DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 5221 (in e.g. Fig. 32). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “a sensor body portion disposed inside the housing and a movable portion” should instead read --a sensor body portion disposed inside the housing, and a movable portion--.
Further regarding claim 1, the last “wherein” clause should be preceded by an “and.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, there is no support for the cut lines being closed loops. Fig. 32 shows that the lines are neither closed nor loops.
Claims 5-8 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, and 8, at least due to grammatical issues, the recitation of “based on that the movable portion is pressed” is unclear. Does it require active pressing by e.g. a user? Is it already pressed as assembled? Is the pressing a condition? Does pressing cause movement?
Regarding claim 7, the recitation of “a first area” is unclear because claim 5 already recites e.g. “a first opened area.” Is reference being made to the same or a new/different area? If a different area, applicant may consider instead reciting –a first region--.
Claims 2-8 are rejected because it depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of US Patent Application Publication 2013/0150691 (“Pace”).
Regarding claim 1, Pace teaches [a] body attachable unit for glucose measurement, the body attachable unit configured to be attachable to a body for the glucose measurement (Abstract and ¶ 0008), the body attachable unit comprising: a housing (Fig. 31); a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed inside the housing and including at least one electric contact point (Fig. 30C, ¶ 0130); and a sensor including a sensor probe portion protruding from the housing (as shown in Figs. 30C and 31), a sensor body portion disposed inside the housing and a movable portion; wherein the movable portion is formed by cutting the sensor body portion, wherein the movable portion is contacted to the at least one electric contact point based on that the movable portion is pressed, wherein the sensor probe portion, the sensor body portion, and the movable portion are integrally formed (all as shown in Figs. 32A and 32B, with cuts creating movable portions that bend to the sides (¶ 0132) and contact circuitry based on pressing (i.e., physical contact between the contact surfaces). Although these teachings are from slightly different embodiments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sensor configuration of e.g. Figs. 32A and 32B with the housing of Fig. 31, for the purpose of facilitating ease of sealing the electrical connections as well as reducing assembly height (Pace: ¶¶s 0131 and 0132)).
Regarding claim 2, Pace teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Pace further teaches wherein the movable portion contacts the at least one electric contact point in a relatively horizontal state based on that the movable portion is pressed (Figs. 32A and 32B, bent horizontally and pressed against the contacts of the circuit board).
Regarding claim 3, Pace teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. Pace further teaches wherein the at least one electric contact point includes two or more spaced-apart electric contact points, and wherein based on that the movable portion is pressed, the movable portion substantially simultaneously contacts the two or more electric contact points (Figs. 32A and 32B, as shown. There are multiple contacts for interfacing with multiple contact points).
Double Patenting
At least claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,207,921 (“Chae’921”) in view of Pace. Chae’921 teaches all features of claims 1-3 except for those made up by Pace as outlined above.
At least claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,402,814 (“Chae’814”) in view of Pace. Chae’814 teaches all features of claims 1-3 except for those made up by Pace as outlined above.
At least claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/896,733 (“Cho”) in view of Pace. Cho teaches all features of claims 1-3 except for those made up by Pace as outlined above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
At least claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/924,661 (“Chae’661”) in view of Pace. Chae’661 teaches all features of claims 1-3 except for those made up by Pace as outlined above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791