DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing of 12/6/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rao et al. (US 2025/0151012, [provisional applications filed February and April have support]).
Regarding claim 1:
Rao discloses a system and method for wireless communication (abstract; see figures), comprising:
determining, with a wireless access node, a positioning time window to occur during an idle state or an inactive state of a user device (para 137, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {assistance data received by a WTRU including the measurement mode configuration (e.g., PRS configurations for LPHAP), the WTRU may receive one or more: PRS configurations and/or parameters (e.g., IDs); and/or SRSp configurations and/or parameters (e.g., which may be associated with or intended for LPHAP and/or power saving mode operation(s) (e.g., for use during INACTIVE/IDLE mode}; para 94 [“Network” may include AMF, LMF, base station, TRP, or gNB]; para 252 {WTRU may receive the configuration from the network}[WTRU receives and network transmits the configuration, that is essentially determined by the network]; see fig 2); and
transmitting, with the wireless access node, a positioning time window configuration to indicate the positioning time window for the idle state or the inactive state to the user device (para 146 {WTRU may receive an indication and/or information to a network (e.g., gNB, LMF)} [in other words, network transmits to WTRU]), wherein the user device is allowed to receive a positioning reference signal (PRS) or to transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) in the idle state or the inactive state (para 185 {WTRU may be configured with one or more DL PRS configurations/resources and/or UL SRSp resources. The one or more DL PRS configurations/resources and/or UL SRSp resources may include periodicity values that may be aligned with the periodicity of DRX cycles in a low power operation (e.g., INACTIVE and/or IDLE state}; para 336 {DL-PRS transmissions and UL-SRSp receptions, the WTRU may be configured to use one or more time windows and/or DRX cycles. The one or more time windows and/or DRX cycles may be applied during an INACTIVE/IDLE state (e.g., such that the DL PRS receptions and/or UL SRSp transmissions may be performed within the time window/DRX cycle). Such alignment of the time windows/DRX cycles may allow the WTRU to minimize the number of wake up instances and maximize the sleep duration, such that both PRS measurements and SRSp transmissions may be performed}; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 13:
Rao discloses a system and method for wireless communication (see figures; abstract), comprising:
receiving, with a user device, a positioning time window configuration to indicate a positioning time window for an idle state or an inactive state from a wireless access node (figure 2; para 4; para 137 {assistance data received by a WTRU including the measurement mode configuration (e.g., PRS configurations for LPHAP), … associated with or intended for LPHAP and/or power saving mode operation(s) (e.g., for use during INACTIVE/IDLE mode}; para 94 [“Network” may include AMF, LMF, base station, TRP, or gNB]; para 252 {WTRU may receive the configuration from the network});
in response to receiving the positioning time window configuration, with the user device, at least one of: receiving a positioning reference signal (PRS) or transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) in the positioning time window in the idle state or the inactive state (para 185 {WTRU may be configured with one or more DL PRS configurations/resources and/or UL SRSp resources. The one or more DL PRS configurations/resources and/or UL SRSp resources may include periodicity values that may be aligned with the periodicity of DRX cycles in a low power operation (e.g., INACTIVE and/or IDLE state}; para 336 {DL-PRS transmissions and UL-SRSp receptions, the WTRU may be configured to use one or more time windows and/or DRX cycles. The one or more time windows and/or DRX cycles may be applied during an INACTIVE/IDLE state … the time windows/DRX cycles may allow the WTRU to minimize the number of wake up instances and maximize the sleep duration, such that both PRS measurements and SRSp transmissions may be performed}; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 2,14:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and receiving, with the wireless access node, a capability of the user device to operate as a low power high accuracy positioning (LPHAP) user device from the user device (para 73 {WTRU may perform LPHAP by operating in measurement mode and/or estimation mode. The WTRU may operate in a positioning estimation mode. The WTRU may send capability}; para 117-120; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 3, 19:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and receiving, with a serving gNB of the wireless access node, the capability from the user device (para 117 { may send capability and/or assistance information for an estimation mode operation. In examples, a WTRU may send capability and/or assistance information to a network (e.g., gNB or LMF) …}; para 118-120; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 4:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein receiving, with a location management function (LMF) of the wireless access node, the capability from the user device; and indicating, with the LMF, the capability to a serving gNB or a neighbor gNB of the wireless access node (para 117 {WTRU may send capability and/or assistance information to a network (e.g., gNB or LMF) …}; para 118-120; figures; para 146,163,169; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 5,15:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the capability comprises: a power class of the user device, mobility information of the user device, or a PRS processing capability in the inactive state or the idle state (para 118 [device attributes and/or parameters; accuracy achievable; reference locations, reference time instances, and/or trajectory; or information on power saving modes]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 6:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein at least one of [note: optional claim language requires one option]:
the positioning time window configuration comprises at least one of [note: optional claim language requires one option, a sub option in this case]: a start time of the positioning time window, a periodicity of the positioning time window, a length of the positioning time window, an offset between the start time and a start time of a paging cycle, an offset between the start time of the positioning time window and a start time of a paging occasion (PO) in the paging cycle; or an offset between the start time of the positioning time window and a start time of a paging frame (PF) in the paging cycle ([for claim rejection this option is considered]; para 136 {time-windows and/or intervals (e.g., including start time slot/instance, offset time with respect to a reference time slot, time duration, stop time…}; and see throughout the disclosure); or
the positioning time window configuration indicates a relationship between the positioning time window and a synchronization signal block (SSB)-based Measurement Time Configuration (SMTC) for the idle state or the inactive state.
