DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111503252 A to Fu et al.
Re-claim 1, Fu et al. disclose a truck (i.e. automobile, which covers any over the road vehicle), comprising: a plurality of wheels (see at least figure 5); a traction motor 5 (see page 1 last paragraph, the motor is used as a brake); a traction gear (such as gearing 2); a wet brake 4 (see page 4 paragraph 9 of the translation “In another specific embodiment, the brake 4 is a wet brake…”); at least one traction gearing cooling circuit (see page 4 paragraph 4 and cooling circuit illustrated in figure 5); the at least one traction motor drives at least one of the plurality of wheels via the at least one traction gear, the at least one traction gearing cooling circuit cools the traction gear; and the at least one traction gear cool circuit provides cooling to the wet brake.
Re-claim 2, a braking chamber of the at least one wet brake is filled with a first hydraulic fluid and the truck comprises a heat exchanger (see figure 5 and page 5 paragraph 4, the phrase “a cooler” is interpreted as a heat exchanger) for cooling the first hydraulic fluid, the heat exchanger is connected to the at least one traction gear cooling circuit.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,618,068 to Hodowanec et al.
Re-claim 16, Hodowanec et al. discloses a wet brake 10 comprising a housing 66; a braking chamber with a plurality of brake discs 42/46 arranged therein, the braking chamber is filled with a first hydraulic fluid (i.e. the oil within the chamber and in reservoir 50), a heat exchanger for cooling the first hydraulic fluid is at least one out of arranged in and integrated into the housing (such as fins 82 or pipes 38/40 that remove heat from the disc region to the reservoir region).
Re-claim 17, an outer surface of the housing 66 is provided with cooling fins 82.
Re-claim 18, the first hydraulic fluid (such as the fluid within the reservoir) is encapsulated in the housing of the wet brake and is cooled inside the housing, the first hydraulic fluid is moved inside the housing via a rotation of brake discs arranged inside the housing and without use of a pump.
Re-claim 19, cooling channels (as part of 38/40) of the heat exchanger are integrated into the housing.
Re-claim 20, the heat exchanger (such as condenser ends 38B and 40B) is arranged at a sump (such as reservoir 50) of the wet brake and arranged inside the housing 66, the sump holds at least part of the first hydraulic fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. in view of Hodowanec et al.
Re-claim 3, Fu et al. teach a coolant heat exchanger as part of the traction cooling circuit (see figure 5 and cooler element illustrated as a box with lines). However, Fu et al. fail to teach this structure in combination with the additional heat exchanger for cooling the first hydraulic fluid. The combination of Fu et al. with the teachings of Hodowanec et al. would have provided the additional heat exchanger, thus improving the overall cooling capacity. The combination would have resulted in a heat exchanger (piping 38/40 of Hodowanec et al.) for cooling the first hydraulic fluid and a traction cooling circuit with a pump and coolant heat exchanger (as shown in figure 5 of Fu et al.). As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognized the benefits of combining the teachings of Hodowanec et al. regarding the integral heat exchanger with the wet brake of Fu et al., thus increasing the overall cooling capacity of the system.
Re-claims 4 and 6, the wet brake 4 of Fu et al. comprises a housing (such as at least cover 7). However, Fu et al. fail to teach the heat exchanger at least one of arranged in the housing and integrated into the housing, or a sump holding hydraulic fluid.
Hodowanec et al. teach a wet brake 10 having an integrated heat exchanger (such as cooling fins 82 or pipes 38/40) and a sump 50 holding hydraulic fluid. This arrangement removes heat from the wet brake discs, and provides an overall more compact arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the wet brake of Fu et al. with an internal or integrated heat exchanger unit and sump as shown in Hodowanec et al., thus providing a more compact brake structure.
Re-claim 5, Fu et al. illustrate cooling channels (such as at least 701, figure 2) integrated into the housing, the cooling channels are connected to the traction gear cooling circuit (see figure 5).
Re-claims 7, 8 and 11, Fu et al. teach a truck (i.e. automobile, which covers any over the road vehicle), comprising: a plurality of wheels (see at least figure 5); a traction motor 5 (see page 1 last paragraph, the motor is used as a brake); a traction gear (such as gearing 2); a wet brake 4 (see page 4 paragraph 9 of the translation “In another specific embodiment, the brake 4 is a wet brake…”) with a first hydraulic fluid, the wet brake comprises a housing (see figure 2), a heat exchanger (i.e. cooler) is provided for cooling the hydraulic fluid. However, Fu et al. fail to teach the heat exchanger at least one of arranged in the housing and integrated into the housing, a sump holding hydraulic fluid, or the fluid encapsulated within the housing and cooled in the housing.
Hodowanec et al. teach a wet brake 10 having an integrated heat exchanger (such as cooling fins 82 or pipes 38/40), a sump 50 holding hydraulic fluid and the fluid cooled (using pipes 38/40) within the housing. This arrangement removes heat from the wet brake discs, and provides an overall more compact arrangement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the wet brake of Fu et al. with an internal or integrated heat exchanger unit and sump as shown in Hodowanec et al., thus providing a more compact brake structure.
Re-claim 9, the first hydraulic fluid is moved inside the housing via rotation of the brake discs 401 without the use of a pump.
Re-claim 10, cooling channels 701 are integrated into the housing, the cooling channels are part of the heat exchanger.
Re-claim 15, Hodowanec et al. teach a wet brake housing having cooling fins 82. This provides an additional cooling function. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the wet brake housing of Fu et al. with cooling fins as taught by Hodowanec et al., thus providing at least a passive cooling structure for the wet brake.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. in view of US 2015/0081150 A1 to Wolff et al.
Re-claims 12-14, Fu et al. is silent regarding the specific type of truck, such as a dump truck with a dump body pivotably attached to a frame, a battery pack for the traction motor, or the truck being a diesel-electric truck comprising a combustion engine. It is noted that these features are known in the art, see for instance the teachings of Wolff et al., in which a dump truck is provided with a traction motor 18, a battery 136 for providing power to the motor, and the use of a diesel-electric engine (paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the wet brake and traction motor system of Fu et al. with a dump truck having a diesel-electric engine and battery storage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cline, Howell, Midolo, Inoue, Grubauer and Wimmer each teach a cooling circuit as part of a wet brake or clutch system.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 October 21, 2026