DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments received February 06, 2026 have been fully considered. with regard to 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose “see applicant argument pages 9-16”. This language corresponds to claims 1- 19 and 20.
As such, these have been considered but they are not persuasive as addressed below. See the rejection how the art on record reads on the claimed invention as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set as outlined below. Furthermore, in response to applicant argument, as previously addressed, Bronte teaches:
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
As outlined above, the system of Bronte teaches capturing image, monitoring movement of the driver and adjust displayed image based on the movement of the driver similar to the claimed invention “….capture a first image of a first predetermined region…….adjust the first predetermined region when driven……..obtain a line of sight and a moving vector……driver the first driver according to the moving vector in response to the line of sight corresponding to the display screen…..”.
Examiners position that Applicant has not yet submitted claims drawn to limitations, which define the operation and apparatus of Applicant's disclosed invention in manner, which distinguishes over the prior art. As it is Applicant's right to continue to claim as broadly as possible their invention. It is also the Examiners right to continue to interpret the claim language as broadly as possible. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Applicant argument appears presenting narrow interoperation to the cited art and the claimed invention while the claimed invention is broader than applicant argument. For example, Applicant argument presents in regarding Bronte system the use of camera angle while the claimed invention appears does not explicitly claimed the use of camera angle. As such, the examiner stands with the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bronte et al. US 2022/0083794.
In regarding to claim 1 Bronte teaches:
1. A rearview mirror adjustment system, comprising: an image capture module, configured to capture a main image;
[0014] Another aspect of the present invention refers to a motor vehicle comprising two camera monitoring systems (CMS) as described above, wherein one CMS is located on the left side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the left side), and the other CMS is located on the right side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the right side), and further comprising an interior rear-view mirror system (IRMS), and the ECU of the vehicle being the one controlling all the two camera monitoring and the interior rear-view mirror systems. Both CMSs and the IRMS work with the symmetric image of the image from the exterior FOV of the vehicle captured by the image capturing device, so the captured image refers to the symmetric image of the raw captured image.
Bronte, 0014, emphasis added.
and an electronic rearview mirror assembly, comprising: a first rearview mirror set, comprising: a first camera, configured to capture a first image of a first predetermined region;
[0014] Another aspect of the present invention refers to a motor vehicle comprising two camera monitoring systems (CMS) as described above, wherein one CMS is located on the left side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the left side), and the other CMS is located on the right side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the right side), and further comprising an interior rear-view mirror system (IRMS), and the ECU of the vehicle being the one controlling all the two camera monitoring and the interior rear-view mirror systems. Both CMSs and the IRMS work with the symmetric image of the image from the exterior FOV of the vehicle captured by the image capturing device, so the captured image refers to the symmetric image of the raw captured image.
Bronte, 0014, emphasis added.
a first display screen, configured to display the first image;
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
Bronte, 0021, emphasis added.
and a first driver, configured to adjust the first predetermined region when driven;
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
and a controller, configured to: obtain a line of sight and a moving vector according to the main image;
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
Bronte, 0021, emphasis added.
and drive the first driver according to the moving vector in response to the line of sight corresponding to the first display screen and the moving vector not falling in an unmoved region.
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 2 Bronte teaches:
2. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein the driving the first driver according to the moving vector comprises: driving the first driver, so that the first predetermined region is adjusted in a direction opposite to the moving vector at an adjustment amplitude in a proportional relationship with a magnitude of the moving vector.
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 3 Bronte teaches:
3. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic rearview mirror assembly further comprises: a second rearview mirror set, comprising: a second camera, configured to capture a second image of a second predetermined region;
[0014] Another aspect of the present invention refers to a motor vehicle comprising two camera monitoring systems (CMS) as described above, wherein one CMS is located on the left side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the left side), and the other CMS is located on the right side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the right side), and further comprising an interior rear-view mirror system (IRMS), and the ECU of the vehicle being the one controlling all the two camera monitoring and the interior rear-view mirror systems. Both CMSs and the IRMS work with the symmetric image of the image from the exterior FOV of the vehicle captured by the image capturing device, so the captured image refers to the symmetric image of the raw captured image.
Bronte, 0014, emphasis added.
a second display screen, configured to display the second image;
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
Bronte, 0021, emphasis added.
and a second driver, configured to adjust the second predetermined region when driven, wherein the controller is configured to drive the second driver according to the moving vector in response to the line of sight corresponding to the second display screen and the moving vector not falling in the unmoved region.
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 4 Bronte teaches:
4. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 3, wherein the driving the second driver according to the moving vector comprises: driving the second driver, so that the second predetermined region is adjusted in a direction opposite to the moving vector at an adjustment amplitude in a proportional relationship with a magnitude of the moving vector.
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 6 Bronte teaches:
6. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 3, wherein the electronic rearview mirror assembly further comprises: a third rearview mirror set, comprising: a third camera, configured to capture a third image of a third predetermined region;
[0014] Another aspect of the present invention refers to a motor vehicle comprising two camera monitoring systems (CMS) as described above, wherein one CMS is located on the left side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the left side), and the other CMS is located on the right side of the vehicle (with image capturing device associated with the exterior rear-view mirror(s) of the right side), and further comprising an interior rear-view mirror system (IRMS), and the ECU of the vehicle being the one controlling all the two camera monitoring and the interior rear-view mirror systems. Both CMSs and the IRMS work with the symmetric image of the image from the exterior FOV of the vehicle captured by the image capturing device, so the captured image refers to the symmetric image of the raw captured image.
