DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 130, 140 and 113 in Fig. 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 21 has been used to designate both the first internal electrode pattern and the second internal electrode pattern in Fig. 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brinton US 1237015 A (hereafter referred to as Brinton).
Regarding claim 1, Brinton discloses:
A capacitor component comprising: a body (Figs. 3 & 4 col. 4 lines 72-81) including a dielectric layer (a’ – Fig. 2 col. 3 lines 3-8 and 28-31) and first and second internal electrodes (b, c – Fig. 1 col. 3 lines 13-42 and 52-55), the first and second internal electrodes being alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween and wound around an axis which extends in a second direction (Fig. 1 & 4 col. 3 lines 13-42 and col. 4 lines 68-71); and external electrodes respectively disposed on third and fourth surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction (b3, c3 – Fig. 13 col. 4 lines 109-114), wherein the body further includes a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction, the third direction being perpendicular to the first and second directions (Figs. 8 & 13 show a hexahedral shape; claim 4).
Regarding claim 2, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the body has a substantially hexahedral shape (Figs. 8 & 13 show a hexahedral shape; claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the first internal electrode is in contact with a first external electrode at one end of the body in the second direction, and the second internal electrode is in contact with a second external electrode at the opposite end of the body in the second direction (b2, b3, c2, c3 – Fig. 13 col. 4 lines 35-114; b2 and c2 are the ears of the internal electrodes b and c, and b3 and c3 are connected to the ears on opposite ends of the body).
Regarding claim 5, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the body includes a capacitance formation portion in which capacitance is formed, comprising a region in which the first and second internal electrodes are wound around the axis which extends in the second direction (Fig. 4 not including protective layer a or tab c2), and a protective layer disposed on the capacitance formation portion (a – Figs. 1, 3 & 4 col. 3 lines 3-13).
Regarding claim 7, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 5, wherein the protective layer extends to cover ends of the first and second internal electrodes (Fig. 1 & 4 col. 3 lines 3-13 show and describe the protective layer a extending past the conductive layers b and c. Therefore, the conductive layers are completely covered by protective layer a when wound).
Regarding claim 8, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 5, wherein the protective layer includes the same dielectric material as the dielectric layer (col. 3 lines 3-42 give an example of paper being used for the protective layer a and the dielectric layer a’).
Regarding claim 10, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the first and second internal electrodes, each wound around the axis which extends in the second direction, form a single layer (Fig. 1 shows the capacitor is formed by rolling a continuous layer and col. 4 lines 68-71 describe the layer structure being rolled on a mandrel).
Regarding claim 11, Brinton discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the body includes two or more layers of first internal electrodes, each spaced apart from one another in both the first and third directions and two or more layers of second internal electrodes, each spaced apart from one another in both the first and third directions (b, b’ – Figs. 2 & 4 col. 3 lines 3-51; The dielectric sheets separate the internal electrodes in the first and third directions when rolled).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuo et al. JP 2002008937 A (hereafter Yasuo).
Regarding claim 1, Yasuo discloses:
A capacitor component comprising: a body (Fig. 2a shows the body and external electrodes 2 and 3) including a dielectric layer (11a, 11b – Fig. 2a/b para. [0012]) and first and second internal electrodes (12, 13 – Fig. 1 para. [0002]), the first and second internal electrodes being alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween and wound around an axis which extends in a second direction (Fig. 2b paras. [0002] and [0019]); and external electrodes respectively disposed on third and fourth surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction (2, 3 – Fig. 2a para. [0002]), wherein the body further includes a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction, the third direction being perpendicular to the first and second directions (Fig 2a shows a hexahedral shaped body; paras. [0009] and [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, Yasuo discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer comprises barium (Ba) and titanium (Ti) (para. [0016]).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atsushi et al. JP 2002184642 A (hereafter referred to as Atsushi).
Regarding claim 12, Atsushi discloses:
A capacitor component comprising: a body (1 – Fig. 3 para. [0008]) including a dielectric layer (paras. [0017] and [0024] discloses 5 μm polypropylene films as the dielectric) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (8 – Fig. 4 paras. [0008] and [0017]), the first and second internal electrodes being wound around an axis which extends in a second direction (para. [0017]); external electrodes respectively disposed on third and fourth surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction (6 – Fig. 3 para. [0002]); a protective layer disposed on a capacitance formation portion of the body (7 – Fig. 3 para. [0002] and [0017] of Atsushi discloses a 25 μm thick polypropylene film wound 10 times over the capacitance formation portion), the capacitance formation portion comprising a region where the first and second internal electrodes are wound around the axis which extends in the second direction (1 – Fig. 3 para. [0008] of Atsushi).
