DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s representative’s comments in regard to overlooking the preliminary claim amendments filed on 01/03/2025. Therefore, a second Non-Final Rejection Office action is issued herein.
The drawings were received on 09/02/2025. These drawings are unacceptable. Firstly, Examiner notes that Applicant’s representative indicated filing amendments to figures 2B and 2C, however, the amended drawings are not shown to be filed. Rather amendments corresponding to figures 6-8 are only shown filed.
The most recent claim and specification objections have been withdrawn in light of the current amendments. However, a new claim objection is presented herein.
The most recent 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in light of the current amendment. However, a new 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection has been presented herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
The “C” section depicted in figure 2C should be a dashed line.
Figures 2B, 2C, 2D has a section identifier (e.g., B-B), which should use Roman or Arabic numerals. See 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3).
The illustration in figures 6-8 as shown in the replacement drawings dated 09/02/2025 are too small and compacted, making it not legible. The line quality of figures 6-8, when zoomed in, illustrate an inconsistent line quality. 37 CFR 1.84 (Standards for Drawings), section L (Character of lines, numbers, and letters) states: “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined”. The drawings should be viewed in the USPTO’s patent center in order to see this problem.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities and should likely read as follows: “[...] [[a]]an upper tubing coupled onto the upper end of the stator...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 (and, similarly at least claims 6 and 8) recite “a centralizer.” The claims are confusing as one skilled in art would question as to which of the preceding centralizers the instant centralizer is referring to. For examination purposes, the Examiner will give its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the instant specification. Due to claims 5-6 and 8 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), the corresponding dependent claims are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wold et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0061099 A1; herein “Wold”).
In regard to claim 2, Wold discloses: A wellbore structure (as shown in figure 1) comprising:
a progressive cavity (PC) pump (comprising 16) including a rotor, a stator (i.e., outer tubing/housing comprising 16, 72) in which the rotor moves (paragraph [0025] and figure 1), the stator including an upper end (i.e., uphole end of at least 16), a lower end (i.e., downhole end of at least 16) and an outer diameter (i.e., outer diameter of at least 16 — figure 1), and a centralizer (10 — paragraphs [0025-0026, 0040]) on the stator (figure 1), the centralizer including centralizing blocks (36) that are outwardly biased and resiliently collapsible (paragraphs [0030-0032, 0040]), the centralizing blocks defining a centralizer outer diameter (i.e., outer diameter of blocks 36) greater than the stator outer diameter (figures 1-3 and 5).
In regard to claim 4, Wold discloses: A method for reducing downhole vibration damage of a progressive cavity (PC) pump (16) in a well (paragraphs [0007, 0025, 0028] | Examiner notes that the preamble is being read as intended use and is given little patentable weight — see MPEP 2111.02. Furthermore, given that Wold teaches the structure required by the claim, it is deemed that Wold has the capability of “addressing”/reducing/dealing with downhole vibrational damages/issues with PC pumps), the method comprising:
installing a wellbore centralizer (10 — paragraphs [0025-0026, 0040]) on a stator (i.e., outer tubing/housing comprising 16, 72) of the PC pump (paragraph [0025] and figure 1), wherein the wellbore centralizer includes centralizing blocks (36) that are outwardly biased and resiliently collapsible (paragraphs [0030-0032, 0040]), the centralizing blocks defining a centralizer outer diameter (i.e., outer diameter of blocks 36) greater than a stator outer diameter (i.e., outer diameter of at least 16 | see figures 1-3 and 5);
moving the PC pump and the wellbore centralizer into the well including compressing the centralizer blocks radially inwardly to be constrained within an inner diameter of the well (i.e., inner diameter of 12 — paragraphs [0025-0026, 0028-0033] and figures 1-2);
moving the PC pump into position within the well (paragraphs [0025-0026, 0028-0033, 0040-0041] and figures 1-2); and
operating the PC pump while the wellbore centralizer resists deflection of the stator (paragraphs [0040-0041]).
In regard to claim 10, Wold further discloses: wherein installing the wellbore centralizer on the stator of the PC pump includes positioning a body (18) of the centralizer to encircle the stator outer diameter (figure 1).
