Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1A, 18B, 25A, 25B, 28E and 31A-32 are murky and the structure shown is unclear . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “draw string stop” (e.g., claims 9, 14 and 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 14, 15, 18 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 9, further clarification is required what does applicant consider “and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration”.
With respect to claims 14 and 18, same issues as discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the actuation of the trigger" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the actuation of the trigger" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 6-9 of copending Application No. 18/972,461 (“ ‘461”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 6 and 7 of ‘461 recites the limitations in the above claims 1 and 2 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier; wherein during operation of the crossbow, an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl, wherein the movement of the trigger pawl is configured to cause the string carrier to release the draw string”. Every limitations in the above claims 1 and 2 is recited in claims 1, 6 and 7 of ‘461, and thus claims 1 and 2 anticipated by claims 1, 6 and 7 of ‘461.
Claim 4 recites similar limitations as claim 8 of the ‘461.
Claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 9 of the ‘461.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/972,461 (“‘461”) in view of Darlington et al US 5,884,614 (“Darlington”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 10 and 15 of ‘461 recites the limitations in the above claims 10 namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a trigger assembly including a trigger, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”, except “ the trigger assembly including an elongate linkage”.
However, in a similar field of crossbow devices, Darlington discloses a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘461’ trigger assembly including an elongate linkage for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical arrangement in forming the crossbow’s trigger. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of ‘461 to mechanically links the trigger assembly with the string carrier means.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/972,187 (“ ‘187”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘187 recites the limitations in the above claim 1 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position” except “and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, in a similar field of crossbow devices, Rasor discloses and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when a string carrier is in a retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘187 with a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical arrangement in forming the crossbow’s trigger. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of ‘187 to mechanically links the trigger assembly with the string carrier means.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/972,187 (“ ‘187”) in view of Rasor and Darlington. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of ‘187 recites the limitations in the above claims 10 namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position” except “ and a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, Rasor discloses a trigger assembly including a trigger, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Darlington discloses a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘187 with a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/972,102 (“ ‘102”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘102 recites the limitations in the above claim 1 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position” except “and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, in a similar field of crossbow devices, Rasor discloses and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when a string carrier is in a retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘102 with a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18/972,102 (“ ‘102”) in view of Rasor and Darlington. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 of ‘102 recites the limitations in the above claims 10 namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position” except “ and a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, Rasor discloses a trigger assembly including a trigger, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Darlington discloses a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘102 with a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 of copending Application No. 18/662,841 (“ ‘841”) in view of Rasor. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 21 of ‘841 recites the limitations in the above claim 1 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration;” except “a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (a bowstring release 86 slides upon a center rail (frame 34) engages a bowstring 66, between a release configuration (e.g., Fig. 2A) and a drawn configuration (Fig. 2B))(at least paragraphs [0048]-[0056]; note also Figs. 1 and 3). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘841 with a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail and configured to selectively engage with the draw string to move the draw string between the released configuration and the drawn configuration for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated by Rasor’s suggestions “to provide a crossbow having a bowstring retraction device which is capable of repeatedly retracting the bowstring of the crossbow into firing position, by overcoming the approximately 100-200 pounds of draw force exerted by the bowstring; to provide a bowstring retraction device for a crossbow wherein the bowstring retraction device need not be removed or uncoupled before firing an arrow from the crossbow; to provide such a bowstring retraction device which does not add excessive weight or bulk to the crossbow; and to provide such a bowstring retraction device which is relatively light in weight, highly compact, easy to operate, durable, and relatively inexpensive; to provide such a bowstring retraction device that can be used to rapidly engage the bowstring in preparation for pull-back to the drawn position, and which can be used to quickly retract the bowstring to its fully-drawn position, thereby reducing the time between firing a first arrow and firing a second arrow “([0011]-[0013], [0015] and [0016]).
