DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grow (US 20140068855 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grow teaches, a caster assembly (fig. 1) comprising:
a bearing (51) configured such that an inner race rotates relative to an outer race (races rotate as caster turns);
a bearing casing (31) to which the bearing is fixedly coupled so that at least a part of the outer race is supported on an inner circumferential surface of the bearing casing (fig. 1 -bearing (51) inserted into casing (31) supported by retaining member (52);
a bearing upper cover (56) provided to surround at least a part of the inner race (fig. 1 – cover (56) fixes into lower cover and surrounds but does not contact bearing (51) inner race), except for a bottom surface of the inner race, and rotatably coupled to the inner circumferential surface of the bearing casing;
a bearing lower cover (46) provided to support at least a part of the bottom surface of the inner race and fastened to a lower side of the bearing upper cover ([0018] – upper cover (56) fastens to lower cover (46) with screws (59);
and a wheel (39) protruding downward from a top surface of the bearing upper cover and rotatably coupled to the bearing upper cover or the bearing lower cover (fig. 1 – wheel protrudes downward and is coupled to lower cover).
Regarding claim 2, Grow teaches, the caster assembly of claim 1, wherein the bearing casing comprises:
a bearing casing body (37) configured to support an outer circumferential surface of the outer race (bearing casing body (37) supports outer circumference of bearing (51));
and a first bearing casing flange (52) protruding inward from an upper portion of the bearing casing body and configured to support a top surface of the outer race (flange (52) supports entire surface of outer race).
Regarding claim 4, Grow teaches, the caster assembly of claim 1, wherein the bearing upper cover comprises:
a bearing upper cover body having a disc shape (56) and configured to support an inner circumferential surface of the inner race (fig. 3 – cover (56) supports inner surface of bearing race);
a bearing upper cover flange protruding outward from an upper portion of the bearing upper cover body and configured to support a top surface of the inner race (fig. 3 – upper cover (56) shown to protrude outward and support top surface of bearing (51);
and a bearing upper cover opening penetratively formed from a top surface to a bottom surface of the bearing upper cover body so that at least a part of the wheel is disposed in the bearing upper cover opening (fig. 1 – cover (56) has penetration (53) for wheel to protrude upward through).
Regarding claim 5, The caster assembly of claim 4,
wherein the bearing upper cover further comprises a plurality of bearing upper cover fastening holes (58) penetratively formed from the top surface to the bottom surface of the bearing upper cover body so that fastening members for fastening the bearing lower cover are inserted into the plurality of bearing upper cover fastening holes ([0018] – cover screw holes (58) are inserted into lower cover (46)).
Regarding claim 6, The caster assembly of claim 1,
wherein the bearing lower cover comprises:
a bearing lower cover opening (47) penetratively formed from a top surface to a bottom surface of the bearing lower cover so that at least a part of the wheel is disposed in the bearing lower cover opening ([0017] – wheel opening (47) for wheel (39) to be inserted through);
first wheel fastening parts (32/34/36 – wheel fastening hardware) respectively provided at two opposite sides of the bearing lower cover opening and protruding downward from the bottom surface of the bearing lower cover (fig. 1 – wheel fastening hardware shown on opposite ends of bottom surface of lower cover opening);
and first wheel pin fixing holes (44) penetratively formed from one side to the other side of the first wheel fastening part,
and wherein the bearing lower cover is provided in a disc shape (fig. 1 – lower cover (46) is disk shaped.
Regarding claim 7, The caster assembly of claim 6,
wherein the bearing lower cover further comprises a plurality of bearing lower cover fastening holes (48) penetratively formed from the top surface to the bottom surface of the bearing lower cover so that fastening members for fastening the bearing upper cover are inserted into the plurality of bearing lower cover fastening holes ([0018] – screw holes (48) for fastening upper cover (56) to lower cover (46).
Regarding claim 8, The caster assembly of claim 6, wherein the wheel comprises:
a wheel pin through-hole provided along a rotation axis of the wheel (fig. 1 – wheel (39) is provided with through hole for pin);
and a wheel pin (41) coupled to the wheel pin through-hole and having two opposite ends fixed to the first wheel pin fixing holes ([0016] – wheel pin (41) is coupled to wheel pin holes (44).
Regarding claim 9, The caster assembly of claim 8,
wherein a diameter of the wheel is equal to a length of a bearing upper cover opening penetratively formed from the top surface to the bottom surface of the bearing upper cover so that at least a part of the wheel is disposed in the bearing upper cover opening (fig. 3 – wheel (39) is disposed in upper cover opening (53),
and wherein the diameter of the wheel is equal to a length of a bearing lower cover opening penetratively formed from the top surface to the bottom surface of the bearing lower cover so that at least a part of the wheel is disposed in the bearing lower cover opening (fig. 3 – wheel (39) is disposed in lower cover opening (47)).
Regarding claim 10, The caster assembly of claim 8,
wherein the bearing lower cover further comprises a first wheel pin insertion groove provided in the bottom surface of the bearing lower cover in a direction toward a central axis of the first wheel pin fixing hole so that a part of the wheel pin is inserted into the first wheel pin insertion grooves ([0017] – wheel pin insertion groovers (not shown) for axle retaining rings (32) are located on opposite ends of lower cover).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grow (US 20140068855 A1).
Regarding claim 11, The caster assembly of claim 4, wherein the bearing upper cover further comprises:
second wheel fastening parts respectively provided at two opposite sides of the bearing upper cover opening and protruding downward from the bottom surface of the bearing upper cover body;
and second wheel pin fixing holes penetratively formed from one side to the other side of the second wheel fastening part.
