Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The invention is related to “retaining means/mechanism” rather than “a trigger assembly”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 17A, 17B, 18A, 18B, 25A, 25B, 28A, 28B, 28E, 31A and 32 are unclear and murky drawings that the indicia-to-structure is not apparent, not clear. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,753,987 (“ ‘987”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘987 recites similar limitations as above claims 1 and 2, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail and including a retaining mechanism; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a pin, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position; a release lever operatively engaged with the retaining mechanism, wherein actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the retaining mechanism to disengage the retaining mechanism from the pin”. Every limitations in the above claims 1 and 2 is recited in claim 1 of ‘987, and thus claims 1 and 2 are anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘987.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 15 of the ‘987 recites similar limitations as above claims 10 and 11, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail and including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position; a release lever operatively engaged with the hook, wherein an actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the hook to disengage the hook from the string carrier”. Every limitations in the above claims 10 and 11 is recited in claim 15 of the ‘987, and thus claims 10 and 11 are anticipated by claim 15 of the ‘987.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 of ‘987 recites similar limitations as above claim 17, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled with the center rail and including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a housing and a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”. Every limitations in the above claim 17 is recited in claim 20 of the ‘987, and thus claim 17 is anticipated by claim 20 of the ‘987.
Claims 1-2 and 17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,126,088 (“ ‘088”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘088 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail and including a retaining mechanism; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with a retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘088’s string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated by Rasor’s suggestions that such pin-to-retaining means is to ensure a proper placement of the bowstring release/string carrier while drawing the crossbow and to ensure a proper release/firing therefrom (e.g., [0073]). The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of the ‘088 to position the string carrier in an optimum drawn position as the crossbow is ready to be fired.
Claim 2 recite similar limitations as claim 6 of the ‘088.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 14 of ‘088 recites similar limitations as above claim 17, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled with the center rail and including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock(equivalent to “a retaining mechanism” of the ‘088); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a housing, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within a housing wherein a hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with a retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘088’s string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
Note: the examiner construed Rasor’ cutouts as “a hook” according to its plain and ordinary meaning. The online Merriam-Webster dictionary defines “hook” as-- a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling; something intended to attract and ensnare; anchor sense--Accordingly, Rasor’s cutouts are “curved or bent device for catching; anchor” and thus construed as the claimed hook.
Claim 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,126,088 (“ ‘088”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the ‘088 recites similar limitations as above claims 10, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail and including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (equivalent to “a retaining mechanism” of the ‘088). Every limitations in the above claim 10 is recited in claim 9 of the ‘088, and thus claim 10 is anticipated by claim 9 of the ‘088.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,254,075 (“ ‘075”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘075 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with a retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘075’s center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for the same reasons discussed above.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,077,965 (“ ‘965”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘965 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with a retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form ‘965’s center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for the same reasons discussed above.
Claim 10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,077,965 (“ ‘965”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of the ‘965 recites similar limitations as above claims 10, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail and including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (equivalent to “a retaining mechanism” of the ‘965). Every limitations in the above claim 10 is recited in claim 17 of the ‘965, and thus claim 10 is anticipated by claim 17 of the ‘965.
Claims 1, 10 and 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/972,102 (“ ‘102”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘102 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with a retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 102’s center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 of the ‘102 recites similar limitations as above claim 10, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail “except “the stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 102’s stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
With respect to the cutouts construed as the claimed hook, note the examiner discussion above, in section5, as the term “hook” construed as the retaining cutouts of Rasor.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 of ‘102 recites similar limitations as above claim 17, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled with the center rail ; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a housing, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “the stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within a housing wherein a hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 102’s stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above. With respect to the claimed hook, again note the examiner discussion above as the cutout of Rasor construed as such.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10 and 15-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 9-11, 14 and 17-19 copending Application No. 18/972,159 (“ ‘159”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘159 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 159’s center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
Claims 6 and 7 recite similar limitations as respective claims 4 and 5 of the ‘159.
Claim 9 recite similar limitations as claim 9 of the ‘159.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of the ‘159 recites similar limitations as above claim 10, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail “except “the stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 159’s stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
With respect to the cutouts construed as the claimed hook, note the examiner discussion above, in section 5, as the term “hook” construed as the retaining cutouts of Rasor.
