Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the tote array" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this examination, the claim will be interpreted such that the tote array is the same as the tote holder.
Claims 2-5 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
The term “proximate” in Claim 6 line 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “proximate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As the claim stands, it cannot be ascertained what exact distance is the limit to no longer be considered “proximate”. It is recommended by the examiner to use more exact terms such as “adjacent” as used in previous claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 12017854 B2) in view of Stevens (US 20160009493 A1).
Chen teaches a handling robot for replenishing and returning items within a warehouse comprising:
a mobile robot base including a base body having a top surface and a plurality of wheels (shown in Figures 1 and 2);
a camera (camera 620);
a tote structure disposed on the top surface of the base body (shown in Figure 1), the tote structure including:
a tote holder configured to hold one or more order totes having a plurality of compartments for storing one or more items in each compartment (storage shelves 24 shown in Figure 2);
a platform on the top surface of the mobile robot base and adjacent the tote array, the platform having a first surface portion configured to hold a source tote having a plurality of compartments retrieved from a storage unit and a second surface portion adjacent to the first surface portion and configured to receive an order tote from the tote holder (pallet 22 and handling component 30 shown in Figure 1 adjacent to a first storage shelf);
a robotic pick arm disposed between the first surface portion and the second surface portion of the platform (material transfer component 40 shown in Figure 1);
a controller and a memory (described in column 13 lines 9-18)
the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the autonomous mobile robot to:
navigate from an initial location in the warehouse to a destination location, the destination location being associated with the source tote stored in the storage unit (described in column 49 line 1-47, wherein navigation would have to be executed by a combination of the memory and controller of the robot)
While Chen does not teach a tote manipulator mechanism configured to remove the source tote from the storage unit and place it on the first surface portion of the platform. They do teach a manipulator mechanism configured to move items between the totes (described in column 2 lines 43-57). However, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the manipulator mechanism of Chen such that it would also move totes to and from the storage shelves 24. The result would allow the robot of Chen to handle a wider variety of objects that can safely fit within the totes and not have to constantly adjust itself to adapt to widely differing items, whether by size, shape and/or weight.
Chen does not teach the source tote having a first identifier on a first external surface and a second identifier on a second external surface. However, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the totes handled by the robot of Chen such that there are at least two identifiers on different surfaces of the tote. This would allow observers and/or managers of the robots to be able to identify the tote without needing to shift the orientation of the totes in the event of independent rechecking of inventory.
Chen does not teach:
the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the autonomous mobile robot to:
read, using the camera, either the first identifier or the second identifier on the source tote, depending on which is visible to the camera when the autonomous mobile robot is at the destination location;
determine the position of the plurality of compartments in the source tote relative to the robotic pick arm based on whether the first identifier or the second identifier is read.
Stevens teaches a picking station within an automated warehouse comprising:
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller (described as a computer system in the Abstract), cause:
read, using the camera, either a first identifier or a second identifier on a tote, depending on which is visible to the camera at the location (described in paragraph 0028);
determine the position of the plurality of compartments in the source tote relative to the robotic pick arm based on whether the first identifier or the second identifier is read (described in paragraph 0030, wherein indicating via a laser pointer to the operator which compartment within the receptacle would mean that the position of the compartment is determined and indicated by use of a robotic arm).
Regarding Claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the detection means and instructions of position determination within a tote executable by the system of Stevens to the handling robot of Chen. The result would enable the device of Chen to hold multiple, differing items within a single tote while still maintaining knowledge of the exact location of each object by the handling robot of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art could apply the instructions of Stevens to the device of Chen without undue experimentation. Further, the application of the instructions of Stevens to the device of Chen would produce the predictable results of autonomously managing and processing inventory orders within a warehouse system.
Regarding Claim 2, Stevens teaches their identifiers can be any unique identification (paragraph 0028) which can include a QR code that can be registered to a specific location. It would have been further obvious when applying identifiers to the totes in the system of Chen to apply them wherein the destination location is on one of a first side or a second side of the storage unit on which is stored the source tote; the first external surface of the source tote is on a first side of the storage unit and a second external surface of the source tote is on a second side of the storage unit. This would enable the applied detection means from Stevens to the system of Chen to comprehend what location a tote is intended for and to mitigate the need for a specific orientation of the tote to be required for the detection means to scan its identifier(s).
Regarding Claim 3, Stevens teaches their identifiers can be any unique identification marker that can be read electronically (paragraph 0028) which can include a QR code, a known fiducial marker. It would have been further obvious when applying identifiers to the totes in the system of Chen to apply them wherein the first external surface includes a first identifier and the second external surface includes a second identifier; the first and second identifiers comprise fiducial markers such as a QR code. This would enable the applied detection means from Stevens to the system of Chen to mitigate the need for a specific orientation of the tote to be required for the detection means to scan its identifier(s) and enable the device of Chen to tell what orientation a tote is in upon reading the identifier.
Regarding Claim 4, when the detection means and instructions of Stevens is applied to the handling robot of Chen. The result would be wherein when the first identifier is read, the plurality of compartments of the source tote have a first orientation relative to the robotic pick arm and when the second identifier is read the plurality of compartments of the source tote have a second orientation relative to the robotic pick arm. This would further enable the device of Chen to know what orientation a tote is in when an identifier is read.
