DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farag US 11220840.
Regarding claim 1, Farag discloses a rekeyable lock cylinder comprising:
a cylinder body (214) defining a longitudinal axis (along length of 214), wherein the cylinder body defines a first locking bar engaging slot (right side 230) and a second locking bar engaging slot (left side 230); and
a plug assembly (216) disposed at least partially within the cylinder body and being selectively rotatable around the longitudinal axis, the plug assembly including:
a plug body (232);
at least one first key follower (one of plurality of 238, first one shown closest to face 236 of 232, fig2) slidably mounted on the plug body;
at least one second key follower (another of plurality of 238, furthest 238 shown, at end of 232 see fig2) slidably mounted on the plug body;
a first carrier subassembly (234a) supported by the plug body, the first carrier subassembly including:
a first carrier (right 270) selectively slidable along the longitudinal axis for rekeying between different keys;
a first locking bar (right 274) slidably mounted on the first carrier and selectively engageable with the first locking bar engaging slot to block rotation of the plug assembly relative to the cylinder body; and
at least one first rack (plurality of right 272) coupled between the at least one first key follower and the first locking bar to control movement of the first locking bar; and
a second carrier subassembly (234b) supported by the plug body, the second carrier subassembly including:
a second carrier (left 270) selectively slidable along the longitudinal axis for rekeying between different keys;
a second locking bar (left 274) slidable mounted on the second carrier and selectively engageable with the second locking bar engaging slot to block rotation of the plug assembly relative to the cylinder body; and
at least one second rack (plurality of left 272) coupled between the at least one second key follower and the second locking bar to control movement of the second locking bar.
Regarding claim 2, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the at least one first key follower is biased (they are spring loaded) in an opposite direction relative to the at least one second key follower. (col5 lines 28-37)
Regarding claim 3, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the at least one first key follower is axially aligned with the at least one second key follower. (see fig2)
Regarding claim 4, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the at least one first key follower is identical to the at least one second key follower. (fig2)
Regarding claim 5, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the first locking bar is biased in an opposite direction relative to the second locking bar. (Both locking bars are biased respectively to the corresponding 272, therefore the directions in which they are biased are opposing. See col. 5 lines 9-27)
Regarding claim 7, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein both the first carrier and the second carrier axially slide for a rekeying operation. (col.6 lines 59-65)
Regarding claim 8, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 7, wherein axial movement of the first and second carriers are coupled together. (col.6 lines 59-65)
Regarding claim 9, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein a first assembly (234a+ one of plurality of 238) that includes the at least one first key follower, the at least one first rack, and the first locking bar is independently operable relative to a second assembly (234b+ another of plurality of 238) that includes the at least one second key follower, the at least one second rack, and the second locking bar. (fig2)
Regarding claim 10, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the first locking bar engaging slot is spaced 180° apart from the second locking bar engaging slot. (fig2)
Regarding claim 11, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the first locking bar engaging slot has a same size and shape as the second locking bar engaging slot. (fig2)
Regarding claim 12, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the plug body defines a keyway opening (244), the at least one first key follower disposed on an opposite side (disposed closer to face 236, therefore near beginning of keyway opening vs the second key follower which is the last 238 closer to end of 232, therefore end of keyway opening) of the keyway opening from the at least one second key follower. (fig2)
Regarding claim 13, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder of claim 1, wherein the keyway opening is defined by at least one projection or at least one recess of the plug body and disposed between the at least one first and second key followers. (see fig6 shows projections which continue the length of the keyway opening and blade and therefore between the two key followers)
Regarding claim 14, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder assembly comprising:
a key (K) having a blade (length of key) with a first key cut (not explicitly labeled, see fig6 , first key cut depth in K) and a second key cut (not explicitly labeled see fig6, second key cut depth in K), the first key cut facing in an opposite direction relative to the second key cut (see fig6 two key cuts opposing each other);
a cylinder body (214) defining a longitudinal axis (length of 214), wherein the cylinder body defines a first locking bar engaging slot (right 230) and a second locking bar engaging slot (left 230); and
a plug assembly (fig2) disposed at least partially within the cylinder body, the plug assembly including:
