DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18972175 filed 12/06/2024 is a Continuation of PCT/CN2023/098057, filed 06/02/2023 claims foreign priority to 202210655655.7, filed 06/10/2022.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 06 December 2024. Claims 1-40 have been presented in the application, of which claims 1-20 are cancelled, and claims 21-40 are new. Accordingly, pending claims 21-40 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 01/17/2025, 10/09/2025, 10/24/2025, 06/15/2026 and 08/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 2021/0127442) in view of Yang (US 2025/0254590).
Regarding claim 21, Tang discloses method applied to a terminal device (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device), the method comprising:
receiving first indication information from a first network device (terminal device receives first indication information from a first network device, [0112], line 1), wherein the first indication information indicates to the terminal device to initiate access to a target cell of a second network device based on access indication information from the second network device (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes another network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2);
receiving the access indication information from the second network device (The second network device may determine by default that the terminal device has a capability of supporting an MA PDU session. At this time, the second network device may determine whether the PDU session supports the MA. Further, after the terminal device sends the first information to the first network device and the first network device sends a session creation request to the second terminal device, the second network device may send, through the first network device, the second information including the first indication information to the terminal device; thus is seen as receiving the MA indication information (access indication information) from the second network device, [0118], lines 1-7); and
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information (initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information, [0236], lines 1-3)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 22, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises:
receiving the access indication information within the first duration.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises (The event attribute information can be, for example, a time duration of occurrence of the target result event, or a cumulative number of times of occurrence of the target result event, or pre-configured event priority information corresponding to the target result event, etc., which is not limited here, [0177], lines 1-3):
receiving the access indication information within the first duration (The event attribute information or the like meeting the requirements may be, for example, that a duration ratio of the time duration relative to the reference time range is greater than a ratio threshold, or the accumulated number of times of occurrence conforms to a number condition, or the event priority information of the target result event meets a priority condition, which is not limited here. Initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information [0178], lines 1-4, [0236], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises: receiving the access indication information within the first duration of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 23, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises:
receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises (The event attribute information can be, for example, a time duration of occurrence of the target result event, or a cumulative number of times of occurrence of the target result event, or pre-configured event priority information corresponding to the target result event, etc., which is not limited here, [0177], lines 1-3):
receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device (counting threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 and the average time interval threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 minutes. During the mobility management process, when the target result event occurs for the first time, the timer is controlled to start timing, and in response to the 10th target result event, the timer is controlled to stop (disconnecting) timing to obtain the total elapsed time of the 10 target result events (for example, 60 minutes), and then a division operation is performed based on the total elapsed time and the counting threshold to obtain the average time interval between two adjacent target result events as 6 minutes. Since this average time interval is less than the preset average time interval threshold, it can be determined that measurement reporting or handover is triggered at this time, [0190], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises: receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method), wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises cell information, the cell information indicates the target cell, and the terminal device receives the access indication information using the target cell (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes a network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 25, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information comprises:
initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information after disconnecting a connection to the first network device.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information comprises (initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information, [0236], lines 1-3):
initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information after disconnecting a connection to the first network device (counting threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 and the average time interval threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 minutes. During the mobility management process, when the target result event occurs for the first time, the timer is controlled to start timing, and in response to the 10th target result event, the timer is controlled to stop (disconnecting) timing to obtain the total elapsed time of the 10 target result events (for example, 60 minutes), and then a division operation is performed based on the total elapsed time and the counting threshold to obtain the average time interval between two adjacent target result events as 6 minutes. Since this average time interval is less than the preset average time interval threshold, it can be determined that measurement reporting or handover is triggered at this time, [0190], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information comprises: initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information after disconnecting a connection to the first network device of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 26, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the access indication information comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information comprises a first time interval, and the first time interval indicates to the terminal device to initiate the access to the target cell after the first time interval since the terminal device receives the access indication information.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein the access indication information comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information comprises a first time interval, and the first time interval indicates to the terminal device to initiate the access to the target cell after the first time interval since the terminal device receives the access indication information (measurement reporting or handover is triggered according to the target result event, the counting threshold, and the timer, the timer can be started and the total elapsed time for the number of times of occurrence of the target result event to reach the counting threshold can be determined, and if the elapsed time is within the timing period of the timer, the measurement reporting or handover is triggered. Alternatively, an average time interval between two adjacent target result events can be determined based on the timer and the counting threshold, and then the measurement reporting or handover is triggered based on the average time interval and the counting threshold, [0188], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein the access indication information comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information comprises a first time interval, and the first time interval indicates to the terminal device to initiate the access to the target cell after the first time interval since the terminal device receives the access indication information of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 27, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method), further comprising:
