DETAILED ACTION
This is a second non-final Office Action for application number 18/971,940 LIGHT THERAPY DEVICE STAND filed on 12/6/2024. Claims 1 and 4-10 are pending. This second non-final Action is in response to applicant’s reply dated 8/21/2026. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, recites, “to base” and it should be changed to “to a base”.
Also, the term does not appear in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Publication No. 2010/0327129 to Chen and in view of United States Patent Publication No. 2022/0016435 to Pfiffner.
With regards to claim 1, Chen teaches a device having a table mount (1) that is configured to engage a flat structure (See Figure 5), a first extension arm (13) that is connected to base (1); a second extension arm (2) that is connected to the first extension arm in an orthogonal manner (See Figure 1); an adjustable arm assembly (3) that is connected to the second extension arm; and a panel attachment assembly (52) that is connected to a distal end of the adjustable arm assembly, wherein the panel attachment assembly is configured to receive the back surface of a load/flat panel display (See 0022), however Chen does not specifically teach that the load/flat panel display is a light therapy device.
Pfiffner teaches a light therapy device (10), and it would be obvious that the device may be attached to a stand as the light device is a similar size and shape to a flat panel display.
Chen also teaches wherein the base includes a clamp (12) and a
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]bracket
for engaging the flat structure, and wherein the first extension arm includes a flange
along a first end, and the flange is removably connected to the bracket. (See Figure 2).
With regards to claim 4, Chen teaches wherein the first extension arm (13) is positioned vertically when the base (1) is secured onto the flat surface.
With regards to claim 5, Chen teaches wherein the second extension arm (2) includes a rotating joint (21) along the first end.
With regards to claim 6, Chen teaches wherein the second extension arm is configured to rotate 360 degrees relative to the first extension arm. (See 0027)
With regards to claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the adjustable arm (3) assembly is connected to a second end of the second extension arm (2), and the adjustable arm assembly is configured to transition between a fully raised position and a fully lowered position. (See Figures 6 and 7)
With regards to claim 8, the combination of Chen and Pfiffner teach wherein the panel attachment assembly includes a bracket having a pair of mounting plates (52) for engaging the back surface of the panel/light therapy device.
With regards to claim 9, Chen teaches a plurality of holes that are positioned along each of the pair of mounting plates, and each of the plurality of holes including a location that is complementary to a location of a threaded mounting aperture on the back surface of the light therapy device. (See Figure 5)
With regards to claim 10, Chen teaches wherein the panel attachment assembly is hingedly (at 521) connected to the adjustable arm assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Amy J. Sterling at telephone number 571-272-6823 or to Supervisor Jonathan Liu at 571-272-8227 if the examiner cannot be reached. The examiner can normally be reached (M-F 8 a.m.-5:00 p.m.). The fax machine number for the Technology center is 571-273-8300 (formal amendments) or 571-273-6823 (Informal communications). Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Technology Center receptionist at 571-272-3600.
/AMY J. STERLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631 10/7/26