DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on December 6, 2024, October 27, 2025, January 12, 2026 and May 15, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2 with obvious wording variations; they are substantially similar in scope
The independent claims 1, 11 and 20 of the current application include broader limitations of the independent claims 1, 10 and 19 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 2 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 2 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 3 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 2 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 4 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 4 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 5 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 3 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 6 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 5 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 7 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 6 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 8 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 7 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 9 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 8 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 10 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 9 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 12 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 11 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 13 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 11 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 14 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 15 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 12 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 16 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 15 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 17 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 15 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 18 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 16 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
The limitation of claim 19 of the current application can be read on limitations of claim 17 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
Nonetheless, claims 1-20 of the present application made the claim a broader version of claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claims 1-20 is not patentably distinct from claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,427 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0314593).
Regarding claim 1, Xu et al discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by a hardware processor of a network system, an initiation of a request for a transportation service at a client device of a user (see at least paragraph 19; discloses transportation service request);
receiving an indication of a location of the client device and corresponding signal strengths of nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points observed by the client device (see at least paragraph 20; obtain passenger position and obtain network condition);
based on the location of the client device and the corresponding signal strengths of the nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points observed by the client device, identifying one or more top ranked pickup points (see at least paragraph 20; based on network condition, determine pick-up locations); and
causing, by the network system on a user interface on the client device, presentation of a pickup point recommendation that includes the one or more top ranked pickup points (see at least paragraph 20; recommending to passenger the order of the ranking of pick-up locations).
Regarding claim 11, Xu et al discloses a system comprising: one or more hardware processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising:
detecting an initiation of a request for a transportation service at a client device of a user (see at least paragraph 19; discloses transportation service request);
receiving an indication of a location of the client device and corresponding signal strengths of nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points observed by the client device (see at least paragraph 20; obtain passenger position and obtain network condition);
based on the location of the client device and the corresponding signal strengths of the nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points observed by the client device, identifying one or more top ranked pickup points (see at least paragraph 20; based on network condition, determine pick-up locations); and
causing, on a user interface on the client device, presentation of a pickup point recommendation that includes the one or more top ranked pickup points (see at least paragraph 20; recommending to passenger the order of the ranking of pick-up locations).
Regarding claim 20, Xu et al discloses a machine-storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors of a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising:
detecting an initiation of a request for a transportation service at a client device of a user (see at least paragraph 19; discloses transportation service request);
receiving an indication of a location of the client device and corresponding signal strengths of nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points observed by the client device (see at least paragraph 20; obtain passenger position and obtain network condition);
based on the location of the client device and the corresponding signal strengths of the nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points observed by the client device, identifying one or more top ranked pickup points (see at least paragraph 20; based on network condition, determine pick-up locations); and
causing, on a user interface on the client device, presentation of a pickup point recommendation that includes the one or more top ranked pickup points (see at least paragraph 20; recommending to passenger the order of the ranking of pick-up locations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Xu et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0314593) in view of Peinhardt et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0160328).
Regarding claim 2, Xu et al specifically does not disclose determining a telematics vector associated with the client device based on the signal strengths of the nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points, wherein the identifying the one or more top ranked pickup points is based on the telematics vector.
However, Peinhardt et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches determining a telematics vector associated with the client device based on the signal strengths of the nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth access points, wherein the identifying the one or more top ranked pickup points is based on the telematics vector (see at least paragraph 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Peinhardt et al into the system of Xu et al for purpose of including the altitude or elevation, in order to more accurately define what level the point of interest is at; providing three-dimensional location information.
Regarding claim 3, Peinhardt et al discloses the identifying the one or more top ranked pickup points comprises ranking nearby pickup points within a predetermined distance of the location of the client device based on a cosine similarity of a telemetric vector associated with the client device and a median telematics vector of each nearby pickup point (see at least paragraph 38). Same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Peinhardt et al discloses the one or more top ranked pickup points are elevation-aware, the method further comprising: generating a plurality of elevation aware pickup points, the generating comprising clustering historical pickup points using a clustering algorithm and a clustering distance function that includes an elevation weight, the elevation weight indicating an amount of influence elevation has in the clustering (see at least paragraph 38). Same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Peinhardt et al discloses the one or more top ranked pickup points are elevation-aware, the method further comprising: generating a plurality of elevation-aware pickup points and a corresponding median telematics vector for each of the plurality of elevation-aware pickup points; and storing each of the plurality of elevation-aware pickup points in a geospatial index with the corresponding median telematics vector (see at least paragraph 65). Same motivation as claim 2..
Regarding claim 6, Peinhardt et al discloses the corresponding median telematics vector comprises a median of all telematics vectors associated with a corresponding pickup point of the plurality of elevation-aware pickup points, each telematics vector being indexed signal strengths of Wi-Fi or Bluetooth signal strength at a time a trip begins (see at least paragraphs 38 and 65). Same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Peinhardt et al discloses the one or more top ranked pickup points are elevation-aware, the method further comprising generating a plurality of elevation aware pickup points, the generating comprising: determining driver locations from aggregated trip data; and performing elevation estimation based on the driver locations (see at least paragraphs 38 and 65). Same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Peinhardt et al discloses the determining the driver locations comprises: retrieving aggregated driver location estimates from the aggregated trip data for a particular area; and running a map-matching algorithm on the driver location estimates by relating the driver location estimate to edges or locations in an existing graph (see at least paragraphs 38 and 65). Same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, Peinhardt et al discloses the performing elevation estimation comprises: determining an elevation estimate difference between an elevation estimate of a driver location and an elevation of a map-matched driver location; determining a per-trip median difference for a time window up to a beginning of a trip; and determining a calibrated elevation estimate by summing the elevation estimate of the driver location at the beginning of the trip and an elevation calibration constant (see at least paragraphs 38 and 65). Same motivation as claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Peinhardt et al discloses the elevation estimate of the driver location is determined using a barometer reading accessed from a device of a driver (see at least paragraph 25). Same motivation as claim 2..
Regarding claims 12-19, see above rejection of claims 2-9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art are cited to show a method, which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention:
Rong et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 11,092,449) directed toward transportation service; receiving passenger position.
/LITON MIAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642