Regarding claim 13, Atsushi discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 12, wherein the protective layer is configured to cover the ends of the first and second internal electrodes (para. [0017] of Atsushi discloses that the protective layer is wound 10 times around the body. Therefore, the protective layer completely covers the capacitance formation portion and the ends of the internal electrode) and is in contact with an end portion of the dielectric layer (para. [0017] of Atsushi discloses that the protective layer is wound 10 times around the body. Therefore, the protective layer completely covers the capacitance formation portion of the body and contacts an end portion of the dielectric layer), the protective layer being formed of the same dielectric material as the dielectric layer (para. [0017] discloses that the dielectric layer and the protective layer are both a polypropylene film).
Regarding claim 14, Atsushi discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 12, wherein the protective layer has an average thickness greater than the average thickness of the dielectric layer (para. [0017] of Atsushi discloses that the dielectric layer is 5 μm and a single wrapping of the protective layer is 25 μm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsushi in view of Buei et al. JP S62204513 A (hereafter referred to as Buei).
Regarding claim 1, Atsushi discloses:
A capacitor component comprising: a body (1 – Fig. 3 para. [0008]) including a dielectric layer (paras. [0017] and [0024] discloses 5 μm polypropylene films as the dielectric) and first and second internal electrodes (8 – Fig. 4 paras. [0008] and [0017]), the first and second internal electrodes being alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween and wound around an axis which extends in a second direction (para. [0017]); and external electrodes respectively disposed on third and fourth surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction (6 – Fig. 3 para. [0002]). Atsushi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the body further includes a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction, the third direction being perpendicular to the first and second directions.
Buei discloses wherein the body further includes a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction, the third direction being perpendicular to the first and second directions (Fig. 5). Furthermore, Buei describes that other shapes may also be achieved by choosing a winding core with a desired shape (para. [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor of Atsushi to have a hexahedral shape, which would improve packing efficiency for a bank of capacitor elements. Furthermore, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, Atsushi as modified by Buei further discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 1, wherein the body includes a capacitance formation portion in which capacitance is formed, comprising a region in which the first and second internal electrodes are wound around the axis which extends in the second direction (1 – Fig. 3 para. [0008] of Atsushi), and a protective layer disposed on the capacitance formation portion (7 – Fig. 3 para. [0002] and [0017] of Atsushi discloses a 25 μm thick polypropylene film wound 10 times over the capacitance formation portion).
Regarding claim 6, Atsushi as modified by Buei further discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 5, wherein an average thickness of the protective layer is greater than an average thickness of the dielectric layer (para. [0017] of Atsushi discloses that the dielectric layer is 5 μm and a single wrapping of the protective layer is 25 μm).
Regarding claim 9, Atsushi as modified by Buei further discloses:
The capacitor component of claim 5, wherein the protective layer is in contact with an end portion of the dielectric layer (para. [0017] of Atsushi discloses that the protective layer is wound 10 times around the body. Therefore, the protective layer completely covers the capacitance formation portion of the body and contacts an end portion of the dielectric layer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3004197 A: Fig. 4; col. 1 lines 14-29; teaches barium titanate as dielectric in wound capacitor
US 20190019625 A1: Figs. 11A, 22; paras. [0121, 0123]; teaches hexahedral shape
US 20210134530 A1: Figs. 2, 4; para. [0067] and [0075]; teaches ceramic protective layer and thicknesses
US 20180350523 A1: Figs. 1a-c; paras. [0041] and [0100]; teaches hexahedral wound capacitor with barium titanate dielectric and resin protective layer (8)
US 20210065988 A1: Figs. 5, 6; paras. [0044-0047], [0070-0071], [0091]
US 20180182547 A1: 2 – Fig. 2
US 20120019100 A1: Fig. 5; para. [0087]; teaches a protective portion made of same barium titanate as dielectric and having larger thickness
US 20210193389 A1: Fig. 4; ceramic protective layer
US 20210090806 A1: Fig. 5; ceramic protective layer
US 20220181083 A1: Fig. 2; ceramic protective layer
US 4475967 A: col. 4 lines 50-65; barium titanate wound capacitor
US 7057873 B2: Fig. 1, 2, 4 show similar internal electrode structure
US 20170162332 A1: wound capacitor with barium titanate as dielectric
US 6627343 B1: Similar internal electrode structure
JP S6358914 A: Figs. 3, 5, 6; hexahedral wound capacitor with Ba and Ti, and protective layer
KR 20190139018 A: Fig. 6a-b
KR 20140142796 A: wound capacitor with barium titanate dielectric
JP 2009277866 A: Fig. 5; wound capacitor with barium titanate dielectric and pressed to be substantially hexahedral
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847