DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 12/7/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 2023116779471 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 3 does not appear to show a second rim where reference number 44 is pointing to.
Fig. 11 appears to have a reference number 92 where there should be a 98.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “62” has been used to designate both a connecting portion and a straw base.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "32" and "28" have both been used to designate a straw connector portion.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "108a/b" and "108/110" have both been used to designate L-shaped openings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 66, 108b, 110, 122b, 128b. Please note – parts that are not shown in the figures should not have reference numbers.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: L40.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bae having a first extended tab must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0027] states that the bottom surface is shown in Fig. 8, however the bottom surface is actually shown in Fig. 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 currently states “…at least one or more projections are provided on an outer surface of the connector…” This is confusing because claim 5 depends from claim 1 which claims that the first straw and the second straw both have connectors. For the purposes of further consideration, the claim is being interpreted as stating “..at least one or more projections are provided on an outer surface of the connector of the first straw…” For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as the Examiner believes the claim was intended to be written. Claim 17 has the same language and is being interpreted the same way. Further correction/clarification is required.
Claim 13 currently states “A lid connectable to a drinking vessel, comprising: a body having a bottom lid, a top lid portion, a first straw and a second straw wherein the bottom lid portion has…” The “bottom lid portion” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “A lid connectable to a drinking vessel, comprising: a body having a bottom lid portion, a top lid portion, a first straw and a second straw wherein the bottom lid portion has…” For purposes of further examination, the claim is being interpreted as the Examiner believes the claim was intended to be written. Further correction/clarification is required.
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 states “The lid of claim 1, further comprising: a drinking vessel for holding a fluid.” and claim 24 states “The lid of claim 13, further comprising: a drinking vessel for holding a fluid.” This is improper as a drinking vessel does not further limit the structure of the lids. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-18, 20, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jacob (US 12384613).
Regarding Claim 1
Jacob teaches a lid (below – Fig. 3 and 10) connectable to a drinking vessel, comprising: a bottom lid portion (108) having a top, a bottom and a sidewall defining an interior space having a straw connector portion (1302); a top lid portion (114) connected to the bottom lid portion, the top lid portion having a top surface, a bottom surface and an opening (116) having a passageway extending therebetween; a first straw (302) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (314) that removably connects the first straw to the straw connector portion of the bottom lid portion; and a second straw (112) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (410) that removably connects the second straw to the opening of the top lid portion (Col. 4, Ln. 54 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
Regarding Claim 2
Jacob teaches the straw connector portion (1302) has a top, a bottom and a passageway extending therebetween such that the straw connector portion extends a distance from the bottom of the bottom lid portion below the bottom lid portion, as can be seen in Fig. 10 above.
Regarding Claim 3
Jacob teaches the straw connector portion (1302) has a sidewall wherein at least one or more L-shaped openings (1310/1304) are formed in the sidewall, as can be seen in Fig. 13 below (Col. 8, Ln. 42-62).
Regarding Claim 4
Jacob teaches the connector (314) of the first straw is sized and configured to mate with the straw connector portion (1302), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 5
Jacob teaches at least one or more projections (1308) are provided on an outer surface of the connector (314_ of the first straw such that the at least one or more projections is inserted into a corresponding at least one or more L-shaped openings (1310/1304) (Col. 8, Ln. 42-62).
Regarding Claim 6
Jacob teaches the passageway of the opening is sized and configured for receiving the second straw, as can be seen in Fig. 10 above.
Regarding Claim 8
Jacob teaches the connector of the second straw has a base and a first extended tab positioned on the base, the first extended tab extends a distance from an outer wall of the second straw, as can be seen below in an expanded partial view of Fig. 10.
[AltContent: textbox (tab)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (base)][AltContent: ]
Regarding Claim 12
Jacob teaches a drinking vessel (104) for holding a fluid.
Regarding Claim 13
Jacob teaches a lid connectable to a drinking vessel, comprising: a body having a bottom lid portion (108), a top lid portion (114), a first straw (302) and a second straw (112) wherein the bottom lid portion has a top, a bottom and a sidewall defining an interior space having a straw connector portion (1302); a top lid portion (114) connected to the bottom lid portion, the top lid portion having a top surface, a bottom surface and an opening (116) having a passageway extending therebetween; a first straw (302) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (314) that removably connects the first straw to the straw connector portion of the bottom lid portion; and a second straw (112) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (410) that removably connects the second straw to the opening of the top lid portion (Col. 4, Ln. 54 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
Regarding Claim 14
Jacob teaches the straw connector portion (1302) has a top, a bottom and a passageway extending therebetween such that the straw connector portion extends a distance from the bottom of the bottom lid portion below the bottom lid portion, as can be seen in Fig. 10 above.
Regarding Claim 15
Jacob teaches the straw connector portion (1302) has a sidewall wherein at least one or more L-shaped openings (1310/1304) are formed in the sidewall, as can be seen in Fig. 13 above (Col. 8, Ln. 42-62).
