DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first and second joint coupling structures in claim 1 which are disclosed as openings 48A, 48B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0121193 (Bob).
1. A combination tissue manipulation and cutting device (instrument 10), the device comprising:
(a) a first elongate member (first jaw 11) comprising a first handle (handle 15), a first jaw (first tool part 17), and a first joint coupling structure (e.g., opening at first jaw 11 in FIG. 5 for hinge 13 which is the same as disclosed in this application) disposed between the first handle and the first jaw (FIG. 5; P0044 and P0063);
(b) a second elongate member (second jaw 12) comprising a second handle (handle 23), a second jaw (second tool part 20), and a second joint coupling structure (e.g., opening/connection at second jaw 12 in FIG. 5 for hinge 13 which is the same as disclosed in this application) disposed between the second handle and the second jaw (FIG. 5; P0044 and P0063);
(c) a rotatable joint (hinge 13) disposed at the first and second coupling structures such that the first and second elongate members are rotatable in relation to each other at the rotatable joint (FIG. 5; P0044 and P0063);
(d) a blade guide housing (housing 26) disposed along a length of the first elongate member (FIG. 1; P0048-P0049), the blade guide housing comprising a distal opening (e.g., distal opening of inner space 27), a proximal opening (e.g., proximal opening of inner space 27), and a lumen (inner space 27) defined through the blade guide housing from the distal opening to the proximal opening (FIG. 1; P0048-P0049); and
(e) a blade drive body (knife 30) slidably disposable within the lumen of the blade guide housing, the blade drive body comprising a blade attachment component (e.g., end of knife adjacent to blade 32) at a distal end of the blade drive body (FIG. 5; P0049).
5. The blade drive body comprises a finger contact structure (tappet 37 and recess 38) associated with a proximal portion of the blade drive body (FIG. 1; P0051 and P0059).
6. The finger contact structure comprises ribs or protrusions (e.g., tappet 37) (FIG. 1; P0051 and P0059).
7. The blade guide housing and the blade drive body are removable (FIG. 1; P0053 and P0061).
8. The device has a removable blade coupleable to the blade attachment component (FIG. 1; P0053 and P0061).
10. The blade drive body is slidable between a retracted position and a deployed position along a length of the first elongate member (FIG. 1; P0051, P0059, and P0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0121193 (Bob), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 6,146,399 (Lee).
2-3. Bob discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the blade drive body having a detent. Lee teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having a blade drive body (blade 13) with a detent (detent 14 and/or handle 16) for the purpose of controlling distal/proximal movement of the blade drive body relative to the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). The detent is disposed on the blade drive body, wherein the detent extends beyond the cross-sectional width or height of the blade drive body such that the detent cannot fit within the lumen of the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). The detent contacts a proximal end of the blade guide housing as the blade drive body is urged distally through the blade guide housing, thereby preventing the blade drive body from moving further distally through the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bob to include the blade drive body detent as taught by Lee in order to control distal/proximal movement of the blade drive body relative to the blade guide housing.
4. Bob discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the blade drive body having a channel with the blade guide housing having a detent. Lee teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having a blade drive body (blade 13) with a channel (detent 14) and the blade guide housing having a detent (projection 24) for the purpose of controlling distal/proximal movement of the blade drive body relative to the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). The channel defined along the length of the blade drive body, and the detent disposed on the blade guide housing such that the at least one detent is disposed within the at least one channel when the blade drive body is disposed within the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bob to include the blade drive body channel and blade guide housing detent as taught by Lee in order to control distal/proximal movement of the blade drive body relative to the blade guide housing.
9. Bob discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the first elongate member having a guide slot. Lee teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having a first elongate member (11) with a channel (channel 19) for the purpose of guiding longitudinal movement of the blade drive body via the first elongate member (FIG. 7-8; col. 3, lns. 41-51). The guide slot defined within and disposed along a length of the first elongate member, wherein the blade drive body is slidably disposed adjacent to or within the guide slot (FIG. 7-8; col. 3, lns. 41-51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bob to include the first elongate member channel as taught by Lee in order to guide longitudinal movement of the blade drive body via the first elongate member.
