DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants arguments that: “As amended, the claims specify headless cylindrical pins. An example is shown in FIG. 1 as pins (3). Dawson does not disclose headless cylindrical pins as claimed” the examiner respectfully disagrees. While Dawson does disclosed “dual sized” pins applicant should note that this is optional. Dawson clearly states that “the use of dual-sized cylindrical pins is preferred (optional), but other forms of pins may also be used, for example pins having a cuboid or other polygonal prismatic shape, with or without dual-sized ends, or keys. As shown, pin borings 438 are blind, i.e., do not extend through base body 420, but in other embodiments the pin borings may be through holes, for example as depicted in FIG. 44B” (Par. 0118). Other forms of pins without dual sized ends is understood as headless.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawson JR. (US 2021/0270572) [hereinafter Dawson]
Regarding claim 1, Dawson discloses discloses a modular housing for firearm sights (Fig. 40-44B), comprising a recess 140 and screws 899, the modular housing comprising holes 146, 148, projections (Par. 0088: “instead of a tenon or other recesses, sight receiver floor 120 may be configured with a tenon or other projection, configured, arranged, and oriented to form interfitting parts with recesses disposed on a base”) and pins 890 (Fig. 40-44B), wherein said holes and projections allow the coupling of said sight in said recess, so that said pins are inserted into holes of said recess and of said sight, allowing the adjustment and maintenance of alignment of said sight in relation to the bolt of the firearm (Fig. 40-44B).
Dawson further discloses headless cylindrical pins (Par. 0018: “The use of dual-sized cylindrical pins is preferred, but other forms of pins may also be used, for example pins having a cuboid or other polygonal prismatic shape, with or without dual-sized ends, or keys. As shown, pin borings 438 are blind, i.e., do not extend through base body 420, but in other embodiments the pin borings may be through holes, for example as depicted in FIG. 44B”)
Regarding claim 2, Dawson further discloses wherein said pins have a length greater than the depth of their holes of the recess, so as to allow a portion of said pins to project out of said holes (Fig. 40-44B).
Regarding claim 3, Dawson further discloses wherein said housing is adaptable both for sights that have bases having the respective holes, where said pins can be coupled, and for sights that have bases without the respective holes, wherein said pins can be removed. Applicant should note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Dawson Fig. 1-44B clearly show the adaptability of the modular housing for firearm sights.
Regarding claim 4, Dawson further discloses wherein said screws and said pins can have a constant or variable diameter or width throughout their length (as shown in Fig. 40-44B).
Regarding claim 5, Dawson further discloses wherein, preferably, said pins are inserted into holes located in the rearmost portion of the recess, or behind said recess, while said screws are inserted into holes located in front of said holes for the pins (Fig. 40-44B).
Regarding claim 6, Dawson further discloses wherein said pins allow the adjustment and maintenance of alignment of said sight both in relation to the horizontal plane and in relation to the vertical plane, even if said sight is momentarily removed from the firearm. Applicant should note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Dawson further discloses wherein said recess is provided with at least two holes, preferably four or more holes, depending on each type of sight to be attached (Fig. 40-44B).
Regarding claim 9, Dawson further discloses wherein said housing allows the adaptation of an adapter plate for coupling said sight (Fig. 40-44B).
Regarding claim 10, Dawson further discloses wherein the recess is provided with four or more holes 146, 148 depending on each type of sight to be attached (Fig. 42B; see also Par. 90: “in other embodiments it may be advantageous to have more or fewer pin holes, which may be configured, arranged, and/or oriented in other ways”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson in view of Wolf (US 2015/0241175).
Regarding claim 8, Dawson further discloses wherein said projections are arranged a portion of said recess and are fitted into holes of the sight, serving as support points for said attachment of the sight (Par. 0088).
Dawson does not expressly disclose wherein said projections are arranged in the frontmost portion of said recess and are fitted into said front holes of the sight, serving as support points for said attachment of the sight.
Wolf teaches it is known in the art of modular housings for firearm sights to provide projections 141 arranged in the frontmost portion of said recess and are fitted into said front holes of the sight, serving as support points for said attachment of the sight (Par. 0028; Fig. 1A-3B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Dawson such that the projections were arranged in the frontmost portion of said recess and are fitted into said front holes of the sight, serving as support points for said attachment of the sight, in view of wolf, since it has been held that rearranging of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 184. More specifically, the arrangement of the projections is an obvious matter of design choice.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641