DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
The application is lacking a proper oath or declaration. The inventor, or each individual who is a joint inventor of a claimed invention, in an application for patent must execute an oath or declaration directed to the application, except as provided for in § 1.64.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, the recitation “low volume lubrication system, comprising” should read --low volume lubrication system, the check valve comprising--.
In claim 1, line 17, the recitation “such that the cartridge includes the balls and seats and can be replaced in the body if the valve fails” should read --such that the replaceable cartridge includes the first and second balls and the first and second ball seats and can be replaced in the body if the check valve fails--.
In claim 2, the recitation “in which cartridge includes two cartridge outlets” should read --in which the at least one cartridge outlet includes two cartridge outlets--.
In claim 3, line 2, the recitation “the cartridge” should read –the replaceable cartridge--.
In claim 3, line 2, the recitation “an outlet of the body” should read –[[an]]the body outlet
In claim 5, line 2, the recitation “a check valve body, comprising” should read –a check valve body, the removable cartridge comprising--.
In claim 5, lines 11 and 12, both recitations of “the body” should read –the check valve body--.
In claim 7, the recitation “removing a first removable cartridge from a check valve” should read --removing [[a]]the first removable cartridge from [[a]]the check valve body--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “cartridge outlets” in line 1; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to the “at least one cartridge outlet” recited in claim 1, line 14, or the “two cartridge outlets” recited in claim 2, or different cartridge outlets altogether. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “in which cartridge outlets” in claim 3, line 1, should read --in which the two cartridge outlets--.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the body outlet” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the body outlet” in claim 5, line 10, should read –[[the]]a body outlet--.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the replaceable cartridge” in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the replaceable cartridge” in claim 5, line 11, should read –the [[replaceable]]removable cartridge--.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the check valve assembly” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the check valve assembly” in claim 7, line 2, should read –the check valve [[assembly]]--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2056133 (“Corey”).
Regarding claim 1, Corey discloses a check valve for a high pressure, low volume lubrication system, comprising:
a body (1) including:
a body inlet (5);
first threads (female threads of body 1 which engaged with male threads of cartridge housing 7);
a body outlet (3);
a replaceable cartridge comprising
a cartridge inlet (port obstructed by first ball 9) communicating with the body inlet;
a first spring (15);
a first ball seat (16);
a first ball (9) that can be biased by the first spring against the first ball seat (see position illustrated in fig. 1);
a second spring (17);
a second ball seat (18);
a second ball (10) that can be biased by the second spring against the second ball seat (see position illustrated in fig. 1);
at least one cartridge outlet (8) communicating with the body outlet;
second threads (male threads of cartridge housing 7 which engaged with female threads of body 1) that mate with the first threads of the body to secure the replaceable cartridge in the body (see fig. 1);
such that the cartridge includes the balls and seats and can be replaced in the body if the valve fails (see specification page 2, col. 1, lines 51-62).
Regarding claim 2, Corey discloses cartridge (7) includes two cartridge outlets (8).
Regarding claim 3, Corey discloses cartridge outlets (8) open into a space (4) between the cartridge (7) and the body (1) through which lubricant flows (see specification page 1, col. 2, lines 15-17) to an outlet (3) of the body.
Regarding claim 4, Corey discloses the first threads (female threads of body 1 which engaged with male threads of cartridge housing 7) are female threads and the second threads (male threads of cartridge housing 7 which engaged with female threads of body 1) are male threads.
Regarding claim 5, Corey discloses a removable cartridge for a check valve, the removable cartridge configured to fit inside a check valve body, comprising:
a cartridge inlet (5);
a first spring (15);
a first ball seat (16);
a first ball (9) that can be biased by the first spring against the first ball seat (see fig. 1);
a second spring (17);
a second ball seat (18);
a second ball (10) that can be biased by the second spring against the second ball seat (see fig. 1);
at least one cartridge outlet (8) communicating with the body outlet; and
threads (male threads of removable cartridge 7, which engage with female thread of check valve body 1) that mate with threads (female threads of check valve body 1, which engage with male threads of removable cartridge 7) of the body to secure the replaceable cartridge in the body (see assembly of fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Corey discloses a method of repairing a check valve composed of a body (1) and a removable cartridge (7), comprising:
removing a first removable cartridge (7) from a check valve body (1), the first removable cartridge including two balls (9, 10), two springs (15, 17), and two ball seats (16, 18); and
inserting a second removable cartridge into the check valve body, the second removable cartridge including two balls, two springs, and two ball seats (“Repairs can be quickly made by merely removing the cage and substituting another”; see specification page 2, col. 1, lines 51-62).
Regarding claim 7, Corey discloses removing a first removable cartridge from a check valve comprises unscrewing (see threaded engagement between cartridge housing 7 and check valve body 1) the first removable cartridge (7) from the check valve assembly (1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE102009017031, US4513220, US8656946, US9353742 and US9611980 disclose a check valve having serial spring biased ball closures.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753