainer, the weight measurement assembly configured to measure weight of a fluid within a fluid container hanging from the first retainer or retainer, the weight measurement assembly comprises a level sensor coupled to the retainer, the level sensor configured to measure an amount of flex of the retainer as a component of weight, with a reasonable expectation of success, in view of Zin, in order to determine whether the liquid in the fluid container has been used and how much liquid is remaining.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (U.S. Pat. 5,188,323) in view of Zin (U.S. Pat. 2016/0228639).
Regarding claim 20, David teaches a method of operating an intravenous stand assembly, the method comprising: moving, by a pulley/belt assembly (41, 60/63, 64) of the IV stand assembly, a fluid container (15) coupled to a retainer (14) along a retainer channel (Figs. 4, 5) to a first height on a stand of the IV stand assembly, wherein the stand comprises a round shaped support (29) and the retainer channel is disposed within an outer perimeter of the round shaped support, and moving, by the pulley/belt assembly, the retainer and fluid container to a second height on the stand; but does not teach the step of monitoring, by a weight measurement assembly of the IV stand assembly, a weight of fluid in the fluid container; and moving, by the pulley/belt assembly, the retainer and fluid container to a second height on the stand based on the measured weight of the fluid in the fluid container. Zin, however, teaches the use of a weight measurement assembly (110) coupled to a retainer (Fig. 3), the weight measurement assembly configured to measure weight of a fluid within a fluid container hanging from the retainer (liquid sensor or optical sensor), in order to determine the amount of liquid (Ringer) in the container for use by the patient. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to monitor, by a weight measurement assembly of the IV stand assembly, a weight of fluid in the fluid container; and move, by the pulley/belt assembly, the retainer and fluid container to a second height on the stand based on the measured weight of the fluid in the fluid container, in view of Zin, in order to easily and quickly determine and adjust to the optimal height of the retainer to provide optimal flow of the fluid for the patient.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9, as dependent on claim 1, of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,201,806 sets forth the intravenous (IV) stand assembly comprising a base, the structure of the stand comprising an internal channel and plurality of retainer channels, pulley/belt assembly comprising a plurality of pulleys and belts, plurality of retainers, drive coupled to each of the plurality of belts, and the operation of the stand assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 8336839, 9610399, 10299875, 10463784 (IV pole systems).
/NKEISHA SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632
February 13, 2026