a plug body (232) defining a keyway opening (244) for receiving the key;
at least one first key follower (first 238, fig2) slidably mounted on the plug body and configured to interact with the first key cut (fig6) when the key is received within the keyway opening;
at least one second key follower (last 238, fig2) slidably mounted on the plug body and configured to interact with the second key cut when the key is received within the keyway opening;
a first carrier subassembly (234a) supported by the plug body, the first carrier subassembly including:
a first carrier (right 270) selectively slidable along the longitudinal axis for rekeying between different keys;
a first locking bar (right 274) slidably mounted on the first carrier and selectively engageable with the first locking bar engaging slot to block rotation of the plug assembly relative to the cylinder body; and
at least one first rack (right plurality of 272) coupled between the at least one first key follower and the first locking bar to control movement of the first locking bar; and
a second carrier subassembly (234b) supported by the plug body and independent from the first carrier subassembly, the second carrier subassembly including:
a second carrier (left 270) selectively slidable along the longitudinal axis for rekeying between different keys;
a second locking bar (left 274) slidable mounted on the second carrier and selectively engageable with the second locking bar engaging slot to block rotation of the plug assembly relative to the cylinder body; and
at least one second rack (left plurality of 272) coupled between the at least one second key follower and the second locking bar to control movement of the second locking bar.
Regarding claim 15, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder assembly of claim 14, wherein the keyway opening defines a centerline axis (not labeled) that is co-axial with the longitudinal axis. (fig2)
Regarding claim 16, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder assembly of claim 14, wherein the blade of the key includes at least one projection or at least one recess axially extending between the first and second key cuts. (see fig6 shows projections which continue the length of the keyway opening and blade and therefore between the two key cuts)
Regarding claim 17, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder assembly of claim 14, wherein the at least one first rack is identical to the at least one second rack. (fig2)
Regarding claim 18, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder assembly of claim 14, wherein the first locking bar is identical to the second locking bar. (fig2)
Regarding claim 19, Farag discloses the rekeyable lock cylinder assembly of claim 14, wherein the first key cut includes one or more bitting positions (based on the depths of the key cut) that axially align with the second key cut. (fig6-7, col 7 line 47))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag US 11220840.
Regarding claim 20, Farag teaches a rekeyable lock cylinder and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Farag is also capable of teaching the method of rekeying a rekeyable lock cylinder comprising:
inserting a first key (K) into a keyway opening (244) of a plug body (232) of a plug assembly (216) of the rekeyable lock cylinder, the first key having a first key cut (first depth of cut in K, fig6)and a second key cut (second depth of cut in K, fig6), the plug assembly including at least one first key follower(front most 238, fig2), at least one second key follower (last most 238, fig2), a first carrier subassembly (right 234a) with a first carrier (right 270), a first locking bar (first 274), and at least one first rack (right plurality of 272) coupled between the at least one first key follower and the first locking bar, and a second carrier subassembly (234b) with a second carrier (left 270), a second locking bar (left 274), and at least one second rack (left plurality of 272) coupled between the at least one second key follower and the second locking bar, wherein the first key cut positions the first locking bar in an unlocked position via the at least one first key follower and the second key cut positions the second locking bar in an unlocked position via the at least one second key follower;
rotating the plug assembly within a cylinder body (214);
axially displacing the first carrier having the at least one first rack such that the at least one first rack is disengaged with the at least one first key follower;
axially displacing the second carrier having the at least one second rack such that the at least one second rack is disengaged with the at least one second key follower;
removing the first key;
inserting a second key (col 7 line 2) having at least one third key cut (can be any second depth key); and
rotating the plug assembly so as to reengage the at least one first rack with the at least one first key follower and reengage the at least one second rack with the at least one second key follower and the first and second locking bars are rekeyed to the at least one third key cut that is different than the first key cut or the second key cut. (col. 7 lines 1-10)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. References of record do not teach he racks to move in the same direction relative to the other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to rekeyable lock cylinders.
PTO 892 lists other related but not relied upon prior art such as: US 12421762, US 12188258, US 12104404.
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675