Claim 15 recite similar limitations as claim 11 of the ‘159.
Claim 16 recite similar limitations as claim 14 of the ‘159.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of ‘159 recites similar limitations as above claim 17, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled with the center rail ; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a housing, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “the stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within a housing wherein a hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 159’s stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above. With respect to the claimed hook, again note the examiner discussion above as the cutout of Rasor construed as such.
Claim 18-20 recite similar limitations as claims 18 and 19 of the ‘159.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 10 and 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 17 of copending Application No. 18/972,187 (“ ‘187”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the ‘187 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 187’s center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 13 of the ‘187 recites similar limitations as above claim 10, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail “except “the stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 187’s stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
With respect to the cutouts construed as the claimed hook, note the examiner discussion above, in section 5, as the term “hook” construed as the retaining cutouts of Rasor.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 17 of ‘187 recites similar limitations as above claim 17, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled with the center rail ; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a housing, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “the stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within a housing wherein a hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 187’s stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above. With respect to the claimed hook, again note the examiner discussion above as the cutout of Rasor construed as such.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 10 and 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 25, 34 and 41 of copending Application No. 19/031,767 (“ ‘767”) in view of Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 25 of the ‘767 recites similar limitations to above claim 1, namely” a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled to the center rail; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “ the center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 767’s center rail including a retaining mechanism and the string carrier including a pin and wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 34 of the ‘767 recites similar limitations as above claim 10, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position; and a stock coupled with the center rail “except “the stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 767’s stock including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above.
With respect to the cutouts construed as the claimed hook, note the examiner discussion above, in section 5, as the term “hook” construed as the retaining cutouts of Rasor.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 41 of ‘767 recites similar limitations as above claim 17, namely “a crossbow, comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis; a stock coupled with the center rail ; a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail; a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb; a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb; a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration; and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail, the string carrier including a housing, the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position, wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position;” except “the stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position”.
However, Rasor discloses a string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within a housing wherein a hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (a string carrier (bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]) configured to engages with retaining mechanism (cutouts 100 and 102)(Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]). Note also, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as buttstock to be inserted within openings 32, related to housing 82 to includes cutouts 100 and 102). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form 767’s stock including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock the string carrier including a pin, the pin positioned at least partially within the housing wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position for similar reasons discussed above. With respect to the claimed hook, again note the examiner discussion above as the cutout of Rasor construed as such.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 12-15, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rasor et al US 2010/0170488 (“Rasor”).
As per claim 1, Rasor discloses a crossbow (crossbow 20)(Figs. 1-18A; paragraphs [0046]-[0087]), comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis (frame member 34)(Figs. 1-3; [0047]-[0050]); a stock coupled to the center rail and including a retaining mechanism (housing 82 coupled with buttstock (to be inserted within opening 32)(Fisg. 1-3; [0047]); the housing includes cutouts 100 and 102, i.e. a retaining mechanism)( Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 50)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 52)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (cams 62)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051]); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (cams 64)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051]); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration (a bowstring 66)(Figs. 1-2B; [0052]); and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail (a bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1 and 3; [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a pin (bowstring release 86 has pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]), the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position (Figs. 1-3 in conjunction to [0054]+, as the crossbow move between a forward position (Figs. 1, 2A and 3) and a retracted position (Fig. 2B)) wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (Fig. 2B; [0056]); wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the pin of the string carrier is configured to engage with the retaining mechanism of the stock to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (the retaining mechanism, cutouts 100 and 102, (Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]) are engaging with pins 188 and 190 of the bowstring release, i.e., string carrier, while in the retracted position)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]).
As per claim 3, with respect to wherein the retaining mechanism is a hook that protrudes at least partially from the stock, the online Merriam-Webster dictionary defines “hook” as-- a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling; something intended to attract and ensnare; anchor sense--Accordingly, Rasor’s cutouts 100 and 102 are “curved or bent device for catching; anchor” and thus construed as the claimed hook. Note, Fig. 1 in conjunction to [0047] as a buttstock to be placed within opening 32 of housing 82. Housing 82 includes cutouts 100 and 102 (Figs. 4-5, 8-9B and [0073]).