With respect to the trigger means, Rasor discloses a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when a string carrier is in a retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages, disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘841 with a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 35 of copending Application No. 18/662,841 (“ ‘841”) in view of Rasor and Darlington. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 35 of ‘841 recites the limitations in the above claims 10 namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration” except “a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (a bowstring release 86 slides upon a center rail (frame 34) engages a bowstring 66, between a release configuration (e.g., Fig. 2A) and a drawn configuration (Fig. 2B))(at least paragraphs [0048]-[0056]; note also Figs. 1 and 3). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘841 with a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
With respect to the trigger means, Rasor discloses a trigger assembly including a trigger, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Darlington discloses a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘841 with a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 12, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,566,042 (“‘042”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11 and 12 of ‘042 recites the limitations in the above claims 1, 4 and 4 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier; the string carrier including a string catch, the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string catch to move from the closed position to the open position to release the draw string; the trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the elongate linkage extending at least partially within the center rail and coupling the trigger to the trigger pawl.” Every limitations in the above claims 1, 4 and 7 is recited in claims 11 and 12 of ‘042, and thus claims 1, 4 and 7 anticipated by claims 11 and 12 of ‘042.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 18 and 19 of ‘042 recites the limitations in the above claims 10 namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a trigger assembly including a trigger, an elongate linkage, and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”. Every limitations in the above claim 10 is recited in claims 18 and 19 of ‘042, and thus claim 10 anticipated by claims 18 and 19 of ‘042.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No.10,254,075 (“ ‘075”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘075 recites the limitations in the above claim 1 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (equivalent to “a first string guide rigidly mounted to the first bow limb and rotatable around a first axis” of ‘075); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (equivalent to “ a second string guide rigidly mounted to the second bow limb and rotatable around a second axis” of ‘075); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position” except “and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, in a similar field of crossbow devices, Rasor discloses and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when a string carrier is in a retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘075 with a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No.10,126,088 (“ ‘088”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘088 recites the limitations in the above claim 1 , namely “ a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (equivalent to “a first string guide mounted to the first bow limb and rotatable around a first,” of ‘088); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (equivalent to “ a second string guide mounted to the second bow limb and, rotatable around a second axis,” of ‘088); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position” except “and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier”.
However, in a similar field of crossbow devices, Rasor discloses and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when a string carrier is in a retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘088 with a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”).
As per claim 1, Rasor discloses a crossbow (crossbow 20)(Figs. 1-18A; paragraphs [0046]-[0087], comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis (frame 34)(Figs. 1-3; [0049]-[0050]); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limb 50)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 52)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (cam 62)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051] and [0052]); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (cam 64)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051] and [0052]); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam (bowstring 66)(Fig. 1; [0052]), the draw string configured to move between a released configuration (Fig. 2A; [0056]) and a drawn configuration (Fig. 2B; [0056]); a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (bowstring release 86 slides upon channel 87 of rail/frame 34)(Figs. 1 and 3; [0055]) and configured to selectively engage with the draw string to move the draw string between the released configuration(Fig. 2A; [0056]) and the drawn configuration(Fig. 2B; [0056])); and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom).
As per claim 2, with respect to wherein during operation of the crossbow, an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl, wherein the movement of the trigger pawl is configured to cause the string carrier to release the draw string, note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162 (Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl causes the release of bowstring 66.
As per claim 3, with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string carrier to release the draw string, note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162 (Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl causes the release of bowstring 66.
As per claim 4, with respect to further comprising: the string carrier including a string catch, the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string catch to move from the closed position to the open position to release the draw string, note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, i.e., “string catch” (Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
As per claim 5, with respect to further comprising: the string carrier including a string catch and an actuation member operatively coupled to the string catch, the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position in response to a movement of the actuation member, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position: the trigger pawl contacts the actuation member; an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains in contact with the actuation member; and a movement of the trigger pawl causes the movement of the actuation member, note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, (“string catch”)(Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16) , upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl, causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
As per claim 6, with respect to wherein the operating position of the trigger pawl is a first operating position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the trigger pawl is configured to move between the first operating position to a second operating position in response to an actuation of the trigger, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl between the first operating position and the second operating position is configured to cause the movement of the actuation member; wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the trigger pawl is configured to move from the first operating position only in response to an actuation of the trigger, note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, (“string catch”)(Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16) , upon actuation of the trigger (26)-to-pawl (hammer 169)-to-actuation member (“sear member 180)-to , causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
As per claim 8, with respect to wherein the trigger pawl protrudes at least partially from the center rail, note Figs. 1 and 3 regarding center rail/frame 32 with lower receiver 22 to receive trigger assembly 26; trigger pawl 169 (e.g., Fig. 14) protrude partially above center rail (having channel 87; e.g., Fig. 18A) to engage sear 180 of string carrier 86.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Darlington et al US 5,884,614 (“Darlington”).
As per claim 7, Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising: the trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the elongate linkage extending at least partially within the center rail and coupling the trigger to the trigger pawl.
