DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 14-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. “Yoon” US 2020/0363524 in view of Chowdhury et al. “Chowdhury” US 2022/0303929.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20 Yoon teaches a method, non-transitory medium (Paragraphs 199-200) and an apparatus , wherein the apparatus comprises:
A processor and memory (Figure 1, processor 120 and memory 130) to:
generating a first ultra-wide band (UWB) frame (500 of Figure 5A) comprising a first field (511), a second field (520), and a synchronization header (SHR 510) having a first synchronization field, wherein the first field comprises a first-type preamble symbol having a first-type format, and is the first synchronization field (the preamble (511) is denoted as a SYNC field; Paragraph 83); and
sending the first UWB frame on a first channel (the PPDU signal is ultimately transmitted; Paragraph 77).
While Yoon teaches multiple fields in the packet (including SHR, See Figure 5a) as well as multiple information within the preamble (see paragraph 80 and Table 1), Yoon does not expressly disclose a second field for performing channel access or resource selection. Chowdhury teaches sourcesync associated with a synchronization header which relies on channel access based on 802.11. Further, the signaling is associated with ultra-wide band; Paragraph 53. Thus one can see the SHR would include information relating to channel access.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yoon to include a second field in the packet for channel access as taught by Chowdhury.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the packet can achieve better accuracy as taught by Choudhury; Paragraph 115.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Yoon teaches the first preamble-type symbol is for synchronization, ranging, or channel estimation (the field is a sync field thus is used for synchronization; Paragraph 83. The system also is used for ranging; Paragraph 84).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Yoon teaches the first type preamble is used for processes other than channel access and resource selection (As shown in claims 1 and 14, Yoon does not teach channel access or resource selection with respect to the first preamble, thus the first preamble is used for processes other than channel access and resource selection as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon teaches the second field includes a plurality of segments and the second-type preamble symbol is positioned between two of the segments (Figure 5B shows a preamble symbol (560). There are a plurality of preamble symbols; Paragraph 83. As there are a plurality of symbols, each symbol is being viewed as a segment. Thus the symbols that are between the first and last preamble symbol would be between two segments as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon teaches a physical header (PHR 520; Paragraphs 85-86 and Figure 5A).
Claim(s) 4, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Chowdhury and further in view of Yoon et al. “Yoon-1” US 2020/0137676.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, while Yoon teaches SHR with preamble fields including SYNC fields, Yoon does not expressly disclose the second field is a second SYNC field in the SHR; however, Yoon-1 teaches that Sync frames correspond to SHR preambles from among a plurality of SHR preambles (i.e. second field); Paragraphs 93 and 133.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yoon to include a second SYNC field as taught by Yoon-1.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices may check a usage state of a slot through a Sync frame corresponding to the SHR preambles as taught by Yoon-1; Paragraph 133.
Regarding claim 9, Yoon does not expressly disclose the second field is a second SYNC field; however, Yoon-1 teaches that Sync frames correspond to SHR preambles from among a plurality of SHR preambles (i.e. second field); Paragraphs 93 and 133.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Yoon to include a second SYNC field as taught by Yoon-1.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the devices may check a usage state of a slot through a Sync frame corresponding to the SHR preambles as taught by Yoon-1; Paragraph 133.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Chowdhury further in view of Yoon-1 and further yet in view of Yoshioka et al. “Yoshioka” US 2026/0156541.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Yoon teaches the use of PHY headers; however, the prior art does not expressly disclose a PHY header which includes resource reservation information indicating a resource reserved by the first device; however, Yoshioka teaches a PHY indicates a reserved resource; Paragraph 161. The teachings of Yoshioka can be applied to UWB systems; Paragraph 234.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include reserving a resource within the PHY as taught by Yoshioka.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that a terminal can perform a preemption check based on any overlapping reserved resources as taught by Yoshioka; Paragraph 161.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Yoon teaches the SHR includes a SFD field comprising the second type preamble symbol (Figure 5A SFD 513).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Chowdhury and further in view of Lee et al. “Lee” US 9209862.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not teach sending first configuration information for configuring a parameters of the second type preamble symbol; however, Lee teaches a system which UWB devices determine/configure a series of n preambles with respect to repetitions for the preambles; Claim 1. This information is transmit to another device; Claim 3 lines 19-24.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending configuration information with respect to a second type preamble symbol as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that data can be efficiently recovered in a UWB environment as taught by Lee; Column 1 Lines 35-39.
Regarding claim 11, Yoon teaches the second device is a target receive device of the first UWB frame (the signals ultimately transmitted between UWB devices; Paragraph 77; see Figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art does not teacha format of the second type preamble symbol or quantity of repetitions of the second type symbol; however, Lee teaches a system which UWB devices determine/configure a series of n preambles with respect to repetitions for the preambles; Claim 1. This information is transmit to another device; Claim 3 lines 19-24.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include sending configuration information with respect to a repetitions of second type preamble symbol as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that data can be efficiently recovered in a UWB environment as taught by Lee; Column 1 Lines 35-39.
Regarding claim 13, Yoon teaches the second type preamble symbols is applicable to all UWB devices in a system (the signals ultimately transmitted between UWB devices; Paragraph 77; see Figures 7 and 8. As two UWB devices are communicating, the preambles are viewed as applicable to all UWB devices).
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411