As per claim 4, with respect to the string carrier further including a housing, note Figs. 13-18A, regarding string release 86 housing; with respect to wherein the pin is oriented about an axis that is substantially perpendicular to the projectile axis and positioned at least partially within the housing, note Figs. 17-18A regarding pins 188 and 190 at such position relative to a projectile, in conjunction to Figs. 1-3, and 15 (as an arrow place in relation to the housing/string carrier 86).
As per claim 5, with respect to the string carrier further including a housing, note Figs. 13-18A, regarding string release 86 housing; with respect to wherein the pin is oriented about an axis that is substantially perpendicular to the projectile axis and positioned at least partially within the housing, note Figs. 17-18A regarding pins 188 and 190 at such position relative to a projectile, in conjunction to Figs. 1-3, and 15 (as an arrow place in relation to the housing/string carrier 86); with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow, the retaining mechanism extends at least partially into the housing to engage the pin and retain the string carrier in the retracted position, note cutouts 100 and 102, (Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]) are engaging with pins 188 and 190 of the bowstring release, i.e., string carrier, while in the retracted position)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]).
As per claim 6, with respect to further comprising: a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier, note Figs. 1, 3, and 4 ([0046]-[0048] regarding trigger 26; note Fig. 14 in conjunction to [0070]-[0080] as trigger 26 includes a hammer 169 (i.e., a trigger pawl), and the relationship between the trigger 26-to-hammer169- to string carrier (bowstring release 86) during an operation while the bowstring release 86 is in the retract and not retract positions.
As per claim 7, with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string carrier to release the draw string, note Figs. 1, 3, and 4 ([0046]-[0048] regarding trigger 26; note Fig. 14 in conjunction to [0070]-[0080] as trigger 26 includes a hammer 169 (i.e., a trigger pawl), and manipulation of the trigger 26-to-hammer169- to string carrier (bowstring release 86) during operation while the bowstring release 86 to releases the drawstring 66.
As per claim 8, with respect to the string carrier further including a string catch and an actuation member operatively coupled with the string catch, the string catch configured to move between a closed position and an open position in response to a movement of the actuation member, wherein the string catch selectively retains the draw string in the closed position and selectively releases the draw string in the open position; wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the movement of the actuation member, note Figs. 13-18A and [0068]- [0079] regarding a bowstring hook 162 (string catch) and a sear member 180 (i.e., an actuation member) engages with hammer 169 (a rigger pawl) to releases bowstring 66 upon manipulation of trigger 26. The examiner construed the releases of bowstring 66 form a string catch/hook 162 (e.g., Fig. 13) as “an open position”; and the bowstring retains with the hook 162 (e.g., 18A) as “a closed position”.
As per claim 10, Rasor discloses a crossbow (crossbow 20)(Figs. 1-18A; paragraphs [0046]-[0087]), comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis (frame member 34)(Figs. 1-3; [0047]-[0050]); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 50)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 52)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (cams 62)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051]); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (cams 64)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051]); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration (a bowstring 66)(Figs. 1-2B; [0052]); and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail (a bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1 and 3; [0055]-[0057]) , the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position (Figs. 1-3 in conjunction to [0054]+, as the crossbow move between a forward position (Figs. 1, 2A and 3) and a retracted position (Fig. 2B)), wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (Fig. 2B; [0056]); and a stock coupled with the center rail and including a hook, the hook protruding at least partially from the stock and configured to selectively engage the string carrier to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (housing 82 coupled with stock-buttstock (to be inserted within opening 32)(Fisg. 1-3; [0047]; see also the examiner’s markings hereinafter); the housing includes cutouts 100 and 102, i.e. a hook, cutouts 100 and 102, (Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]) are engaging with pins 188 and 190 of the bowstring release, i.e., string carrier, while in the retracted position)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073])
With respect to the cutout as the claimed hook, note the examiners discussion above, with respect to at least claim 3, as Rasor’s cutout construed as “hook/s”.
As per claim 12, with respect to the string carrier further including a pin, (bowstring release 86 has pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]); with respect to the hook configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (hooks, cutouts 100 and 102, (Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]) are engaging with pins 188 and 190 of the bowstring release 86 while in the retracted position)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]).
