Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 20070072324 A) in view of Kang (KR 20250123597 A). Page numbers and paragraphs cited in this office action are made in reference to attached documents included in this office action.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Cho discloses an electronic device comprising:
a projection part, (page 10 2nd paragraph: in the image projection according to the fifth
embodiment.” …etc)
a user interface, (page 10 4th paragraph: “The setting processing operation for allowing
the use of color-related information in calculating the color conversion information is appropriately added when setting the menu related to image projection during the menu setting operatio for the function setting of the mobile communication terminal and can be set by the user’s operation”);
an illumination sensor, (page 10 5th paragraph: “In operation S940, illumination
information of the surrounding environment is obtained through an illumination sensor.”)
and at least one processor configured to (controller 160: page 4 4th paragraph: “The
image projector 150 is a device configured to perform function of a general image projection in a mobile communication terminal, and may include a light source, a transparent display device, a lens, and the like. The image projection 150 performs a function of projecting the projected image output signal received from the controller 160 to the outside”.)
identify whether an external light exists around the electronic device based on an
illumination value sensed by the illumination sensor, (page 10 5th paragraph: “In operation S930, it is checked whether the illumination related information is present when calculating the color conversion information.”);
control the projection part to project an image including a plurality of color patches on a
projection surface, (page 8 3rd paragraph: note a test image comprising different color regions may be projected “Referring to the example of the test image required for the operation of Fig. 4 with reference to Fig5, the test image represents a test image including a plurality of colors and may have a structure in which various colors are displayed on one image. For example, as illustrated in Fig. 5, the test image may include a plurality of test color regions appropriately provided, that is, a first region 510 of a first color, a second region 520 of a second color”…etc.)
perform color calibration of an output image based on whether an external light exists
around the electronic device and a color of a color patch among the plurality of color patches, (Page 10 5th paragraph discloses performing color adjustment considering whether external light exists: “In operation S930, it is checked whether the illumination related information is present when calculating the color conversion information.”)
and control the projection part to project the output image for which the color
calibration has been performed, (see page 11 1st paragraph disclosing projecting an output of color adjustment: “In operation S970, color conversion information (color conversion equation) is calculated using the obtained information. In this case, for example, when the ambient light is high, the image projected on the screen is blurred in contrast to the image, and therefore the color is darker..etc”.).
However, a patch selected through the user interface is not disclosed. In a similar field
of endeavor, Kang discloses a patch selected through the user interface, (page 4 3rd paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to correct projection images manually thereby allowing freedom on the selection of the final image output color and/or quality.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Cho discloses a camera, wherein the at least one processor
is configured to: control the camera to obtain an image including the projection surface, and identify colors of the plurality of color patches based on colors of the projection surface included in the obtained image, (page 6 3rd paragraph: “In addition, the operation of acquiring color conversion information in operation S230 may be performed by acquiring a color of a screen area on which an image projected through a camera and determining appropriate color conversion information using the obtained color information”. …etc. page 8 3rd paragraph: note a test image comprising different color regions may be projected “Referring to the example of the test image required for the operation of Fig. 4 with reference to Fig5, the test image represents a test image including a plurality of colors and may have a structure in which various colors are displayed on one image. For example, as illustrated in Fig. 5, the test image may include a plurality of test color regions appropriately provided, that is, a first region 510 of a first color, a second region 520 of a second color”… etc.).
Claim(s) 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Kang in view of Arai (Pub 20130307866).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the combination discloses claims 1 and 11. However,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a user input through the user interface selecting a color patch among a plurality of first color patches, obtain a plurality of second color patches by adjusting a chroma of the color of the selected color patch among the plurality of first color patches, control the projection part to project an image including the plurality of second color patches on the projection surface, and based on receiving a user input through the user interface selecting a color patch among the plurality of second color patches, perform the color calibration of the output image based on the color of the selected color patch among the plurality of second color patches is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Arai discloses a UI display unit providing a user interface used to input a plurality of adjustment values required to color-match display colors of a plurality of tones on a display device with corresponding target colors of a plurality of tones
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: based on receiving a user input through the user interface selecting a color patch among a plurality of first color patches, obtain a plurality of second color patches by adjusting a chroma of the color of the selected color patch among the plurality of first color patches, control the projection part to project an image including the plurality of second color patches on the projection surface, and based on receiving a user input through the user interface selecting a color patch among the plurality of second color patches, perform the color calibration of the output image based on the color of the selected color patch among the plurality of second color patches, (see correction parameter calculation processing based on user input and determining chromacity values based on selected color patch, Para. [0097-0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Arai for the benefit of generating a uniform color display and allowing a user to visually modify colors according to a user’s liking.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422