Claim(s) 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0121193 (Bob) in view of US 6,146,399 (Lee).
11. A combination tissue manipulation and cutting device (instrument 10), the device comprising:
(a) a first elongate member (first jaw 11) comprising a first handle (handle 15) and a first jaw (first tool part 17) (FIG. 5; P0044 and P0063);
(b) a second elongate member (second jaw 12) comprising a second handle (handle 23) and a second jaw (second tool part 20), wherein the second elongate member is rotatably coupled to the first elongate member at a rotatable joint (hinge 13)(FIG. 5; P0044 and P0063);
(c) a blade guide housing (housing 26) disposed along a length of the first elongate member (FIG. 1; P0048-P0049), the blade guide housing comprising a distal opening (e.g., distal opening of inner space 27), a proximal opening (e.g., proximal opening of inner space 27), and a lumen (inner space 27) defined through the blade guide housing from the distal opening to the proximal opening (FIG. 1; P0048-P0049); and
(d) a blade drive body (knife 30) slidably disposable within the lumen of the blade guide housing, the blade drive body comprising a blade attachment component (e.g., end of knife adjacent to blade 32) at a distal end of the blade drive body (FIG. 5; P0049); wherein the blade drive body is slidable between a proximal position and a distal position (FIG. 1; P0051, P0059, and P0071); and
(e) a removable blade (blade 32)(e.g., “removable” at least because it can be removed along with knife 30 at FIG. 1, P0053, and P0061) operably coupled to the blade attachment component (FIG. 1; P0053 and P0061).
Bob discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the first elongate member having a guide slot. Lee teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having a first elongate member (11) with a channel (channel 19) for the purpose of guiding longitudinal movement of the blade drive body via the first elongate member (FIG. 7-8; col. 3, lns. 41-51). The guide slot defined within and disposed along a length of the first elongate member, wherein the blade drive body is slidably disposed adjacent to or within the guide slot (FIG. 7-8; col. 3, lns. 41-51). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bob to include the first elongate member channel as taught by Lee in order to guide longitudinal movement of the blade drive body via the first elongate member.
Bob discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the blade drive body having a detent. Lee teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having a blade drive body (blade 13) with a detent (detent 14 and/or handle 16) for the purpose of controlling distal/proximal movement of the blade drive body relative to the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). The detent is disposed on the blade drive body, wherein the detent extends beyond the cross-sectional width or height of the blade drive body such that the detent cannot fit within the lumen of the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). The detent contacts a proximal end of the blade guide housing as the blade drive body is urged distally through the blade guide housing, thereby preventing the blade drive body from moving further distally through the blade guide housing (FIG. 6-7; col. 3, lns. 4-13; col. 4, lns. 11-19; col. 4-5, lns. 66-11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bob to include the blade drive body detent as taught by Lee in order to control distal/proximal movement of the blade drive body relative to the blade guide housing.
13. The blade drive body comprises a finger contact structure (tappet 37 and recess 38) associated with the blade drive body (FIG. 1; P0051 and P0059). The finger contact structure comprises ribs or protrusions (e.g., tappet 37) (FIG. 1; P0051 and P0059).
14. The blade guide housing and the blade drive body are removable and replaceable (FIG. 1; P0053 and P0061).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0121193 (Bob) in view of US 6,146,399 (Lee), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 2013/0018372 (Sims).
Bob discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above and further discloses the blade guide housing and blade drive body being removable and replaceable (FIG. 1; P0053 and P0061) but does not disclose the device having an additional blade guide housing and an additional blade drive body. Sims teaches a device in the same field of endeavor having additional blade guide housing and additional blade drive body (P0003 and P0044) for the purpose of reusing sterilizable elongate members with disposable blade guide housings and blade drive bodies (P0003 and P0044). The additional blade guide housing and additional blade drive body are interchangeable with the blade guide housing and the blade drive body, respectively (P0003 and P0044). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bob to include an additional blade drive body and an additional blade guide housing as taught by Sims in order reuse sterilizable elongate members with disposable blade guide housings and blade drive bodies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-25 are allowed.
Conclusion
TJ SCHERBEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/TODD J SCHERBEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771