Bronte, 0014, emphasis added.
a third display screen, configured to display the third image;
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
Bronte, 0021, emphasis added.
and a third driver, configured to adjust the third predetermined region when driven, wherein the controller is configured to drive the third driver according to the moving vector in response to the line of sight corresponding to the third display screen and the moving vector not falling in the unmoved region.
[0021] According to a first embodiment of the present invention, the Camera Monitoring System (CMS) is configured to select just one single image region (the “crop”) so that the selected image region can be moved within the captured image based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). The Field of View (FOV) of an electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver by the display is thereby adjusted. Moving the crop is also known as “pan” or “digital panning”. According to this embodiment, the CMS is further configured to keep fixed the aperture angle (a) of the selected image region being thus independent of the detected relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the CMS (i.e., the display device).
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
In regarding to claim 7 Bronte teaches:
7. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 6, wherein the driving the third driver according to the moving vector comprises: driving the third driver, so that the third predetermined region is adjusted in a direction opposite to the moving vector at an adjustment amplitude in a proportional relationship with a magnitude of the moving vector.
[0023] According to a second embodiment of the present invention, the ECU of the camera monitoring system is configured to select two image regions (crops): a first image region (i.e., the first crop) of the captured image and a second image region (i.e., the second crop) which is an additional extended view, wherein the additional extended view is next to the first image region (i.e., the first crop), forming a total image region defined as the first crop joined to the second crop. The second crop is further configured to be expanded and/or retracted based on changes in the position of the head/face or any movement of the driver's body (preferably, torso, head and/or hands). Thus, the displayed image region comprises the first image region (i.e., the first crop) and the second image region which is the additional extended view (i.e., the second, extendable, crop). The Field of View (FOV) of the electronic rear-view mirror shown to the driver in the total image region on the display is thereby adjusted. According to this embodiment, the CMS is configured to increase the aperture angle (a) of the second image region, and hence the aperture angle (a) of the total image region, as the relative angle of the driver's head with respect to the driver's camera of the CMS increases.
Bronte, 0021-0023, emphasis added.
Claims 9-14 list all similar elements of claims 1-4 and 6-7, but in method form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-4 and 6-7 applies equally as well to claims 9-14.
Claims 15-20 list all similar elements of claims 1-4 and 6-7, but in electronic rearview assembly form rather than system form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-4 and 6-7 applies equally as well to claims 15-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bronte et al. US 2022/0083794 as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Czarnecki US 2021/0101540.
In regarding to claim 5 Bronte teaches:
5. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 3, however, Bronte fails to explicitly teach but Czarnecki teaches: wherein the first display screen and the second display screen are located on two opposite sides of the image capture module.
[0034] Referring now to FIGS. 3-5, screenshots of the multi-camera display 52 are presented by way of example implementation, with reference numerals carried-over from FIG. 2 where appropriate. Here, it can be seen that the framing icons 58, 60, 62 are generated as icons or simplified graphical representations of vehicle rearview mirror assemblies. More specifically, the framing icon 58 is graphically produced or depicted as a left vehicle-external rearview mirror assembly (alternatively referred to as a left “side view,” “door,” or “wing” mirror assembly) and is consequently referred to as the “left rearview mirror assembly icon 58.” Similarly, the framing icon 62 is graphically produced as right vehicle-external rearview mirror assembly (alternatively referred to as a right “side view,” “door,” or “wing” mirror assembly) and is consequently referred to as the “right rearview mirror assembly icon 62.” Finally, the framing icon 60 is graphically produced or depicted as a central vehicle-interior rearview mirror assembly and is consequently referred to as the “central rearview mirror assembly icon 60.” The mirror assembly icons or graphics 58, 60, 62 are generalized in the illustrated example (that is, depicted in a generic manner reminiscent of passenger vehicle mirror assemblies) for rapid visual comprehension and universality. In further embodiments, the mirror assembly icons 58, 60, 62 may be imparted with an appearance more specifically tailored to the look of the wheeled loader 12; e.g., if the wheeled loader 12 includes mirror assemblies, the mirror assembly icons 58, 60, 62 may be imparted with an appearance matching the mirror assemblies of the wheeled loader 12.
Czarneck, 0034 and Fig. 3, emphasis added.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Czarneck with the system of Bronte in order wherein the first display screen and the second display screen are located on two opposite sides of the image capture module, as such, the multi-camera vision system presents a currently-selected camera feed in a main display area of a multi-camera display, while concurrently presenting the non-selected camera feed(s) in the gallery display areas of the display. This enables an operator to select a particular view for principal viewing, while maintaining visual awareness of the content simultaneously captured within the other camera feeds..—0062.
Note: The motivation that was applied to claim 5 above, applies equally as well to claim 8 as presented blow.
In regarding to claim 8 Bronte teaches:
8. The rearview mirror adjustment system according to claim 6, furthermore Czarneck teaches: wherein the third display screen is located between the first display screen and the second display screen.
Czarneck, 0034 and Fig. 3
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481