DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 10/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the claims do not impose undue burden since the inventions include overlapping features. This is not found persuasive because there are distinct differences between the inventions that require separate search strategies and search queries. By design, the convex or concave shape of a lens element affects the properties of the light transmitted. The differences in conditions also prove a distinct difference between the two optical imaging systems since the conditions are further limitations of the lenses and their structural designs. Therefore, Inventions I and II are distinct, thus imposing a serious burden since each invention entails a unique search strategy and search query.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/23/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statements (PTO-1449) filed 12/06/2024, 05/09/2025 and 09/12/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (USP No. 8,743,477), hereinafter “Tsai”.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses an optical imaging system (see Fig. 1A) comprising: a first lens (110) having a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1A, Table 1); a second lens (120) having a refractive power (Table 1); a third lens (130) having a refractive power (Table 1); a fourth lens (140) having a refractive power (Table 1); a fifth lens (150) having a refractive power (Table 1); and a sixth lens (160) having a refractive power (Table 1), wherein the first to sixth lenses (110-160) are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis of the optical imaging system from an object side of the optical imaging system toward an imaging plane of the optical imaging system (see Fig. 1A, Table 1), the optical imaging system has a total of six lenses (see Fig. 1A, Table 1), a thickness of the second lens along the optical axis is greater than a thickness of fourth lens along the optical axis (Table 1), a radius of curvature of an object-side surface (Surface #4) of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface (Surface #7) of the third lens (Table 1), a radius of curvature of an image-side surface (Surface #5) of the second lens is greater than the radius of curvature of the image-side surface (Surface #7) of the third lens (Table 1), the radius of curvature of the image-side surface (Surface #5) of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface (Surface #13) of the sixth lens (Table 1), and the optical imaging system satisfies 0 < D45/TL < 0.2 (Table 1), where D45 is a distance along the optical axis from an image-side surface of the fourth lens to an object-side surface of the fifth lens, and TL is a distance along the optical axis from an object-side surface of the first lens to the imaging plane (Table 1: D45/TL= .00902).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai discloses wherein the object-side surface (Surface #4) of the second lens (120) is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1A, Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai discloses wherein the image-side surface (Surface #5) of the second lens (120) is concave in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1A, Table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai discloses wherein the image-side surface (Surface #7) of the third lens (130) is convex in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1A, Table 1).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai discloses wherein the object-side surface (Surface #10) of the fifth lens (250) is concave in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 2A, Table 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (USP No. 8,743,477) in view of Shinohara (USPG Pub No. 2014/0347745).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai discloses the claimed invention, but does not specify wherein the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Shinohara discloses wherein the image-side surface (Si 9) of the fourth lens is concave in a paraxial region thereof (Table 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the optical imaging system of Tsai with wherein the image-side surface of the fourth lens is concave in a paraxial region thereof of Shinohara for the purpose of enabling longitudinal chromatic aberration to be corrected more favorably (Paragraph 79).
Prior Art Citations
Huang (USP No. 9,277,152 - Table 1) is being cited herein to show an optical imaging system relevant to the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 11/6/2026