Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03 October 2025. These drawings are unacceptable. The drawings contain new matter. While the original disclosure does support the shapes in general by name presented in Figures 11-13, specifics were not included to fully support additional details shown in the amended Figures 11-13.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the star, rectangle and triangle shapes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jerjian (US 5,161,285).
Regarding claim 1, Jerjian discloses an apparatus (104), comprising:
a flat-faced front; a flat-faced back (Figs. 1-3);
an aperture (120) at a center of the button slide;
a bottom comprising an opening channel (122) to the aperture;
an inner wall (side walls of the aperture 120) connecting the flat-faced front and the flat-faced back at an inner portion of the button slide; and
an outer wall (outer edges of the disk) connecting the flat-faced front and the flat-faced back at an outer portion of the button slide, the outer wall comprising a closed end at a top of the Button Slide opposite the opening channel and at least two sides surrounding the opening channel (Figs. 1 and 2 as shown),
wherein the button slide is adapted to be worn on an article of clothing or accessory, such that, when worn, the button slide is positioned between a button and the article and sits on a string connecting the button to the article, such that the button and at least a portion of the flat-faced front remains exposed to a viewer (the device shown in Fig. 1 can be used in this manner, alternatively Figs. 2-3 shows at least a portion of the flat front extending beyond the perimeter of the cap such that when in use and with the cap closed the front remains exposed), and
wherein the thickness of the inner wall and the outer wall create friction between the button and the article to prevent the button from sliding through a corresponding buttonhole on the article (the device as shown in Fig. 2 is capable of creating friction and behaving in the claimed manner).
Jerjian fails to disclose the inner and outer wall having a thickness of approximately 1 millimeter to 2 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a thickness in the range of approximately 1-2 millimeters to sufficiently fill the space between the button and the garment while maintaining sufficient strength since it has been held that discovering an optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 2, Jerjian further discloses wherein the flat-faced front comprises a surface that is a canvas for visual expression (the surface of the disk can be used as a canvas).
Regarding claim 3, Jerjian further discloses wherein the opening channel forms an angle of approximately 40 degrees when measured from the center of the button slide, and wherein the opening channel accommodates attachment of the button slide over the string connecting the button to the article (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Jerjian further discloses wherein the aperture is structured to fit around the string connecting the button to the article (Figs. 1-3 as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Jerjian further discloses wherein the flat-faced front comprises a surface that is a decorative wall (the surface of the disk can serve as a decorative wall).
Regarding claim 6, Jerjian further discloses wherein a shape of the apparatus comprises a round shape, a star shape, a rectangle shape, or a triangle shape (Fig. 1 shows a round shape).
Regarding claim 7, Jerjian further discloses wherein the apparatus is composed of one or more materials including metals, plastic polymers, or rubbers (Column 3, lines 57-59).
Regarding claim 8, Jerjian discloses the invention except for wherein a diameter of the Button Slide is approximately 7 millimeters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the diameter at 7mm since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Jerjian further discloses wherein the portion of the flat-faced front remaining exposed to the viewer is decorative (Fig. 1 as shown).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the drawing objection “does not indicate what specifics … were not included in the originally-filed Specification.” As noted, the language provided only provides broad description of the implied shapes. No indication was provided as to if the shapes were equilateral or isosceles triangles, 5 or more pointed triangles, etc. The drawing objections are maintained.
Applicant argues that the phrase “the closure plate 104 is not generally exposed” is equivalent to Jerhian’s intention that the plate is not exposed. Motivation is not provided within the text of Jerjian. Instead, Jerjian merely is making a statement of material usage. However, as noted above, while the device of Jerjian can be used in the manner and positioning of Fig. 1 in Jerjian, the closure plate is nevertheless still exposed when the cap is closed as shown in Figs. 2 and 3.
Applicant has further provided arguments to the thickness range. The rationale proposed in the rejection is not one of mere design choice as alleged by the applicant. Applicant has noted the similar general conditions of the disclosed prior art and the instant invention. Adjusting the thickness such that the prior art is also within the same range is still considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art. Applicant’s argument that Jerjian was “simply designed with a thickness that would enable the plate to “frictionally engage the surface of the side wall…” does not appear to be based upon actual factual evidence within Jerjian. Jerjian does indicate that frictional engagement with the side wall is a design parameter. However, the general conditions shown in Jerjian and instant invention would also have been considered when each were selecting the thickness of the plates. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677