DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 and 07/07/225 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-16 are held indefinite as they depend directly and/or indirectly from claim 1 and therefore share the same insufficient antecedent basis as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (12232408). With respect to claim 1, Park et al. discloses an elastic member (100) foldable based on a folding axis (Folding Axis) comprising one surface (1S) and the other surface (2S) opposite to the one surface (1S); and a first region (1A) including the folding axis (Folding Axis) and located adjacent to the folding axis (Folding Axis), and a second region (2A) located around the first region (1A) and located farther from the folding axis (Folding Axis) than the first region (1A), wherein a plurality of first patterns (H1, G1-1, G1-2) is formed in the first region (1A), and a plurality of second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) are formed in the second region (2A), wherein widths of the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) are different from each other; and wherein a ratio (long width/short width) of a long width to a short width of each of the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) is smaller than a ratio (long width/short width) of a long width to a short width of each of the first patterns (H1, G1-1, G1-2).
With respect to claim 2, Park et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein the first patterns (H1, G1-1, G1-2) and the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) are formed as holes (H1, H2), and wherein an inner surface of each of the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) includes a curved surface, see for example FIG. 11.
With respect to claim 3, Park et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 2, wherein the inner surface of each of the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) includes a curved surface where a width of each second pattern (G2-1, G2-2) changes along a vertical direction from the one surface (1S) to the other surface (2S).
With respect to claim 4, Park et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein an interval between the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) is changed as a distance from the folding axis (Folding Axis) increases.
With respect to claim 5, Park et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 4, wherein an interval between the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) increases as the distance from the folding axis (Folding Axis) increases.
With respect to claim 6, Park et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 4, wherein the first patterns (H1, G1-1, G1-2) have an oval shape with the long width and the short width, and wherein the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) have an oval shape with the long width and the short width.
With respect to claim 7, Park et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein the second pattens (G2-1, G2-2) are spaced apart from each other at a same interval.
With respect to claim 8, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein an interval between the first patterns (G2-1, G2-2) is changed as a distance from the folding axis (Folding Axis) increases.
With respect to claim 9, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 8, wherein an interval between the first patterns (H1, G1-1, G2-1) increases as the distance from the folding axis (Folding Axis) increases.
With respect to claim 10, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein an area of the first pattern (H1, G1-1, G2-1) with respect to a total area of the first region (1A) is 50% to 60%.
With respect to claim 11, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 10, wherein an area of the second pattern (G2-1, G2-2) with respect to a total area of the second region (2A) is 10% to 50%.
With respect to claim 12, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein an interval between the first patterns (H1, G1-1, G1-2) is less than a minimum interval between the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2).
With respect to claim 13, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein the ratio (long width/short width) of the second pattern (G2-1, G2-2)and the ratio (long width/short width) of the first pattern (H1, G1-1, G1-2) is 10 to 50.
With respect to claim 14, Part et al. discloses the elastic member (100) of claim 1, wherein in the second region (2A), an interval between the second patterns (G2-1, G2-2) in a direction parallel to the folding axis (Folding Axis) and an interval between the second patterns (H1, G1-1, G1-2) in a direction perpendicular to the folding axis (Folding Axis) are different.
With respect to claim 15, Part et al. discloses a display device (1000) comprising: elastic member (100) of claim 1; a panel (200, 300) disposed on the elastic member (100), and an adhesive layer (see for example paragraph 5 lines 50 – 59) disposed between the elastic member (100) and the panel (200, 300), wherein the panel (200, 300) includes at least one of a display panel (200) and a touch panel (300).
The applied reference has a common assignee and at least one common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Park et al (12232408) in view of Lee et al. (10164208). With respect to claim 16, Park et al. discloses the display device (1000) of claim 15, wherein the adhesive layer (see for example paragraph 5 lines 50 – 59). Park et al. does not expressly disclose the adhesive layer that is disposed while filling the inside of the first pattern and the second pattern as claimed. The apparatus of Lee et al. discloses adhesive layer that is disposed while filling the inside of the first pattern and the second pattern as claimed, see for example column 8 lines 39 - 56. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the apparatus of Park et al.. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the apparatus of Park et al. to compensate for a thickness difference.
The applied reference has a common assignee and at least one common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). With respect to claim 16, Park et al. discloses the display device (1000) of claim 15, wherein the adhesive layer (see for example paragraph 5 lines 50 – 59). Park et al. does not expressly disclose the adhesive layer that is disposed while filling the inside of the first pattern and the second pattern as claimed. The apparatus of Lee et al. (10164208) discloses adhesive layer that is disposed while filling the inside of the first pattern and the second pattern as claimed, see for example column 8 lines 39 - 56. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the apparatus of Park et al.. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the apparatus of Park et al. to compensate for a thickness difference.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LISA LEA-EDMONDS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/LISA LEA-EDMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 2026-05-30