DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 06 December 2024.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 27, line 2 of the specification there is a minor typographical error. The word “signal s” should be corrected to “signals”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20220065991 A1), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses a signal processing device comprising:
processing circuitry (Zhang [0030] “The transceiver 212 includes circuitry and logic for transmitting and receiving radar signals via the antenna array 210.”) configured to
acquire a reception signal of a reflected wave from a receiver that receives the reflected wave by an object present around a mobile object (Zhang [0018] “In particular, a radar system, which is mounted to a moving platform, receives reflection signals that represent versions of a radar signal that are reflected by objects.”), and generate a range Doppler map indicating a signal strength level of the reception signal (Zhang [0037] “The raw-data-processing module 302 performs one or more operations to generate a range-Doppler-channel map 312 based on the digital beat signals 310-1 to 310-M.”, further, Zhang [0038] “The range-Doppler-channel map 312 includes amplitude and/or phase information (e.g., in-phase and quadrature components) associated with different range bins 314-1 to 314-A, Doppler bins 316-1 to 316-B, and receive channels 318-1 to 318-M”);
calculate a standard deviation of an altitude at which the object is present on a basis of the generated range Doppler map (Zhang [0034] “The height-estimation module 218 produces data for the radar-based system 202. Example types of data include … a number that represents a characteristic of the selected object 106-1 (e.g., de-noised object height 110),”, further, Zhang [0040] “Furthermore, the height-de-noising module 306 may also compensate for a determined speed of the vehicle, e.g., use a different averaging technique, add/subtract height values, change a window size or weight, or apply different standard deviations based on the vehicle speed.”.);
determine whether or not the object is present at a height at which there is a possibility of collision between the mobile object and the object on a basis of the calculated standard deviation (Zhang [0024] “In this case, the radar data from the radar system 102 indicates whether the object may be safely traveled under.”);
detect an azimuth angle of the object with respect to the mobile object on a basis of the generated range Doppler map (Zhang [0044] “The angular-beamforming module 404 receives the stationary object range-Doppler-channel map 420 and performs digital beamforming on the stationary object range-Doppler-channel map 420 to produce a range-Doppler-azimuth-elevation map 422 for the stationary Doppler bins.”), and
determine whether or not the object is present at a height at which there is the possibility of collision between the mobile object and the object only when the detected azimuth angle coincides with a traveling direction of the mobile object (Zhang [0045] “For example, the azimuth-filtering module 414 may determine a fixed set of azimuth bins that correspond to a width of the lane and use those azimuth bins to filter the range-Doppler-azimuth-elevation map 422. In some embodiments, the azimuth-filtering module 414 may determine in-lane azimuth bins for a plurality of ranges to compensate for perspective, (e.g., in-lane azimuth angles diminish as range increases from the perspective of the radar system) and use those varying azimuth bins for the filtering. … In this way, the azimuth-filtering module 414 is able to further reduce data processing loads in other modules, (e.g., elevation-filtering module 416 and height-calculation module 408) while also decoupling out of lane objects (e.g., posts that support a sign) from in-lane objects (e.g., the sign itself).”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the signal processing device according to claim 5. Zhang further discloses:
when there is a plurality of objects around the mobile object, processing circuitry specifies an object whose azimuth angle having been detected coincides with the traveling direction of the mobile object among the plurality of objects (Zhang [0045] “In this way, the azimuth-filtering module 414 is able to further reduce data processing loads in other modules, (e.g., elevation-filtering module 416 and height-calculation module 408) while also decoupling out of lane objects (e.g., posts that support a sign) from in-lane objects (e.g., the sign itself).”), and determines whether or not the specified object is present at the height at which there is the possibility of collision with the mobile object (Fig. 4 element 408 “Height calculation module”, further, Zhang [0024] “For example, the driver-assistance system 204 provides object height monitoring and generates an alert that indicates a potential collision with the selected object 106-1 that is detected by the radar system 102.” ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220065991 A1), hereinafter Zhang, in view of Ono et al. (US 20030076255 A1), hereinafter Ono.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a signal processing device, comprising [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
processing circuitry configured to (Zhang [0030] “The transceiver 212 includes circuitry and logic for transmitting and receiving radar signals via the antenna array 210.”)