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of receiving trigger rule information from the first network device, wherein the trigger rule information indicates to the terminal device not to initiate the access to the target cell before a first time, and the first time is indicated by the first network device; and
initiating the access to the target cell after the first time when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises:
a signal quality of a source cell is less than a preset threshold, or the source cell stops a service.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of receiving trigger rule information from the first network device, wherein the trigger rule information indicates to the terminal device not to initiate the access to the target cell before a first time, and the first time is indicated by the first network device (measurement reporting or handover is triggered according to the target result event, the counting threshold, and the timer, the timer can be started and the total elapsed time for the number of times of occurrence of the target result event to reach the counting threshold can be determined, and if the elapsed time is within the timing period of the timer, the measurement reporting or handover is triggered. Alternatively, an average time interval between two adjacent target result events can be determined based on the timer and the counting threshold, and then the measurement reporting or handover is triggered based on the average time interval and the counting threshold, [0188], lines 1-6); and
initiating the access to the target cell after the first time when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises (initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information, [0236], lines 1-3):
a signal quality of a source cell is less than a preset threshold, or the source cell stops a service (if a specified type of signal on the beam to be measured is measured, the beam measurement result may be, for example, a signal quality, signal strength, or other results of the specified type of signal, if a channel corresponding to the specified type of signal on the beam to be measured is measured, the beam measurement result may be a channel quality or other results, which is not limited here, [0079], lines 2-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of receiving trigger rule information from the first network device, wherein the trigger rule information indicates to the terminal device not to initiate the access to the target cell before a first time, and the first time is indicated by the first network device; and initiating the access to the target cell after the first time when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises: a signal quality of a source cell is less than a preset threshold, or the source cell stops a service of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Tang discloses method (fig. 2, method), further comprising:
after accessing the second network device, reserving a first part configuration of a media access control (MAC) layer, and deleting a second part configuration of the MAC layer (The second network device may determine by default that the terminal device has a capability of supporting an MA PDU session. At this time, the second network device may determine whether the PDU session supports the MA. Further, after the terminal device sends the first information to the first network device and the first network device sends a session creation request to the second terminal device, the second network device may send, through the first network device, the second information including the first indication information to the terminal device; thus is seen as receiving the MA indication information (access indication information) from the second network device, [0118], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 29, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device), comprising:
one or more processors to run instructions, wherein running the instructions enables the apparatus to (storage medium is located in a memory, and the processor reads information in the memory and completes the actions of the methods in combination with hardware, [0234], lines 12-14):
receive first indication information from a first network device (terminal device receives first indication information from a first network device, [0112], line 1), wherein the first indication information indicates to the apparatus to initiate access to a target cell of a second network device based on access indication information from the second network device (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes another network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2);
receive the access indication information from the second network device (The second network device may determine by default that the terminal device has a capability of supporting an MA PDU session. At this time, the second network device may determine whether the PDU session supports the MA. Further, after the terminal device sends the first information to the first network device and the first network device sends a session creation request to the second terminal device, the second network device may send, through the first network device, the second information including the first indication information to the terminal device; thus is seen as receiving the MA indication information (access indication information) from the second network device, [0118], lines 1-7); and
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of initiate the access to the target cell based on the access indication information.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of initiate the access to the target cell based on the access indication information (initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information, [0236], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of initiate the access to the target cell based on the access indication information of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 30, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises:
receiving the access indication information within the first duration.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises (The event attribute information can be, for example, a time duration of occurrence of the target result event, or a cumulative number of times of occurrence of the target result event, or pre-configured event priority information corresponding to the target result event, etc., which is not limited here, [0177], lines 1-3):
receiving the access indication information within the first duration (The event attribute information or the like meeting the requirements may be, for example, that a duration ratio of the time duration relative to the reference time range is greater than a ratio threshold, or the accumulated number of times of occurrence conforms to a number condition, or the event priority information of the target result event meets a priority condition, which is not limited here. Initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information [0178], lines 1-4, [0236], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises: receiving the access indication information within the first duration of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 31, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises:
receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises (The event attribute information can be, for example, a time duration of occurrence of the target result event, or a cumulative number of times of occurrence of the target result event, or pre-configured event priority information corresponding to the target result event, etc., which is not limited here, [0177], lines 1-3):
receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device (counting threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 and the average time interval threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 minutes. During the mobility management process, when the target result event occurs for the first time, the timer is controlled to start timing, and in response to the 10th target result event, the timer is controlled to stop (disconnecting) timing to obtain the total elapsed time of the 10 target result events (for example, 60 minutes), and then a division operation is performed based on the total elapsed time and the counting threshold to obtain the average time interval between two adjacent target result events as 6 minutes. Since this average time interval is less than the preset average time interval threshold, it can be determined that measurement reporting or handover is triggered at this time, [0190], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises: receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 32, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device), wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises cell information, the cell information indicates the target cell, and the apparatus receives the access indication information using the target cell (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes a network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 33, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device), wherein initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information comprises:
initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information after disconnecting a connection to the first network device (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes a network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 34, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the access indication information comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information comprises a first time interval, and the first time interval indicates to the terminal device to initiate the access to the target cell after the first time interval since the terminal device receives the access indication information.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein the access indication information comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information comprises a first time interval, and the first time interval indicates to the terminal device to initiate the access to the target cell after the first time interval since the terminal device receives the access indication information (measurement reporting or handover is triggered according to the target result event, the counting threshold, and the timer, the timer can be started and the total elapsed time for the number of times of occurrence of the target result event to reach the counting threshold can be determined, and if the elapsed time is within the timing period of the timer, the measurement reporting or handover is triggered. Alternatively, an average time interval between two adjacent target result events can be determined based on the timer and the counting threshold, and then the measurement reporting or handover is triggered based on the average time interval and the counting threshold, [0188], lines 1-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein the access indication information comprises fourth indication information, the fourth indication information comprises a first time interval, and the first time interval indicates to the terminal device to initiate the access to the target cell after the first time interval since the terminal device receives the access indication information of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 35, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device), wherein the apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device) is further caused to:
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of receive trigger rule information from the first network device, wherein the trigger rule information indicates to the apparatus not to initiate the access to the target cell before a first time, and the first time is indicated by the first network device; and
initiate the access to the target cell after the first time when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises:
a signal quality of a source cell is less than a preset threshold, or the source cell stops a service.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of receive trigger rule information from the first network device, wherein the trigger rule information indicates to the apparatus not to initiate the access to the target cell before a first time, and the first time is indicated by the first network device (measurement reporting or handover is triggered according to the target result event, the counting threshold, and the timer, the timer can be started and the total elapsed time for the number of times of occurrence of the target result event to reach the counting threshold can be determined, and if the elapsed time is within the timing period of the timer, the measurement reporting or handover is triggered. Alternatively, an average time interval between two adjacent target result events can be determined based on the timer and the counting threshold, and then the measurement reporting or handover is triggered based on the average time interval and the counting threshold, [0188], lines 1-6); and
initiate the access to the target cell after the first time when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises (initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information, [0236], lines 1-3):
a signal quality of a source cell is less than a preset threshold, or the source cell stops a service (if a specified type of signal on the beam to be measured is measured, the beam measurement result may be, for example, a signal quality, signal strength, or other results of the specified type of signal, if a channel corresponding to the specified type of signal on the beam to be measured is measured, the beam measurement result may be a channel quality or other results, which is not limited here, [0079], lines 2-6).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of receive trigger rule information from the first network device, wherein the trigger rule information indicates to the apparatus not to initiate the access to the target cell before a first time, and the first time is indicated by the first network device; and initiate the access to the target cell after the first time when determining that a preset condition is met, wherein the preset condition comprises: a signal quality of a source cell is less than a preset threshold, or the source cell stops a service of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 36, Tang discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device), wherein the apparatus (fig. 1 item 120, terminal device) is further caused to:
