DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/6/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2026/0202644).
Regarding Claim 1, Han discloses a camera module comprising:
a lens assembly comprising a plurality of lenses along a first optical path (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1 and Table 2); and
an image sensor (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, image sensor 301, Paragraph 0195) comprising an image surface and provided at one side of the lens assembly,
wherein the plurality of lenses comprise:
a first lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, first lens 601 has a ring shape, Paragraph 0193) comprising a first hole through a center thereof;
a second lens adjacent to an image-side surface of the first lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, second lens 602, Paragraph 0193), the second lens configured as a reflective type lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5), and comprising a second hole through a center thereof (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, second lens 602 has a ring shape, Paragraph 0193);
a third lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, third lens 603, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to the first lens and configured as a reflective type lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of third lens 603 has a reflective surface S7, Paragraph 0162, lines 7-9);
a fourth lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, fourth lens 604, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to an image-side surface of the third lens; and
a fifth lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, fifth lens 605, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to an image-side surface of the fourth lens, and
wherein the camera module satisfies
4>f/TTL>0.5 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 2, F=13.984, TTL=6.9, F/TTL = 13.984/6.900 = 2.03, the condition is met) and
0.75>D1/CA>0.4 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1, semi aperture of L1 = 5.301, semi aperture of L3 = 3.000, aperture of L1 (CA) = 10.602, aperture of L3 (D1) = 6.000, D1/CA = 6.000/10.602 = 0.57, for surface S6, alternatively, for surface S7, 4.4/10.602 = 0.42, the condition is met for both cases),
where f corresponds to a total effective focal length of the lens assembly, TTL corresponds to a total track length from an object-side surface of the first lens to the image surface of the image sensor, CA corresponds to an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens, and D1 corresponds to a diameter of the first hole.
Regarding Claim 2, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the camera module further satisfies 0.75>D2/CA>0.4 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1, semi aperture of L1 = 5.301, aperture of L1 (CA) = 10.602, Table 2, L2 hole size = 6.000, D2/CA = 6.000/10.602 = 0.57, the condition is met), where D2 corresponds a diameter of the second hole.
Regarding Claim 11, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein an image-side surface of the second lens is a reflective surface (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5), and wherein an object-side surface of the third lens is a reflective surface (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5).
Regarding Claim 13, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein at least one of the second lens and the third lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, third lens 603, Paragraph 0156, lines 10-13) is an aspherical lens.
Regarding Claim 14, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the first lens is integral with the third lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, first lens 601 and third lens 603, Paragraph 0149, lines 3-4).
Regarding Claim 15, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein further comprising an optic device between the fifth lens and the image sensor (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, filter 400 is between fifth lens 605 and the image sensor 301).
Regarding Claim 16, Han discloses a lens assembly comprising a plurality of lenses along a first optical path (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1 and Table 2); the plurality of lenses comprising:
a first lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, first lens 601 has a ring shape, Paragraph 0193) comprising a first hole through a center thereof;
a second lens adjacent to an image-side surface of the first lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, second lens 602, Paragraph 0193), the second lens configured as a reflective type lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5), and comprising a second hole through a center thereof (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, second lens 602 has a ring shape, Paragraph 0193);
a third lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, third lens 603, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to the first lens and configured as a reflective type lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of third lens 603 has a reflective surface S7, Paragraph 0162, lines 7-9);
a fourth lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, fourth lens 604, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to an image-side surface of the third lens; and
a fifth lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, fifth lens 605, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to an image-side surface of the fourth lens, and
wherein the lens assembly satisfies
4>f/TTL>0.5 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 2, F=13.984, TTL=6.9, F/TTL = 13.984/6.900 = 2.03, the condition is met),
0.75>D1/CA>0.4 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1, semi aperture of L1 = 5.301, semi aperture of L3 = 3.000, aperture of L1 (CA) = 10.602, aperture of L3 (D1) = 6.000, D1/CA = 6.000/10.602 = 0.57, for surface S6, alternatively, for surface S7, 4.4/10.602 = 0.42, the condition is met for both cases), and
0.75>D2/CA>0.4 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1, semi aperture of L1 = 5.301, aperture of L1 (CA) = 10.602, Table 2, L2 hole size = 6.000, D2/CA = 6.000/10.602 = 0.57, the condition is met),
where f corresponds to a total effective focal length of the lens assembly, TTL corresponds to a total track length from an object-side surface of the first lens to a focus of the lens assembly, CA corresponds to an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens, D1 corresponds to a diameter of the first hole, and D2 corresponds to a diameter of the second hole.