In regard to claim 11, Wold further discloses: wherein installing the wellbore centralizer on the stator of the PC pump includes driving set screws (22, 58) through the centralizer and against the stator to prevent the centralizer from sliding up or down along the stator (paragraphs [0026, 0029] and figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wold et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0061099 A1; herein “Wold”) in view of Jogdand et al. (US Publication Number 2025/0111110 A1; herein “Jogdand”).
In regard to claim 3, Wold discloses claim 2 above. Wold further discloses an upper string (i.e., unlabeled tubing string uphole of the upper end of the “stator” — figure 1) coupled onto the upper end of the stator and a lower tubing string (i.e., unlabeled tubing string downhole of the upper end of the “stator” for in-line installation — figure 1 and paragraph [0026]) coupled onto the lower end of the stator.
However, Wold is silent in regard to: [[a]]an upper tubing coupled onto the upper end of the stator; a centralizer coupled onto the upper tubing; a lower tubing coupled onto the lower end of the stator; and a lower centralizer coupled onto the lower tubing.
Nonetheless, Jogdand teaches a downhole assembly (as shown in figure 1), in which “[...] a plurality of centralizers 40 can be coupled to the casing string 20 to maintain the annular gap within the annular space 42 between the casing string 20 and the wellbore 12” (paragraph [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the sections of tubing strings, as taught by Wold, to include centralizers throughout the length thereof, as taught by Jogdand, to allow for maintaining the annular gap within the annular space between the casing string and the wellbore (paragraph [0056]).
In regard to claim 6, Wold further discloses: wherein the centralizer includes a body (18) with an open inner diameter and the body encircles the outer diameter of the stator (figure 1).
In regard to claim 7, Wold further discloses: wherein the body includes a plurality of body pieces (i.e., arbitrary pieces making up “10”) connected together encircling and against the stator (figure 1).
In regard to claim 8, Wold further discloses: set screws (22, 58) coupled to the centralizer and driven against the stator to prevent the centralizer from sliding up or down along the stator (paragraphs [0026, 0029] and figure 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wold et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0061099 A1; herein “Wold”) in view of Jogdand et al. (US Publication Number 2025/0111110 A1; herein “Jogdand”) in further view of Barbour (US Publication Number 2016/0108912 A1; herein “Barbour”).
In regard to claim 5, Wold in view of Jogdand disclose the preceding claim(s).
However, Wold is silent in regard to: a tag bar at or just below the lower end of the stator and the centralizer is spaced from the tag bar.
Nonetheless, Barbour teaches a downhole progressive cavity pump assembly (abstract and paragraphs [0021, 0047]), similar to that of Wold. Barbour teaches having a tag bar (58) on the lower (i.e., downhole) end of the stator (i.e., housing of pump) bottom the pump assembly (paragraph [0047] and figures 5).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the progressive cavity pump assembly, as taught by Wold, to include for a tag bar at the lower end of the stator, as taught by Barbour, to block further progression of first and second rotors as they are inserted in the tubing string (paragraph [0047] — Barbour).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wold et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0061099 A1; herein “Wold”) in view of Barbour (US Publication Number 2016/0108912 A1; herein “Barbour”).
In regard to claim 9, Wold discloses the preceding claim.
However, Wold is silent in regard to: wherein installing the wellbore centralizer on the stator of the PC pump includes spacing the centralizer from a tag bar that is coupled at or below the lower end of the stator.
Nonetheless, Barbour teaches a downhole progressive cavity pump assembly (abstract and paragraphs [0021, 0047]), similar to that of Wold. Barbour teaches having a tag bar (58) on the lower (i.e., downhole) end of the stator (i.e., housing of pump) bottom the pump assembly (paragraph [0047] and figures 5).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the progressive cavity pump assembly, as taught by Wold, to include for a tag bar at the lower end of the stator, as taught by Barbour (which would require the tag bar to be spaced apart from the centralizer of Wold), to block further progression of first and second rotors as they are inserted in the tubing string (paragraph [0047] — Barbour).
Conclusion
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676