DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "the light dispersion device is ... attached to the underside of the solar panels" of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dyson et al. [US 2004/0246596 A1].
Regarding claim 1, Dyson et al. discloses a light dispersion device [structure 206, see figure 4A] for use with a solar panel assembly [a photovoltaic cell 202, see figure 4], the light dispersion device comprising: a transparent or translucent material [structure 206 are preferably made of either a translucent material, paragraph 0044] having a surface configured with a light-diffusing pattern [a diffusing material or a Fresnel diverging material surface, see figure 4A], wherein the light-diffusing pattern is adapted to scatter and redistribute incoming sunlight to enhance illumination beneath the solar panel assembly [abstract, figures 4A-4F], and wherein the light dispersion device [structure 206] is positioned between individual solar panels [see figures 4A-4C] or attached to the underside of the solar panels (paragraphs 0041-0044).
Regarding claim 2, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern comprises a Fresnel lens [a Fresnel diverging material surface] formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material [structure 206] (figure 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern [a diffusing material or a Fresnel diverging material surface, see figure 4A] comprises flutes or ribs formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material, the flutes or ribs being configured to scatter light laterally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyson et al. in view of Etienne et al. [US 2018/0095330 A1].
Regarding claim 4, Dyson et al. discloses the transparent or translucent material [structure 26] (figure 4A), but does not clearly show the ion-exchange toughened glass.
Etienne et al. discloses the ion-exchange toughened glass (paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the transparent or translucent material of Dyson et al. with the ion-exchange toughened glass as taught by Etienne et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of better scratch resistance and durability than polymer.
Regarding claim 5, Etienne et al. discloses the transparent or translucent material is selected from a group consisting of glass (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 6, Dyson et al. discloses a light dispersion device [structure 206, see figure 4A] for use with a solar panel assembly [a photovoltaic cell 202, see figure 4A], the light dispersion device comprising: a transparent or translucent material [structure 206 are preferably made of either a translucent material, paragraph 0044] having a surface configured to disperse incoming sunlight, wherein the surface includes one or more light-diffusing patterns [a diffusing material or a Fresnel diverging material surface, see figure 4A] that scatter sunlight to enhance illumination in areas below the solar panel assembly (see figure 3). However, Dyson et al. does not clearly show the ion-exchange toughened glass.
Etienne et al. discloses the ion-exchange toughened glass (paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the transparent or translucent material of Dyson et al. with the ion-exchange toughened glass as taught by Etienne et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of better scratch resistance and durability than polymer.
Regarding claim 7, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern comprises a Fresnel lens [206] formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material (a Fresnel diverging material surface, paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 8, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern [structure 206] comprises flutes or ribs formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material, the flutes or ribs being configured to scatter light laterally (figure 4A).
Regarding claim 9, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern [structure 206] comprises random surface textures that scatter incoming light in multiple directions (figure 4A).
Regarding claim 17, Dyson et al. discloses the light dispersion device [206] is integrated as a standalone component or incorporated into an existing structure of the solar panel assembly (figures 4A-4F).
Regarding claim 19, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern is configured to enhance light dispersion beneath the solar panel assembly for reducing shaded areas and promoting uniform illumination (the sidewall(s) of the back support structure are made of a diffusing material which is shaped to block the focused solar radiation from being visible from a back side of the back support structure 206; paragraph 0044).
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyson et al. in view of Ranish [US 2014/0341551 A1].
Regarding claim 10, Dyson et al. discloses a light dispersion device [structure 206, see figure 4A], but does not clearly show the light-diffusing pattern comprises dimples formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material, the dimples being configured to scatter light by diffraction and reflection.
Ranish teaches the light-diffusing pattern [114, see figure 1] comprises dimples [abstract] formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material [see figure 2A], the dimples being configured to scatter light by diffraction and reflection (abstract, figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the transparent or translucent material of Dyson et al. with the dimples as taught by Ranish for purpose of providing an advantageous way of that the light-diffusing structures facilitate more uniform heating of substrates by reducing thermal hot spots caused by uneven irradiation by light.
Regarding claims 11-12, Radish teaches the light-diffusing pattern comprises a frosted pattern formed on the surface of the transparent or translucent material (abstract, figures 1-2).
Regarding claims 13-15, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern [structure 206] (figure 4A). Method claim(s) was/were considered as inherently disclosed by the patented structure of Dyson et al.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyson et al. and Etienne et al. in view of Francis et al. [US 5,281,560].
Regarding claim 16, Dyson et al. and Etienne et al. disclose the light dispersion device having a glass. Method claim(s) was/were considered as suggested by the combined teachings of Dyson et al. and Etienne et al.
However, Dyson et al. and Etienne et al. does not clearly show the glass is further strengthened by incorporating one or more reinforcing additives selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide, zirconium oxide, and magnesium oxide.
Francis et al. teaches the glass is further strengthened by incorporating one or more reinforcing additives selected from a group consisting of aluminum oxide, zirconium oxide, and magnesium oxide (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the glass of Dyson et al. and Etienne et al. with the reinforcing additives as taught by Francis et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of that the sealing glass material may contain mill additions to reduce the effective coefficient of thermal expansion in a seal, as well as a strength reinforcing additive having a coefficient of thermal expansion.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyson et al. in view of Steneby [US 7,295,372 B2].
Regarding claim 18, Dyson et al. discloses the light dispersion device [206, see figure 4A], but does not further include a concave or convex lens for focusing and spreading light over a wider area.
Steneby teaches a concave or convex lens [101 and 102, or 201 and 202] for focusing and spreading light over a wider area (abstract, figures 1-2, column 4 lines 43-47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the light dispersion device of Dyson et al. with the concave or convex lens as taught by Steneby for purpose of providing an advantageous way of producing a system with a greater operating range in either direction off from the normal axle.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyson et al. in view of Masaki et al. [US 2003/0030372 A1].
Regarding claim 20, Dyson et al. discloses the light-diffusing pattern (206, see figure 4A), but does not clearly show the diffusive film or coating to the surface of the transparent or translucent material.
Masaki et al. teaches the diffusive film or coating to the surface of the transparent or translucent material (abstract, figure 1, paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the light dispersion device of Dyson et al. with the diffusive film as taught by Masaki et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of a high-quality protective, diffusive film which can suppress the formation of burrs at the time of processing for the formation of sheet-like films, possesses excellent punchability, and is excellent in handleability in a sheet-like film form.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akkashian et al. US 2014/0053477 A1 discloses concentrated photovoltaic skylights or other windows having a cylindrical lens array.
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875