DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s priority to provisional application 62/456069 filed on February 7th, 2017 has been accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on March 28th, 2025has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4 and 12-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims3-4, and 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,579,073. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '073 patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite for reciting the limitation of “optionally an interface plate.” The term “optionally” makes it unclear whether this is a limiting feature or not. The claim will be interpreted as if the term “optionally” was removed. Additionally, claim 1 is rendered indefinite for reciting “wherein in use” in L6. This term makes it unclear if infringement occurs when the device is made or when it is used. The claim will be interpreted as if the claim reads “configured such that.”
Claim 2 is rendered indefinite for reciting the limitation of “the optional interface plate.” The term “optional” makes it unclear whether this is a limiting feature or not. The claim will be treated as if the term “optional” were removed.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. See MPEP 2173.05(r).
Claim 12 is rendered indefinite for reciting “in use” in L7. This term makes it unclear if infringement occurs when the device is made or when it is used. The claim will be interpreted as if the term was removed.
Claim 18 is rendered indefinite for reciting “in use” in L8. This term makes it unclear if infringement occurs when the device is made or when it is used. The claim will be interpreted as if the term was removed.
Claims 3-10, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US 20180298324 A1), hereafter Takeda.
With regards to claim 1, Takeda discloses a particle sorter cartridge (Abstract), comprising: a microfluidic chip (flow path 4) including a sensing or detector region (35); and a body defining a plurality of reservoirs therein (Fig. 2A); and an interface plate (substrate 1 also 10 in some Figures) configured to connect to the body and to the microfluidic chip; configured such that upon detection of a particle in a particle flow within the sensing or detector region, a solution flow within the microfluidic chip is diverted by application of a trigger flow to at least one of: sort and isolate the detected particle from the particle flow (P122, L22-27).
With regards to claim 2 Takeda discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein one or more of the microfluidic chip, the cartridge body, and the interface plate are disposable (P0113).
With regards to claim 3, Takeda discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the plurality of reservoirs includes a sample reservoir (11), a control fluid reservoir (12), and a trigger reservoir (16; also labeled 3A in some figures).
With regards to claim 4 Takeda discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the trigger flow comprises fluid from the trigger reservoir (P0126, L9-10).
With regards to claim 6, Takeda discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses an optical detector that is operably coupled to the detector region (P0121, L9-12).
With regards to claim 9, Takeda discloses all the elements of claim 6 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses , wherein the detection of a particle in the detector region is based upon a signal generated by the optical detector (P0121, L9-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sohn et al. (US 20020140414), hereafter Sohn.
With regards to claim 5 Takeda discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses an optical detector (P0121, L9-12). Takeda does not disclose an electrical detector.
However, Sohn discloses an electrical detector that is operably coupled to the detector region (P033). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to add the electrical detector as disclosed by Sohn to the device disclosed by Takeda to enable the separation of multiple types of particles with one device, for example if the particles being separated could not be separated using optical properties, but had different electrical impendences.
With regards to claim 7, Takeda and Sohn discloses all the elements of claim 5 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses an optical detector (P0121, L9-12).
With regards to claim 10, Takeda and Sohn discloses all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the detection of a particle in the detector region is based upon at least one of: a signal generated by the electrical detector; and a signal generated by the optical detector (P0121, L9-12).
With regards to claim 8, Takeda and Sohn discloses all the elements of claim 5 as outlined above. Takeda does not disclose wherein the detection of a particle in the detector region is based upon a signal generated by the electrical detector.
However, Sohn discloses wherein the detection of a particle in the detector region is based upon a signal generated by the electrical detector (P0033). Therefore, the combination of Takeda and Sohn disclose this feature.
Claims 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Nielsen et al. (US 8894946), hereafter Nielsen.
With regards to claim 12, Takeda discloses a particle sorting system (Abstract), comprising: a cartridge assembly (Abstract), the cartridge assembly including: a microfluidic chip (flow path 4) including a sensing or detector region (35) ; and a body (Fig. 2A) defining a plurality of reservoirs therein (11, 12, 16, 16 is also designated by 3A in some figures and is used interchangeably in the specification); the cartridge assembly configured such that, upon detection of a particle in a particle flow within the detector region, a solution flow within the microfluidic chip is diverted by application of a trigger flow to at least one of: sort and isolate the detected particle from the particle flow (P122, L22-27).Takeda does not disclose a base plate, the base plate configured to receive and connect to the cartridge assembly.
However, Nielsen discloses a base plate (port 102), the base plate configured to receive and connect to the cartridge assembly (Col. 8, L2-3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to add a base plate as disclosed by Nielsen to the system as disclosed by Takeda, in order to couple the cartridge to a control system.
With regards to claim 13, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 12 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein one or more of the microfluidic chip and the cartridge body are disposable (P0113).
With regards to claim 14, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 12 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the plurality of reservoirs includes a sample reservoir (11), a control fluid reservoir (12), and a trigger reservoir (16, also designated as 3A in some figures used interchangeably in specification).
With regards to claim 15, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 14 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the trigger flow comprises fluid from the trigger reservoir (P0126, L9-10).
With regards to claim 16-17, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 15 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the trigger flow is gated by valving (92) and wherein the valving is external to the cartridge assembly (Fig. 10).
With regards to claim 18, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 14 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the cartridge assembly is further configured such that upon application of a trigger flow, a solution flow within the microfluidic chip is diverted by application of a carrier flow to result in least one of: sorting the detected particle and isolate the detected particle from the particle flow (P122, L22-27).
With regards to claim 19, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 18 as outlined above. Takeda further discloses wherein the carrier flow comprises fluid from the control fluid reservoir (P0070, L7).
With regards to claim 20, Takeda and Nielsen disclose all the elements of claim 19 as outlined above. Takeda does not directly disclose wherein the carrier flow is gated by valving.
However, Takeda discloses multiple reservoirs controlled by valves
(92, 93). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to add a valve to the control fluid reservoir, in order to control the flow rate of the carrier, thus decreasing costs. This is considered a simple duplication of parts that are being used in the traditional manner (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B)
Examiner’s Comment
The examiner is unable to interpret claim 11 because of the 112 (b) issue outlined above. Therefore, even though a prior art rejection has not been made, patentability could not be determined.
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653