Regarding Claim 17, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein an image-side surface of the second lens has a convex shape (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, surface S4 is convex with respect to the image-side),
an image-side surface of the second lens is a reflective surface (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5), and wherein an object-side surface of the third lens is a reflective surface (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5), having a concave shape (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, surface S7 is concave with respect to the object-side).
Regarding Claim 18, Han discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein at least one of the second lens and the third lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, third lens 603, Paragraph 0156, lines 10-13) is an aspherical lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 10), in view of Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 7), further in view of Lu (US 10,133,043).
Regarding Claim 3, Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 10) discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose further comprising a housing accommodating the lens assembly and the image sensor, wherein the housing comprises: a cylindrical portion configured to support the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens; and a hood portion comprising a protruded portion that protrudes from an inner side surface of the cylindrical portion.
However, Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 7), in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a housing accommodating the lens assembly and the image sensor, wherein the housing comprises: a cylindrical portion configured to support the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens (Fig. 7, lens barrel 100 being cylindrical and supporting lenses 1-5), for the purpose of protecting a lens and retaining the lenses at their correct position.
Additionally, Lu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and a hood portion comprising a protruded portion that protrudes from an inner side surface of the cylindrical portion (Fig. 1, the inner portion of the mount 118 near the optical axis 180, Col. 10, lines 1-18), for the purpose of reducing unwanted light rays that would reduce the quality of the image captured.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the camera module of Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 10) with the further comprising a housing accommodating the lens assembly and the image sensor, wherein the housing comprises: a cylindrical portion configured to support the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens, of Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 7) with a hood portion comprising a protruded portion that protrudes from an inner side surface of the cylindrical portion, of Lu, for the purpose of protecting a lens and retaining the lenses at their correct position while providing a reduction of unwanted light rays that would reduce the quality of the image captured.
Regarding Claim 9, Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 10) in view of Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 7), further in view of Lu (US 10,133,043) discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the hood portion is integral with the cylindrical portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the hood portion is integral with the cylindrical portion, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed into two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 US 164 (1893).
Regarding Claim 10, Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 10) in view of Han et al. (US 2026/0202644, Fig. 7), further in view of Lu (US 10,133,043) discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the camera module further satisfies TTL×0.9>HL>TTL×0.5, where HL denotes a length from an end of the protruded portion of the hood portion to the image surface of the image sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the camera module further satisfies TTL×0.9>HL>TTL×0.5, where HL denotes a length from an end of the protruded portion of the hood portion to the image surface of the image sensor, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited range through routine experimentation and optimization. Applicant has not disclosed that the ranges are for particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the device would possess utility using another range. (MPEP 2144.05)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2026/0202644), in view of Wei et al. (US 2021/0055510).