acquire a reception signal of a reflected wave from a receiver that receives the reflected wave by an object present around a mobile object (Zhang [0018] “In particular, a radar system, which is mounted to a moving platform, receives reflection signals that represent versions of a radar signal that are reflected by objects.”), and generate a range Doppler map indicating a signal strength level of the reception signal (Zhang [0037] “The raw-data-processing module 302 performs one or more operations to generate a range-Doppler-channel map 312 based on the digital beat signals 310-1 to 310-M.”, further, Zhang [0038] “The range-Doppler-channel map 312 includes amplitude and/or phase information (e.g., in-phase and quadrature components) associated with different range bins 314-1 to 314-A, Doppler bins 316-1 to 316-B, and receive channels 318-1 to 318-M”);
calculate a standard deviation of an altitude at which the object is present on a basis of the generated range Doppler map (Zhang [0034] “The height-estimation module 218 produces data for the radar-based system 202. Example types of data include … a number that represents a characteristic of the selected object 106-1 (e.g., de-noised object height 110),”, further, Zhang [0040] “Furthermore, the height-de-noising module 306 may also compensate for a determined speed of the vehicle, e.g., use a different averaging technique, add/subtract height values, change a window size or weight, or apply different standard deviations based on the vehicle speed.” Here examiner notes that the application of a different standard deviation implies that one was previously calculated for the height measurements.);
determine whether or not the object is present at a height at which there is a possibility of collision between the mobile object and the object on a basis of the calculated standard deviation and the calculated range interval (Zhang [0024] “Generally, the radar-based system 202 uses radar data provided by the radar system 102 to perform a function. For example, the driver-assistance system 204 provides object height monitoring and generates an alert that indicates a potential collision with the selected object 106-1 that is detected by the radar system 102. In this case, the radar data from the radar system 102 indicates whether the object may be safely traveled under.”).
Zhang fails to disclose the limitations below. Ono discloses
calculate a range interval at which a direct wave from the object included in the reflected wave and a multipath wave from the object included in the reflected wave interfere with each other on a basis of a generated range Doppler map (Ono Fig. 5, further [0036] “When multipath reflections occur, the reception level fluctuates, and the slope over the distance when the level changes from a maximum point to a minimum point or from a minimum point to a maximum point becomes steeper.”, further, Ono [0038] “Here, the slope of the reception level from D1 to D2 was obtained, but alternatively, the maximum point and minimum point obtained at the time of the detection may be used.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ono into the invention of Zhang. Both Zhang and Ono are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicular radar systems for detecting road objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Zhang to calculate a range interval where a direct and multipath signal interfere as taught by Ono. Ono teaches the identification of two distance scales between which an interfering multipath signal is large, which could readily be applied to the range-Doppler map of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the apparatus in order to determine the presence of a large on-road stationary object (See Ono [0049]) or to account for noise from multipath environments (See Zhang [0041]) .
Regarding claim 2, Zhang in view of Ono discloses the signal processing device according to claim 1. Zhang further discloses:
the processing circuitry calculates an altitude at each of a plurality of times at which the object is present on a basis of the generated range Doppler map and calculates a standard deviation of the altitude from the altitudes at the plurality of times (Zhang [0024] “For example, the driver-assistance system 204 provides object height monitoring and generates an alert that indicates a potential collision with the selected object 106-1 that is detected by the radar system 102.” Here examiner notes that the word “monitoring” implies continuously updating the measurements of the radar device.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in view of Ono discloses the signal processing device according to claim 1. Zhang fails to disclose the limitation below. Ono discloses:
the processing circuitry calculates a range interval at which the direct wave and the multipath wave intensify each other (Ono Fig. 6, “
Δ
D
m
i
n
"
, further Ono [0046] “As shown in FIG. 6, when the reception level exhibits a plurality of maximum points or minimum points, the distance .DELTA.Dmax between the maximum points Pmax-1 and Pmax-2 or the distance .DELTA.Dmin between the minimum points Pmin-1 and Pmin-2 is obtained”) or a range interval at which the direct wave and the multipath wave weaken each other (Ono Fig. 6, “
Δ
D
m
a
x
”) as the range interval at which the direct wave and the multipath wave interfere with each other (Ono [0036] “As shown in FIG. 6, when the reception level exhibits a plurality of maximum points or minimum points, the distance .DELTA.Dmax between the maximum points Pmax-1 and Pmax-2 or the distance .DELTA.Dmin between the minimum points Pmin-1 and Pmin-2 is obtained”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ono into the invention of Zhang. Both Zhang and Ono are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicular radar systems to detect roadside objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Zhang to determine a range interval in which the multipath signal interferes with the direct signal in a constructive / destructive manner as taught by Ono. This process is inherent to the calculation performed in Ono, and would readily be applicable to the doppler map of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the apparatus in order to determine the presence of a large on-road stationary object (See Ono [0049]) or to account for noise from multipath environments (See Zhang [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a signal processing method. Zhang further discloses [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
A signal processing method comprising:
acquiring a reception signal of a reflected wave from a receiver that receives the reflected wave by an object present around a mobile object, and generating a range Doppler map indicating a signal strength level of the reception signal (Zhang [0037] “The raw-data-processing module 302 performs one or more operations to generate a range-Doppler-channel map 312 based on the digital beat signals 310-1 to 310-M.”);
calculating a standard deviation of an altitude at which the object is present on a basis of the generated range Doppler map (Zhang [0034] “The height-estimation module 218 produces data for the radar-based system 202. Example types of data include … a number that represents a characteristic of the selected object 106-1 (e.g., de-noised object height 110),”, further, Zhang [0040] “Furthermore, the height-de-noising module 306 may also compensate for a determined speed of the vehicle, e.g., use a different averaging technique, add/subtract height values, change a window size or weight, or apply different standard deviations based on the vehicle speed.” Here examiner notes that the application of a different standard deviation implies that one was previously calculated for the height measurements.);
determining whether or not the object is present at a height at which there is a possibility of collision between the mobile object and the object on a basis of the calculated standard deviation and the calculated range interval (Zhang [0024] “Generally, the radar-based system 202 uses radar data provided by the radar system 102 to perform a function. For example, the driver-assistance system 204 provides object height monitoring and generates an alert that indicates a potential collision with the selected object 106-1 that is detected by the radar system 102. In this case, the radar data from the radar system 102 indicates whether the object may be safely traveled under.”).