after accessing the second network device, reserve a first part configuration of a media access control (MAC) layer, and deleting a second part configuration of the MAC layer (The second network device may determine by default that the terminal device has a capability of supporting an MA PDU session. At this time, the second network device may determine whether the PDU session supports the MA. Further, after the terminal device sends the first information to the first network device and the first network device sends a session creation request to the second terminal device, the second network device may send, through the first network device, the second information including the first indication information to the terminal device; thus is seen as receiving the MA indication information (access indication information) from the second network device, [0118], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 37, Tang discloses non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer, the non-transitory computer readable medium is applied to a first communication apparatus, and the instructions comprise instructions for (storage medium is located in a memory, and the processor reads information in the memory and completes the actions of the methods in combination with hardware, [0234], lines 12-14):
receiving first indication information from a first network device (terminal device receives first indication information from a first network device, [0112], line 1), wherein the first indication information indicates to the first communication apparatus to initiate access to a target cell of a second network device based on access indication information from the second network device (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes another network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2);
receiving the access indication information from the second network device (The second network device may determine by default that the terminal device has a capability of supporting an MA PDU session. At this time, the second network device may determine whether the PDU session supports the MA. Further, after the terminal device sends the first information to the first network device and the first network device sends a session creation request to the second terminal device, the second network device may send, through the first network device, the second information including the first indication information to the terminal device; thus is seen as receiving the MA indication information (access indication information) from the second network device, [0118], lines 1-7); and
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information (initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information, [0236], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of initiating the access to the target cell based on the access indication information of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 38, Tang discloses non-transitory computer readable medium (storage medium is located in a memory, and the processor reads information in the memory and completes the actions of the methods in combination with hardware, [0234], lines 12-14),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises:
receiving the access indication information within the first duration.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises (The event attribute information can be, for example, a time duration of occurrence of the target result event, or a cumulative number of times of occurrence of the target result event, or pre-configured event priority information corresponding to the target result event, etc., which is not limited here, [0177], lines 1-3):
receiving the access indication information within the first duration (The event attribute information or the like meeting the requirements may be, for example, that a duration ratio of the time duration relative to the reference time range is greater than a ratio threshold, or the accumulated number of times of occurrence conforms to a number condition, or the event priority information of the target result event meets a priority condition, which is not limited here. Initiate handover to a target cell to which the target cell identifier belongs according to the access information in the fourth configuration information; thus is seen as initiating the handover (access) to the target cell according to the access information [0178], lines 1-4, [0236], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises a first duration, and receiving the access indication information from the second network device comprises: receiving the access indication information within the first duration of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 39, Tang discloses non-transitory computer readable medium (storage medium is located in a memory, and the processor reads information in the memory and completes the actions of the methods in combination with hardware, [0234], lines 12-14),
Tang does not specifically disclose concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises:
receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device.
However, Yang specifically teaches concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises (The event attribute information can be, for example, a time duration of occurrence of the target result event, or a cumulative number of times of occurrence of the target result event, or pre-configured event priority information corresponding to the target result event, etc., which is not limited here, [0177], lines 1-3):
receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device (counting threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 and the average time interval threshold can be pre-configured to be 10 minutes. During the mobility management process, when the target result event occurs for the first time, the timer is controlled to start timing, and in response to the 10th target result event, the timer is controlled to stop (disconnecting) timing to obtain the total elapsed time of the 10 target result events (for example, 60 minutes), and then a division operation is performed based on the total elapsed time and the counting threshold to obtain the average time interval between two adjacent target result events as 6 minutes. Since this average time interval is less than the preset average time interval threshold, it can be determined that measurement reporting or handover is triggered at this time, [0190], lines 1-7).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Tang with concept of wherein receiving the access indication information within the first duration comprises: receiving the access indication information within the first duration after disconnecting a connection to the first network device of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobility management method and apparatus, (Yang, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 40, Tang discloses non-transitory computer readable medium (storage medium is located in a memory, and the processor reads information in the memory and completes the actions of the methods in combination with hardware, [0234], lines 12-14), wherein the first indication information is comprised in access rule information, the access rule information further comprises cell information, the cell information indicates the target cell, and the first communication apparatus receives the access indication information using the target cell (The first indication information is used for indicating whether a PDU session corresponding to the PDN connection supports multi-access (MA). The PDU session, if supporting the MA, is able to implement data transmission (access) with a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network and a non-3GPP network simultaneously; thus is seen as the first indication information indicates to the terminal device that it is allowed to initiate access another network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), based on the access indication information from another network which includes a network device (second network device). The first indication information indicates to the terminal device that the PDU session will support access to the 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) network which includes a target cell of a network device (second network device) and a non-3GPP network simultaneously which also includes a target cell of a network device (second network device), [0112], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681