Regarding Claim 20, Han discloses an electronic device comprising:
a camera module (Paragraphs 0066-0067) configured to obtain an image by photographing an object (Paragraph 0105, capture an image);
wherein the camera module comprises:
a lens assembly comprising a plurality of lenses along a first optical path (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1 and Table 2); and
an image sensor (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, image sensor 301, Paragraph 0195) comprising an image surface,
wherein the plurality of lenses comprise:
a first lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, first lens 601 has a ring shape, Paragraph 0193) comprising a first hole through a center thereof;
a second lens adjacent to an image-side surface of the first lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, second lens 602, Paragraph 0193), the second lens configured as a reflective type lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of second lens 602 has a reflective surface S4, Paragraph 0162, lines 4-5), and comprising a second hole through a center thereof (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, second lens 602 has a ring shape, Paragraph 0193);
a third lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, third lens 603, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to the first lens and configured as a reflective type lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, the image side of third lens 603 has a reflective surface S7, Paragraph 0162, lines 7-9);
a fourth lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, fourth lens 604, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to an image-side surface of the third lens; and
a fifth lens (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, fifth lens 605, Paragraph 0195) adjacent to an image-side surface of the fourth lens, and
wherein the camera module satisfies
4>f/TTL>0.5 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 2, F=13.984, TTL=6.9, F/TTL = 13.984/6.900 = 2.03, the condition is met) and
0.75>D1/CA>0.4 (Fig. 10, embodiment 1, Table 1, semi aperture of L1 = 5.301, semi aperture of L3 = 3.000, aperture of L1 (CA) = 10.602, aperture of L3 (D1) = 6.000, D1/CA = 6.000/10.602 = 0.57, for surface S6, alternatively, for surface S7, 4.4/10.602 = 0.42, the condition is met for both cases),
where f corresponds to a total effective focal length of the lens assembly, TTL corresponds to a length from an object-side surface of the first lens to the image surface of the image sensor, CA corresponds to an effective diameter of the object-side surface of the first lens, and D1 corresponds to a diameter of the first hole.
Han et al. (US 2026/0202644) discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose a processor configured to control the camera module to process the image; and a memory configured to store the image.
However, Wei, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a processor configured to control the camera module to process the image; and a memory configured to store the image (Paragraph 0009, lines 1-8), for the purpose of capturing and distributing an electronic image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the electronic device of Han with a processor configured to control the camera module to process the image; and a memory configured to store the image, of Wei, for the purpose of capturing and distributing an electronic image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 4, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a camera module including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the hood portion is on a second optical path that directly connects the first lens and the fourth lens.
Specifically, with respect to claim 12, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a camera module including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the first lens has a positive refractive power, wherein the image-side surface of the first lens has a concave shape, wherein an image-side surface of the second lens has a convex shape, wherein an object-side surface of the third lens has a concave shape, wherein the fourth lens has a negative refractive power, and wherein the image-side surface of the fourth lens has a concave shape.
Specifically, with respect to claim 19, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a camera module including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising a sixth lens having a positive refractive power and adjacent to an image-side surface of the fifth lens.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lin et al. (US 2025/0291154), Hatakeyama (US 8,767,318), Hatakeyama (US 2013/0010376), Cho (US 2019/0265449), Chen et al. (US 10,877,244), Nagamatsu et al. (US 2014/0098277), Nagamatsu et al. (US 9,568,718), Vizgaitis (US 7,082,001), Vizgaitis (US 2005/0225881), Kim et al. (US 2021/0208359), Ryu (US 2014/0049841), Wantanabe (US 2021/0141240), Iizuka (US 4,666,259), Sato (US 5,331,467), Cho et al. (US 12,498,550), Cho et al. (US 2023/0075344), Dai et al. (US 2019/0187446), Nitta et al. (US 11,372,220), Nitta et al. (US 2021/0396979), Haldeman et al. (US 10,146,044), Haldeman et al. (US 2017/0242236), Tsunashima (US 6,169,637), Hatakeyama (US 8,896,938), Hatakeyama (US 2013/0010180), Uchida (US 2019/0219804), Pritchard (US 8,680,450), Pritchard (US 2011/0215190), Cho et al. (US 12,498,550), and Cho et al. (US 2023/0075344) are cited to show similar camera modules, lens assemblies, and devices but do not disclose the allowable subject matter as detailed above.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872