However, in the same field of crossbow devices, Darlington discloses a crossbow (10) comprising a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes a trigger (84), a trigger pawl (construed as arm 58)(Figs. 5 and 6; 3:9-23), and an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92) (Figs. 2-6; 3:40-4:9); the elongated linkage (92) extends within barrel 12 (i.e., “partially within the center rail”) and coupling trigger 84 to trigger pawl 58 (Figs. 5 and 6). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the elongate linkage extending at least partially within the center rail and coupling the trigger to the trigger pawl for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing known mechanical arrangement in forming the crossbow’s trigger. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of Rasor to mechanically links the trigger assembly with the string carrier means.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Islas US 2011/0308508 (“Islas”).
As per claim 9, Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration.
However, in similar field of crossbow devices, Islas discloses a crossbow (10) further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to a center rail (pylons 32 coupled to stock 12); a power cable operatively engaged with a first cam and engaged with the cable anchor (power cable/s 26 engaged with cam/s 20)(Fig. 1; [0011] and [0012]; note also Figs. 2 and 3 as the arrangement of power cable 26 to-cams 20-to-pylons 32); and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration (construed as the “maximum” traveling point that string release 34 can travels upon stock 12 towards riser 14/pylons 32, contacting drawstring (22) in the release configuration (as the release 34 at the “maximum” point at, near, riser 10/pylons 32)(Fig. 1 in conjunction to at least [0006], [0013] and [0014])). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing a known mechanical arrangement in forming the crossbow’s power stroke/energy transfer via a known cable means arrangement. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of Rasor to mechanically links the string carrier means with the power stroke/energy transfer of the cable means arrangement.
Claim(s) 10-13, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasor in view of Darlington.
As per claim 10, Rasor discloses a crossbow (crossbow 20)(Figs. 1-18A; paragraphs [0046]-[0087], comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis (frame 34)(Figs. 1-3; [0049]-[0050]); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limb 50)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 52)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (cam 62)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051] and [0052]); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (cam 64)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051] and [0052]); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam (bowstring 66)(Fig. 1; [0052]), the draw string configured to move between a released configuration (Fig. 2A; [0056]) and a drawn configuration (Fig. 2B; [0056]); a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (bowstring release 86 slides upon channel 87 of rail/frame 34)(Figs. 1 and 3; [0055]) and configured to selectively engage with the draw string to move the draw string between the released configuration(Fig. 2A; [0056]) and the drawn configuration(Fig. 2B; [0056])); and a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; note Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom).
Rasor is not specific regarding the trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage.
However, Darlington discloses a crossbow (10) comprising a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes a trigger (84), a trigger pawl (construed as arm 58)(Figs. 5 and 6; 3:9-23), and an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92) (Figs. 2-6; 3:40-4:9); the elongated linkage (92) extends within barrel 12 and coupling trigger 84 to trigger pawl 58 (Figs. 5 and 6). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
As per claim 11, with respect to further comprising: the string carrier including a string catch, the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string catch to move from the closed position to the open position to release the draw string, note Rasor’s Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, i.e., “string catch” (Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
As per claim 12, with respect further comprising: the string carrier including a string catch and an actuation member operatively coupled to the string catch, the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position in response to a movement of the actuation member, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position: the trigger pawl contacts the actuation member; an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains in contact with the actuation member; and a movement of the trigger pawl causes the movement of the actuation member, note Rasor’s Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, (“string catch”)(Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl, causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
As per claim 13, with respect to wherein the operating position of the trigger pawl is a first operating position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the trigger pawl is configured to move between the first operating position to a second operating position in response to an actuation of the trigger, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl between the first operating position and the second operating position is configured to cause the movement of the actuation member; wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the trigger pawl is configured to move from the first operating position only in response to an actuation of the trigger, note Rasor’s Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, (“string catch”)(Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16) , upon actuation of the trigger (26)-to-pawl (hammer 169)-to-actuation member (“sear member 180)-to , causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
As per claim 15, with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, the actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string carrier to release the draw string, note Rasor’s Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162 (Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl causes the release of bowstring 66.
As per claim 16, with respect to wherein the trigger pawl protrudes at least partially from the center rail, note Rasor’s Figs. 1 and 3 regarding center rail/frame 32 with lower receiver 22 to receive trigger assembly 26; trigger pawl 169 (e.g., Fig. 14) protrude partially above center rail (having channel 87; e.g., Fig. 18A) to engage sear 180 of string carrier 86.