Zhang fails to disclose the limitations below. Ono discloses
calculating a range interval at which a direct wave from the object included in the reflected wave and a multipath wave from the object included in the reflected wave interfere with each other on a basis of a generated range Doppler map (Ono Fig. 5, further [0036] “When multipath reflections occur, the reception level fluctuates, and the slope over the distance when the level changes from a maximum point to a minimum point or from a minimum point to a maximum point becomes steeper.”, further, Ono [0038] “Here, the slope of the reception level from D1 to D2 was obtained, but alternatively, the maximum point and minimum point obtained at the time of the detection may be used.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ono into the invention of Zhang. Both Zhang and Ono are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicular radar systems for the detection of roadside objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Zhang to calculate a range interval where a direct and multipath signal interfere as taught by Ono. Ono teaches the identification of two distance scales between which an interfering multipath signal is large, which could readily be applied to the range-Doppler map of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the apparatus in order to determine the presence of a large on-road stationary object (See Ono [0049]) or to account for noise from multipath environments (See Zhang [0041]) .
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a radar device comprising [Note: what is not clearly disclosed is strike-through]:
a receiver to receive a reflected wave by an object present around a mobile object (Zhang [0028] “The radar system 102 also includes at least one antenna array 210 and at least one transceiver 212 to transmit and receive radar signals.”); and
processing circuitry configured to
acquire a reception signal of the reflected wave from the receiver (Zhang [0018] “In particular, a radar system, which is mounted to a moving platform, receives reflection signals that represent versions of a radar signal that are reflected by objects.”), and generate a range Doppler map indicating a signal strength level of the reception signal (Zhang [0037] “The raw-data-processing module 302 performs one or more operations to generate a range-Doppler-channel map 312 based on the digital beat signals 310-1 to 310-M.”, further, Zhang [0038] “The range-Doppler-channel map 312 includes amplitude and/or phase information (e.g., in-phase and quadrature components) associated with different range bins 314-1 to 314-A, Doppler bins 316-1 to 316-B, and receive channels 318-1 to 318-M”);
calculate a standard deviation of an altitude at which the object is present on a basis of the generated range Doppler map (Zhang [0034] “The height-estimation module 218 produces data for the radar-based system 202. Example types of data include … a number that represents a characteristic of the selected object 106-1 (e.g., de-noised object height 110),”, further, Zhang [0040] “Furthermore, the height-de-noising module 306 may also compensate for a determined speed of the vehicle, e.g., use a different averaging technique, add/subtract height values, change a window size or weight, or apply different standard deviations based on the vehicle speed.” Here examiner notes that the application of a different standard deviation implies that one was previously calculated for the height measurements.);
determine whether or not the object is present at a height at which there is a possibility of collision between the mobile object and the object on a basis of the calculated standard deviation and the calculated range interval (Zhang [0024] “Generally, the radar-based system 202 uses radar data provided by the radar system 102 to perform a function. For example, the driver-assistance system 204 provides object height monitoring and generates an alert that indicates a potential collision with the selected object 106-1 that is detected by the radar system 102. In this case, the radar data from the radar system 102 indicates whether the object may be safely traveled under.”).
Zhang fails to disclose the limitations below. Ono discloses
calculate a range interval at which a direct wave from the object included in the reflected wave and a multipath wave from the object included in the reflected wave interfere with each other on a basis of a generated range Doppler map; and (Ono Fig. 5, further [0036] “When multipath reflections occur, the reception level fluctuates, and the slope over the distance when the level changes from a maximum point to a minimum point or from a minimum point to a maximum point becomes steeper.”, further, Ono [0038] “Here, the slope of the reception level from D1 to D2 was obtained, but alternatively, the maximum point and minimum point obtained at the time of the detection may be used.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Ono into the invention of Zhang. Both Zhang and Ono are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose vehicular radar systems for detecting road objects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Zhang to calculate a range interval where a direct and multipath signal interfere as taught by Ono. Ono teaches the identification of two distance scales between which an interfering multipath signal is large, which could readily be applied to the range-Doppler map of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the apparatus in order to determine the presence of a large on-road stationary object (See Ono [0049]) or to account for noise from multipath environments (See Zhang [0041]) .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The references cited, alone or in combination, do not teach or make obvious the following limitation(s):
Quoted from claim 4, in combination with the claim as a whole:
“calculate a first score according to the calculated range interval, calculate a second score according to the calculated standard deviation, calculate a total index value that is a sum of the first score and the second score, and determine whether or not the object is present at the height at which there is the possibility of collision between the mobile object and the object on a basis of a comparison result between the total index value and a threshold. “
Conclusion
/T.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648