Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,452,019 (“Fomin et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0014605 (“Hook”).
Regarding claim 1, Fomin et al. discloses a method comprising:
detecting acoustic waves with a plurality of microphone capsules (microphone sensors M1/M2 form the microphone array);
converting the detected acoustic waves into acoustic signals (M1/M2 produce input signals IN1/IN2 in response to sound);
transmitting the acoustic signals from the plurality of microphone capsules to a processor with a data connection (signals from the microphone sensors are supplied to the beamforming/filtering circuit);
generating a plurality of beams from the acoustic signals with the processor using a plurality of beamformers, where each beam of the plurality of beams comprises an ideal on-axis response and a unique off-axis null angle (fixed beamformer plus a plurality of filtering circuits 310, desired speaker is at 0 degrees. The fixed filters generate different polar patterns having nulls at different directions while preserving the desired speaker); and
processing the plurality of beams to generate a plurality of first audio samples, between the plurality of beams by selecting, for each first sampling period, the beam corresponding to a first audio sample having a lowest energy level. (digital beamforming/filtering, selection circuit evaluates signal energy and selects the least energy output).
Fomin et al. does not specify “where each first audio sample of the plurality of first audio samples comprises a portion of a beam of the plurality of beams occupying one first sampling period of a plurality of first sampling periods, and each first audio sample is associated with a corresponding energy level, and outputting an audio signal that crossfades, using a first crossfading function”. In the same field of endeavor, Hook discloses a processing microphone signal and performs differential beamforming ([0010]). An output audio signal can be generated by switching or cross fading between the beamformed signal and a noise-reduced signal such that a contribution of the noise-reduced signal is increased and a contribution of the beamformed signal is decreased ([0058]).
The gap between Fomin et al. and the claimed invention is the way the selected signal is transitioned into the output. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to instantaneous selection among microphone derived signals can be implemented using a crossfader that fades in the newly selected lower-magnitude signal while fading out the previously selected signal. The modification would prevent abrupt transitions.
Claim 10 recites a system comprising: a plurality of microphone capsules configured to detect acoustic waves and convert the detected acoustic waves into acoustic signals (Formin, microphone sensors M1/M2 form the microphone array); a signal processor configured to execute computer readable code, the computer readable code causing the signal processor to perform the method of claim 1. Claim 10 is rejected in view of Formin et al. and Hook for the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1.
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory Computer Readable Medium (CRM) storing instructions for performing operations (Formin, the computing system is any well-known personal computer or server configurable to execute instructions to transmit commands), the operations comprising the method of claim 1. Claim 20 is rejected in view of Formin et al. and Hook for the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Formin et al. in view of Hook discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: phase aligning and time aligning the plurality of beams with a look angle directed to an acoustic source of interest that generates at least some of the acoustic waves, based upon one or more of: a distance between a pair of microphone capsules of the plurality of microphone capsules and a type of the plurality of beamformers (Formin, FIGS. 1A-1B depict a microphone array 100 having two microphone sensors M1 and M2 positioned along a longitudinal axis 101 and separated by a distance d, path length difference produces a phase difference used for directional processing).
Regarding claim 13, Formin et al. in view of Hook discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the computer readable code further causes the signal processor to phase align and time align the plurality of beams with a look angle directed to an acoustic source of interest that generates at least some of the acoustic waves, where the signal processor phase aligns and the time aligns the plurality of beams based upon a distance between a pair of microphone capsules of the plurality of microphone capsules (Formin, FIGS. 1A-1B depict a microphone array 100 having two microphone sensors M1 and M2 positioned along a longitudinal axis 101 and separated by a distance d, path length difference produces a phase difference used for directional processing).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Formin et al. in view of Hook discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of beamformers comprise a plurality of differential beamformers (Formin, because a single signal is represented digitally using several bits, several nodes must be simultaneously charged and discharged for each operation, whether a computation or a memory access. In analog, a signal is represented by a voltage on one or at most two nodes if a single-ended or differential scheme is used respectively).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Formin et al. in view of Hook discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the plurality of beamformers comprise at least one delay and sum beamformer (Formin, the sound signals from the desired speaker and unwanted interferers are typically emitted from different locations relative to the microphone, the spatial separation between the speaker and interferers can be exploited to separate the desired sound signal from the unwanted interferer sound signal using spatial filters such as a delay-and-sum beamformer or a Griffiths-Jim adaptive beamformer).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,452,019 (“Fomin et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0014605 (“Hook”) and further in view of EP 3764358 (“Ruwisch”).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Formin et al. in view of Hook does not specify the method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting disturbances caused by wind buffeting with the microphone capsules.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Ruwisch discloses a method for attenuating disturbances caused by wind-buffeting in the microphones forming the microphone array. The method includes generating a directional output signal comprises steps for reducing disturbances caused by wind buffeting and in particular in the situation of a microphone array in which only one or at least not all microphones are affected by the turbulent airflow of the wind.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to account for wind disturbances, because wind is a well-known non-acoustic disturbance of microphone arrays. Incorporating the wind detection would allow the system of Formin et al. to identify the disturbance conditions.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,452,019 (“Fomin et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0014605 (“Hook”) and further in view of WO 1997/046048 (“Chu”).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Formin et al. in view of Hook does not specify the method of claim 1, further comprising: applying a plurality of bandpass filters to the acoustic signals prior to generating the plurality of beams.
In a similar field of endeavor, Chu discloses a microphone array and a plurality of microphone signals. A filter bank 310 comprising several bandpass filters splits up each full band microphone signal into a plurality of narrow band signals. The narrow band signals typically have a bandwidth less than one third of their center frequency. The output of each bandpass filter also may be down sampled. In the example of Fig. 3, several bandpass filters 310 are shown for each of the two microphone channels.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Formin et al. in view of Hook with the sub-band processing architecture from Chu to the directional beamforming because it would allow the directional responses to be optimized for the frequency dependent characteristics of the microphone array while retaining the direction/null and energy selection functionality.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,452,019 (“Fomin et al.”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0014605 (“Hook”) and further in view of US Publication No. 2013/0010982 (“Elko et al.”).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Formin et al. in view of Hook does not specify the method of claim 1, further comprising: applying a first order postfilter to the plurality of beams prior to generating the first audio samples.
In a similar field of endeavor, REFERENCE discloses the adaptive beamformer of elements 1504-1514, first-order low-pass filter 1516 applies a low-pass filter to difference signal 1515 to compensate for the ω high-pass that is imparted by the cardioid beamformers. The resulting filtered signal 1517 is applied to spatial-noise suppression processor 1518 ([0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the first order postfilter of REFERENCE to the beam outputs of Formin et al. in view of Hook because the post filtering provides frequence-response compensation for differential beamforming and would improve the resulting audio signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 18, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693