As per claim 17, Rasor discloses a crossbow (crossbow 20)(Figs. 1-18A; paragraphs [0046]-[0087], comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis (frame 34)(Figs. 1-3; [0049]-[0050]); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limb 50)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 52)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (cam 62)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051] and [0052]); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (cam 64)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051] and [0052]); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam (bowstring 66)(Fig. 1; [0052]), the draw string configured to move between a released configuration (Fig. 2A; [0056]) and a drawn configuration (Fig. 2B; [0056]); a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (bowstring release 86 slides upon channel 87 of rail/frame 34)(Figs. 1 and 3; [0055]) and configured to selectively engage with the draw string to move the draw string between the released configuration(Fig. 2A; [0056]) and the drawn configuration(Fig. 2B; [0056])) the string carrier including a string catch and an actuation member operatively coupled with the string catch; the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position in response to a movement of the actuation member, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position (Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, (“string catch”)(Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl, causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom); and a trigger assembly including a trigger, and a trigger pawl, wherein an actuation of the trigger causes a movement of the trigger pawl; wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the trigger pawl is (i) engaged with the actuation member of the string carrier when the string carrier is in the retracted position and (ii) disengaged from the actuation member when the string carrier is not in the retracted position (a trigger assembly includes a trigger 26 and a trigger pawl (construed as hammer 169); Figs. 1, 3, 4 and 14 in conjunction to at least [0047], [0048], and [0070]; Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162, (“string catch”)(Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl, causes the release of bowstring 66 (note for example Fig. 18A as the bowstring 66 is at the drawn configuration, as bowstring hook 162 in the close position; or Fig. 14, as the bowstring hook 162 in the open position, to release the bowstring therefrom).
Rasor is not specific regarding the trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage.
However, Darlington discloses a crossbow (10) comprising a trigger assembly including an elongate linkage (trigger mechanism 26 includes a trigger (84), a trigger pawl (construed as arm 58)(Figs. 5 and 6; 3:9-23), and an elongate linkage (trigger linkage 92) (Figs. 2-6; 3:40-4:9); the elongated linkage (92) extends within barrel 12 and coupling trigger 84 to trigger pawl 58 (Figs. 5 and 6). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s trigger assembly including an elongate linkage, the trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger via the elongate linkage for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
As per claim 19, with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, the actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the actuation member of the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the movement of the actuation member, note Rasor’s Figs. 13-18 in conjunction to [0068]-[0076] regarding the operation of the crossbow, as a string carrier (bowstring release 86; [0055]-[0056]) to engages/disengages the trigger pawl (hammer 169) while firing an arrow/projectile therefrom; bowstring hook 162 (Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A), upon actuation of the trigger-to-pawl causes the release of bowstring 66; see Figs. 14-16 , 18 and 18A) and sear member 180 (“an actuation member”)(Figs. 14-16) , upon actuation of the trigger (26)-to-pawl (hammer 169)-to-actuation member (“sear member 180)-to , causes the release of bowstring 66.
As per claim 20, with respect to wherein the trigger pawl protrudes at least partially from the center rail, note Rasor’s Figs. 1 and 3 regarding center rail/frame 32 with lower receiver 22 to receive trigger assembly 26; trigger pawl 169 (e.g., Fig. 14) protrude partially above center rail (having channel 87; e.g., Fig. 18A) to engage sear 180 of string carrier 86.
Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasor and Darlington as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Islas.
As per claim 14, Rasor-Darlington is not specific regarding further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration.
However, Islas discloses a crossbow (10) further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to a center rail (pylons 32 coupled to stock 12); a power cable operatively engaged with a first cam and engaged with the cable anchor (power cable/s 26 engaged with cam/s 20)(Fig. 1; [0011] and [0012]; note also Figs. 2 and 3 as the arrangement of power cable 26 to-cams 20-to-pylons 32); and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration (construed as the “maximum” traveling point that string release 34 can travels upon stock 12 towards riser 14/pylons 32, contacting drawstring (22) in the release configuration (as the release 34 at the “maximum” point at, near, riser 10/pylons 32)(Fig. 1 in conjunction to at least [0006], [0013] and [0014])). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor-Darlington further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
As per claim 18, Rasor-Darlington is not specific regarding further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration.
However, Islas discloses a crossbow (10) further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to a center rail (pylons 32 coupled to stock 12); a power cable operatively engaged with a first cam and engaged with the cable anchor (power cable/s 26 engaged with cam/s 20)(Fig. 1; [0011] and [0012]; note also Figs. 2 and 3 as the arrangement of power cable 26 to-cams 20-to-pylons 32); and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration (construed as the “maximum” traveling point that string release 34 can travels upon stock 12 towards riser 14/pylons 32, contacting drawstring (22) in the release configuration (as the release 34 at the “maximum” point at, near, riser 10/pylons 32)(Fig. 1 in conjunction to at least [0006], [0013] and [0014])). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor-Darlington’s further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Conclusion
/A.A.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3711 9/25/2026 /JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711