Regarding Claim 5, when the detection means and instructions of Stevens is applied to the handling robot of Chen. The result would be wherein the controller determines a correct compartment of the source tote based on the plurality of compartments of the source tote having either the first orientation or the second orientation, and controls the robot arm to pick an item from the correct compartment. This further enables the device of Chen to carry multiple different items within each tote while still fulfilling inventory orders and restocking.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches a handling robot for use in a warehouse comprising:
a mobile robot base including a base body having a top surface and a plurality of wheels (shown in Figures 1 and 2);
a camera (camera 620);
a tote structure disposed on the top surface of the base body (shown in Figure 1), the tote structure including:
a platform having a first surface portion configured to hold a source tote retrieved from a storage unit, the source tote having a plurality of compartments (pallet 22 and handling component 30 shown in Figure 1 adjacent to a first storage shelf);
a tote manipulator mechanism configured to remove the source tote from the storage unit and place it on the first surface portion of the platform (material transfer component 40 shown in Figure 1);
a robotic pick arm disposed proximate the first surface portion (shown in Figure 1);
a controller and a memory (described in column 13 lines 9-18), the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the autonomous mobile robot to:
navigate from an initial location in the warehouse to a destination location, the destination location being associated with the source tote stored in the storage unit (described in column 49 line 1-47, wherein navigation would have to be executed by a combination of the memory and controller of the robot),
While Chen does not teach a tote manipulator mechanism configured to remove the source tote from the storage unit and place it on the first surface portion of the platform. They do teach a manipulator mechanism configured to move items between the totes (described in column 2 lines 43-57). However, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the manipulator mechanism of Chen such that it would also move totes to and from the storage shelves 24. The result would allow the robot of Chen to handle a wider variety of objects that can safely fit within the totes and not have to consistently adjust itself to adapt to widely differing items, whether by size, shape and/or weight.
Chen does not teach the source tote having a first identifier on a first external surface and a second identifier on a second external surface. However, one of ordinary skill in the art could modify the totes handled by the robot of Chen such that there are at least two identifiers on different surfaces of the tote. This would allow observers and/or managers of the robots to be able to identify the tote without needing to shift the orientation of the totes in the event of independent rechecking of inventory.
Chen does not teach:
the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the autonomous mobile robot to:
read, using the camera, either the first identifier or the second identifier on the first source tote, depending on which is visible to the camera when the autonomous mobile robot is at the destination location;
and determine the position of the plurality of compartments in the source tote relative to the robotic pick arm based on whether the first identifier or the second identifier is read.
Stevens teaches a picking station within an automated warehouse comprising:
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the controller (described as a computer system in the Abstract), cause:
read, using the camera, either a first identifier or a second identifier on a tote, depending on which is visible to the camera at the location (described in paragraph 0028);
determine the position of the plurality of compartments in the source tote relative to the robotic pick arm based on whether the first identifier or the second identifier is read (described in paragraph 0030, wherein indicating via a laser pointer to the operator which compartment within the receptacle would mean that the position of the compartment is determined and indicated by use of a robotic arm).
Regarding Claim 6, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the detection means and instructions of position determination within a tote executable by the system of Stevens to the handling robot of Chen. The result would enable the device of Chen to hold multiple, differing items within a single tote while still maintaining knowledge of the exact location of each object by the handling robot of Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art could apply the instructions of Stevens to the device of Chen without undue experimentation. Further, the application of the instructions of Stevens to the device of Chen would produce the predictable results of autonomously managing and processing inventory orders within a warehouse system.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen further teaches wherein the tote structure includes a tote holder located on a second surface portion of the platform adjacent to the first surface portion and a second surface portion configured to receive the order tote from the tote holder (pallet 22 and handling component 30 shown in Figure 1 adjacent to a first storage shelf). Wherein the modification of moving totes in the handling robot of Chen would enable movement of the tote between the first and second surfaces.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen further teaches wherein the robotic pick arm is located between the first surface portion and the second surface portion of the platform (material transfer component 40 shown in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Stevens teaches their identifiers can be any unique identification (paragraph 0028) which can include a QR code that can be registered to a specific location. It would have been further obvious when applying identifiers to the totes in the system of Chen to apply them wherein the destination location is on one of a first side or a second side of the storage unit on which is stored the source tote; the first external surface of the source tote is on a first side of the storage unit and a second external surface of the source tote is on a second side of the storage unit. This would enable the applied detection means from Stevens to the system of Chen to comprehend what location a tote is intended for and to mitigate the need for a specific orientation of the tote to be required for the detection means to scan its identifier(s).
Regarding Claim 10, Stevens teaches their identifiers can be any unique identification marker that can be read electronically (paragraph 0028) which can include a QR code, a known fiducial marker. It would have been further obvious when applying identifiers to the totes in the system of Chen to apply them wherein the first external surface includes a first identifier and the second external surface includes a second identifier; the first and second identifiers comprise fiducial markers such as a QR code. This would enable the applied detection means from Stevens to the system of Chen to mitigate the need for a specific orientation of the tote to be required for the detection means to scan its identifier(s) and enable the device of Chen to tell what orientation a tote is in upon reading the identifier.
Regarding Claim 11, when the detection means and instructions of Stevens is applied to the handling robot of Chen. The result would be wherein when the first identifier is read, the plurality of compartments of the source tote have a first orientation relative to the robotic pick arm and when the second identifier is read the plurality of compartments of the source tote have a second orientation relative to the robotic pick arm. This would further enable the device of Chen to know what orientation a tote is in when an identifier is read.
Regarding Claim 12, when the detection means and instructions of Stevens is applied to the handling robot of Chen. The result would be wherein the controller determines a correct compartment of the source tote based on the plurality of compartments of the source tote having either the first orientation or the second orientation, and controls the robot arm to pick an item from the correct compartment. This further enables the device of Chen to carry multiple different items within each tote while still fulfilling inventory orders and restocking.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jacob Scott, can be reached on 571-270-3415. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.T.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655