Grow discloses the claimed invention except for the fastening parts and wheel pin fixing holes being disposed on the bearing upper cover. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art before filing to have modified Grow’s caster assembly to have located the fastening parts and wheel mount on the upper cover, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. Doing so decreases maintenance difficulty, allowing for the wheel to be remove via the top surface, rather than needing to remove the entire caster structure to change a wheel.
Regarding claim 12, The caster assembly of claim 11,
wherein the bearing lower cover comprises a plurality of bearing lower cover fastening holes penetratively formed from the top surface to the bottom surface of the bearing lower cover so that fastening members for fastening the bearing upper cover are inserted into the plurality of bearing lower cover fastening holes (both bearing lower/upper covers comprises fastening holes).
Regarding claim 13, The caster assembly of claim 11, wherein the wheel (39) comprises:
a wheel pin through-hole (fig. 1 – wheel comprises hole for pin) provided along a rotation axis of the wheel;
and a wheel pin (41) coupled to the wheel pin through-hole and having two opposite ends fixed to the second wheel pin fixing holes (wheel pin (41) fixes to wheel pinning holes).
Regarding claim 14, The caster assembly of claim 13,
wherein the bearing lower cover further comprises a second wheel pin insertion groove provided in the bottom surface of the bearing lower cover in a direction toward a central axis of the second wheel pin fixing hole so that a part of the wheel pin is inserted into the second wheel pin insertion groove ([0017] – lower cover comprises grooves/flanges to fix pin (41) to covers).
Regarding claim 15, Grow teaches, the caster assembly of claim 13,
wherein a diameter of the wheel is equal to a length of the bearing upper cover opening (wheel is equal in diameter to fit within cutouts).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shani (US 20130251481 A1) in view of Grow (US 20140068855 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Shani teaches,
A parking robot (100),
configured to enter a front wheel side and a rear wheel side of a vehicle (Abstract – parking robot enters under vehicle to lift and transport),
lift the vehicle from a ground surface (abstract – robot raises and supports at least one tire of vehicle off the ground),
and then transport the vehicle to a designated parking location ([0002] – parking robot transports vehicles to parking location),
the parking robot comprising:
a first drive module provided at one side of a front side (106L/R);
a second drive module provided at one side of a rear side (104L/R);
a first lifting module provided between the first drive module and the second drive module (118/116);
and a second lifting module (112/114)
Shani fails to teach, the parking robot comprising the caster assembly according to claim 1,
And the second lift module being coupled to the caster assembly and provided at the other side of the first lifting module.
However, grow teaches,
The caster assembly according to claim 1,
And the second lift module being coupled to the caster assembly and provided at the other side of the first lifting module.
Shani and grow are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of parking robots and load handling systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shani’s parking robot to include the casters taught by grow. Doing so allows for more secure grounding with an extra point of contact and allows for tighter maneuvering with an additional rotatable driven wheel.
Regarding claim 17, Shani teaches, the parking robot of claim 16,
wherein the first drive module (106L/R) comprises two first driving wheels (fig. 1 – 106L/R include two sets of two wheels) provided at two opposite ends of a first driving shaft and configured to operate independently of each other (fig. 1 – two opposite wheels (106L/R) connected via shaft, [0007] – wheels drive independently),
wherein the second drive module (104L/R) comprises two second driving wheels (fig. 1 – 104L/R include two sets of two wheels) provided at two opposite ends of a second driving shaft and configured to operate independently of each other (fig. 1 – two opposite wheels (106L/R) connected via shaft),
and wherein the parking robot is configured to move straight or rotate in accordance with rotations of the first and second driving wheels ([0028] – parking robot can turn straight or rotate).
Regarding claim 18, Shani teaches, the parking robot of claim 16,
wherein the first lifting module (118/116) comprises two first lift bars configured to be simultaneously deployed by being rotated about first rotation shafts provided at front and rear sides of the first lifting module (fig. 2/3 – bars rotate in and out to deploy),
wherein the second lifting module (112/114) comprises two second lift bars configured to be simultaneously deployed by being rotated about second rotation shafts provided at front and rear sides of the second lifting module (fig. 2/3 – bars rotate in and out to deploy),
and wherein the parking robot is configured to lift the vehicle from the ground surface when the first lift bars and the second lift bars are deployed ([0015] – bars lift vehicle from the ground).
Regarding claim 19, Shani fails to explicitly teach, the parking robot of claim 16,
wherein the caster assembly is formed such that a top surface of the bearing casing and a top surface of the bearing upper cover are formed at the same height as a top surface of the second lifting module.
However, Grow teaches,
wherein the caster assembly (30) is formed such that a top surface of the bearing casing and a top surface of the bearing upper cover are formed at the same height as a top surface of the second lifting module.
Shani and grow are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of parking robots and load handling systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shani’s parking robot to include the casters taught by grow, and to form them at the same height as the top surface of the lifting module. Doing so allows for ease of installation by keeping surface level, and allows for the use of equal diameter wheels as those used in the drive units.
Regarding claim 20, Shani teaches, the parking robot of claim 16, further comprising:
a first control module (152) provided forward of the second lifting module;
a battery module ([0042] – battery powers motors, but not shown) provided between the first lifting module and the second lifting module and provided adjacent to the first drive module and the first control module;
Shani fails to explicitly teach,
a second control module provided rearward of the second lifting module;
and a third control module provided between the first lifting module and the second lifting module and provided adjacent to the second drive module and the second control module.
Shani discloses the claimed invention except for a second and third control module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide second and third control modules, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI B. Doing so allows for redundancy for damage and for more complex parking operations with individual control for each drive unit and lifting unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Fu (US 20210347290 A10) – Teaches a plurality of parking robots with casters assemblies and lifting arms.
Globerman (US 20220307281 A1) – parking robots with caster assemblies and actuated lifting arms
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3652