As per claim 13, with respect to the string carrier further including a housing, note Figs. 13-18A, regarding string release 86 housing; with respect to wherein the pin is positioned at least partially within the housing and oriented about an axis that is substantially perpendicular to the projectile axis, note Figs. 17-18A regarding pins 188 and 190 at such position relative to a projectile, in conjunction to Figs. 1-3, and 15 (as an arrow place in relation to the housing/string carrier 86)
As per claim 14, with respect to the string carrier further including a housing, note Figs. 13-18A, regarding string release 86 housing; with respect to wherein the pin is positioned at least partially within the housing and oriented about an axis that is substantially perpendicular to the projectile axis, note Figs. 17-18A regarding pins 188 and 190 at such position relative to a projectile, in conjunction to Figs. 1-3, and 15 (as an arrow place in relation to the housing/string carrier 86); with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow the hook extends at least partially into the housing to engage the pin and retain the string carrier in the retracted position, note cutouts 100 and 102, (Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]) are engaging with pins 188 and 190 of the bowstring release 86, while in the retracted position)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]).
As per claim 15, with respect to further comprising: a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier, note Figs. 1, 3, and 4 ([0046]-[0048] regarding trigger 26; note Fig. 14 in conjunction to [0070]-[0080] as trigger 26 includes a hammer 169 (i.e., a trigger pawl), and the relationship between the trigger 26-to-hammer169- to string carrier (bowstring release 86) during an operation while the bowstring release 86 is in the retract and not retract positions.
As per claim 17, Rasor discloses a crossbow (crossbow 20)(Figs. 1-18A; paragraphs [0046]-[0087]), comprising: a center rail defining a projectile axis (frame member 34)(Figs. 1-3; [0047]-[0050]); a stock coupled to the center rail and including a hook protruding at least partially from the stock (housing 82 coupled with buttstock (to be inserted within opening 32)(Fisg. 1-3; [0047]; note the examiner’s markings above with respect to claim 10 regarding the “partially protruding hook 100”); the housing includes cutouts 100 and 102, hooks)( Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]); a first flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 50)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a second flexible limb coupled with the center rail (limbs 52)(Figs. 1-2B; [0050]); a first cam rotatably coupled with the first flexible limb for rotation about a first axis, the first axis fixed relative to the first flexible limb (cams 62)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051]); a second cam rotatably coupled with the second flexible limb for rotation about a second axis, the second axis fixed relative to the second flexible limb (cams 64)(Figs. 1-2B; [0051]); a draw string coupled with the first cam and the second cam, the draw string configured to move between a released configuration and a drawn configuration (a bowstring 66)(Figs. 1-2B; [0052]); and a string carrier slidably coupled with the center rail (a bowstring release 86)(Figs. 1 and 3; [0055]-[0057]), the string carrier including a housing and a pin (bowstring release 86 has pins 188 and 190)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]), the pin positioned at least partially within the housing (note Figs. 13-18A as the housing of bowstring 86 and to includes pins 188 and 190 partially within the housing), the string carrier configured to selectively engage the draw string and move between a forward position and a retracted position (Figs. 1-3 in conjunction to [0054]+, as the crossbow move between a forward position (Figs. 1, 2A and 3) and a retracted position (Fig. 2B)) wherein the draw string is in the drawn configuration when the string carrier is engaged with the draw string and in the retracted position (Fig. 2B; [0056]); wherein the hook is configured to engage the pin to retain the string carrier in the retracted position (the hooks, cutouts 100 and 102, (Figs. 4-5, and 8-9B; [0073]) are engaging with pins 188 and 190 of the bowstring release 86 while in the retracted position)(Figs. 17-18A; [0073]).
As per claim 19, with respect to further comprising: a trigger assembly including a trigger and a trigger pawl operatively coupled to the trigger; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is in an operating position and is operatively engaged with the string carrier; wherein, during operation of the crossbow when the string carrier is not in the retracted position, the trigger pawl is the operating position and is operatively disengaged from the string carrier, note Figs. 1, 3, and 4 ([0046]-[0048] regarding trigger 26; note Fig. 14 in conjunction to [0070]-[0080] as trigger 26 includes a hammer 169 (i.e., a trigger pawl), and the relationship between the trigger 26-to-hammer169- to string carrier (bowstring release 86) during an operation while the bowstring release 86 is in the retract and not retract positions.