Regarding claim 7:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the relationship comprises one of (note: this claim is dependent on claim 6, and refers to the ‘relationship’ option that is not considered for rejection of claim 6; thus this claim is rejected for the reasons as above in claim 6): that the positioning time window configuration and the SMTC have at least one of: the same periodicity, the same offset, or the same duration; an offset between a start time of the positioning time window and a start time of the SMTC; or an indication to indicate the PRS is received within a time period indicated by the SMTC.
Regarding claim 16:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the positioning time window configuration comprises at least one of [note: optional claim language requires one option]: a start time of the positioning time window, a periodicity of the positioning time window, a length of the positioning time window, an offset between the start time and a start time of a paging cycle, an offset between the start time of the positioning time window and a start time of a paging occasion (PO) in the paging cycle; or an offset between the start time of the positioning time window and a start time of a paging frame (PF) in the paging cycle (para 136 {time-windows and/or intervals (e.g., including start time slot/instance, offset time with respect to a reference time slot, time duration, stop time…}; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 20:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 1, and further discloses an apparatus (see figure 1a) comprising memory (fig 1a; fig 1b [130,132]), and processor (figure 1a; fig 1b [118]; and throughout), thus claim 20 is rejected with similar rationale under teachings of prior art as described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. (US 2025/0151012) in view of Rao et al. (US 2024/0365277; Rao ‘277 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that sending, with the LMF, a request message to at least one of a serving gNB or at least one neighbor gNB to configure at least one respective positioning time window configuration for the serving gNB or the at least one neighbor gNB.
However, Rao ‘277 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for position in wireless communication where sending, with the LMF, a request message to at least one of a serving gNB or at least one neighbor gNB to configure at least one respective positioning time window configuration for the serving gNB or the at least one neighbor gNB (figures 2-3 [steps 210,310]; figs 4-13; para 201,202; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Rao ‘277 in Rao in order to provide positioning for low-power connectivity state in Idle state, and/or an inactive state (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 9:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that sending, with at least one of the serving gNB or the at least one neighbor gNB, the at least one respective positioning time window configuration to the LMF.
However, Rao ‘277 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for position in wireless communication where sending, with at least one of the serving gNB or the at least one neighbor gNB, the at least one respective positioning time window configuration to the LMF (figures 2-7; fig 8 [828,830]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Rao ‘277 in Rao in order to provide positioning for low-power connectivity state in Idle state, and/or an inactive state (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claims 10, 18:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that determining, with the LMF, the positioning time window configuration to be under an assistance data configuration of each transmission/reception point (TRP) or of each PRS frequency layer.
However, Rao ‘277 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for position in wireless communication where determining, with the LMF, the positioning time window configuration to be under an assistance data configuration of each transmission/reception point (TRP) or of each PRS frequency layer (para 13 [assistance data including one or more Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) configurations, each PRS configuration]; para 445,511; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Rao ‘277 in Rao in order to provide positioning for low-power connectivity state in Idle state, and/or an inactive state (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 11:
Rao discloses all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that determining, with a location management function (LMF) of the wireless access node, the positioning time window configuration; sending, with the LMF, the positioning time window configuration to a serving gNB of the user device; and transmitting, with the serving gNB, the positioning time window configuration via broadcasting to the user device.
However, Rao ‘277 in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for position in wireless communication where determining, with a location management function (LMF) of the wireless access node, the positioning time window configuration; sending, with the LMF, the positioning time window configuration to a serving gNB of the user device; and transmitting, with the serving gNB, the positioning time window configuration via broadcasting to the user device (figures 2-7; fig 8 [822,824]; para 479; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Rao ‘277 in Rao in order to provide positioning for low-power connectivity state in Idle state, and/or an inactive state (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2024/0407046) discloses a system and method for positioning in wireless communication.
Quan et al. (US 2023/0300942) discloses a system and method for determining uplink signal location.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631