Regarding Claim 16
Jacob teaches the connector (314) of the first straw is sized and configured to mate with the straw connector portion (1302), as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 17
Jacob teaches at least one or more projections (1308) are provided on an outer surface of the connector (314_ of the first straw such that the at least one or more projections is inserted into a corresponding at least one or more L-shaped openings (1310/1304) (Col. 8, Ln. 42-62).
Regarding Claim 18
Jacob teaches the passageway of the opening is sized and configured for receiving the second straw, as can be seen in Fig. 10 above.
Regarding Claim 20
Jacob teaches the connector of the second straw has a base and a first extended tab positioned on the base, the first extended tab extends a distance from an outer wall of the second straw, as can be seen above in the expanded partial view of Fig. 10.
Regarding Claim 24
Jacob teaches a drinking vessel (104) for holding a fluid.
Regarding Claim 25
Jacob teaches a tumbler, comprising: a drinking vessel (104) having a fluid; and a lid connected to the drinking vessel, the lid, comprising: a bottom lid portion (108) having a top, a bottom and a sidewall defining an interior space having a straw connector portion (1302); a top lid portion (114) connected to the bottom lid portion, the top lid portion having a top surface, a bottom surface and an opening (116) having a passageway extending therebetween; a first straw (302) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (314) that removably connects the first straw to the straw connector portion of the bottom lid portion; and a second straw (112) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (410) that removably connects the second straw to the opening of the top lid portion (Col. 4, Ln. 54 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 12, 13, 18-20, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 5265757).
Regarding Claim 1
Wu teaches a lid connectable to a drinking vessel (below – Fig. 1 and 2), comprising: a bottom lid portion (2) having a top, a bottom and a sidewall defining an interior space having a straw connector portion (shown below); a top lid portion (4) connected to the bottom lid portion, the top lid portion having a top surface, a bottom surface and an opening (41) having a passageway extending therebetween; a first straw (213) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector that removably connects the first straw to the straw connector portion of the bottom lid portion; and a second straw (3) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (31) that removably connects the second straw to the opening of the top lid portion, as can be seen in the figures below (Col. 1, Ln. 63 – Col. 2, Ln. 38).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Straw connector portion)]
Regarding Claim 6
Wu teaches the passageway of the opening is sized and configured for receiving the second straw (3), as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claim 7
Wu teaches the passageway is internally threaded (42).
Regarding Claim 8
Wu teaches the connector of the second straw has a base (shown below) and a first extended tab (31) positioned on the base, the first extended tab extends a distance from an outer wall of the second straw, as can be seen below in an expanded partial view of Fig. 1.
[AltContent: textbox (base)][AltContent: ]
Regarding Claim 12
Wu teaches a drinking vessel (1) for holding a fluid.
Regarding Claim 13
Wu teaches a lid connectable to a drinking vessel (Fig. 1 and 2), comprising: a body having a bottom lid portion (2), a top lid portion (4), a first straw (213) and a second straw (3) wherein the bottom lid portion (2) has a top, a bottom and a sidewall defining an interior space having a straw connector portion (shown below); a top lid portion (4) connected to the bottom lid portion, the top lid portion having a top surface, a bottom surface and an opening (41) having a passageway extending therebetween; a first straw (213) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector that removably connects the first straw to the straw connector portion of the bottom lid portion; and a second straw (3) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (31) that removably connects the second straw to the opening of the top lid portion, as can be seen in the figures above (Col. 1, Ln. 63 – Col. 2, Ln. 38).
Regarding Claim 18
Wu teaches the passageway of the opening is sized and configured for receiving the second straw (3), as can be seen in Fig. 2 above.
Regarding Claim 19
Wu teaches the passageway is internally threaded (42).
Regarding Claim 20
Wu teaches the connector of the second straw has a base (shown above) and a first extended tab (31) positioned on the base, the first extended tab extends a distance from an outer wall of the second straw, as can be seen above in the expanded partial view of Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 24
Wu teaches a drinking vessel (1) for holding a fluid.
Regarding Claim 25
Wu teaches a tumbler (Fig. 1 and 2), comprising: a drinking vessel (1) having a fluid; and a lid connected to the drinking vessel, the lid, comprising: a bottom lid portion (2) having a top, a bottom and a sidewall defining an interior space having a straw connector portion (shown below); a top lid portion (4) connected to the bottom lid portion, the top lid portion having a top surface, a bottom surface and an opening (41) having a passageway extending therebetween; a first straw (213) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector that removably connects the first straw to the straw connector portion of the bottom lid portion; and a second straw (3) having a first end, a second end, a passageway therebetween and a connector (31) that removably connects the second straw to the opening of the top lid portion, as can be seen in the figures above (Col. 1, Ln. 63 – Col. 2, Ln. 38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 9 and 21: Closest subject matter – Jacob and Wu (cited above) – teaches a majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention. However, the closest prior art does not teach a collar is configured to mate with the base being positioned about the base, the collar having a slot for receiving the first extending tab when the collar mates with the base.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733