As per claim 20, with respect to wherein, during operation of the crossbow with the string carrier in the retracted position, an actuation of the trigger causes the trigger pawl to move while the trigger pawl remains operatively engaged with the string carrier, wherein a movement of the trigger pawl causes the string carrier to release the draw string, note Figs. 1, 3, and 4 ([0046]-[0048] regarding trigger 26; note Fig. 14 in conjunction to [0070]-[0080] as trigger 26 includes a hammer 169 (i.e., a trigger pawl), and manipulation of the trigger 26-to-hammer169- to string carrier (bowstring release 86) during operation while the bowstring release 86 to releases the drawstring 66.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasor as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Luoma US 4,603,676 (“Luoma”).
As per claim 2, Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising a release lever operatively engaged with the retaining mechanism, wherein actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the retaining mechanism to disengage the retaining mechanism from the pin.
However, Luoma discloses a release lever operatively engaged with a retaining mechanism, wherein actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the retaining mechanism to disengage the retaining mechanism from a pin (a cocking mechanism 16 to retract a bowstring 13 into a retract position; the mechanism includes a releases plate 70 manipulated by a button 78 (i.e., a releases lever) to allow the bowstring to be released upon an actuation of a trigger 76)(Figs. 3-5; 3:55-4:60). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor with a release lever operatively engaged with the retaining mechanism, wherein actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the retaining mechanism to disengage the retaining mechanism from the pin for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in utilizing a known mechanical arrangement that facilitate an observed and controlled operation of the bowstring release/ string carrier to ensure the crossbow-to -bowstring is safe to operate to avoid injuries as well harm to the crossbow, while the bowstring release/string carrier is in the retract position and the crossbow is ready to be fired. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of Rasor to ensure that the bowstring release/string carrier is in the optimized retract position ready to be fired (e.g., [0073]).
As per claim 11, Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising a release lever operatively engaged with the hook, wherein an actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the hook to disengage the hook from the string carrier.
However, Luoma discloses a release lever operatively engaged with the hook, wherein an actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the hook to disengage the hook from the string carrier (a cocking mechanism 16 to retract a bowstring 13 into a retract position; the mechanism includes a releases plate 70 manipulated by a button 78 (i.e., a releases lever) to allow the bowstring to be released upon an actuation of a trigger 76)(Figs. 3-5; 3:55-4:60). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s further comprising a release lever operatively engaged with the hook, wherein an actuation of the release lever causes a movement of the hook to disengage the hook from the string carrier for similar reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Claim(s) 9, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasor as applied to claims 1, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Islas US 2011/0308508 (“Islas”).
As per claim 9, with respect to wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration, note Rasor’s Figs. 1 and 2A, as bowstring 66 contact string stop/s 72 and 74, in the release configuration. Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor.
However, Islas discloses further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail (pylons 32); a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor (power cables 26); and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor (construed as the outer area of pylons, closer to bowstring 22, as the bowstring arrest/stop while engaging pylons 32)(Fig. 1; [0013]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, for the reason that a skilled artisan would have been motivated in using a known arrangement of crossbow cables configure to generate sufficient energy as the crossbow drawn to fire an arrow therefrom. The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success as the combination will not frustrate the intended purpose of Rasor’s to utilize a known crossbow’s cable arrangement including power cable/s to draw the crossbow to generate sufficient power to fire an arrow therefrom.
As per claims 16, with respect to wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration, note Rasor’s Figs. 1 and 2A, as bowstring 66 contact string stop/s 72 and 74, in the release configuration. Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor. However, Islas discloses further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail (pylons 32); a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor (power cables 26); and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor (construed as the outer area of pylons, closer to bowstring 22, as the bowstring arrest/stop while engaging pylons 32)(Fig. 1; [0013]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, for the reason discussed above with respect to claim 9.
As per claims 18, with respect to wherein the draw string stop is configured to contact the draw string with the draw string in the released configuration, note Rasor’s Figs. 1 and 2A, as bowstring 66 contact string stop/s 72 and 74, in the release configuration. Rasor is not specific regarding further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor. However, Islas discloses further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail (pylons 32); a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor (power cables 26); and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor (construed as the outer area of pylons, closer to bowstring 22, as the bowstring arrest/stop while engaging pylons 32)(Fig. 1; [0013]). Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form Rasor’s further comprising: a cable anchor coupled to the center rail; a power cable operatively engaged with the first cam and engaged with the cable anchor; and a draw string stop positioned adjacent the cable anchor, for the reason discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Conclusion
/A.A.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3711 10/8/2026
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711