Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0354361.
As per claim 1, Li teaches an electronic device comprising: a communicator comprising one or more signal lines configured to transmit a signal to and to receive a signal from a charging device [pp0023];
at least one memory storing one or more instructions [pp 0025]; and
at least one processor configured to execute the one or more instructions, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on detecting a connection between the charging device and the electronic device, obtain version information of a firmware program installed on the charging device from the charging device via the one or more signal lines [pp0021, 0024, 0073],
based on the version information being different from reference version information, transmit a notification signal for updating the firmware program to the charging device, wherein the notification signal is configured to cause the charging device to switch a signal transmission/reception mode of the charging device from a power signal transmission/reception mode to a data signal transmission/reception mode The wireless charger 102 includes a wireless charging transmitter 108 for charging the chargeable device 104 and updating the current firmware file; The wireless charging transmitter 108 enables transmission of the output power signal to the chargeable device 104 for charging the chargeable device 104. The wireless charging transmitter 108 further enables the wireless charger 102 to perform firmware update operations when the chargeable device 104 determines that the firmware update is available (0017, 0020, 0023-0024, 0038, 0049, 0076)], and
transmit firmware update data to the charging device via the one or more signal lines [pp 0032, 0040].
As per claim 2, Li teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on the signal transmission/reception mode being the power signal transmission/reception mode, transmit a power signal to and receive a power signal from the charging device via the one or more signal lines [pp 0048], and
based on the signal transmission/reception mode being the data signal transmission/reception mode, transmit a data signal to and receive a data signal from the charging device via the one or more signal lines [pp0049].
As per claim 3, Li teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on the signal transmission/reception mode being the data signal transmission/reception mode, reduce a maximum permitted voltage level of the one or more signal lines and stop transmitting and receiving the power signals [indicate amount of power drawn while charging (pp 0038); AC voltage controlled (pp0035, 0042-0043, 0049)].
As per claim 4, Li teaches the the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: transmit the firmware update data to the charging device based on a charge level of a battery of the electronic device being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference value and a charge level of a battery of the charging device being greater than or equal to a predetermined reference value [until battery charged completely or disconnected (pp 0048-0049)].
As per claim 5, Li teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on a cover of the charging device being closed, transmit the firmware update data to the charging device [disconnect (pp 0057)].
As per claim 6, Li teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: download the reference version information from an external server [pp 0050, 0058, 0060-0061].
As per claim 7, Li teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the reference version information corresponds to version information of the firmware update data stored in the electronic device [current version (pp 0049-0050)].
Claims 8-15 are rejected under the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, as claims 1-7 as they do not teach or further define over the limitations of claims
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is noted in PTO-892.
UZMA . ALAM
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884